GALLERY: Proton Persona spec-by-spec comparison

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’d have known that the 2016 Proton Persona was launched two days ago. You’ve read our usual comprehensive launch report and watched our walk-around video tour, but if you’ve been looking for a detailed breakdown on the specifications and equipment of the cars on offer, now’s your chance, as we have a full spec-by-spec gallery for your perusal.

The Persona is available in Standard, Executive and Premium variants – standard kit includes 15-inch wheels, height-adjustable reflector halogen headlights, power-adjustable wing mirrors and Bluetooth connectivity. Items like keyless entry, push-button start, a touchscreen infotainment system, rear USB charging ports and a reverse camera are available further up the range.

What’s more, all models get Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) as standard – making the entire range eligible for a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating – with six airbags on the top Premium variant.

Under the bonnet sits a 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated VVT engine from the Iriz, making 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm; it’s mated to either a five-speed manual gearbox or a CVT. Only the Standard is available with the manual option, while the Executive and Premium models are offered exclusively with the stepless automatic transmission.

So, let’s get to it then:

Proton Persona 1.6 Standard – RM46,350 (M/T), RM49,350 (CVT)

• 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated VVT engine, five-speed manual gearbox or CVT
  • 107 hp, 150 Nm, claimed fuel consumption 5.6 l/100 km (M/T) or 6.1 l/100 km (CVT) at 90 km/h
  • Two airbags
  • ABS with EBD and brake assist
  • Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Traction Control (TC), Hill-hold Assist
  • Halogen reflector headlights, manual height adjustment
  • 15-inch alloy wheels in grey, 185/55-section tyres
  • Wing mirror indicators
  • Black door handles, wing mirror caps
  • Body-coloured B-pillar
  • Rear fog light
  • Front and rear parking sensors
  • Remote key fob and manual key start
  • Dual-tone black-and-grey interior
  • Fabric seats
  • Height-adjustable driver’s seat
  • Power-adjustable wing mirrors
  • Matte black interior trim
  • Single-DIN radio/CD player with Bluetooth connectivity, two speakers
  • ECO Drive Assist indicator
  • Fixed rear seat
  • 510-litre boot with space saver spare tyre
  • ISOFIX rear child seat anchors with top tether
  • Alarm and immobiliser
  • Front disc brakes, rear drums

Proton Persona 1.6 Executive CVT – RM55,350

All of the above, plus:

• CVT only
  • Follow-me-home lighting
  • Front fog lights
  • Body-coloured door handles, wing mirror caps
  • Rear spoiler
  • Remote boot release
  • Titanium chrome interior trim
  • Fabric door trim
  • Steering wheel audio switches
  • Double-DIN head unit, four speakers
  • Rear USB charging ports
  • 60:40 split-folding rear seats

Proton Persona 1.6 Premium CVT – RM59,350

All of the above, plus:

• Six airbags
  • Automatic headlights
  • 15-inch alloy wheels in silver
  • Black B-pillar trim
  • Keyless entry, push-button start
  • Leather seats
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel, door trim
  • Power-folding wing mirrors
  • Touchscreen infotainment system (Android-based) with navigation, DVD player
  • Reverse camera
  • All-around two-tone bodykit (RM1,000 option)

NOTE: Metallic paint is a RM450 option across the range – these include Sterling Silver, Graphite Grey, Midnight Black, Fire Red and the new hero colour for the Persona, Carnelian Brown. Cotton White is the only solid colour available.

Browse full specification and equipment of all Proton Persona variants on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Proton Persona 1.6 Premium with optional bodykit

GALLERY: Proton Persona 1.6 Premium
GALLERY: Proton Persona 1.6 Executive
GALLERY: Proton Persona 1.6 Standard

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Battu on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:07 pm

em better without bodykit, since the rear dual diffuser style got covered with rear skirting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Pengguna Bijak on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 171
      • George Abdul on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Proton Persona 1.6 Standard without (60:40 split-folding rear seats) I’m bit disappointed on this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 17
        • Pay a bit more can get the split fold. Civic10 no fold option at all

• Same L00 on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Compare the Persona to Civic? I laugh like no tomorrow. Someone seriously think Proton is on par with BMW Mercedes. lol!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Same L0rr on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:27 pm

So, go for Executivebro.. dont be so dispointing! Be Happy.. no money to buy executive? Go for bezza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:38 pm

why you want folding seats? You want to make it into bangbus is it?

