SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Saga, Persona and Perdana

IMG_5858

2016 Proton Saga

Our readers have been sending in spyshots of the upcoming 2016 Proton Saga, Persona and Perdana, but now it’s our turn to capture two of the three sedans – the Saga and Perdana – while readers Ong Bahk and Hanafi have also contributed with their own images of the trio.

Let’s start with the Saga. Our latest photos give us a closer look at the updated front fascia of the heavily-revamped budget sedan. The reshaped headlights, sleeker bumper design and downturned air intakes make for a cleaner, more sophisticated look.

The rest of the prototype is mostly familiar to us now – there’s a new C-pillar kink, Iriz-style door handles, a side character line that slopes further downwards and a completely revised rear end that is more elegant than the outgoing car, featuring trapezoidal three-dimensional tail lights.

IMG_5852

2016 Proton Saga

Technical details remain scarce right now, but the Saga could launch with the Iriz’s 1.3 litre VVT engine and a choice of a five-speed manual or a CVT. Proton’s new naturally-aspirated 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre three-cylinder engines may also make an appearance further down the line – these mills are slated to begin production by the end of 2017 – while a turbocharged version of the 1.0 litre engine could also feature.

Next up, the Persona – here we also get a closer look at the front end, and while it does look fairly reminiscent of the Iriz, we can see the reshaped bonnet and grille, as well as round fog lights instead of triangular units on the hatch. We can also see reflector headlights instead of projector halogens on the Iriz, which is probably indicative of a lower-end positioning in the lineup.

2016 Proton Persona

The rear of the car sees a similar C-pillar kink as the Saga, as well as as almond-shaped tail lights and tall bootlid, all seen before. The Iriz’s range of 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre VVT engines are expected to be offered on the Persona at launch, but the car could gain Proton’s new 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre direct-injected (GDI/TGDI) engines after production of the new mills begin by the end of 2017.

Lastly, we’ll look at the Perdana. Unlike the others, we’ve already seen the D-segment sedan – based on the eighth-generation Honda Accord – in full before, so these spyshots hold little of significance in terms of the design of the car. However, the car has to be unveiled to the public very soon; out of the three cars here, the Perdana is slated to be launched first, and all three are expected to be launched this year.

2016 Proton Perdana

At launch, the Perdana will feature the 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines and five-speed automatic transmission, derived from the eighth-generation Honda Accord on which it is based. A revision is slated to arrive by the end of 2017, with the Perdana set to receive a new NE01 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, acquired from Petronas in 2012.

Also being considered is Proton’s new 1.5 litre turbocharged, direct-injected TGDI engine, claimed to be able to produce 180 hp and 250 Nm. Whichever powertrain ends up being slotted in, a new torque converter CVT automatic is expected to become standard fare come end-2017.

Learn more: ,

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ooh Ha on May 09, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Wow nice camo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Albert on May 09, 2016 at 5:37 pm

After gasak 1.5 billion, still cannot launch,oh …shambolic Protong.
      makes no difference,launch besok or 6 months later.
      As long as it is a Campro and punch CVT,buyers will prefer paying more for Honda or Nissan.
      The Hondana is OVER RIPE.Imagine a over ripen banana.It turns black,start juicing and stinks later!
      Cos of everlasting BAILOUT PROTECTION mentality,these dudes….rilax….Tun tiada tapi sekarang kami enjoy roti jala,mah.
      It is like replaying a pontianak movie over and over again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 78
      • Perdana is like Banana. Yellow on the outside, white on the inside. In this case is black on the outside

• uglee on May 09, 2016 at 11:03 pm

You watched too much pontianak movie and generalise it to all things.

But it is true on your jepunis car, very hideous

• azlan on May 10, 2016 at 7:49 am

Take your hate elsewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 10, 2016 at 9:15 am

At this rate, no launch before ramadan. During puasa of course cannot work. Raya whole month busy makan and open house. After Raya is too close to Raya haji. So we are looking at Q4 maybe. Till then, get your sawan medication ready and brace for more spyshots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • The perdana is not the 2nd gen, it is actually the 3rd gen. Thr 2nd gen perdana is the one assembled by Honda melaka plant, sold only to the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
      • john otak batu on May 10, 2016 at 1:55 am

No, those are actually Hondas

• krejin on May 10, 2016 at 9:07 am

Maybe it is the 2nd gen that will sell publicly.

• What 2nd gen, 3rd gen? All are same gen Honda Accord which is the 8th gen. The only newer generation is the 9th gen which is the current Honda Accord.

