W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class – locally-assembled C 200 Avantgarde and C 250 Exclusive launched

We reported on its impending arrival last week, and now it has been officially announced. Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has launched the locally-assembled W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class, doing so at a C-Class Driving Experience showcase at Setia City Convention Centre – the CKD versions of the C 200 Avantgarde and C 250 Exclusive take over from the CBU variants introduced in September, when the 2015 World Car of the Year made its local debut.

The CKD C 200 Avantgarde is priced at RM269,888, while the C 250 Exclusive goes for RM299,888, GST-inclusive. Both are cheaper than their equivalent CBU models by around RM15,000 (for the C 250) and RM16,000 (for the C 200), and the good news is that the specifications for the CKD cars are identical to the fully-imported (from South Africa) models

Both variants are powered by a 2.0 litre M 274 DE 20 AL engine, in different states of output tune. On the C 200 the numbers are 184 hp and 300 Nm, and performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 7.3 seconds and a 235 km/h top speed.

The M 274 in the C 250 features a higher output of 211 hp and 350 Nm, and the 0-100 km/h sprint is done quicker at 6.6 seconds. Top speed is also higher, the car able to get to an electronically-limited 250 km/h. On both cars, a seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus auto is the transmission choice.

Cosmetically, as it was before, the C 200 is dressed in the sportier Avantgarde exterior trim while the C 250 goes the elegant route with its Exclusive line trim, complete with Airpanel active louvres on the front grille. Common kit includes LED headlights (though these are not the full-fledged adaptive system), an Audio 20 CD system with Touchpad and built-in Garmin MAP Pilot navigation.

Both models also feature powered front seats with memory, auto lights and wipers, cruise control, rear (powered) and side (manual) window blinds, a reverse camera as well as Active Parking Assist. Safety kit includes seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver’s knee bag), Collision Prevention Assist Plus, rear Isofix anchors and the automaker’s Pre-Safe system.

The two C-Class offerings ride on 17-inch alloys in different designs, a five twin-spoke on the C 200 and a multi-spoke on the C 250. Other differentiation bits come in the form of interior trim – on the C 200, it’s aluminium and piano black (on the centre console), while on the C 250 the tone goes the dark brown glossy Linden wood route.

The C 250 also gets more lux and convenience kit in the form of a leather-covered dashboard, keyless entry, a sunroof, and an Air Balance package as well as a comfort suspension. The C 200, meanwhile, features an Agility Control suspension, which lowers the car by 15 mm.

The arrival of the locally-assembled variants should definitely ease the wait times for the W205 C-Class, which we hear has stretched to a pretty long one. As before, there’s no mention whether a locally assembled C 250 AMG Line, which was available for a short period of time as a CBU import, will be introduced into the CKD line-up.

W205 Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde CKD

W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 Exclusive CKD

Mercedes-Benz C-Class Driving Experience

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• C200 No Keyless Entry on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:49 pm

A RM270k car had no keyless entry?! Even a 60k Iriz has keyless entry. This is the only downside of the C200 while the C250 just looks too uncle-ish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
    • policeman on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Pak cik tua suka sangat kereta ini!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
      • Sam L0rrrr on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Pak tua yang kaya (tak-kaya sangat) dan nak beraksi akan beli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 23, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Rich man use lexus. My commission allows me to buy one lexus a month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 36
          • Lexus toy car?

• TOYota on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:33 am

Lexus biscuit je. Kesian, hari biasa kena makan habuk dan minum air hujan.

• kimchi on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:30 pm

I dont get it. Whats so difficult of including the keyless on the C200? Would it cost so much to Mercs ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • I dont get it. Whats so difficult of pressing that unlock button on key fob to unlock the car? Malaysian already dont have left leg to drive.now dont have thumbs to unlock car pulak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 36
      • annonymous on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:39 pm

@KBC

That’s why people like are still using Nokia N3310…

• sammy on May 20, 2015 at 8:55 pm

A woman especially would appreciate the keyless entry because they don’t have to search the handbag to find the damn key.
        Plus I think is pointless to have keyless start without the keyless entry, since you already have the key in your hand.