• Rahman on Aug 25, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Everybody fighting here comparing it with Bezza. Let me summarize it to everybody lah. Persona wins in everyway to Bezza

But it fails the most important element. RV. As with all Protons, in 1 year’s time, your Proton will be half in value.

Your Perodua will still hold 90% of its value.

So, up to everybody. 5 years time when you sell your car, your Bezza will still cover the loan. Your Proton, you will have to top up at least RM10k cause the car will be worth RM5k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
          • @ Rahman on Oct 31, 2016 at 9:34 am

Mcm bodoh sgt lah kau rahman

cuba ko tgk market value viva 2008-2014 vs saga BLM/FLX mane lg tggi RV dia, saga tggi lg laa

• Standard 2 speakers only….. if add on with wiring modification later warranty Void…. Haiz….. Come On…. at least 6 speakers pls….

• Be Contented on Aug 25, 2016 at 8:37 pm

I wanted to go to the moon … i’m bit disappointed too

• what??..you wanna fold rear seat every day ,is it?

• As like if the it comes with 60:40 split, the car will be perfect. There are more things to worry about this car like the reliability.

• Ahmad on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Hahaha again. ‘bull’ tahi. ‘Once bitten twice shy’ will always refer to 15years old or more stories. Wira, waja and gen2. Come on. Wake up. Today is 2016. Even persona 2007 brings massive improvement from the original Gen2.
        ” Kota bahru ke Kuala Krai,
        Takpernah try, takkan tahu.”

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:36 pm

We should all support Proton. It is our National car. Infact, I go one step further, Government should deduct 3% of every working adult’s salary, government and private sector and use this money to save Proton.

I am willing to do it. Are you? Where is your patriotism?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Jimmy on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:43 pm

Proton wants to make himself famous for overdone rear bumper. They are heading that way.

I guess the upcoming Proton Ertiga will have a tiger-like tail at the rear bumper to make it Ertiger.

You mean you can’t have simple yet elegant designs; or you are not good enough?

• highlander on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Real man wear skirt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Albert on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:05 pm

If u r paying almost 6oK for the top range Persona,dont u expect better quality aircon,blower controls ? They look and feel ‘PASAR MALAM’ quality.
      There were tons of complaints from Iriz,but Proton has not taken them seriously.
      Also,the gear stick looks horrible,like the Naza Citra type.
      This car…should only be priced Rm 36k to 50K,not 46K to 60K.Why ? Crony suppliers have overpriced their products and P1 have GLADLY accepted them.
      Thats why they will kaput…if one day,a new gomen decides to remove EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • OMG…that is new F.Fiesta sedan adik

• tokmoh. on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Jonathan,

If can prepare table of comparison with other B-seg sedan, and cross segments would be appreciated. Compare things like dimension, wheelbase, cabin length, weight, boot space, tyre size (in full eg 185/55/R15 description) etc.

Thanks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
    • jobseeker on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:01 pm

bro, can check here also.

www.newpersona.proton.com

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:41 pm

why you need to compare? Persona beats all Jepunis thrash. All Nissan and Honda and Toyota cars gonna go bust in Malaysia.

Go Persona!!

• Peter on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Really, it looks so nice. If wasn’t of the QC issue that only past/existing owners can tell, you’ll really hope to buy 1 immediately. It looks nicer than Vios & Almera.

• Matchy on Aug 25, 2016 at 5:00 pm

http://www.carbase.my

Disclaimer: I’m not working for paultan.org ;)

• Ben Yap on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:16 pm

even honda city 1.5 with a smaller engine can develop more horses than persona. even kia forte 1.6 can do 125hp.

at this time, 1.6 with only 107hp is too low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 83
    • Its tuned for modern emission stds. If wanna compare, my CPS std alredi 125HP but torque higher than Forte1.6. R3 CPS engine even more powerful

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 13
      • Ben Yap on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:26 pm

even though tune for modern emission stds also can develop respectable horses. at 107hp is really a turn off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 61
        • ruffstuff on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:06 pm

That Honda 1.5 engine emission rating is low at Euro 2. You can check in Honda MY spec sheet.

