SPIED: 2016 Proton Persona – high spec variant seen

2016-Proton-Persona-3

To add to the first set of silver photos, we now have pictures of a high spec variant of the upcoming 2016 Proton Persona. Sent in by paultan.org reader Jun Kit, the new B-segment sedan was spotted in The Strand, Kota Damansara, in the middle of a video shoot.

Though less detailed than the earlier set, the red car seen here sports a larger set of grey alloy wheels (presumably 15-inch items compared to the 14-inchers fitted on the lower-spec silver car), body-coloured wing mirrors and door handles, along with a chrome garnish piece above the rear number plate holder.

The rest of it is as per what we’ve seen before. The Proton Iriz-based sedan features a sharper face up front, featuring slimmer reflector headlights, an almost Honda Civic-like “floating” chrome grille and a revised lower bumper design. A subtle character line above the rear wheelarches neatly lead into the new almond-shaped tail lights, which are mounted high on the short boot.

Expect the 2016 Proton Persona to get the Iriz’s range of 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre VVT engines. So folks, do you like what you see here? Tell what you think in the comments section below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• May is coming to end. Still undergoing testing? Are they going to launch all three cars at the same time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 15
    • Same L0rr on May 17, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Launch Perdana 1st la.. Camporn engine & CVT bising Punch Powertrain can not sale

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 40
      • Lousy vios engine on May 17, 2016 at 4:10 pm

New perdana using Honda engine la until new petronas engine coming end of 2017.Get your knowledge right la poor salesman! How come Toyota vvti drink petrol so big? Vvti not good engine,i think.Honda vtec more power

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 8
        • uggio on May 17, 2016 at 4:55 pm

FC wise 1.5l Vios VVTI ady lost to 1.6l Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
          • Same L00 on May 17, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Empty Iriz save more fuel than full loaded Vios? Definitely. It is a hatchback anyway.

When it comes to reliability, it is entire different story. I have already seen Iriz broke down so many times.

My foreman told me the principle: Don’t buy Proton if you don’t have best friend forever working in garage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 62
          • Iriz is heavier and more hp than Vios, still more frugal

• Same L00 on May 17, 2016 at 4:25 pm

High spec = High maintenance

Don’t play play with Proton quality. Every day I saw Proton break down blocking the traffic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 74
        • Clap clap sarcastism on May 17, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Toyota is god’s car ke? No breakdown? I saw many vios fuelling up petrol at gas stations,engine drink petrol more than competitor.Bad engine.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
          • Same L00 on May 17, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Why people keep on buying Vios for its fuel efficiency. You can talkok whatever you likes, but the fact remain unchanged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
          • Sam VHL Loo on May 18, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Current generation Vios indeed very fuel efficient, that’s why buyers keep buying them. Because full tank can travel only 300 km with sedate driving style (if aggressive style, it last only 200 – 250 km).

• Actually I saw Vios, Viva, Myvi n Old Saga most of the time breakfown. 10 times in a month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
        • nak menipu agak-agakla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Same Proton on May 17, 2016 at 9:23 pm

You hate proton but bought saga for your son alsoblah bang. Better diam diam

• Same L00 on May 19, 2016 at 8:46 pm

You can talkok bullshit till I bought the moon also. If I have any Proton at home, I will give you for free. No one likes to keep junk at home, that’s why garage lorry keep on running on the roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Clap clap sarcastism on May 17, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Vios engine new get facelift since it launched 2003… Now 2016 engine is old.Fit in new engine same like dual vvti avanza also lesser power.How? Hilux used old tech since launched 2005-2016.. New Hilux not proven reliable yet.But if breakdown how? It look skinny anyway.Sack Toyota designer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 17, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Next generation Accord will launch first before facelift last generation Accordana will.

• Albert on May 17, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 119
    • Uzair on May 17, 2016 at 2:55 pm

The picture taken during a VIDEO SHOOT. Why isn’t read anymore!

