Analysts raise Perodua sales forecasts due to Bezza

Perodua_Bezza_PremiumX_Ext-21

We’re still several hours away from the launch of the Perodua Bezza, but the second national carmaker’s first sedan has already caused quite a stir, with The Star reporting that Maybank Investment Bank Research is raising its sales forecasts for the company because of the huge interest in the model.

The research house revealed that it was raising its Perodua sales forecasts for the calendar years of 2016, 2017 and 2018 from 220,000, 217,000 and 205,000 units to 225,000, 250,000 and 240,000 units respectively. Higher sales numbers are also expected to increase the earnings forecasts for beneficiaries such as parent company UMW Holdings and suppliers MBM Resources and Pecca Group by between 1% and 12%.

“In terms of exposure to Perodua, we believe that MBM is the largest with Perodua being a 22.6%-owned associate which accounts for 80% to 85% of MBM’s bottomline. We estimate about 10% to 11% of Perodua cars sold in Malaysia are via MBM’s DMM Sales; auto parts supplies (i.e. seatbelts, airbags and wheels) [are] via Hirotako and Oriental Metal Industries (OMI), both under MBM.

“Pecca benefits as the sole supplier of leather car seat covers to the automaker while UMW sees positive exposure from its 38% stake in Perodua itself,” it stated.

Perodua expect to sell nearly 8,000 units of the Bezza per month in 2016, and 38,000 units for the remaining five months of the year. Maybank IB has been conservative in its projections for the model, raising sales forecasts from 15,000, 30,000 and 25,000 units in 2016, 2017 and 2018 to 30,000, 84,000 and 70,000 units.

However, it only raised its forecasts for total Perodua sales by 2% to 17% to account for the Bezza’s expected cannibalisation of Myvi sales, as well as slower sales of the dated Alza.

Perodua_Bezza_Advance_Int-20

To be built at Perodua’s new plant in Serendah, the Bezza has a local content of 95%. The Bezza’s new 1NR-VE 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i engine will be manufactured at a new engine plant in Sendayan, where another new plant, which will build the car’s electronic automatic transmission (E-AT), is also situated.

Priced at between RM37,300 for the 1.0 Standard G manual and RM50,800 for the range-topping 1.3 Advance auto, the Bezza comes with kit including LED tail lights, keyless entry, push button start, front parking sensors, a USB smartphone charging port, a touchscreen multimedia system, a reverse camera and hill start assist, many of which are new to the brand.

Safety-wise, all models come with dual airbags, but ABS with EBD is now standard-fit as well. What’s more, the Advance model also gets Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), allowing it to nab Perodua’s first five-star ASEAN NCAP rating (all other models get four stars).

Perodua_Bezza_Advance_Ext-25

Two engines are available for the Bezza, the first a 67 hp/91 Nm 1KR-VE 1.0 litre VVT-i engine and the aforementioned 94 hp/121 Nm 1NR-VE 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i mill. These engines are paired to either a five-speed manual transmission of a four-speed automatic.

Such is the public interest in the Bezza that Maybank IB sees it as a threat to Proton’s offerings – the Saga, Iriz and Persona are reported to make up a combined 70,000 to 75,000 units of the carmaker’s 102,000 sales in 2015. It has to be said, however, that Proton will launch the new Saga and Persona this year.

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza 1.3 Advance

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Caring on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:41 am

It is a big let-down in the interior design of Bezza especially the air-con dials and surrounding switches. Looks inferior compared to Myvi and Axia. How come the deterioration? Each new model should look better and not the reverse. The passenger side console looks like a direct copy from Preve piano finished design!
    The G and X model comes without the ESC. What a let-down. Perodua should have followed Proton Iriz lead by having ESC across all the models, because it is proven beyond doubt that ESC save lives. Where is Perodua social responsibility?
    The Bezza is not cheap. At about 40K, Proton Iriz already have ESC, but only above 50K Bezza offer ESC.
    And look at the Bezza back seat, it is so thin. Long distance will be very uncomfortable.
    Judging from the response from many readers here, it looks like majority are praising sky high for Perodua.
    For those who wants to book Bezza, I advise you to think twice and do your homework first. Don’t just jump into it. Money is hard to come by nowadays.
    Perhaps wait until Iriz Sedan and the new Proton Saga is launched. Then do a comparison and test drive all the models. At least by then you will be able to make a better and informed decision. Buy now, you may regret later.
    That’s my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 27
    • Operation Manager on Jul 21, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Oh sohai… only buy overpriced small slow Beza, harga memang beza compared Axia [37k 1.0m KOSONG, 51k for 1.3a] better get 69k Polo Vento Vios City Almera with 1-segment up 1.5a/1.6a

• Anything But P1 on Jul 21, 2016 at 2:41 pm

RM40k for a freaking 1.0-litre sedan?
      They must be mad

• I’ll just wait after 4x facelift/refresh then I’d buy the car, if i wanted to.
      There’s no need to rush for 1st gen models.