• ruffstuff (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:08 pm

That Honda 1.5 engine emission rating is low at Euro 2. You can check in Honda MY spec sheet.

This 1.6 vvt engine have Euro 4 emission rating.

• U wud have to aim that disappointment at other makers as well, since all r evolving and trying to meet ever stricter stds. So P1 is not unique in this.

• Loler on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Lol you ever read review? 109hp vios dun give different with higher hp in city. Problem?

• its tune for emission & FUEL CONSUMPTION…

compare that pls

• Ah Meng on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Torque 1.6 Campro VVT 150nm maa..

• Ya right ! Compare with Avanza/Rush/Alza 1.5 , still can make it head to head. Persona standard/image equals to Honda City,otherwise go for Civic if keen for performances.

• Mimau on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:15 am

but Proton’s VVT has max torque around 3500rpm, which is useful during urban driving, makes it more responsive and rev happy. Kia’s engine needs to rev around 5000-6000rpm to get some respectable torque figures. HP figure is not everything you know..

• buy horse better, rather than buy car. no need to fuelling them. just bagi makan rumput

• Horizon Sailor on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:55 pm

Atok…if your horsie taking a dump on the public street. Who gonna clean that..?

• Jackal on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:46 pm

turn off then go spend your money elsewhere. this is obviously not marketed as a ‘sporty’ car like the forte is.

without you wont die.

• fraz006 on Aug 25, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Ben Yap macam nak racing ko ni nak mintak horsie banyk2. laju sikit jam, laju sikit traffic light.

seriously, for normal user, what you need is just good torque at low rpm. how much hp depends on torque x highest rpm. reach higher max rpm (e.g. 9K rpm) also can get high hp. does not mean u would use the high hp, who the hell rev so high? racer only . now, are you a racer or a ricer?

• Max HP Highway to Kubur on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Ben Yap mahu guna all 107 horses mahu pergi mana. Mana ada orang guna max horses all the time.

• Same L0rr on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:49 am

1.6 with 107hp is to low? So, go for Vios. 1.5 with 107hp VVT-i engine! Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • 1.6 premium with bodykit looks gooooodddddddddd

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
    • Burong on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:11 pm

New Persona wins over Bezza in many things. Looks, power, features, very strong steel, design and so on.

Bezza only win over Persona few things. Reliability, fuel consumption, and second hand value.

The rest are almost same for both.

• what r u talking. the spec r not same. Persona overtake in every corner

• Say something on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:27 pm

IMO White is still the best colour for persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:35 pm

The bodykit can be added on any variant as an option or can only be added with da premium spec?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:34 pm

The bodykit is only available on the Premium spec.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Looks good. I have yet to go and check it out at the showroom, maybe over the weekend. The rear legroom looks tight and the seating position is rather weird. It doesn’t have a headrest. Where to rest the head? Looks painful for the neck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • Ah Jib Gor 2.0 on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Talking about the back seats and legroom, have you ever looked at those of Vios, Almeera and City?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • There’s a headrest man…adjustable headrest…..

• ex-VGM staff on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:32 am

go and see the car. it is not about smaller leg room, rather the seat squab is now longer to support our legs better. trust me.. it is so much more comfortable than the 2nd gen saga (also B segment) and the preious Persona (a C segment)

• The engine new model or still using campro upgrade version?

• New model: VVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • jonathan on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:16 pm

no, it’s campro upgraded VVT tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
        • Only the engine block is campro. So nope, its not campro. Just like Victreebel is not Bellsprout

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
          • LOL.. Jonathan spechless..
            its just block from campro with modified . others are evolveed.. test drive it. its in the drive.. not in internet….