• Disgrace Human Is You on May 17, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Salah meh they do more testing? Just becoz P1 mostly test in Bolehland and get frequent published and reported in paultan everything is salah! Last time Iriz testing in snowy country also salah! Who asked for busy body to spied them everyday? Blame paultan for keep posting P1 news again n again! They will launch when everything is tested n ready! But after they launch u also want to buy kah? I don’t think so coz your high commitment and low salary get turn down by bankers for loan! Pity u!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
    • Low iq idiot like u on May 17, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Testing also salah meh? Bmw,Merc,jepunis never testing meh? Or forgot u never travel oversea so no knowledge of foreign car so their road testing.Poor you.If P1 test in Europe u bash them for wasting money.Test in Bolehland also u bash.I think P1 should do road test in Mars or u just migrate there.Stupid basher!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
    • Smart Now on May 17, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Tested car is much reliable than skip test or under power car alike vios.I rather to chose new persona than vios in term of price offer.Proton relatively lower price than p2 cars.. And way better than hugely taxed jepunis vios 40k on vios.Knowing that proton road testings new saga,persona,perdana like hell has made me more relief to choose new proton in future.I prefer to buy tested cars than sloppy rush build previous proton.No matter how bash gonna bash,new persona get my attention as i believe the price should be around 40k-55k.Luckily i don’t slap my brain to buy vios last month even they give 8k rebate..There mush be something going on current vios in term of performance or sales figure that made umw willing to chop huge rebate! How bout vios RV then? Must be bad RV in future.Lucky me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • inspira owner on May 17, 2016 at 10:03 pm

I think so

• Pengguna Bijak on May 17, 2016 at 11:05 pm

After taking Gov RM1.5B loan, isn’t it time for Proton to contribute back by providing 15% discount exclusive for bumiputeras in return?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • OMG…ugly like hell…This gonna be Ford fiesta sedan sibling…HAHAHA…P1 u r so smart

• I wish they just carried over the rims from the Iriz. Those were way classier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • May is coming to end. Still undergoing testing? Are they going to launch all three cars at the same time? Or because of not many bookings, so decided to delay the launch?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 52
    • Possibly they wanna save cost and then do a mega launch with a car for almost every segment (A, B, D). If they oso do facelifted Preve, then its perfect (segment A, B, C, D).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • frossonice on May 17, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Looks like they going to launch it at the same date with Perdana, maybe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Proton's disappointed fan on May 17, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Seriously disappointed with the car, it looks so wrong in every angle

Look at those rims, even if you fit bigger rims, it will still look odd, the old persona looks so much better i would say, they should’ve just renew the design of the old one like how they re-design the accordana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 27
    • glocal on May 17, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Persona looks is sportier than yesterday’s Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 41
      • Every1canTalk on May 17, 2016 at 1:34 pm

If you feel happy by claiming this iriz sedan is more sportier than all new civic, then go ahead, why not? lol

• ong chee boon vw con-man on May 17, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Potong message to consumers= take it or leave it.
        Next year can pocket another 15bil again. Who care’s the new 6 task force clown can do/act ???!!!…CLOSE DOWN LAH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • DPCraft on May 17, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Current Persona better looking lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • Persona R Is now b segment la. How come want fight civic. Wait for preve Facelift or Suprima S Facelift C segment with possible 1.5 TGDi Proton new engine 180hp 250nm baru fight civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Proton new era? on May 17, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Proton 2016-2017 sales : 250,000 unit. Sale This car for RM 40k top spec, This might eat 80% Honda City sales. 2017-2018 When new TGDI engine Is ready, slap Some Proton 1.5TGDi engine for top spec 180hp 250nm and sale for 50k. This car will Eat altis,city,civic,vios,jazz Market eventhough Persona Is now B Segment.

Proton Is now getting good with rear design. Proton hear me, 2017 Proton Preve and Suprima must get a Facelift. You might be number one again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 69
    • kzm (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 1:27 pm

I dont think top spec will be RM40k that new Saga territories.. the price might be similar to Iriz

• LatukBandar on May 17, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Eat other car manufacturer?

By the time Proton learn how to make a proper petrol car, the industry will be mainly hybrid or electricity with automate driving.

It is impossible for Proton to catch up, they are too tiny, and will never have enough money for R&D.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • camtakpro on May 18, 2016 at 1:16 pm

>> and will never have enough money for R&D.
        Proton can prove you wrong. Money for R&D comes from our pocket dude.

• lolol on May 17, 2016 at 1:47 pm

are you sure you want a fast proton? hit 110kmh already feel like flying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
    • in your dream

• Denbuck on May 17, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Wonder why so many dislike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Proton JUNK on May 17, 2016 at 2:31 pm

yes test test still test,but when launch nobody will visit those Potong showroom.
      Honda is already number 2 just below Perodua and will last forever and with this junk launch,prepare to close shop hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • azmi ab rahnan on May 17, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Yes proton can do it with the right attitude st the aftersakes too.

