2016 Perodua Bezza – watch the launch live Thursday July 21 from 8pm onwards, exclusively on paultan.org

It’s a big day for Perodua this Thursday – the second national carmaker will be introducing its first sedan, the 2016 Perodua Bezza, in just three days. And you’ll be able to watch this historic moment right from the comfort of your own computer, smartphone or tablet, as paultan.org is proud to bring you exclusive live streaming coverage of the launch event, happening on July 21 from 8pm onwards!

That’s right, aside from reading our usual comprehensive launch report, you will also be able to watch it being unveiled before your eyes, before anyone else, right from this website! Be the first to see the new car inside and out and learn of all the details, specifications and equipment count for all variants – as long as your device’s browser supports YouTube streaming, you’ll be able to watch it anywhere.

So what do we know about the car itself? Well, pretty much everything, really, most importantly the price – the Bezza will start at RM37,300 (auto RM39,300) for the base 1.0 Standard G, rising up to RM42,800 (auto RM44,800) for the mid-table 1.3 Premium X and topping off at RM50,800 for the auto-only 1.3 Advance. Prices are the same for solid or metallic paint and include a five-year/150,000 km warranty.

Full kit count has also been revealed, with standard equipment including 14-inch alloy wheels, LED tail lights and USB audio. The Premium X variant tacks on front fog lights, keyless entry, push button start, front parking sensors, power-adjustable door mirrors, Bluetooth and a USB charging port, while the Advance adds two-tone alloys, leather seats, a touchscreen multimedia system, a reverse camera and hill start assist.

Safety has taken a significant step upwards – as usual for Perodua, all models come with dual airbags, but ABS with EBD is now standard-fit as well, a first for Perodua (the single-spec, imported-from-Japan Nautica SUV notwithstanding). What’s more, the Advance model also gets Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), allowing it to nab Perodua’s first five-star ASEAN NCAP rating (all other models get four stars).

Two new engine choices are available for the Bezza, the first a 1.0 litre 1KR-VE VVT-i unit seen in the baseline Standard G manual and auto. Output is 67 hp at 6,000 rpm and 91 Nm at 4,400 rpm (slightly higher than the Axia’s non-VVT-i 1KR-DE2’s 66 hp at 6,000 rpm and 90 Nm at 3,600 rpm).

Perodua_Bezza_Advance_Int-20

The other is a 1.3 litre unit called the 1NR-VE, equipping the Premium X and Advance models. Good for 94 hp at 6,000 rpm and 121 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, the dual VVT-i mill is not the same as that seen on the Myvi (K3-VE, with 90 hp and 117 Nm). Transmission options are a five-speed manual or four-speed auto for the Standard G and Premium X, while the Advance is only available with an auto.

So stay tuned to watch the exclusive live stream of the launch of the 2016 Perodua Bezza this Thursday, July 21 at 8pm, right here on paultan.org. See you then!

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza 1.3 Advance

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Anything But P1 on Jul 18, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Call me oldskool, but I buy cars based on its engines. I really do think the latest 4-cylinder engine is really really good and high tech for the price. I bet Proton people are shaking when watching the launch video.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
    • OMG…Ya…just kiss goodbye to Proton…Now I know why they not dare to launch their new P.saga & pesona…always shyshots…but look craps…
      Bezza will KO P.Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
      • Mass production only cost 18k – 30k, the profit margin is higher than u expected

• Skyfall on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:32 pm

How you know? You work in P2 or took the numbers from the sky?

• Operation Manager on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Top spec advance jual 1 untung 1, how acceseries marketing plan to kencing msian…

• this Bezza is really really BEZA with the concept Bezza.. anyone remember?

• karam singh on Jul 18, 2016 at 8:17 pm

Pity those who seat at the rear seat.. lol
        long journey gonna be very2 painful

• notakata on Jul 19, 2016 at 11:29 am

Car without testing will end up like takata airbags?

