SPYSHOTS: Volvo S90 – new flagship sedan on test

Volvo S90 1

The star of Volvo’s line-up is currently the Volvo XC90, but that is set to change as the Swedish car company prepares for the introduction of its next model – the Volvo S90.

The Volvo S90 will replace the S80 as the flagship sedan in the Volvo range. It will be based on the same SPA (Scalable Product Architecture) platform as the XC90, and will likely share the same engine range as well. This means T5, T8 and hybrid T8 models, all built around 2.0 litre four-cylinder force inducted engines.

The S90’s design will likely take inspiration from the XC90’s new family look. You can see that it has a similiar “Thor’s hammer” headlamp design under that heavy camo.

A wagon V90 should follow the S90 design shortly.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Allroadquattro on Aug 24, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Volvo’s answer to S-Class, A8 & 7 series?

• tokmoh. on Aug 24, 2015 at 8:35 pm

E-class, 5-series, a6 contender.

• volvonoRV on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Not even close. This is shiate king of depreciation car

• Junk of a car that is Made in China. Better to buy a Proton, our pride and joy. Tahniah kerajaan Malaysia for giving us a high quality car lie Proton. Terimakasih BN Prihatin untuk kami

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • johndumbass on Aug 25, 2015 at 5:55 pm

Idiot john syok sendiri with proton again

• Allroadquattro on Aug 24, 2015 at 9:28 pm

oh, wait a minute. this will replace the ageing S80? I totally overlooked that statement

• samelordupe on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:43 pm

If even S100 noone will buy. Trust me your investment to buy a Veeyos is much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Accordana on Aug 24, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Take that, Proton!

• this is one ugly car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Frank on Aug 24, 2015 at 7:30 pm

I don’t blame you for not reading the article and understand that is a camo(by just looking at picture), kiddo!

• NothingAtoll on Aug 24, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Note the body padding to disguise the body shape. The C pillar and the rear have the foam to hide the real look. Cant wait for it to be unveiled…

• gamla stan on Aug 24, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Time for IKEA, ABBA, Dolph Lundgren, Felix Kjellberg, and Swedish meatballs to shine!

• y buy volvo when u can buy bmw or merc…n worst the resale value is worse than korean car

• hailatface on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:47 pm

So that Same Lorrrr can give cheap trade-in value and show hailat

• zhehong79 on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:57 am

Lapo, those who drives Volvos usually a special group of ppl who appreciates the sweedish marque.
      We do acknowledge the German big three, but at the same time dare to be different choose the road less travelled.
      Try a Volvo, you will not regret it.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 24, 2015 at 8:51 pm

This should be the Concept Coupe (S90) and Concept Estate (V90) turned into 4 door form. After all, the Concept Estate was the culmination of the entire series of new generation concepts from Volvo, and it seems plausible judging by the size that the S90 and V90 would be based off these two concepts…

• ipassthis on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:49 pm

If like that sure it’s ugly.
      Nexxxxxttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• zhehong79 on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:52 am

Finally, the long awaited successor to the vernarable S80. This is going to be another excellent choice for those on the left field.
    Can’t wait, can’t wait….

• apamau on Aug 25, 2015 at 11:18 am

Let’s wait till we see the real car design then we can decide… the german car is getting boring day by day with their design. I personally like the new jaguar and hopefully new volvo will give us something more refreshing.