SPIED: Honda Gienia spotted – it’s a City hatchback!

Honda Gienia spyshots 1

In 2014, Honda rolled out the Concept B during the Beijing International Auto Show, previewing a hatchback version of the Honda Greiz sedan. Thanks to Autohome, we now have a first look at the production version of the concept, reportedly called the Honda Gienia. The model will be manufactured by the Dongfeng-Honda joint venture, alongside its four-door sibling, and sold as a China-exclusive model.

For a brief recap, the Greiz is based on the Honda City platform, albeit wearing slightly different overalls. Therefore, if you wanted some idea of what a City hatchback might look like, the Gienia is your best bet. The Jazz (or Fit) serves as the hatchback version of the City in international markets. However, it appears the Chinese market has enough room for a second hatchback from the same family.

In terms of looks, the concept’s bold look has been watered down a little. A few design cues are still prominent here, like the large Solid Wing Face accentuated by large chrome elements, a black grille, projector headlamps and a slightly less aggressive bumper (notice the new fog lamp enclosures).

Honda Gienia spyshots 2

The rear remains largely faithful to the concept. Boomerang-shaped tail lamps are linked by a strip that runs across the length of the boot lid. The lower apron meanwhile, hosts the reflector/rear fog lamp, featuring chrome accents.

Getting to the numbers, the Gienia measures 4,517 mm long, 1,705 mm wide, 1,477 mm high, and has a wheelbase of 2,600 mm. Compared to the Greiz sedan, it is only 22 mm shorter in overall length. Power comes from a 1.5 litre i-VTEC petrol engine, with 129 hp and 155 Nm of torque available. A five-speed manual gearbox is mated to the engine, with the option of a CVT.

What do you think of the Honda Gienia? Would you be interested in a hatchback version of what is indirectly a Honda City? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: Honda Concept B at the 2014 Beijing International Auto Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Die Wahrheit on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:01 am

No. City hatchback = jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Same L00 on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:14 pm

You wish it will be introduced into Malaysian market? Slowly wait…
      Why good sushi cars are not brought in? Thanks for your beloved government and Proton protection!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Diss-illusions on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Damn Sienzz…. everytime cannot get this or that, gomen fault. If like that, your wife don’t want to bonk you also gomen fault leh??

Why current sushi cars not good enuff?? Barring Toyota, all got decent to good safety specs… what more you want?

• kzm (Member) on Jun 21, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Why dont call Jazz as City Hatchback or vice versa?

• Concept is always excellent. When comes to production often ugly

• Leonardo on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:04 am

Not particularly different. We already have the City Sedan and the Jazz Hatchback of the same platform. Why need an ‘in between’? Difficult to justify, IMO.

• Warren Wong Yee Ket on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Because both the Jazz and City saloon aren’t particularly attractive, but a car of the City’s height in hatchback form works.

• Apa LanJixo Cibai pun ada on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:17 am

Super Fugly, CRZ and old Euro civic type R kahwin creating this monster.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:32 am

That spoiler is like a mini version of the huge one in the RS Cosworth rally car.

• Lilas on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:55 am

7 Gen?

• what is captcha ? i cant send enquiry when a caption pop up and ask for caprcha ?

• Look at the fake exhaust at the bottom – seems they try to copy our perdana. How many years our boys at proton try to work on a game changing innovative design but seem this lazy japs try to copy us. How can proton take this to court of arbitration for stealing interlectual property???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Tabouleh! Cuz Albert alredi warned us not to pandai-pandai persoal our foreign overlords, or he will potong our kepla. Just to up his tali-barutness.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Bulan Puasa also got worms coming out from your mouth John. Taubat lah

• DPCraft on Jun 21, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Front is not good, rear is good. But still prefer city’s design-more sleek.

• transformer on Jun 21, 2016 at 4:50 pm

its overcooked! looks more suitable for mainland, even JDM consumer wont want this design….

• Puuchi on Jun 21, 2016 at 10:32 pm

This is more of the aeroback version than a ‘hatchback’ we call Jazz. Some do not like the stumped Jazz look and prefer a slightly longer hood and more of a hatchback sedan. Rear somewhat looks like the current design trend from the new civic and looks fuller.

Im no fan of the current City as it looks older compared to the prev gen.

• Banana tax on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:43 pm

Sell it around 50k it would be sellout like hot banana fritters in just a blink of an eye! But dream on Malaysian! It won’t happen coz the tax itself will cost u around 40k for this type of car! Keep driving overpriced and featureless myvi.

• Benc break on Jun 22, 2016 at 12:54 am

Did you notice what we missing long time ago? The manual transmission!