• leoRNado on Jul 19, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Not much teaser doesn’t mean no testing.. simpan sikit kepandaian tuh

• Notakata on Jul 20, 2016 at 8:27 pm

No spyshot no real world testing = takata quality

• Sayonara on Jul 18, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Bye bye Proton sayonara!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:16 pm

I already racun my sister to buy Bezza.. n i will buy non p2..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • If u luv ur sis, racun her to get topkek spec, poor pipus spec is for early afterlife

• I dun watch rubbish, hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
  • Same L0rrr on Jul 18, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Buy Toyota & Perodua better! Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
  • gwnoe on Jul 18, 2016 at 3:16 pm

P1 bashers will bash in article about P2, why ar?
    Bashing others won’t make this car better Being overpriced and having lower level of safety gadgets are already known.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • modesto.h on Jul 18, 2016 at 3:29 pm

rear lamps look like previous generation of mercedes C-class. this can serve as poor man’s c class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • Ken Ching Kuat on Jul 18, 2016 at 3:35 pm

People should avoid to buy expensive car from now on.Don’t buy expensive foreign make.Coz when the buying stops,the tax will drop.Imagine a vios already put in gahmen 45k in huge tax income.Don’t spend your little salary to pay a huge tax.Let those greedy ministers lost their election first then new party hard gahmen drop the tax then we can buy foreign.Let p1 and p2 cars much cheaper than today.Don’t u people want a city at 50k,civic at 80k? Why drive a 9 years interest & bn tax? Drive a 5 yr interest car and low tax.Be an American consumer not a slave human.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • Remember RM1.5B loan? Not so fast lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:56 pm

As much as I share your enthusiasm, the gov will only increase the taxes if foreign cars sales is meager. It’s true that crony system should make the tax lower to promote better sales, but the gov will also need to profit from them as well, simply to cover other costs to run the country or whatever excuse they could think of. Furthermore they would also likely to impose higher taxes for local makes, at the presumption that local cars has more value, mind you the gov will only be looking at statistics and not what we are thinking inside. And this would only lead to us feeling shortchanged.

As I’ve said, I share your sentiment but on a different perspective. What we should do instead is to stop purchasing cars from the grey market, this would lead to worse AP returns and ultimately force an evolution to the grey market segment. This could potentially disrupt the system and lower the prices down in the form of tax relief. The reason is the car makers would then focus on our market, they have eyes on the official channel but not on the grey market, grey market cars are auctioned second hand refurbished cars that works outside of the car makers eyes. The story that led to this revelation was myself and my acquaintances made a check on our vehicles on (http://jpcenter.ru/report) where we purchased our vehicles auction sheets and found out that what we got wasn’t what was marketed. Mine was a case where they sold me a car with 500km on the odometer and marketed as brand new, the purchased report shows the car was auctioned off at 140,000km with structural accident damage at 790,000円 which was about RM25,000 at the time of purchase. The manufacturer couldn’t do anything about it as we were told that the cars are marked for JDM and because we didn’t purchased via official channel, we will need to ship our cars back to Japan to have them look into the matter, simply because of international and official paperwork. And that was how we found out that the foreign makes doesn’t have any data on grey market cars. So if they do have data on how many of their vehicles are sold here, it would shift their attention to focus on bringing us better and affordable products. We would than have CKD hybrid City/Vellfire with gadgets and gizmos at prices with tax incentives.

• Albert on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:22 pm

Ken Ching Huat
      Do u know buying/changing cars is HIGHLY ADDICTIVE?
      Let them decide.When the instalments start…and 6 months later kena retrenchments/business sliding….when they got no money,got to go gomen clinic to get PARACETAMOL.
      “Fikir Apa ? Beli je”
      Blacklist pun boleh.
      Loan 100 percent.
      3 days,we deliver to your doorstep.
      Sounds familiar?

• Perodua should add VSC in all models especially new model like Bezze regardless of variant OR offer it as options.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • it will effect other brand and it own model with the same price range

• Albert on Jul 18, 2016 at 4:13 pm

For the price of a top range Sportivo Vios,one can BUY 2 units of 1.3 dual vvti Bezza.
    Of course the Vios is bigger but more or less 90plus horsepower.