• It’s pretty obvious proton is testing camouflage stickers, not cars. If they were in the business of selling cars they would have sold those by now. Case in point are all those rebadged accords sitting at some yard somewhere. Kereta dah siap pasang, nak test apa kejadah lagi?

• Yusuf on May 12, 2016 at 9:53 am

Ni kereta yang baru dibuat. Nak kira average fuel consumtion, performance awal2 dan apa2 yang bakal diaju oleh pelanggan mesti cuba ambil tau awal2. Proton punya handling terutamanya sangat sesuai dengan jalan malaysia yang berubah2 keadaan.

Jarang nampak kereta baru lain test atas jalan? Dorang test negara asal pastu lepas eksport mana ada test langsung (cthnya p2).

• Sack designer on May 09, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Sack the designer!

• Kancil Hybrid on May 09, 2016 at 1:52 pm

Persona 1.5 TGDI will beat Civic Turbo RS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 46
    • Ong Chee Boon is VW con-man on May 09, 2016 at 2:15 pm

Wow! makes u feel syiok rite?!! … :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
      • Muniandy Periasamy on May 09, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Every year same story from 1985. My first car was a Proton 1.5S in 1985. Proton will do the same hype. Tease people for months. Then when launch time, the car will be a big failure.

Most people commenting here are 20 to 30 yrs of age. If you are over 65, you would have seen the same bull Proton will pull every launch. Every launch also, they say Proton has changed, sudah bertaubat, cars are no more low quality, this new car will be ultimate etc etc.

Then few months later, people start complaining everything falls apart.

This 3 new launches is no big deal. I have seen already about 10 different launches since 1985, 30 years ago. Same modus operandi, same goreng.

I pity the young buyers who don’t know the real Proton. Trust me, the past 10 launches the past 30 years have been nothing but pure lies. Thsi is why Proton is going bust. People now see the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • JohnL77 on Jul 14, 2016 at 6:46 pm

But my Iriz is almost a year old and it is still in good condition…

• samelordupe on May 09, 2016 at 11:06 pm

Civic at 200km/h still cannot beat suprimau, how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • I feel more aroused seeing Proton doing striptease than watching JAV. In fact, i always think of reproducing Gen 3 in my Gen 2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
    • Lol hope it will beat, civic is currently top sale of passenger car in usa first quarter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • hailthepurist on May 09, 2016 at 3:14 pm

lets start producing, stop wasting our money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • Our people knows nothing but reproduction, soon you’ll know…

• question on May 09, 2016 at 11:34 pm

Well p1 has paid gomen more than its loss

• Our kaum reproduce faster than Proton can reproduce cars in the factory. We are No. 1 in Malaysia and some say Sg

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on May 09, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Perghhhh…..lagi cepat bungkus…..

Not to bash P1 but not interesting at all…….
      Dont even bother to dig further…..

Gudlak P1. Pls just dont use my tax money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 69
      • Muniandy Periasamy on May 09, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Longer they wait, longer they can waste the Rm.5 billion on relax and lepak. Then, after 2 years when the RM1.5 billion finsh, can still ask another RM1.5 billion.

this is why they always delay. Tactic lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
    • OMG…still wanna spyshots? Nothing special, just few pieces of craps. I think new H.Civic can launched earlier than all these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 14
      • Godcar on May 09, 2016 at 6:36 pm

H.Civic also a piece of craps. Nothing special.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • gobacktoschool on May 09, 2016 at 11:12 pm

Lol think before you write kid,
        Civic is already on production, you no need to say like that at first place.

• Bangsa on May 09, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Sorry boss, itu Persona baru dah jadi B segment, so ia hanya compete dgn City, Vios dan Almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Ollie on May 09, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 30
    • Competing with Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • Jangan persoal design Proton Designer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
      • Jonn Dol on May 09, 2016 at 4:23 pm

The weakest model here design-wise, is the New Persona. Just look at those tiny wheels. It makes the body looks bloated. I know it’s all about the BOM cost & commonization, but at least they need to be more sensible..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • Bodoh on May 10, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Then u can see all small tyres on sushi car especially toyotaik cars! Why no bash the sushi tyre?

• Ollie on May 09, 2016 at 4:41 pm

HAHA.. design proton pun jangan dipersoal? Hak kita?