• neonceejay on May 17, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Much better. Haters gonna hate. Lovers gonna love. I remain neutral. Cuz bias on proton is too strong that no matter you praise or complaint also kena one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
  • FIST (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Teaser, teaser, teaser, tahun depan pun tak launch lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
  • ProtonGSC on May 17, 2016 at 1:08 pm

“Tell what you think in the comments section below.”
    Think that the crew should upload the comments faster so Rakyat can discuss earlier.
    About the car the price with spec will be the main concern and it does look like a dugong sibling…

• omg wt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • seriously that rim….so small omg…consider this Proton….dont make it a profit >:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • John is otak batu on May 17, 2016 at 8:15 pm

The wheels so small? Actually it’s the body that is huge. So, u want 19″ wheels in a b segment?

Go tyre shop la

• Wiwiwiwiw on May 17, 2016 at 1:14 pm

While Hyundai signed car designer Bentley’s SangYup Lee, Proton spent RM1.5bil developing this tissue box.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 20
    • Smart Now on May 17, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Chose a car design from competition or pay huge money for fancy designer which one smarter?

• The one who takes the RM1.5B loan is smarter coz it’s rakyat’s money

• It is LOAN, should be paid back, you answered it yourself

• ryback on May 18, 2016 at 10:10 pm

When will Proton payback the ‘protection money’ Malaysia gave it for 30 years?
            Answer me

• For sum of 30 years, P1 ady paid gomen more than loss value, ady answered!

• Another UGLY Potong TURD on May 17, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Another ugly Potong turd, front copied from some other car model and the rear part also chopped and combine from some other car model, look at the side profiling of the car and the whole think looks proportionally out …..The worse automaker in history …Potong is set to make it in the gunnies books …. CLOSE SHOP POTONG !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 52
    • viosfan on May 17, 2016 at 2:24 pm

Of course you jelly, your copy pasted Vios failed big time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Malaysianboyz on May 17, 2016 at 1:20 pm

The design look like more better if slot in saga range. This car look smaller for vios n city competitor. Persona should look better like preve type.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • “oh yea yea, you know what, i just cancelled the booking due to the fact Proton has wrongly placed this car into another segment. I’ll reconsider to book it back if Proton make it right into desired segment.”

lol why do you even care much about the segment rather than the car itself?

• Samar2 pun nampak lawa la jugak dari Rio Sedan, Vios, Almera etc. It’ll be cheaper than IRIZ since sedan always cheaper than their hatch sibling. Like Gen.2 and Persona. Persona is cheaper. Like Suprima and Preve, Preve is cheaper. 55K the highest spec maybe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
  • matmalas on May 17, 2016 at 1:28 pm

nampak macam IRIZ kena tarik kau kau sampai jadi sedan, rim pulak tak cantik. haiz…..

• are they put that body shell on top of kancil? dey proton, if you cant compete with tech, at least compete with design la.

• onatree on May 17, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Before civic turbo , campro turbo ady reaches 205Nm lor

• your understanding of tech really baffle me. Any car company can make huge output engine, but can they make an engine that meet every country regulation and last longer? also is there any future tech that proton hold license/pattern to? like fuel cell, hydrogen etc.. i don’t think so.

• After TGDI is out p1 can tarpau civic again

• john is otak batu on May 17, 2016 at 8:16 pm

Other contenders already pijak p1″kau-kau” already when TGDi come out!! this TGDi can box up in museum ..in memorial =RIP P1

• kakaka on May 18, 2016 at 12:25 pm

What contenders? Jamban toyotaik kah?
            Kahkahkah

• malaysian on May 17, 2016 at 7:45 pm

Proton is not pioneer in tech (their CTO said so) so no patent etc., but they are trying to bring in tech at affordable price e.g. Suprima S with auto headlamp, auto wiper, auto cruise, 6 airbags, vsc, hill-hold assist etc at only 71k.

• You mean they are pioneer in protection?

• You go to Japan Korea USA China oso got protektion and tongkat lor

• oh mak lu cina on May 17, 2016 at 7:39 pm

That is on paper. DRive one and see. It is very inconsistent 50% may have power 50% cut power. Horrid tuning!

• vecko on May 18, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Liar liar.
          No power cut lor. If no limitation on CVT gearbox, torque wise CFE could even beat new Civic!

