W205 Mercedes-Benz C180 Avantgarde (RM229k) and C300 AMG Line (RM308k) introduced in Malaysia

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has introduced two new locally-assembled W205 C-Class variants to join its existing range — the Mercedes-Benz C 180 Avantgarde Line and the Mercedes-Benz C 300 AMG Line. They will join the existing C 200 Avantgarde Line, C 200 Exclusive Line and C 250 AMG Line.

The C 180 Avantgarde Line takes over from the C 200 as the new base variant in the range at RM228,888 (OTR without insurance), bringing the entry price down by RM20k. Likewise, the new C 300 AMG Line now sits ahead of the C 250 AMG Line, and is listed at RM307,888 – also RM20k above the previous range-topper (AMG C 63 notwithstanding).

Starting with the new base variant, the C 180 features a 1.6 litre, four-cylinder turbocharged engine that makes 156 hp at 5,300 rpm and 250 Nm between 1,200 and 4,000 rpm – the same one found in the A 200, but with a 7G-Tronic auto (not 7G-DCT). This enables it to perform the century sprint in 8.5 seconds — a shade slower than the 184 hp/300 Nm 2.0 litre turbo C 200, which performs the feat in 7.3 seconds.

The new model looks largely similar to the C 200 Avantgarde, with both cars adorned with the same exterior kit. A dual-bar radiator grille with a central Three-Pointed Star and LED High Performance headlamps are featured, along with two exposed exhaust pipes round the back. But, the C 180 wears a set of smaller, 17-inch five-spoke alloy wheels (as pictured above) as opposed to 18-inch rollers on the C 200 models.

Inside, an Avantgarde Line interior is present, adding further similarities between the C 180 and the C 200 Avantgarde. However, a closer look at the spec sheet indicates that only single-zone air-conditioning is featured here, and the powered front seats do not include a memory function. It also looks like ambient lighting and a reverse camera have been given a miss on the C 180.

Elsewhere, it looks pretty standard, as per the C 200 Avantgarde. A basic piano black trim forms the centrepiece, along with Artico leather upholstery, an Audio 20 CD infotainment system (pre-installed with Garmin Map pilot GPS) with a seven-inch media display screen and the Mercedes-Benz Touchpad on the centre console. No keyless entry here (only keyless start), just like the C 200 models.

At the other end of the spectrum, you have the new Mercedes-Benz C 300 AMG Line. The model is specified similarly to the existing C 250 AMG Line, but gets a higher-tuned engine, larger 19-inch alloy wheels, a sports exhaust system and an automatic climate control system with 3 climate zones. All for an additional RM20k over the C 250.

The 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged engine here delivers 245 hp at 5,500 rpm and 370 Nm between 1,300 and 4,000 rpm — 34 hp and 20 Nm more than the C 250 (211 hp/350 Nm). As such, where the C 250 performs the century sprint in 6.6 seconds, the C 300 does the deed in 5.9 seconds, on to the same (limited) top speed of 250 km/h.

Power is sent exclusively to the rear wheels via a 7G-Tronic seven-speed torque converter automatic transmission, and in conjunction with the AMG Line exterior, a sports suspension is fitted to the C 300, lowering its ride by 15 mm. Also, the C 300 gets an electronically-controlled sports exhaust system that creates a more aggressive exhaust note by way of an adjustable valve in the piping — selecting Sport+ mode on the Dynamic Select function activates this.

Apart from its designation badges, the only other way to tell a C 300 from a C 250 is by its wheels. The new C 300 gets a set of 19-inch multi-spoke AMG wheels, while the C 250 offers five-spoke 18-inch items. Otherwise, both cars are nearly identical to each other, each specified with an AMG Line exterior kit – adding sportier bumpers, side skirts and larger, perforated front brake discs.

Similar to the C 250, the C 300 gets a dual-bar radiator grille with a Three-Pointed Star in the centre and LED Intelligent Light System headlamps with Adaptive Highbeam Assist. The car also gets a panoramic sliding glass sunroof (and a full-black roof).

