Mercedes-Benz M’sia drops C-Class prices: C 200 now from RM248k; CKD C 250 AMG Line launched, RM288k

W205_Mercedes-Benz_C_200_Avantgarde_Malaysia_001

Here’s a shocker – Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has announced reduced prices for all its current W205 C-Class variants sold in Malaysia, and has introduced two new variants at the same time.

Would you believe that? Whilst automotive distributors in the country, such as UMW Toyota Motor and Perodua are raising their prices to cope with the troubling devaluation of the ringgit, MBM seems to be charging full steam ahead, slashing its prices, and charting records sales month after month.

The base variant of the C-Class, the locally-assembled (CKD) C 200 Avantgarde gets a new price of RM248,888 – a full RM21k less than the previous C 200 CKD’s RM269,888 price – whilst carrying forward the exact specifications as before. And don’t forget that was already RM16k lower than the original CBU model.

New to the local C-Class family is the C 200 Exclusive. Slotting just above the Avantgarde model – sharing the same 184 hp/300 Nm 2.0 litre twin-scroll turbo engine – the new variant is priced at RM252,888.

The C 200 Exclusive model gets the traditional Mercedes radiator grille as seen on the similarly-trimmed C 250 Exclusive, as opposed to the C 200 Avantgarde’s sports grille. Active Shutter Grille and wood interior trim are featured too (the Avantgarde gets plain piano black trim).

At the very top of the local C-Class food chain will sit MBM’s new locally-assembled product, the C 250 AMG Line. First introduced as a CBU unit fully imported from South Africa priced at RM339,888, the CKD variant now sees a massive RM52,000 price reduction, leaving it at RM287,888, whilst also carrying forward the exact specifications of the previous CBU unit.

The car does of course feature a more powerful 2.0 litre twin-scroll turbo engine, which pushes 211 hp and 350 Nm of torque. The top AMG Line trim level also adds in the full AMG Line exterior kit (aggressive front and rear bumpers, 18-inch AMG five-spoke alloys, etc.), an AMG-tuned sports suspension, flat-bottomed steering wheel, Burmester audio, and lots more.

Here’s a recap of the new W205 CKD range in Malaysia:

• Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde – RM248,888
  • Mercedes-Benz C 200 Exclusive – RM252,888
  • Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG Line – RM287,888

The previous CKD range-topper, the C 250 Exclusive (priced at RM299,888), has been discontinued. So, if you want the extra power, you’ll have to go for the C 250 AMG Line and if you prefer the Exclusive look, there’s now the C 200 Exclusive.

In its press materials, MBM explained that the reason behind these price reductions are purely because its C-Class range has been qualified for Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) duty incentives, as warranted by the prevailing National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014). Other models to have benefitted from the EEV policy include the Perodua Axia, Honda City and Jazz, CKD Mazda CX-5 and 3 and Great Wall M4.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• BMW Big GLC Cheats on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:08 am

Fantastic news. When is greedy BMW?

BMW 320i in US less than US$30k (RM300k)
    BMW 528i in US less than US$49k (RM428k)
    BMW X5 in US less than US$50k (RM590k)

BMW Malaysia, pls stop cheating Malaysians

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 11
    • BMW Big GLC Cheats on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:11 am

sorry BMW 328i in the US is less than US30k. Here, RM300k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 148
        • Proton No Reduction? on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:53 am

Why Proton got no reduction? Very easy answer. They got to support their bloated staff, all whom are lazy to the core, eat nasi lemak and sleep, always thinking about kahwin empat and Malam Jumaat. Don’t want to work hard and always expecting Government to help.

So, they need all the money they can get and cannot give less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 31
          • Gargantia on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:20 pm

All those companies under BN cronies were increase price… Under Dumno cronies dignity this’s what you get !!! Merc Malaysia done something impressive and make fair price on even “car of the year” if without lousy AP system… Rakyat be treated more fairly !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Which car model in Malaysia is cheaper than its siblings in US you tell me.
            US cars not yet cheapest, Toyota is cheapest in Japan. then i ask you one thing: So WHAT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • See Malaysia has so much money. Even MBM drop price for us. I don’t know why the yellow shirts make so much noise about songlap RM2.6 bil. Hello friends, its only RM2.6billion lah. Songlap sikit tak apa, janji negara maju dan ada banyak kekayaan untuk orang lain.