• Old uncle on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:49 pm

Old uncle like us don’t border about what keyless, the most important thing we look at is the 3 pointed star.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 4:18 pm

It’s the same with BMW…more and more cars have keyless entry but not for the luxury cars here in Bolehland. I can use some help with keyless entry instead of digging my pockets for the key. These Malaysians who spec the car never learn do they?

• I saw the C250 picture have the burmester sound?

• Paul Tan on Apr 23, 2015 at 7:07 pm

We clarified this with Mercedes-Benz Malaysia. They said these units used for the C-Class Driving Experience event were ordered with “rojak specs” and do not reflect CKD specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • the white light of zal'ion-trun on Apr 23, 2015 at 7:08 pm

the lack of keyless entry across the board completely boggles the mind. more so now that it’s ckd.

• Merzlover on Apr 23, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Seriously, W204 facelifted interior looks nicer.. W205 looks quite unclish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • F30 LCI a better option

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Kancil Hybrid on Apr 23, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Too expensive.. Again, it’s not the question about one can afford to buy or not, but is RM300k is the real value of the car?

719 days since PRU 13, no price reduction yet.
    TR1M – Tipu Rakyat 1Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • explain other cars’ price reduction then

719 days since PRU 13, how much have taxes, business licence fees, parking fees, water tariff increased in penang and selangor?

lolololol

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 11:52 pm

Saw a C250 last night. It had original Merc 5 spokes 18 inch rims of a different design/size from the rims of both cars mentioned here (no it wasn’t from the AMG Line either). The car looked so much better with 18 inch rims & fatter tyres. Then checked out the front, it had the Exclusive Line grille (which I dislike). So its probably either the owner changed to aftermarket (but why change to Merc rims too?) or he/she specified the car to have different rims from the dealer.

• Blaster88 on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:36 am

The 17″ wheels seriously do not do justice to the car. I understand that MBM wants to focus on comfort…besides being 17′, the the rims are butt ugly as well. The ride is on the soft side but interior still class leading. I would wait for the F30 LCI for comparison before taking out my cheque book…

• Blaster88 on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:37 am

golden rule is not to take the first few CKD batches until the teething problems are sorted out – applies to all new conti cars

• Sammy on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:16 am

I am not sure your golden rule applies here.
      Try you tell that to S-Class, and the C-Class people who are waiting… and waiting… for the their car for over a year. Some even willing to pay extra to get it first.

• longjaafar on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:59 am

Yes. The F30 LCI will be worth to look at before deciding. There will have to be improvements/additions in order to keep it competitive. The Audi A4 is just round the corner and it will be much cheaper.And if people’s sentiment can be changed, the Q50 is not bad either
    So the BMW people will have their work cut out for them..

• blaster88 on Apr 24, 2015 at 4:23 pm

Yes. In terms of performance and handling, the current F30 is still better than the W205. I am looking forward to what the F30 LCI can offer.

Interior wise, I doubt the LCI is going to change much or be nicer than the W205. The Audi B9 would be interesting, as usual, Audi’s renowned built quality and interior would give the W205 a run for its money…it would be an interesting 6 months ahead.

• Inly rm193k here in labuan for the c200

• Only rm193k here in labuan for the c200

• Typo. Rm183k only

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 4:25 pm

I’m more concerned that the CKD version did not add more spec/value into it while decreasing the price. The much loved adaptive headlight system is no more and it still doesn’t have proper keyless entry system for the base C200 model.

Plus I hope the C250 AMG Line does come with adaptive suspension to match the 328i M-Sport model in terms of agility and spirited driving.

Finally…its alarming that the price is climbing with every new introduction of the C class…before you know it – its RM300k for the base C200 in the future.

• sammy on Apr 27, 2015 at 6:25 pm

And the waiting list for this “just launched” c class is how long??
    You might not even get it this year..