So it’s finally here, the 2016 Proton Perdana – you can read our full and comprehensive launch report and watch our quick walk-around tour to find out everything you need to know about the new national flagship sedan; you can also read all about what we think of the car in our first drive review.
Prefer things in a video format? You’re in luck, as we also have a quick video review of the Perdana for you to enjoy. Watch as our man Hafriz Shah takes the sedan – in both 2.0 litre and 2.4 litre forms – through its paces on Proton’s test track in Shah Alam. Incidentally, that’s right next to where the car is built, the Medium Volume Factory (MVF) that also churns out the Exora MPV.
Based on the previous eighth-generation Honda Accord, the Perdana is offered with a choice of 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 178 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre DOHC i-VTEC engines, both mated to a five-speed automatic transmission. The 2.0 litre model is priced at RM113,888 on-the-road with insurance, while the range-topping 2.4 litre variant retails at RM138,888.
You can research detailed specs and equipment of both models as well as compare the new Perdana against other D-segment competitors using our car research tool, CarBase.my.
GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana 2.0
GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana 2.4
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
My boss kunta is very disappointed with the safety features. it is not better than his recond persona where he got it for 19k.
Tell ur boss, if he cannot count that is, 4 airbags is definitely better than 2.
Tell ur boss, RM1.5B for 4 airbags is overpriced
Tell ur boss, close shop lah !
Why you dun compare picanto with 1980 Volvo 240GLE?
Fellow staff, I ask you to work you say you want to relax, tired, want tongkat. Everything also want free. So, how to help you?
When Proton is allowed to modify this ‘Accord Perdana’, I hope:
1. ESP + 6 airbags as standard
2. Lotus ride and handling
3. Equally good or better engine and transmission
4. Better cabin silence
5. Better customer service and warranty claim (few cars are perfect ya, everyone)
6. Prices remain the same, by then.
7. The rear bumper lower part is redesigned to elegance (currently it is overdone here).
Wish you all the best.
Ya if this perdana get the proton lotus handling thus it may be great.. Lets hope maybe for perdana with NE01 engine they can tuned all around for better. Anyway congrats proton..
congrats proton debut a car that only allow change Tyre and sell over 100k
Proton engineers are only allowed to change the trye. So sad
What happen to Hafriz????? Put on so much weight!!!
Just like the car itself.
I think he lost weight:)
Hafriz, can you compare it ride-comfort on highways to a 1999 Ssangyong CM500? I love how comfortably lazy that car was, and I was wondering if this new Perdana have that kind of lazy-comfort that newer cars doesn’t seems to have anymore.
What a waste of time. Everyone’s time. Including Hafiz. Cause it’s a boring car.
You want shaky and bad handling car go for Jepunis car lor
The only one wasting time is u coming here to comment this ;)
Civic > honda perdana!
I wonder if jonathan got his idol azlan othman to autograph a picture of the new pondana’s ass. Preferably right next to a close-up of the fake body-coloured painted exhausts with the PROTON Design logo somewhere nearby.
the design looks dated to me
I’ll wait for the 2017 exportable version then. Aside from new engine, the chassis/suspension tweak embargo will be over and it WILL come with ESP..
You mean this 2016 Proton Accord is still a cameo for the 2017 Proton Perdana?
In a way, yes. Proton were not allow to do so much except for cosmetic changes. Perhaps with their own engine in 2017, they’ll refine the car more in every aspect. If the frame still good, don’t bother change it. Look how Toyota still keep using the same frame for their Vios.
VTeC Honda performance..nodeNy Great Perdana latest Editions.
So what’s the different between this and the previous Accord to take up so much time to produce? The last Accord was circa 2013 and 3 years to face-lift an Accord? Utterly rubbish project management.
straight get the 1.8 civic with little bit extra, 2016 model. and is pure Honda
Lousy car.
Thanks to Dr M!
No point review, just go borrow test drive the 8th Gen Accord from friends,acquaintance or your boss
Wonder if d designer got taste or just simply meeting kpi. Wood trim is so 90’s. Think the next facelift perdana will certainly look much better
Great car. Love it!!!
Oh sorry…. Was referring to the new Civic.
Bye.
WHAT IN THE WORLD?
Hafriz is that a Lange!?
Haha I wish, mate. It’s a TW Steel.
Good short review. Appreciate your frankness – I always had an issue with Honda tyre roar and road noise. Especially the rear seats.