• zacky fuyooo on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:52 pm

nowadays everyone want to copy my civic fc eyebrows…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
  • kelkatu on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:53 pm

mmm, cantik..

• pilih yang Standard pon ok dah ni..

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Avoid the standard as the rear seats are fixed. You’ll never know when the foldable rear seats will be useful for oversized cargo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • kay Z on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:07 pm

boot pun da besar la ape nak folded lagi …bila ade pun berapa kali sangat u jatuh kan seat belakang tu ..haiyaaa

• kay z on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:11 pm

boot da besar ni apa cita pasal fordable seat la apa la ..coii

• policeman on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:56 pm

What’s the purpose of the 2DIN radio in Executive? The single DIN is more practical with storage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Hentamajela on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Why u all people still talking abaut campro..its a vvt can read or not….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
    • It’s still a campro. Just name changed to VVT only. So it’s still a 20 years old crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 69
      • Only engine block is campro, rest is all new. So nope, its not a campro. Just like Victreebel is not a Bellsprout

• kzm (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:36 pm

n u think engine in Vios, Bezza n Axia is new? 1NR engine in Vios/Bezza is from 2008, 1KR in Axia/Bezza is from 2001. Even Honda City L-series engine come from 2002.

• karam Singh on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:39 pm

What is the difference between VVT and CPS? It can be the same thing with different name for all we know.

• Jimmy Wong on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:55 am

yes its true, still campro, proton changed the intake system from cps to vvt for iriz and persona, preve exora and suprima s with cfe(turbo)

• driver on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:35 am

no it’s not merely renaming.. go study!

• Megavalve on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Yes it is new VVT engine, can be found on Lotus cars too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
      • Malaysian Driver on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Funny how jaguh kampung like u so syiok sendiri saying it’s a new engine whereas it’s just a Campro with added vvt.

Just rev it pass the 3500rpm mark, the Campro notorious coarse will make u wanna close ur ears and look for cover. CPS, Campro Kosong, CFE, VVT semua ialah Campro, ini bukan engine barulah. If this VVT is a new engine, why Proton wanna waste money RnD new engines in UK now?

Betul2 jaguh kampunglah ni.

• Randhis on Aug 25, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Its the same engine.. Read previous paul tan review… Proton making new engine. Next year available..

• nelko on Aug 25, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Lotus? So it’s the toyota engine in new persona.

• Lotus engine dari ur most hated Toyota….

• camtakpro on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:13 am

Lotus car use Toyota engine lol.

Still Campro VVT.

• Rusmah on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:39 am

Lotus using Toyota VVT engine, not campro

• Malaysian Driver on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:45 pm

It is still the infamous Campro, sharing the same block, crank, shaft, and piston, adding a new vvt (variable valve timing) on the head doesn’t make it a new engine.

Given Proton always syiok sendiri and always boastful habbit (remember the masuk bakul angkat sendiri “BMW of Asia claim? anyone?) if they have successfully created a new engine, they would have shout to the whole world and ruih selurih kampung just to let ppl know, why segan-silu and senyap-senyap say it’s a vvt when asked by curious customers? because it’s still the notoirous Campro lah.

And yes, I’ve driven the Iriz with the same engine, the Campro notorious coarse when push hard is still very much evidence in this so call new “VVT”. Anyone in doubt , just rev the engine pass 3500rpm and the coarse will immediately sets in to betray it’s true identity. It’s just a Campro after all.

• Halimah on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 150
    • Neutral on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:51 pm

1.3 for 50k vs 1.6 for 40k, plus the safety features, man you got issue. Or maam.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 8
      • If you have been reading comments, you will realise that Halimah and Fatimah is the same person. A P2 salesman using female names.

• Bad comparison. 50k for top spec Bezza vs a barebone Persona ? Should be 50k vs 60k . 40k 1.6? Saga FLX SE also cannot buy.

Btw its a brand new dual VVTI engine for Bezza vs a modified ancient Campro with only intake VVT …

• Schmitt on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:51 pm

But the Bezza isn’t competing in the same class as the Persona. It would be Bezza Vs Saga

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
      • Kuntun on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Yup. later Perodua launching 1.6 model, sure prices above RM60k just for standard variants.