• kuriang on May 09, 2016 at 1:56 pm

This is/are story or history?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
  • Proton should rebadge suzuki swift to compete with myvi. Knp tidak? Test market dulu sblm rebadge ertiga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • applegreen on May 09, 2016 at 2:08 pm

current swift is oudated already, next gen will coming out next year. As for now, proton should rebadge vitara turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • Paparich on May 09, 2016 at 3:03 pm

Yes, they are otw doing rebadge vitara turbo, they will use 1.5gdti turbo instead of 1.4 boosterjet ….give them sometime r&d the engine mounting and gearbox mounting issue…

• endless test especially perdana, already leak the images on the internet, more like “facelift” 8 gen accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • xxxxxxx on May 09, 2016 at 2:15 pm

yawn zzz zzzz zzzzz zzzzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • contender on May 09, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Endless spy shot …. c’mon this is taking way to long to launch ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
  • nabill (Member) on May 09, 2016 at 2:33 pm

that perdana looks the highest spec available ..with bodykit and all…i know we have seen it a trizillion times but the rear end still looks good and catchy…
    i still cant understand this new persona…it somehow competes with the saga in a way as the size and dimension are not too dissimilar ,unless , p1 will only offer the saga with 1.3 or smaller engine , and if u want a higher powered one , u will need to upgrade to the persona??
    and make sure u stop current persona production bcos according to a salesman who i know , it still actually sells very well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • waters on May 09, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Spyshots? Proton, stop teasing! You’re building up to a great fall!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 20
  • Anonymous_L on May 09, 2016 at 2:54 pm

So much teasing have made the public less interest, bye~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Nohaters on May 09, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Go Proton go! 12th Sept Perdana will be launch. All the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Nohaters on May 09, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Ops not 12th Sept but 12th May Perdana will be launched. LOL

• Paparich on May 09, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Oh no, civic rs will launch on 12 th may… all the best accordana.

• Nohaters on May 10, 2016 at 8:50 am

really??haha poor civic..high price but low spec;p Perdana price started from 99k~139k. civic? 130k~170K?LOL

• persona on May 09, 2016 at 2:59 pm

persona downgraded to a-segment?

• Sad proton strategy on May 09, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Bad strategy proton… Last time iriz sale dropped out because it came in time of high fuel price and presence of more sensible fuel-saver, the axia. Now you delay the launch of new perdana, for sure people got tired of waiting and then buy the new civic, which is better looking. Your strategy is plain stupid proton… I wish for proton to go well but if i’m buying a car, i’ll stop waiting for how your perdana looks like and buy a civic instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Basilo on May 09, 2016 at 3:14 pm

News about Proton…..berita dah basi. Uninteresting…. better not to know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • albag on May 09, 2016 at 3:29 pm

tired of seeing these countless spyshots Protons… just launch it and fail already!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • pics of cars without the camouflage are already circulating in WA groups..

• Only one reason why paultan does not release the photos. If the car is in proton factory, premise or compound – proton can actually take you to the court for misconduct.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • P1POKAI on May 09, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Getting so boring with all these useless spyshots. Just close shop lah P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Honda Fan on May 09, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Come on Proton, there has been confirmation that the Perdana will be launched in 1st Q of this year, then Tun Dr. M said in April month, now already May, still no news. This is not a completely new car like the Saga or Persona, why take so long time for testing?

• Sgt Scoop on May 09, 2016 at 11:37 pm

They are too busy sticking camo stickers kn their cars to launch anything.

• To all bashers. I fully 100% agree with ur comments and have taken the liberty to copy it to other articles on spyshots of camo test cars by Honda, MB, Audi, Hyundai, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • john's boss on May 09, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Now we know you’re a copycat, why should BN waste resources to hire you for posting comments?

• copypasta on May 09, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Yes that’s good. Teach them a lesson!

• Captain Malaysia on May 10, 2016 at 2:25 am

Go ahead, you think we are afraid of your comments? You are nothing but a Gov shill

• Huehue on May 09, 2016 at 4:24 pm

This persona uglier than the saga…with that design and the small wheel size..

• volkoff on May 09, 2016 at 4:28 pm

rather than talking too much, better wait for both car and test on my own.. then can argue… but for sure, if civic vs persona (which i think consist few hot press part @ panel) in term of safety we should not underestimate p1..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • Bangsa on May 09, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Persona baru downsize jadi B segment, tak nak lawan dgn Civic. Mungkin Preve facelift 2018 akan lawan dgn Civic turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Malta on May 09, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Its quite interesting to see future model pesona rsr compete civic tyre r running lap time on green hell nurburgring.

• VELOO USHPAKETHU on May 09, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Not surprise anymore P1… You won’t launching, we all know that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Batak on May 09, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Really butchered the Persona line right there, no more signature shark face and long boot.
    Judging by the picture, the Saga seems to have much larger boot space than this new “Persona” *cough*gen2*cough*.
    As if all these saga/persona were using excess iriz part, it’s dissapointing.
    Preve/Suprima looks waaaay better.