• You must be a newbie here. Compared to the fellow that owns a semi-D at Kota Kinabalu while driving a Proton, you still have lots to learn.
      Wait for Iriz sedan? hahahah… them Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • OMG…kiss goodbye to Proton…I believed this Bezza will beat New Saga or Persona which still spyyyyshooot dunno until when baru mau launched…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Judging from so many new commentators who were not here last week and the new voting patterns which sees a ridiculous swing (just see how many thumbs down this post will get), we can conclude that p1 finally found some budget to hire some macais to comment here to defend p1 from the general public who are much smarter than them to fall for such BS.

• Consumer rights on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:51 am

As a consumer, we should boycott any new launched car without ESC. Knowing that ESC save lives yet out of profit driven, they let go their inner conscious.
    It is like saying, those who cannot afford to buy above 50K, their lives are not worth protecting.
    When the buying stops, the killing will stop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
    • Not sure if consumers should boycott car without ESC but pretty damn sure consumers are boycotting UNRELIABLE car now.

• Value your life by buying car with vsc. They are people dont want vsc. Thats their choice. Vsc is an option not a must. You must have a wheel to move the car but you dont need vsc for that purpose.

• dumbledore on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:54 am

ini kali-lah~~~

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:56 am

aiyoo yoo. Gone lah like this for Proton. All the Proton management today very sad and upset. Tonight all of them also cannot Malam Jumaat. Whatever they do also cannot stim tonight with this bad news today.

Poor Proton management. Already losing RM4 million per day and just 4000 cars sold per month, now this Bezza is even more bad news for Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
    • Topkek lah MY pipu in Malaysia. We should all support Proton. It is our National pride. Why support Jepunis overlords ni? We are Malaysian. We support Barang Buatan Tempatan!

Don’t be like Dear Leader in Penang. He suppork Perodua because it is Toyota injin. He always suppork Jepunis overlords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
      • Sad Rakyat on Jul 21, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Ask the government put down the taxes imposed then we all will enjoy car with VSC

• Sad Rakyat on Jul 21, 2016 at 7:30 pm

We support Proton but Proton let us down with unreliable cars. Still everytime asking money from government! That money belong to Rakyat!

• samelordupe on Jul 21, 2016 at 12:44 pm

I dun understand why malam jumaat?

• Go ask your malay friends what they usually do on a Thursday night. Make sure they are married first, no point asking your primary school classmate.

• Sayonara on Jul 21, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Bye bye Proton sayonara!

Better sell your factory to Perodua okay!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Albert on Jul 21, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Kunta
      The writing is on the wall,for Protong.
      Insaf John also looking for job at P2.
      In Australia,mighty Toyota and Holden are closing their plants by early 2017.Their gomen dah insaf.No point using taxpayers to FUND AUSSIE 1.5 BILLION annually to keep afloat 250,000 jobs(all in).
      Here,EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN is the norm.
      Blockbuster Bezza will canabalise Saga,Persona sales kaw kaw.Whats left for Protong?
      Well,they got the last trump card.Wait for the mus to announce another bailout of rm 1.5 Billion next year.Senang je,increase GST to give out goodies to prop up dying P1.

• Knight on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:00 am

The Bezza looks very similar to Saga BLM. Interior passenger side console looks almost like Preve, even the texture and colour is a copycat of Preve.
    Interior material looks seem downgraded compared to other Perodua model i.e Myvi and Axia. The aircon dial and switches above looks cheap.
    But the biggest let down of Bezza is not all models comes with VSC.
    Have to really think hard before buying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 39
  • huehuehue on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:07 am

Meanwhile at Potong, still don’t know which engine gonna use in Saga-R..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Pintaras on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:07 am

Saya ingin booking tahun 2018 Proton Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
  • Mohammad on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:14 am

On the contrary Proton sales volume has been revised to 10000 units in 2016, 7000 units in 2017 and 200 units in 2018. Thats annual sales volume. Pray by end 2016 Proton market share will drop to the 6th place, 11th place in 2017 and 39th place in 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • camtakpro on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:14 am

It’s a no brainer prediction. Sales confirm goes up. But it wont go so high. Because part of Bezza sales come from Proton, MyVi, Axia, Vios, City, Almera.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:18 am

Look at Proton? Buat apa? Still makan nasi lemak, relax, minum teh 8x one day with kuih lapis and karipap

Perodua is now 250,000 cars lah!