• LittleMin on May 17, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Seems like Proton designers don’t really know what is PROPOSITION.

Proton, please get back the designers that designed Gen-2 and Satria Neo. Those are the REAL designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • drMpower on May 17, 2016 at 1:42 pm

cudnt see a thing there and u ask whether i like what i see
    proton symphatiser isit

• this car need some workout… it has fat body

• this car is fat… need some workout

• malaysian on May 17, 2016 at 1:49 pm

If they throw in the 1.3turbo and update the CVT for the highest spec, I will seriously consider

• Azt Fiq on May 17, 2016 at 1:50 pm

if not interested to buy no need to bash those who might be interested, if it comes with full safety features with 5 stars ANCAP its a good transition for Proton. and if it goes below 50k it will be a good everyday car for the masses.

• Sewel on May 17, 2016 at 1:53 pm

The car just so..so..la…nothing much to say..its not that really2 ugly..

• Huehue on May 17, 2016 at 1:56 pm

This car looks not too ugly…..what I want is just a good quality and reliable car.

• mohdfaiz88 on May 17, 2016 at 1:59 pm

This spec also no projector headlamp??

• Zainah on May 17, 2016 at 2:00 pm

It does look OK and decent compared to the cockroach ugly looking Iriz. The price should be between RM35-50k for the most top end model since this is direct competitor to the Myvi. Reason why Iriz sales are so appaling is because of its high pricing. Base model RM33k for the 1.3L all the way to the 1.6L top spec at RM49888. 6 airbags ABS and ESC should be standard across the range. If Proton fails to impress on the price, I’m afraid majority of the buyers will still go for the Daihutsu Japanese Perodua technology, efficient, power and reliability. Mind you Perodua is set to launch new models very soon and possibly a myvi sedan to compete with the saga and Persona. The only way Proton can survive is thru price cutting without compromising on its appalling quality issue and poor aftersales service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • malaysian on May 17, 2016 at 7:50 pm

Don’t know any cars with 6 airbags, ESC & ABS at <50k. I think Iriz premium is the cheapest car in Malaysia with that spec

• azrai on May 17, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Sound just like PAS, :we rather lose Kelantan than give way for Amanah.”
    Proton “We rather lost billion and billions as long we have a national car.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • Something wrong with the tyre. Too small for the tall car. Aduhai. Something wrong with the rim too. Should use the 15inch rim from the previous iriz. It would be perfect. The spinning-like rim look weird compared to the one on city and myvi.

• henry on May 17, 2016 at 2:07 pm

I have to agree to other comments that it is just too much teasers of future modelssss than an actual launching. It’s good that the brand build excitement for consumer to look forward, but the excitement will went down and eventually gave up if it was dragged way too long…..

• azrai on May 17, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Low Specs : We use Vios rim.
    High Specs “: We use City rim.

• i thought persona is C segment

• malaysian on May 17, 2016 at 7:52 pm

They downgraded Persona to B segment, Saga to A segment and maintain Preve in C segment

• Ex VGM staff on May 17, 2016 at 8:17 pm

Revised. VW Vento used to be a Golf with boot. Now it is Polo with a boot

• applegreen on May 17, 2016 at 2:33 pm

looks like little almera, big body with small tyres.

• Nobody on May 17, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Nice if compare with Almera and vios. Hopefully price below 50K.

• rally_fan (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 2:50 pm

looks like a decent effort from proton. not my kinda car, but i believe there are people who will like it.. wheels look small somehow. if it has the same safety features that iriz has, even better.

• Josh Ling on May 17, 2016 at 2:50 pm

i would save up more money to at least buy an Almera instead. both dugong looking, but at least Almera looks better and way more spacious…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • Andas on May 17, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Sorry, almera rear more hedious leh..

• kettum on May 17, 2016 at 3:59 pm

You compared this with Almera?
      You mabuk ketum or what?

• John Al on May 17, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Almera?really? What taste u have ?Keli taste?

• malaysian on May 17, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Sure Almera more spacious? Persona spec not out yet

• Josh Ling on May 17, 2016 at 11:00 pm

you believe a proton will be more spacious than a japanese car manufacturer which is known to create amazing cabin space within a very limited dimension kah? proton cars are never known for their spaciousness, mind you.

and yes, i think almera is more beautiful than persona. seriously, you guys think that persona looks good ah?? at least almera doesn’t “bully” the poor rims and tyres with its heavy and bulky body like the new persona….