• kay Z on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:16 pm

ini Halimah mana zaman datang ni …phuii

• nobrainer on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Bezza..choii…ugly butt…damn ugly..yeah ..the sales is good btw.

• The price offered by Proton by far (correct me if im mistaken), the cheapest for a B segment car. With 5 star Asean NCAP rating, I think it is the best in its class. Comparing it with an A Segment car (Bezza) is not really the best idea I guess. 1stly because Bezza and Persona is not meant to be counterpart. Bezza and the new Saga definitely yes (both from the same A Segment). Plus with Persona, u can get VSC for all range with the cheapest one priced at MYR 46k (Standard MT) while for Bezza you have to opt for Advance 1.3 which will cost your pocket around MYR 50k.

I think because of the past, people are afraid questioning Proton’s quality, reliability and services but I believe that Proton has notice this and since then they have been building good car (Preve, Suprima S n Iriz). Let have hope for both P1 and P2. :)

Just my 2cents. Thank you.

• The price offered by Proton by far (correct me if im mistaken), the cheapest for a B segment car. With 5 star Asean NCAP rating, I think it is the best in its class. Comparing it with an A Segment car (Bezza) is not really the best idea I guess. 1stly because Bezza and Persona is not meant to be counterpart. Bezza and the new Saga definitely yes (both from the same A Segment). Plus with Persona, u can get VSC for all range with the cheapest one priced at MYR 46k (Standard MT) while for Bezza you have to opt for Advance 1.3 which will cost your pocket around MYR 50k.

I think because of the past, people are afraid questioning Proton’s quality, reliability and services but I believe that Proton has notice this and since then they have been building good car (Preve, Suprima S n Iriz). Let have hope for both P1 and P2. :)

Just my 2cents. Thank you. Peace

• Perodua salesman/saleswoman spotted.

• Annoynimouse on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:39 am

Yeah, but driving the it feels like driving a shopping trolley… Good luck with your car…

• Its a different segment, Moron !! Bezza more compact and only 1.0/1.3, Persona only 1.6. We dont you crash test the Bezza Vs Persona and see who lives. You pay for the size, engine and safety. How the heck do you expect to get a bigger car, with more safety and bigger engine for the same price ?? Please use intelligence when commenting.

• This car look tall and skinny and narrow.
    The design of the sedan car seems to be totally out
    of proportion and does not look pleasing at all.

I wonder will it topple over during hard cornering.

Furthermore the wheels look small and skinny. resembling a human leg long and skinny until bones can seen.

The only thing i like is only the rear light design and no others at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 82
    • Hentamajela on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Skinny like u la why tak cukup duit mau makan kah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
      • Hentamajela , you seem to be not understanding what Chen is try to say. You seems to be getting too personal already.

If you do not understand english or do not comprehend english well , please ask anyone who really knows english and able to advise you properly what Chen is trying to express his /her view on the exterior design of the car.

What all those nonsense of you saying not enough money to eat or whatever .

Please brush your english to avoid disappointment of most highly english educated Malaysians

• Never owned a proton on Aug 27, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Alan, please Forgive hentamajela. He is the one that design the persona. Thousand of manhour to make that skinny thing, of course he will pissed off. Those who did not like the design just dont buy la.

• CaiYan on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:16 pm

1722mm for Persona..
      Heard of Mazda 2..what its width then ?
      Vengong

• Masyitah on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:25 pm

I’m also thinking bout that…. tall n slim…. no women no cry, no proton no body cry….

• It’s not….the rim is as big as those from Vios and Coty at 15″….the only reason you think so it’s because the suspension is made higher to make driving on our bad Malaysia road better and more comfortable(just like myvi and axia and Bezza)….change to lowered spring and everything will look balance to you….learn how to appreciate those effort taken by proton and perodua t

• AhHuat on Aug 25, 2016 at 9:03 pm

This persona looks better than a Vios, that’s for sure.