So, don’t complain lah. negara kaya sangat. Rajin kerja, mesti boleh beli kete mewah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 85
        • kereta_lembu on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:01 pm

I think they turun harga on the wrong thing. Seems like Ringgit turun more than anything else.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Cukurlah kerajaan sudah jatuhkan harga. cukur! Cukur! Cukur!

• portobello on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:44 am

Using your logic the X5 costs as much as a Myvi here. Do Americans buy X5 like Malaysians buy Myvi? Nope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • UMW Big GLC Cheats on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:10 am

UMW is even better. Camry Hybrid sold for US$25k in the US. Come to Malaysia got no tax cause Hybrid. But UMW sell here for RM175k

And double whammy, ours is CKD. Price should be lower right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • dreaming on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:22 am

hybrid tax ady la

• UMW Still Cheating on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:27 am

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
        • Albert on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Merc drops price….Thanks.
          UMW,Perodua,Lexus…..Increase price.Why?
          Due to worst performing currency in Asia..they claim.But how come Benze can drop price?You mean they import by paying in rupiah?
          The REAL REASON BESIDES the falling Ringgit…..they must send record profits back to papa PNB,as Christmas nears…early next year , have to pay RECORD dividends to contributors.Banks give 3-4 % max on interest,PNB not likely to give less than double that amount.
          Dont ever for a moment,even dream they will reduce even 5 sen.
          It is getting SHAMBOLIC BY THE DAY.
          Smart Car buyer….GO FOR PRE OWNED CARS,if you dont mind the second hand smell.Some of the 3-5 ,even 10 year old used cars are still in IMMACULATE condition,needing minimum repairs.
          Buying cars may never always have to be NEW CARS.After 6 months,or even 1 week old…they are classified as PREOWNED.
          BUY SMART.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • eh bodoh, on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:11 pm

eh, CKD hybrid is still under hybrid incentive scheme, only CBU hybrid got tax

• whine on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:25 am

Hey bro/sis
      Life is too short to be a constant whiner..
      I suggest if you can’t change the rules, then start to play by the rules that you are given and try to still get the best out of it.
      It may not be your time to see the price of the vehicle come down to your desired level (no hidden meaning, I wish you a long healthy life), but that shouldnt stop you from owning those finest things in life… just like those thousands of Malaysian who persevere…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • Lexus Please Close Down on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:30 am

Habis lah Lexus. Few days ago Lexus launch their joke for RM350k.

Now, this real German is only RM249k.

Bye bye Lexus Munchy biskut. You are dead like your RX.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 5
      • qwerty on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Technically saying, the C-class is not German. It’s either made in South Africa or CKD-ed in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 33
  • c class already got EEV incentive. 3 series when la? technology still below merc or x ckop green lg? tp psg locally juga kat kulim?
    penin2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Carter on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:13 am

I told you, i’ll work hard to get Mercedes-Benz rather than the Lexus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 28
  • its clear now merc will be my choice when to buy my first premium compact..babai bmw lexus audi infinity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • tinmilo on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:17 am

Go and cancel your 3 series Pre-reg order Right Now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Slam dunk on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:18 am

Haha and lexus so proudly introduced the IS turbo at higher prices

• Same L0rrr on Oct 10, 2015 at 3:39 am

Thats because Lexus is superior and high class like bentley / RR. Not low class ah pek benz and kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • sick&tired on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:20 am

bmw seriously need to reconsider their prices! While I prefer the F30, I would seriously consider the C-class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • jwrx (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:54 am

the 316i is 208k, the 320i is 240k, both are cheaper then the base spec c200

• Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG Line – RM287,888 >>> compare this to 328i m sport price please hehe

• Bob_B78 on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:00 pm

328i is selling higher as the BMW performance is higher than Mercs. Its the question of whether higher price/performance BMW is justified against C250

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • turtlez on Oct 09, 2015 at 11:30 am

get your facts right pls..320i is going for promo RM216k.