• Why is there no full side view pictures? There are tonnes of articles, but it seems that there are no full side view pictures…strange..is it not pleasant looking from the sides?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 18, 2016 at 4:41 pm

As mentioned before, we are still restricted from showing the full car until the official launch this Thursday.

For the full side view, this is the most we can show for now: http://paultan.org/2016/07/14/driven-perodua-bezza-1-0l-1-3l/perodua-bezza-sedan-020/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • donno on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:06 pm

You can always cheat a bit… Show the full side view with the wheels censored out :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • Pls dun ask PT to do anything illegal even if its borderline. It will be their job on the line, not urs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • Albert on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Come on Hafriz
        Nobody will hukum you.You are not selling property below market value.
        Cos Proton has been doing too many stripteases,we want at least 90percent.
        Can you do your loyal forum writer a favour?
        Come on,Hafriz.I am sure Perodua will understand ,cos their anticpation of sales is very high for this blockbuster gamechanger.

• Do you even chill? on Jul 21, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Imagine you spent weeks planning to surprise your girlfriend for her birthday, but just few days prior to her birthday, your friend spilled the beans and told your girlfriend that you’re going to surprise her. How would you feel? Would you be happy? No, right?

• yes it isn’t. that’s the reason why.

p/s: the whole side view of the car viral over internet already. go find it. :p

• sulaiman zainudin on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:42 pm

PERODUA & PROTON
    Perodua adalah anak syarikat Daihatsu & Daihatsu pula adalah anak syarikat Toyota.
    Ada banyak syarikat dalam group Perodua. Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua(Perodua), Perodua Sales, Perodua Manufacturing & Perodua Global.
    Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua(Perodua) controlling share holder adalah Syarikat Malaysia, begitu juga Perodua Sales. Tetapi untuk product planning, design & engineering development, quality management, & production, semuanya dibawah pengurusan Perodua Manufacturing. Perodua Manufacturing controlling share holder ialah Daihatsu. Sebab itu dengan kerjasama anak tempatan yang sememangnya lebih cerdik dari budak2 proton, strategy strategy perniagaan dipilih dengan baik utk keberuntungan bersama (Malaysia & Jepun)
    Tapi kena ingat, orang Jepun telah begitu lama dalam pembikinan kereta. Semua engineering development Perodua digariskan dari blueprint Daihatsu ini. Oleh sebab itu quality perodua ternyata lebih baik. Juga 50% dari komponents Perodua sebenarnya adalah carry over parts dari Daihatsu Jepun & hanya di localization sahaja di Malaysia.
    Dari sudut lain, ini juga bermakna, kerja kerja pembangunan kereta di proton, adalah lebih mencabar bagi budak2 proton. Di dalam Proton sungguh disesali kerana mereka tidak faham erti perkataan product segmentation & evolution. Mereka juga suka hati mengambil fungsi kereta LHD ke dalam kereta mereka yang hamper 100% adalah RHD. Kononnya European feel dengan tidak peduli keselamatan(safety) Juga mereka tidak dapat membaca dengan tepat trend segment mana yang akan meledak dari 5 tahun yang lalu sehingga 5 tahun yang akan datang. Walaupun dulu ada Mitsubishi, apabila Proton cuba berdikari, mereka minta bantuan dari banyak syarikat(Mitsubishi, Honda, Suzuki, Renault) yang menjadikan mereka caca merba dan akhirnye hilang arah.
    Peranan Lotus dalam Proton amatlah sedikit, Lotus hanya pandai(tak berapa pandai pun) membuat kereta sport car. Itu pun dalam bilangan yang kecil, hanya beberapa ribu sahaja dalam setahun. Pelaburan Proton dalam Lotus tidak menjadi baik & kecundang, malahan Proton kena menanggung beban cost pengurusan Lotus yang sangat tinggi.
    Saya rasa kalau Proton tidak mendapat rakan kongsi yang bagus & juga jika rakan kongsi ini tidak ada controlling share dalam Proton, proton tidak akan kemana. Syarikat kereta yg besar perlu kepada controlling share ini supaya mereka dapat melancarkan strategy business mereka lebih berjaya dalam Malaysia(utk Malaysia) & juga di luar Malaysia seperti ASEAN untuk diri mereka & juga untuk Malaysia bersama.