The interior of the C 300 AMG Line is no different to the current C 250, specified with AMG Line-specific sport seats, a flat-bottomed multi-function steering wheel and an Artico leather-covered dashboard. An open-pore black ash wood trim is featured on the centrepiece of the dash, where an analogue clock is also seen. The air-conditioning vents get additional chrome accents courtesy of the AMG Line too.

It’s the same scenario with the C 300’s creature comforts, which include a COMAND Online infotainment system (with integrated navigation), an 8.4-inch display screen and a touchpad on the centre console. A 13-speaker, 590-watt Burmester surround sound system is also included as standard. Other notable features include Active Parking Assist (also on the C 180), a reverse camera, keyless entry, remote boot lid closing and an Air-Balance perfume package.

To recap, the full range of locally-assembled W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class variants in Malaysia are (prices are OTR and without insurance):

• Mercedes-Benz C 180 Avantgarde Line – RM228,888
  • Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde Line – RM248,888
  • Mercedes-Benz C 200 Exclusive Line – RM252,888
  • Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG Line – RM287,888
  • Mercedes-Benz C 300 AMG Line – RM307,888

Agility Financing is available for all locally-assembled W205 C-Class variants in Malaysia, courtesy of Mercedes-Benz Financial. For full details of the new Mercedes-Benz C-Class range, visit Carbase.my, where you can also compare each C-Class variant here.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 180 Avantgarde Line

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 300 AMG Line

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Power Rangers on Mar 10, 2016 at 10:57 am

Looks like ripping off consumer with less and less material to drive a Benz except for the logo….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • Atilla on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:27 am

Vote with your wallet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Yippee on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:47 pm

Top up 10K for proper C200.

last week my fren jz took delivery of CLA 200 238K..lol

• rm230k C180 super cheap..

in Singapore, C180 SGD175k = rm520k!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • stasta on Mar 11, 2016 at 11:11 am

do u even math ? in malaysia a senior manager may earn rm 15k per month, while the same position in singapore may earn sgd 10k per month which is rm 30k. (example).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • carmaniaz on Jun 25, 2018 at 11:07 am

cannot compare like this. in sg u r paying for a paper coe. not so wise to own a car.

• Mercedes is very desperate…..well they have to….just imagine….beaten by BMW year after year after year after year….and once a while beaten by Audi….just imagine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
      • lol mercedes was selling more cars than bmw last year..what are u talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • Najib sucks on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:20 am

Finally the arrival of 330i direct rival. Which would you pick?

• Jibblow on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:35 am

C300 la. Even though the 330i is faster, that interior is so cheapo la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • If you are 50 years old and below get a 330i.
      If you are 61 years old and above get a C300.
      If you are between 51 to 60, flip the coin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 35
      • Jibblows on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:10 pm

That’s the outdated way of thinking, which part of all Merc’s new models say old man to you? None of them. All modern and youthful and they handle well too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • 316i owner on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:50 pm

I’ll wait for C300 pre-owned units^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • MR. G on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:30 am

What about C300 BluetecHybrid?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:46 am

We love competition!!!!! because in the end consumers win. Now see how BMW and AUDI counter it, especially new AUDI B9 on da way. Btw wanna ask the performance exhaust in the C300 izzit same installation as the A45 AMG????

• 1 Year in Mudah on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:50 pm

there is no competition lah brader. BMW, Merc and Audi all do wayang for you. You think only got competition. The 3 are working hand in hand to fool people like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • unkerkoyak on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:52 am

fuhh…now unker can withdraw epf money to buy mecedis..can ditch my camry kotak..

• shawal on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:10 pm

C300 is the way to go…..

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:47 pm

That C300 looks more go than the 330i, but in reality, the 330i actually goes and handles better. But C300 is surely more luxurious and comfortable than 330i. Tough pick between the 2.

• Jibblows on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:09 pm

For me, “go” is only used like how often in your daily drive… All other times prefer a more upmarket cabin!

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:24 pm

For upmarket cabin, the upcoming A4 beats all competition. It looks and feels amazing.