• kamarudin hj hussin on May 09, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Asyik spyshot je..launch lah!!tak confident ke atau banyak problem?

• frugal on May 09, 2016 at 11:24 pm

Sebab FC bagus sangat kot, Vios 1.5l minyak macam lembu minum air, Iriz 1.6l lagi jimat!

• Civic Best on May 09, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Mr. Jon Lee, with all due respect, pls dont waste ur time writing an “update” on P1 models. Cuz simply no one is interested except P1 staff members. Ur time is better spent on writing more on the upcoming Honda BRV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • They write what they wanna write. Unless u pay their salaries or own PT site, STFU! U r not Paul Tan!

• This website is called Paul Tan’s Automotive News. And this article still qualifies as an automotive news. The world doesn’t revolve around you alone, so self-reflect before trying to ‘advice’ other people how to do their jobs. Apparently, you are also interested enough to come in and leave a comment.

• Farhan on May 09, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Ewww shit spotted on the road again. Garbage truck pls come and clean it up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • Setiap minggu asyik gambar sama. sampai bila nak test camouflage proton oi…

• Imbecile on May 09, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Year 2048, Still updating on SPYSHOTS of Proton Saga, Persona and Perdana of 2016

• camtakpro on May 11, 2016 at 11:26 am

We can play a bet, Saga spyshots vs Perodua sedan hype… which one coming first?

If the latter comes first, Proton basically need another 1.5B fund injections just to extend the spyshots for 2yrs more.

• Heaven on May 09, 2016 at 8:52 pm

I sincerely hope Proton will turn around this time for the better and succeed in their restructuring exercise. Most of the young readers here may be to young to remember, but when Proton was launched back in the day, the average Ali & Ah Huat on the street were standing proud as Proton reflects the notion that the sky was the limit for Malaysians if we dare to turn a dream into reality.

• Spyshot syiokness on May 09, 2016 at 9:18 pm

Never finish with the spyshot kah?

I think these spyshots event will keep going until year end…..

later, spyshots will become cheapshots…..

• Captain Obvious on May 09, 2016 at 9:27 pm

Why sell the actual cars when you can camo and bagi orang spy-shot it for 7 years?

• If telling the world ” i have failed in my career” does not matter you,by all means go ahead to get this.

• Wow..after i read all the comments..there are so many specialist of making car inside here.
    Always negative.
    No proud at all to national car maker.
    Perhaps most of you have been lost your sense of belonging.
    You judge P1 so and so.

If you are really specialist in making a car..
    can anyone tell me how to make a car from scratch to a prototype?
    Can you tell me how many cast car maker use to making a single car?
    Can anyone tell me how many bucks car maker spend in R&D???
    Can anyone tell me what kind of software car maker use to creating all parts in a single car???

Don’t talk rubbish and bullshit!!!
    Unless you willing to show how stupid you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Jobless on May 09, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Sack the entire managememt and hire Claudio Ranieri

• Shafril on May 10, 2016 at 12:15 am

Idris Jala better speed up the restructuring of Proton and not let Proton deplete the 1.5 bil soft loan.
    Should stop all these wasteful R&D cos one of the restructuring plans is to find a foreign partner.
    In fact the whole management & decision making should be put on hold until the new shareholders are identified.

• RavenAii (Member) on May 10, 2016 at 1:29 am

Not to be rude but the new Persona is like someone has given a dose of Estrogen to it and make it shrink in segment and oddly propotionate designed… Hopefully they won’t equip it with small wheels as it already looks weird in this test vehicle.

• Wee fuk yew on May 10, 2016 at 9:46 am

Imho malaysian cars have longer product lifecycle~10 years as compared to japs korean n us~3 years, euro ~4-5 years. Is it due to lack of tecnical expertise, financial capability or due to our man man lai attitude? P2is financially capable, P1has R n D and Lotus for tech but both might have the same Malaysian affliction of malaise. That maybe the reason behind these neverending spyshots. In the meantime the rest of the worlds auto manufacturers have moved on to a different playing field.Shape up or ship out to the both of you.

• perdana its a rebadge honda accord rite?

so why need to test so long….zZzzzzzZZzzz

• camtakpro on May 10, 2016 at 11:58 am

Told you all, Proton spend billions on test mules and masking tapes, is to test public response.

Response not good, then delay release.

• Biasalah bang, ni kereta Proton

• putra_rider on May 10, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Come on lar weii…

• Albert on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Just wondering if proton closed shop we can get a cheaper car like brunei