PERODUA & PROTON (translation from original malay text)
    Perodua is a subsidiary of Daihatsu and Daihatsu in turn is a subsidiary of Toyota.
    There are many companies in Perodua group. Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua (Perodua), Perodua Sales, Perodua Manufacturing & Perodua Global.
    Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua (Perodua) & Perodua Sales controlling share holder belong to Malaysian company. But for product planning, design and engineering development, quality management, and production, are all under the management of Perodua Manufacturing. Perodua Manufacturing controlling share holder is Daihatsu. Therefore, Daihatsu in collaboration with Perodua (The Perodua boys are much smarter than the Proton boys), a good & appropriate business strategy is chosen for the success & benefit of both parties. (Malaysia & Japan)
    We have to remember, the Japanese have been so long in making cars. All engineering development in Perodua is based from the Daihatsu blueprint. Therefore quality of Perodua is surely better than Proton. Also maybe about 50% of Perodua’s components are carry over parts of Daihatsu Japan and only to localize them in Malaysia(with already the quality built in).
    On the other hand, this also means that, car development works in Proton is more challenging for the Proton boys. It is with regret that in Proton, they did not understand the meaning of the word segmentation and product evolution. They also adopt the LHD car function into their cars which are almost 100% RHD. Supposedly to create the European feel but at the expense of safety. Also they could not read segment trend which will become the driver 5 years ago. Even now in the next 5 years. Although there used to be Mitsubishi, but when Proton wanted to be independent & went on their own, they sought the help of many companies (Mitsubishi, Honda, Suzuki, Renault) which makes it very chaotic for them and finally Proton lost direction.
    Lotus’s role in Proton is very insignificant. Lotus can only develop sport cars & manufacture them in a very small number, of few thousand units a year. Investment in Lotus is not giving a good result & it is a disaster. Proton has to bear very high cost to manage Lotus.
    I think if Proton does not get a good partner and also if the partner does not have a controlling share in Proton, Proton will not be going anywhere. Companies need majority controlling share so that they can launch their business strategy more successfully in Malaysia (for Malaysia) & also outside Malaysia such as ASEAN for themselves and also for Malaysia together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • Nak beli kereta malaysia on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Proton has ESC perodua has VSC…. what is the different… can anyone explain??

• Paul Tan on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:03 pm

It’s the same, different makers use different branding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Difference is Iriz has it on all spec, while Bisa has it on topkek spec only. Poor pipu spec jepunis overlords dun care

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 26
      • sama sama on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:27 pm

Banana also the same lah… And Saga don’t even have it on any spec. Poor people spec bumilords don’t care either

• Taknaktoyota on Jul 20, 2016 at 8:32 pm

Saga will get replacement. Camry 2.0E dun have it too, so?

• common sensor on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:49 pm

I don’t have the appetite to watch the launch as I couldn’t see the innovations as shown during the concept stage being incorporated in the final mass production vehicle. Talk about cost down .. well, its a cheap car and P2 is all about cheap low cost car after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • The thing is P2 can focus on being cheap. But our lives r not cheap, so why do we entrust our not cheap lives to a very cheap car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • troll terminator on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Oh, come back to troll again? Can u just go away? If ur life is so expensive, better go ampu Najib so that he can give u an expensive car for ur expensive life, OK?

• Uncle Lim on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:03 pm

nobody force you to watch it. PT just invites you if you want to watch it. Easy mehh..

• Mukim Moktar on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:56 pm

RM50k for a tiny 1.3L sedan it’s way way overpriced for Malaysians. In Japan or Aussie or North America or Europe this price can get you a 1.8L Nissan Almera or Toyota Corolla C segment family sedan. However all thanks to that Proton founder car prices in Malaysia suddenly becomes so expensive. 1.3L selling RM50k? Seriously???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Betol Tak?? on Jul 18, 2016 at 7:21 pm

Perdana at 130k with fake exhaust tip also way overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • No really cuz ur getting more metal for ur money

• atokkk - not real one on Jul 19, 2016 at 5:17 am

you also overprice when your company need to.pay the time ur aurfing at PT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Nenek Kau on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Talk nonsense pandai lah. Counter his logic if you got one

• Camry low variant dun have VSC also, so what?