Both companies started about same time. Yes, Proton started merely 15 years earlier. But look at Perodua now

Our Proton, last year 100,000 cars also cannot sell. This year, it will be 50,000. Still no development. No research. Nothing. Whole world moving forward but Proton still lepak, relax and minum teh

And Perodua never suck 15 billion from our LHDN past 15 years

And Perodua never asked another RM1.5 billion 2 months ago

And Perodua is not losing RM4 per day!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
  • Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:22 am

So shocking. Such a cheap car like this, it can have VSC and keyless entry. The Perdana, which the Proton says is the epitome of Prestige does not have keyless or VSC in the car.

the CEO should resign. This alone shows how stupid the management of Proton is.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 13
    • nosushi on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:44 am

While perdana is niche car, Bezza is mass car and pipu need VSC. So why no VSC in all variants of bezza, unlike Iriz?

Why? Why? Why?

Oh this is celup jepunis overlord car so cannot persoal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 16
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 12:38 pm

john, is that you? Sounds like your words here. You always like to use same words. Why john? Why so many dupes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Proton does not have management, it has Mismanagers who got zero clue of car business because they are all accountants and lawyers only. they claim to have RND but they ask chop shops and fiber shops like Bufori to design cars for them. if they want money for RND why appoint useless people to do the work and they just seat and look? proton does not know what prestige means. this Bezza is the punishment for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 12:14 pm

the one have VSC is not cheao brother. Advance (1.3 AV automatic) at price RM50k. The cheap VSC equip car is Iriz at RM40k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
      • 50k can get 1.6 iriz ady. No need to buy this overpriced 1.3 bezza

• cheung on Jul 21, 2016 at 3:41 pm

of course proton vcs cAR NEEDS TO SELL CHEAPER THAN PERODUA VSC CAR

• RM40K with VSC but no quality and unreliable.

• iomasark on Jul 21, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Quality of what? Even jepunis new Civic got turbocor and aircond bocor, lol

• Some japanese cars, some european cars may have quality problem but all proton cars got quality problem.

• actually perdana 2.4 does have VSC only 2.0 dont have. Proton cant change anything except bodykit and outer body, this is the agreement with Honda. Thats why proton can’t change the meter with MID, put push start etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Which meter with MID you are talking?
      Preve or Suprima MID is 15 year old technology.

• nobody on Jul 21, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Just to justify the perdana on proton website only consist of ESC but not VSC. Did any different between this two??

• eyesore on Jul 21, 2016 at 4:55 pm

VSC or ESC… they both are the same… just like HHA (hill hold assist) and HSA (hill start assist)….. same thing different name by different brand.

• Sad Rakyat on Jul 21, 2016 at 7:33 pm

So why rebadge Honda 8 years old technology? And with pricetag at 120K above?!

• A:What car are you driving?

B:BestNya !

A:What ?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • VIMALENDRAN on Jul 21, 2016 at 12:31 pm

why perodua bezza dont have 1.5cc ..

• The rear light look like fb civic

• Other brands must kowtow to my P2. Mesidis lah, BMW lah, Hyundai lah, whatever cowlah, all have no confidence in their new cars thats why need to camo test here, camo test there, camo test until Matt Damon comes home from Mars.
    Unlike my P2, no need test. We have full confidence in our Bisa that we went straight from prototype to sales car. Not like that other lousy local brand that needs to follow the world’s car makers to test new cars before release.
    We at P2, dun have to do that cuz we dun persoal our jepunis overlords technology. Thats why we have 100% confidence no problem with reliability and durability. If anything happen its due to user problem, not jepunis problem.
    So trust in us and trust in our jepunis overlords, dun persoal. Cuz if u do, we will send Albert for kepla.

• antijibby on Jul 21, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Aku rasa kunta kinte ni penyagak perodua salesman la…
    kaw2 provoke proton… how much u get???

• Bet all the comments by Proton was typed with their tears flowing through their cheek. It’s OK Proton, It’s OK to cry. Your Persona and Saga won’t do jack.

• citoses on Jul 21, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Bashers said after raya got many abangs sold their new cars. Good luck it will happen again with those bookings.

• Not by them but by hired macais. Last time got a team of macais not just left with just one only because proton overspent designing fake unpainted exhaust tips on the pondana.

• I love my 20 years old Proton Saga and will continue to drive it and crash it and die inside

• You driving a 20 yrs saga? Man.. your life is a failure.

• camtakpro on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:29 am

Just to remind you how far Proton had gone behind in the quality section. I too have 20yrs old Saga but do remember that the very old Saga has higher quality interior and engine components compare to Preve. Compare to current Saga, the current one is just pure shit.

• Das Auto on Jul 25, 2016 at 1:35 pm

The P1 staffs are not motivated bcoz the new owner, DRB HICOM seems don’t care about them nor their feedback. They all prefer the previous owner. Looking at it P1 getting worse in service. Maybe DRB HICOM just too big to focus on P1.