W205 Mercedes-Benz C180, C300 in Malaysia soon?

w205-c300-amg-malaysia-coming-soon

In Malaysia, the current W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class is offered in a choice of three locally-assembled variants – C 200 Avantgarde, C 200 Exclusive and C 250 AMG Line (not counting the AMG C 63 S). However, that line-up could soon expand to include two additional variants, which are the C 180 and C 300 AMG Line.

During the unveiling of the upgraded Cycle & Bintang Carriage Petaling Jaya Autohaus, paultan.org had an exclusive interview with Mark Raine, vice president, Sales & Marketing Passenger Cars, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia, to discuss the matter further.

When asked on the possibility of a base variant C 180 being added to the C-Class line-up, Raine said, “we have been looking at the market, and what products are valid for the Malaysian market, and we will be looking at expanding our range, which is locally produced, and part of that can be the C 180.”

On the C 300, which would occupy the other (higher) end of the C-Class spectrum, he said, “also at the end, we’re looking. Why? Because we want to give, let’s say the high-end users in the C-Class segment, another variant.”

W205_Mercedes-Benz_C_250_AMG_Line_Malaysia_05

With the new variants being added to the line-up, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia will have a wider C-Class range to compete against the BMW 3 Series. BMW Malaysia currently offers the 3er in five variants – 318i Luxury, 320i Sport, 320i M Sport, 330i M Sport and 320d M Sport.

As a brief recap, the C 180 packs a 1.6 litre turbocharged direct injection four-cylinder petrol with 156 hp and 250 Nm, paired to a seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus auto driving the rear wheels. The model slots below the C 200, which has a larger capacity 2.0 litre twin-scroll turbo four-pot developing 184 hp/300 Nm. The new variant would be targeted at the BMW 318i Luxury (136 hp/220 Nm)

The C 300 meanwhile receives an uprated version of the C 200 and C 250’s turbocharged 2.0 litre mill, now with 241 hp and 370 Nm on tap. That’s enough to take the fight against the BMW 330i M Sport (252 hp/350 Nm). The engine is also mated to a seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus auto with drive sent to the rear wheels.

For now, no details were given during our brief chat on the exact specifications of either C-Class variants. Nonetheless, with the prospect of a new entry-level C-Class and a top-of-the-range variant (C 300) expected to hit the Malaysian market, which is most attractive?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Nigel on Feb 18, 2016 at 3:03 pm

We consumer obviously welcome such move especially C180 which would give BMW’s 318i a run of its money!!

Bring it on!

• Tulen on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:13 pm

C180?? already have CLA & A Class for that price level.
      MBM, do not undercut & make your products less prestige and feel cheapo like BMW 316.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
      • hahaha on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:37 pm

The price structure will ensure no undercutting of any sort will happen. but then, it will also render a product like c180 not as attractive as 318 even though bmw has an older model. it will have its segment but will not make waves.

c300 will struggle if history is anything to go by. bmw appeals more to the sporty segment and mercs has always been more luxury than sporty if you compare the two. i still see the market favouring 3 series in this micro segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Sapott on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Tak payah jual C180 la. Buat apaa kan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Zahid Ham on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Hahahahah so 318 is considered sporty?
          Maybe only for BMW poseurs and cheapskatez hahahaha.
          Life’s too short to drive lousy cars !

• hahaha on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:59 pm

zahid ham, you clearly can’t read. i put them in TWO seperate paragraphs! because it is two seperate issues. you’re an idiot but don’t prove it to everyone else!

• joker on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:38 am

you obviously don’t know how business works right?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Feb 18, 2016 at 3:12 pm

HorsePower I think better leave it out for a moment. MOST important is offer more safety equipment for Malaysian drivers. What Malaysians wish to have is:
    1) Collision Prevention Assist Plus
    2) Lane Tracking Package (Blind Spot Assist, Lane Keeping Assist)
    3) BAS PLUS with Cross-Traffic Assist
    4) Knee Air-Bag

Lives more precious, especially our accident rate every year increase!!! BMW is already turning deaf to customers on this issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Lanun Labis on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:17 pm

If you need all those driving aids, please take the bus or LRT. If you cannot pay attention and stay in your lane, you’re a hazard to other drivers. Tolongla jangan bawak keta ok? Nanti membahayakan orang ramai. Dosa tau bunuh orang….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Sammy thrust on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:50 pm

Mana datang Lanun sotong ni? Tapi rasanya budak kot sebab baca komen memang mcm budak sekolah komen.