• Ollie on Mar 10, 2016 at 2:43 pm

No, BMW is living on past fumes. Not keeping close to Merc.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 10, 2016 at 5:32 pm

The 330i only has its driving capabilities to woo customers…it doesn’t have the adaptive LEDs, sunroof, auto closing of boot lid, good sound system, remote sports exhaust system, 19 inch rims and a reverse camera (you have to pay extra for BMW to retrofit a reverse camera for 4k+). What it does have the C300 doesn’t is the adaptive suspension and the 5 year warranty n free service. While I will always prefer how a BMW handles on the road, the often hard M-Sport/Performance suspension which is awesome on good roads is utter crap when you are on shite roads and most of our roads are shite and my car which is almost 3 yo soon has rattling shocks…

• applegreen on Mar 10, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Rattling interior is very common for 3Series.

esp BMW ckd cars lack of QC, 316i the worst i heard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Ameeru Tanggabatu on May 21, 2016 at 9:25 pm

I hope you are telling the truth brother. If it is true, then it is disapointing to know such troubling issue to come from BMW.

• TurboMan on Jun 21, 2016 at 9:50 am

Yes. he is telling the truth.

CKD BMW are known for that. Not just the 3er, the 5er are not immune to it.

• cheapo on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Pikir…
    C180, 318i, Audi A3 or Axia

• 19 inch wheels looks nice but will it be not practical and pricier to change the tyres?

• No point to choose BMW anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • jijoi on Mar 10, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Just wait a bit for EEV incentive for C180, the price might go below 210K.

• omegle on Mar 10, 2016 at 2:10 pm

what suspension is the c180 getting,isit the same as c200 avantgarde? And what’s the reason they can’t give the old 17 inch rims of c200 for c180? cost or wanna differentiate from the old c200?

• Ollie on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:03 pm

Mercs are so far ahead of BMW its crazy. Audi is irrelevant. Lexus is keeping up with tech, but pricing is way overboard. For entry-level luxury at least, Merc is way ahead of the game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • seancorr (Member) on Mar 10, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Wow MBM shouldn’t have taken out the dual zone air condition, ambience lightning and memory seats…makes the C180 feel cheap. The cheaper 318i has all the above bar memory seat for the driver only and it’s cheaper with longer warranty n free service.

• C300 is superb value while the C180 is overpriced. 20k difference over the C250 for so many more goodies and extra 34hp power really makes the C300 a fantastic bargain. The C250 owners are probably crying now especially those who bought the earlier CBU units.

• carfan on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:46 pm

I have just taken delivery of the C200. There is no reason not to like this car. Avantgarde bodykit as standard, real dual exhaust pipes with chrome tip, std 18″ tyres/ five spoke rims, quiet cabin. Interior is as large as the W211. Good reason why they won the European Car of the year. Now waiting for BMW response. (The GLC 250is another great SUV and is cheaper than Lexus NX100.

• C180K using Renault Engine on Mar 11, 2016 at 12:47 am

I read before somewhere that the smaller cc Mercedes are using Renault engines. Just curious is the W205 Mercedes-Benz C180 Avantgarde also running on Renault engine?

• Nikolai on Mar 11, 2016 at 5:34 am

Come on…where’s the C350e plug-in hybrid?

• FoundThisUseful on Mar 12, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Does the C300 AMG Line come with air suspension? RM300k+ with no air suspension? Wow Malaysia is truly the place where you pay 2 or 3 times the actual value of the car in order to get a car which is NOT WELL-EQUIPPED.

• contifan on Mar 13, 2016 at 3:56 pm

BMW F30 is fashion statement. Buy and sell within 3 years. 3 years down the road will look outdated. W205 will still command respect just like any other Merc. Just look at E90 vs W204.
    E90 has become cheap and unwanted. W204 still going strong and very respectable. Something to do with reliability and spare part price I guess. End of the day as the car gets older people tend to fall back on the core attribute of the brand. Also 2nd hand value reflects the mass market sentiment on the both model. Both cars are fine it is matter of short term or long term ownership.

• UNTHINKABLE ENGINEERING on Mar 18, 2016 at 2:09 pm

This stupid merc uses rubber to bond main pulley or damper and tensioner also. Verdict is sudden failure while driving. Gantong also made of plastic.

• Kayden on Sep 26, 2019 at 10:38 am

Have bro