• Alan Harris on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:21 am

Thank you Folger. That is nice of you. But we at BMW got more class than that. Our products are premium and we don’t have to lower prices to sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
  • Kenneth Tan on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:22 am

Well done Mercedes-Benz Malaysia!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:23 am

Lol Lexus really can go fly kite now. I wonder if BMW has the same incentive else we could see the price drop even further. MBM’s new price puts a smack into BMW Malaysia’s price of the F30 as it has better spec then the F30.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Letstorque on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:25 am

Axia also EEV but why increase price?
    Oh, the reason is THAT was introduction price….

• omegle on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:28 am

Fantastic news!! As for those that bought the C Class earlier, too bad…

• Fantastik on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:28 am

Holy sheet thats what in talking abt always get a merz or bmw. They understand that malaysians are miserable and poor as so does the currency has burden us recently.. Good move mbm, satu rakyat satu malaysia i love malaysia
    Im booking one tomoro.

• jinggo on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:39 am

All of this are bullshits… US price is just RM164k la… come on la kerajaan.. why always tipu rakyat? Bangsat la kerajaan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 24
    • himbo on Mar 08, 2016 at 11:58 am

US tax rate how much? gas price how much? bodo copy paste je tau. br1m dah collect? lololol

• oktoberfest! on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:44 am

Mercedes Benz Malaysia’s master stroke!

• Therealmaserati on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:51 am

Eh hello. U guys are not smart. Merc is cheaper now. But no free service . Merc service costs a bomb. Each service minimum rm1k.

Add a bit , can go 1.5k- 2 k each service. U change wear and tear parts, prepare to see the bill balloon to a few thousands.

BMW 5 years free service. U go calculate la.

Epic case of penny wise pound foolish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
    • MBM warranty still outdated !!! on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:28 pm

That’s so true, BMW up the game by a mile, giving new 5 Years Unlimited Mileage Warranty with Free Scheduled Service programme, which equals a lot of savings over that 5 year period as appose to MBM warranty is still outdated. MBM reduce their prices because it qualified for Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) duty incentives, so to them they are still making a healthy profit and did not reduce coz it’s wants to give a more competitive edge, that made me get the F30 3 series over the C200 :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:52 am

Hmm come to think of it if the RM wasn’t as bad as now then the price of these new cars would have been even cheaper??

• Joke OTY on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:53 am

UMW still increasing Lexus & Toyota prices?! LOL
    noob mcm gomen

• Alifzz on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:54 am

This showing how sincere is MBM towards supporting local industries by maximizing localization of parts in the car. As we know some part in the chasis of CKD Merc is produced locally, it may show now they could have expand the local parts extensively to more than that which contributes to the lower selling price. Keep it up and two thumbs up!!

• Tun ling on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:55 am

250k only!!?
    CLA owners must be cursing now ^^

• With cheating software, VW also can qualify for EEV I bet…

• nimabi on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:42 pm

but it just happen in US, M’sia wont get any affect one la
      what u so care about?

• This is how the Mercedes awards their ealier customer, A slap at their face.

• Nampaknya cancel la nak beli altis. Rasa nak beli c-class sebab sudah murah

• Dr Dogter Heart-beat on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:09 pm

is this better than new a4?

• applegreen on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Hopefully Audi can get EEV incentive for A4. Price RM240k including digital meter!

• nabill (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:42 pm

they are probably targeting volume rather than margin , which is beneficial in the long run , but man , this is such a good deal , its the automotive equivalent of proudly showing ur middle finger to ur competitors!

• Matjava on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:47 pm

my w204 just 3 yrs old .. when MBM announced the price of w205 c250 AMG/avantharde/exclusive .. wow … this is poison for mercs lover … waduhhhh

• Tengs on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:49 pm

Tak laku lew tew…turun harga mcm proton..hewhewhew

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • BMW gonna perform even worse in 2015 year end.