• Lanun Labis on Feb 21, 2016 at 2:36 am

Komen hang tu mcm rempit. Xmampu beli keta, naik ex5 aje la… Kesian low class duduk PPR idam Mercedes…

• shawal on Feb 18, 2016 at 3:19 pm

c300 with burmeister sound system n glass panoramic roof with red leather….

300 sounds zingy

• anonymous on Feb 20, 2016 at 1:58 am

FYI, C250 AMG line has already offered the three features you mentioned, just the engine power tho is different.

• sutheshkumar87 on Feb 18, 2016 at 3:47 pm

BMW is offering 2 320i: Sport Line and M Sport

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Thank you for pointing that out. The article has been amended.

• shawal on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:27 pm

the new c-class only loos good in amg trim…

the c180 would hv to include sum nice bits to stand out…
    cuz the 318i looks good in luxury trim with those rims and the brown interior is not half bad…

• ben yap on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:39 pm

price the C180 below RM200K and it’ll be a winner!

• bbbbb on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:01 pm

uncle will be happy for this

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Finally something to compete with the 318i and 330i. Hopefully the C300 has Something cool like the 330i’s HUD.

• better get volvo T5 or ford 2.0 ecoboost, can easily save rm100k….lol

• venven81 on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:52 pm

everyone seems to just target BMW and forgot about the upcoming A4 B9, which is a very potent machine. msian oh msian…

• FIST (Member) on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:53 pm

just read the malaysia 2015 TIV, Audi sold less than Subaru, while Merc and BMW sales are way ahead. That’s why people always talks about Merc and BMW.

• stasta on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:01 pm

the malaysia 2015 TIV that u read does not present the full picture. i can see many audi on the road. just walk into any grey import showroom u can see many audi. this means that there is a lot of demand for audi, but because local distributor is lousy, customers turn to the grey market.

• Pandian on Mar 04, 2016 at 10:50 pm

In my opinion, MERC and BMW are apple to apple comparison due to rear wheel drive FR as Audi mostly front wheel drive FF unless it’s a Quattro – all wheel drive. Not worth buying a front wheel drive for such a price . My 5 cents advice !

• Can paultan.org give more indepth info on c180 1.6 engine currently offered in other countries?

• Nikolai on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:25 pm

It’d be better if Mercedes were to start CKD production of the C350e hybrid instead. That way a lot could be saved on taxes. Considering that it’s already being produced in Thailand, it may be just a matter of time before it makes it to our shores.

• i hope these c180 and c300 will be CKD-ed too so that the prices will be much more affordable..

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Feb 20, 2016 at 2:51 am

C180 – As the engine was almost exactly same with trio-compact Mercedes 200 series that is A200, CLA200 and GLA200 (A200 and CLA200 performance was just right while GLA200 one was seriously lacking), it could be underpowered when fitted in bigger C-Class. Perhaps a 7G-tronic automatic could improve the responsiveness of acceleration when kickdown invoked compared with 7-speed DCT automatic in their trio-compact Mercedes which sometimes lacking. However, this C180 provides a viable alternative for Mercedes carbuyers as some buyers dislike the compact car.

C300 – hp and torque figure is quite small to distinguish between C250 in terms of performance. Perhaps, a C400 with 3.0L 6-cylinder turbo engine (333 hp, 480 Nm torque) makes better sense.

A lower price C-Class AMG version (such as C450 or C43/C45 paired with 3.0L 6-cylinder twin turbo engine) can be considered in model lineup as an cheaper alternative for C63 AMG