• malaysian on May 18, 2016 at 9:55 am

Spec is not out yet, how do you know which one bigger? If got figure somewhere than ok, if no info yet don’t bash blindly. No problem if you like the Almera, its a good car for the price.

• loler on May 18, 2016 at 12:53 pm

“proton cars are never known for their spaciousness, mind you.”
          LOL

” i think almera is more beautiful than persona”
          LOL

“at least almera doesn’t “bully” the poor rims and tyres with its heavy and bulky body like the new persona….”

LOL

• jamaeton on May 17, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Makcik x dpt bezakan lampu almera tu dpn dgn blkg sama je.

• kenot on May 17, 2016 at 2:52 pm

If want to buy this car, better wait for the new engine and transmission.

• Damn can you make the car roof lower?

• Damn.. it’s 2016 and the photo quality is so poor. The reader should change his cellphone. Terrible camera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 3:00 pm

It was taken from far away. The images above have been cropped and resized.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Clap clap sarcastism on May 17, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Just about to bash the lousy phone.Or bash how poor the busy body guy using cheap phone.I live to bash everything,if not I’m not truly Malaysian la

• And thats why MY will never progress. Too many nonsensical bashing drown out constructive criticism.

• Under BN, nothing will progress

• furois on May 18, 2016 at 12:39 pm

No progress, bash BN
            If there is progress, your own success?
            Shame.

• kzm (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Do media pipu including ur team already test this car Hafriz?

• Same L0rr on May 18, 2016 at 8:00 am

If this so called Proton “Persona” still using Camporn & CVT bising Punch Powertrain, also cannot sale lah.. Failure just like the Iriz..

• Light Wings on May 17, 2016 at 3:00 pm

I think the design is good enough, but the tires are a little bit smaller… Also, I seems to worry about the quality of the new Persona… Hmm… We’ll see what will the Proton offers us

• malaysian on May 17, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Hopefully with all the long time & money used for testing paid off

• Ben Yap on May 17, 2016 at 3:15 pm

if no dual clutch and twincharge engine, it is not moving forward.

• But but but bashers says dual clutch will make car go to workshop often and twincharge will make car breakdown at roadside, woh. So how leh?

• Clap clap sarcastism on May 17, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Just buy Lamborghini la brother

• But but but that only gip me 1 LP (Lembu Power)… balik kampung will take me 3 days woh!

• Ben Yap on May 17, 2016 at 3:17 pm

rims too small for the body…. it’s like a hippo with monkey legs.

• carliys on May 17, 2016 at 3:34 pm

sape la designer kereta2 proton ni ek…? dh xde designer yang betul2 faham kehendak pasaran ke kt proton ni…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • kakaka on May 17, 2016 at 3:57 pm

So nak persona macam ferrari la ni?
      Kakaka

• malaysian on May 17, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Ferrari pun bkn kehendak pasaran. Boot kecik muat 2 orang je. Anak2 mana nak letak?

• Sensing no more interest from the public, now they strip it off even before launching. Too bad, still fail to attract any interest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • optrim on May 17, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Go and check your eyes!

• Clap clap sarcastism on May 17, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Strip camo sticker mean launch is soon la bruh.Haiyo why so useless la u ni? Just becoz u read 1 news of camo bmw meaning tomorrow they unstrip the camo.U will read the camo bmw again in few months time.Basher require a brain,not mouth.Funny la u

• kzm (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 6:45 pm

How can u say no interest when this article alone has more comment than other article in paultan today..Interest does not mean +ve oni, -ve or neutral oso count.

• carliys on May 17, 2016 at 3:44 pm

sape la designer kereta2 proton nih, dh xde designer yg kreatif & memahami kehendak pasaran semasa ke proton nih…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • finally..? on May 17, 2016 at 3:44 pm

I saw one comment from proton salesman, he said perdana & persona will be launched serentak on 27/5.

• Bernard on May 17, 2016 at 3:54 pm

What does high spec mean?

Is it 5.0cc, 400HP, 500NM, 10 airbags etc or just for the sake of saying high spec?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • camtakpro on May 18, 2016 at 1:17 pm

5.0cc? Those cylinders must be as small as injection syringes.