Wait for 2016 early year, buy 2015 non-registered model.
    Sure got thousands of them unsold..BMW fanboys, just wait.

R.i.p BMW sales figure..
    BEnz still going up, BMW, what is your move?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Fair driver on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:59 pm

You merc fanboy can go and buy your CHEAPO merc, I get my premium BMW or Lexus.
      The merc only know droping price, and their fanboy still syiok sendiri pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Papa Rich on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Deng….gonna cancel my Camry Hybrid…Sam Loo don’t angry OK.

• sime drb on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:12 pm

BMW Malaysia & Audi next move?
    more pre-reg 3Series & A4 units, sell @ 80k less
    2015 clearance sale haha

• albag on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:28 pm

nice merc…

• bangun on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:28 pm

C Class CKD @ DRB Pekan kilang nasi lemak
    Beli CBU better Audi, Lexus, Infiniti, Jaguar

• Price go up, everyone bash Najib.
    Price go down, no one thank him?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • dumbdumb on Nov 04, 2015 at 5:05 pm

IF Najis actually keeps his promise and drops the price by 30%, and forces ALL the car manufacturers/retailers to drop their prices, then I’ll thank him.

• himbo on Mar 08, 2016 at 11:53 am

yes, because everything in the world happens because of najib. guan eng wanted to abolish toll in penang already happened or not??? lolololol

manifesto bukan janji – ex PKR menteri besar.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Oh wow. Thats an amazing pricetag. I seriously do not know if anyone will want to buy a Lexus IS200t now. Even the base IS200t costs MORE than the top of the line C250 AMG. Kudos to MBM. Question now for prospective buyers is, whether to get the C Class now while its priced this low or wait for the B9 A4. Thats a tough choice.

• matjava on Oct 10, 2015 at 7:57 am

Not wrong if u wait for 2016 B9 A4..or u buy c class now…both are MiG..but c class reduce price is made in Pekan.
      MIG = made in Germany..

• Ultras on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:26 pm

incompetent Najib! RM turun, harga Mercedes turun,
    harga Perodua naik pulak!
    kurap pengkhianat negara!!

• All Cars on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:08 pm

I have to say, BMW needs to put its act together in Malaysia …as their current offerings are so bare to the bones….I just sold off my E90…was looking for another BMW… but was left disappointed …with bare minimum accessorise…. dumb stereo …no reserve camera…etc… Guess BMW will learn the hard way…. now I am driving competition….

• Isn’t this new C class presently using engine brought over from the E200. If so, can somebody explain how does it get the EEV status now?

• sarled on Oct 08, 2015 at 10:34 pm

software?

• c200 exclusive doesnt seemed to be sold in malaysia. btw anyone has any idea how long is the waiting list for c200? currently the car is distributed to people that book in which month cause i heard the waiting list is super long.

• Did anyone know due to what reason the Mercedes-Benz M’sia drops C-Class prices?

• iiAmgPackage on Nov 08, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) duty incentives. Please read until the end.

• iiAmgPackage on Nov 02, 2015 at 7:22 pm

Recently booked my C200 Avantgarde via their Agility Finance. Very good. Sadly that I wanted to C200 Exclusive until the sales agent said that model was no longer in demand and discontinued. The AMG Line was a little bit pricey for my budget but I was still satisfied anyhow.

• Paul Tan on Nov 02, 2015 at 7:30 pm

That’s not true. It’s just launching later. It’s the C250 Exclusive that was discontinued.

• Francis on Mar 14, 2016 at 11:08 am

Its great to see Merc Malaysia giving back greater value for money to eligible Malaysians. Well done MBM.

Wish other car companies would also think like you.

• hi, I am confuse which one to get bmw 3 series or mercedes c class. Can anyone who has previousy owned this car given comment about their car? Your feedback is very much appreciated. Thank You

• BMW 3 series f30…BMW got 5 yrs compare to MBM 4 yrs free service…and 2 years tires warranty from BMW as well…

• Tshilimandila AS on May 20, 2016 at 3:05 pm

I need a new C 200 merc