• overpicedjunk on Jul 19, 2016 at 11:22 am

Mass cars like Bezza should not be overpriced, at 50 it should have 1500cc , not 1300cc

• MaKlay? on Jul 19, 2016 at 9:13 am

Sadly my friend we are not in those country u said. safety is none of our priority. the main priority is if it has japan dna. U know why?because our people like to sell their car only if using 1 year. so they want the resale value. baru keluar kedai x sampai 10 min dah terfikir nak jual balik kereta. thats how malaysian role. and then complain this and that.

• There’s a Preve selling for RM55k you forgot ka? 6 airbags, C-Segment, ESC, semua ada. Not to mention safety and comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Caring on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:07 pm

It is a big let-down in the interior design of Bezza especially the air-con dials and surrounding switches. Looks inferior compared to Myvi and Axia. How come the deterioration? Each new model should look better and not the reverse. The passenger side console looks like a direct copy from Preve piano finished design!
    The G and X model comes without the ESC. What a let-down. Perodua should have followed Proton Iriz lead by having ESC across all the models, because it is proven beyond doubt that ESC save lives. Where is Perodua social responsibility?
    The Bezza is not cheap. At about 40K, Proton Iriz already have ESC, but only above 50K Bezza offer ESC.
    And look at the Bezza back seat, it is so thin. Long distance will be very uncomfortable.
    Judging from the response from many readers here, it looks like majority are praising sky high for Perodua.
    For those who wants to book Bezza, I advise you to think twice and do your homework first. Don’t just jump into it. Money is hard to come by nowadays.
    Perhaps wait until Iriz Sedan and the new Proton Saga is launched. Then do a comparison and test drive all the models. At least by then you will be able to make a better and informed decision. Buy now, you may regret later.
    That’s my 2 cents.

• Consumer rights on Jul 19, 2016 at 6:34 pm

As a consumer, we should boycott any new launched car without ESC. Knowing that ESC save lives yet out of profit driven, they let go their inner conscious.
      It is like saying, those who cannot afford to buy above 50K, their lives are not worth protecting.
      When the buying stops, the killing will stop!

• Bernard on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:26 pm

If 20-30k, reasonable buy.

• Das Auto on Jul 19, 2016 at 9:56 am

Once upon a time, we want to design, manufacturing and export cars so that countries like Japan, Korea, Germany, etc won’t keep sucking our money out of countries. Today these countries keep sucking our money away keeping us from being rich while we can’t even get the chance to get theirs. Maybe my generation to blame. If only that generation have sacrificed and been patriotic by buying local, we probably are in better condition now. Or maybe gov should not have been too patriotic by employing experts around the world to manage and develop our car marque. Both of this example are what Korean did 30 years ago. Remember, exporting cars are still biggest money earner for these manufacturing countries and still one of the biggest outflowings of money for countries like us. The former getting richer and the latter still got long way to go and making us continue bickering in this blog while they laughing all the way to the bank (I guess on this topic is the “jepunis”)

• lazyf on Jul 19, 2016 at 10:31 am

Melihat pada Bezza berwarna coklat gelap di atas mengingatkan kepada Saga BLM berwarna lebih kurang sama. Tambahan pula taillamp Bezza tidak lari jauh sangat daripada tail lamp Saga BLM.

• Lorenzo on Jul 19, 2016 at 6:43 pm

The Bezza indeed looks very similar to Saga BLM. Interior passenger side console looks almost like Preve, even the texture and color is a copycat of Preve.
      Interior material looks seem downgraded compared to other Perodua model i.e Myvi and Axia. The aircon dial and switches above looks cheap.
      But the biggest let down of Bezza is not all models comes with VSC.
      It is not cheap either without VSC.
      Have to really think hard before buying.