• Malaysian Truly Lower than human race on May 17, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Very annoy when idiots praised Hyundai for paying foreign designer but bashed proton when it just pay little to winner of their car designs from competition.If a Malaysian winner also cannot make u happy,meaning Malaysian don’t have talent at all to design a car including those bashers! Pay little also wrong,hiring a foreign designer might go big wrong too as long the name is proton,everything must be wrong.U so clever design your own car leh! Then see how big we laugh at you until u commit suicide.Patriotic aside,but the way Malaysian think very lousy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Yeong on May 17, 2016 at 4:10 pm

This the new persona? WtH!? I rather pick current version of persona. This is too ugly! Unable to fit 17″-18″ rims anymore. The door seems too high. Proton is dead

• camtakpro on May 18, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Proton always has weird design. When you see spyshot look nice, the car end up horrible. When you see spyshot ugly, the car end up superb. So wait for the car official launch lah!

Anyway a bit like the rear of Peugeot 207 sedan. Front a bit cue from Ford.

• ae101 on May 17, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Remind me of almera shape. This kind of car need to add full bodykit and larger rim only looks nice.

• Broken brain like same lorrr on May 17, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Proton deserve more postings by paultan as its Malaysian brand whether it’s good car or not.If bmw,fiat,Honda got paultan attention here when first sight during road testing why should deny proton? Let them do their work lah.Later if their cars broken here broken there also u blame proton.Let them do how many test they want! U think testing car just 1km and 1day only? Why? Can’t wait to buy new proton isn’t it? Or u just being stupid same lorr’s of UMW. U hate it just don’t buy lay.Simple math what! Or u having ‘meth’ like same lorr now? Economy bad nobody want lousy vios Hilux loan not approve so just relaxing counting sheep.

• john is otak batu on May 17, 2016 at 4:51 pm

their fanboys can even dream TGDi engine outclass others with it.. joke of the millennium..XD

• Somehow the side profile looks bit out of porpotion, similar with fiesta sedan

• Shawn Cuckoo on May 17, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Asal jgn bising mcam preve 1.6cvt when push … the crying sound from engine n cvt really scary

• I like the front, but the back a bit off lah…reminds me of the Ford Fiesta when they made the sedan version.

• I dun think this is the top spec.. Maybe medium spec..

• walauweh on May 17, 2016 at 7:09 pm

the fire red is hline, the silver/grey is b/m line.

u can spot through no foglamp,no body colored door handle,sidemirror n no chrome at boot strip,n small rims like iriz 1.3 base/mline

while redone has bigger rims,and what not in the above

• azermalak on May 17, 2016 at 10:28 pm

Not many “Developing Country” design and manufacture their own car! and not rebadge like the “other one”. Oh let me remind that Malaysia is still a “Developing Country”.

• Jongos on May 18, 2016 at 12:11 am

Is the new persona same size as current saga?

• malaysian on May 18, 2016 at 6:35 am

It will be in the same segment as they will downgrade it to B segment (current Saga). New Saga will be in A segment. Looking at the picture I think the new Persona will be bigger than the current Saga.

• normal_user on May 18, 2016 at 2:04 am

1. Those turbine rims are ugly. Why not use the Iriz’s 15 inch wheel, look so much better. The persona last batch wheel also nice.
    2. New safety tech from LG, AEB & lane watch?
    3. More supple ride. Enough with continental ride which feels firm for our pothole filled roads. Learn from Nissan V-platform cars (theyre ugly but suspension is superiorly comfortable).
    4. As a car that is built purely in form over function (its body is nearly 3 times its wheel height), expect easy entry/egress & good thigh support for rear occupants. Just add extra side bolster as sedan shud have more elbow room than its donor hatch (look at the H.City).

• krsdy on May 18, 2016 at 7:52 am

It look so fugly. Just a sedan version of iriz.

• Artist on May 18, 2016 at 8:25 am

Ford Fiesta designer moved to Proton kah?

• a very compress and compact look which it seems not belong to B segment…

• azrai on May 18, 2016 at 10:00 am

The tailgate reminiscent of Spider man eye?

• I will buy one.

• Azmi Bin Abdullah on Jul 16, 2016 at 10:28 pm

During crush, preve is much safer than vios or city. Believe me.

• How come this so called high spec version’s B-pillar is the same as body colour and not black tape? Seems like a Standard variant if its the same body colour.

Would be nice if the 1.3 model variant is the 1.3 Turbo VVT engine and not the Natural Aspirated one that could be offered for the highest Premium model.