• Hentamajela on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Yea old crap like your head 20 years ago….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
  • Already bored looking at it. Bezza looks much nicer and current. Proton brand really big no no. Ppl will laugh at you if you drive around. Your friends, family, colleagues etc. Bodoh Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • kay Z on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Model sebelum ni keluar arm rest ada yang complain kata lengan kiri tak selesa la ape la ..so sekarang proton tak arm rest lagi after market jual itu arm rest plug n play Rm79 je p la masuk kan kalu nak arm rest sgt …Proton dah kasi segala macam safety features apa korang tak pikir mati ke ? …ishhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
    • Muhd Latif on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Arm rest at rear seat bro.. can not plug & play..

• Pasangmain on Aug 25, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Armrest Iriz maybe can fit on Persona. Around rm50 at Lelong, Mudah, etc.

• Mahu looks original… after market punya looks so so, dan cepat rosak…. kasi rear aircon sekali arm rest.. thanks…

• Dah budaya Malaysia. Takde apa nak komplen pun mesti cari sesuatu utk dikomplen. Cannot see the bigger picture that safety kit is more important than any accessories that can be easily added on. Ask them to install ESC aftermarket and they will know it’s nearly impossible.

• cludrafral on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:24 pm

Bezza’s rear leg room better than Persona.
    Persona’s seats not as good as Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 90
    • seman on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:52 pm

a bit cramp inside but takes time to familiarizr with it, the boot space is very huge, rear tail lamp always looked exclusive to my eyes

• nobrainer on Aug 25, 2016 at 5:23 pm

agreed on the rear leg room comparison. but i really can’t stand the look of bezza butt..oh damn..really eyesore!

• Pengguna Bijak on Aug 25, 2016 at 5:27 pm

In the end, buy Bezza Advance.

Puas hati, fikiran tenang.

• But Bezza steering cannot adjust height. Low spec Bezza cannot even adjust the driver seat height. Big turn off.

• Caring on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Bezza back seat is just an illusion. The back seat length is short. The Persona back seat length is longer. That is why you see as though there are a lot of back spaces in Bezza. Just a David Copperfield illusion. Moreover, the Bezza seat is almost vertical. Very uncomfortable for backseat passenger when going outstation.

• azrai on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:08 am

Yeah..my Ikea sofa at my home is better?

• 1. As always, design is good and attractive. Damn tricky for 1st buyer and those hapless people.

2. But the quality bloody terrible. I own persona. Too many to list.

3. Safety wise ON PAPER. My neighbor Preve had accident (Slippery road & careless) about 1 km from their house. The airbag deployed AFTER their reaching home! I also witness perdana hit myvi. Myvi airbag already deploy but not to perdana. I ask QC why it happen? Their blame the driver and “Sudah suratan takdir”. WTF!!!

4. Smaller than previous. Persona replacement?. It should be saga replacement.

5. Hatred to Proton still strong. Please bankrupt as soon as possible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • pak atan on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:49 pm

you have empty brain.. Persona ypu own is totally different.with this persona. Proton givw you the best choice comparing to Bezza

• Hisham on Sep 04, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Haha. You probably forgot to mention about the Japanese airbags that killed so many people already.

• Powerranger on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Look nice and better styling compare to Bezza

• Sorry to ask, there is two premium spec which is White & Red. but why Red colour premium are with Grey colour finishing rims? or myself colour blind?

• Once I reckognised, the dashboard is quite similar to mitsubishi triton,

• I say the author maybe mislead our readers when he wrote black B pillars. It is actually the door pillars that is finished in black. The b pillar is the one behind it, and possibly still on body colour

• its not a persona! it is clearly a sedan version of the Iriz. They even used Iriz as a comparison test.

• Go to the US, custom made your own car, put whatever you want in it and PAY for it. End of story.

• Sarel on Aug 25, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Komplen jer

• Already bored looking at it. It just looks weird. Front OK but side and back just pure ugliness. Even Swift Maruti sedan looks nicer. Proton sure gone case.

• Pak Atan on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:44 pm

i think you are brainsless, the block already improved alot. oil gallery and water jacket impressively redo. piston with low tension ring n DLC.. so nothing wrong.with block any more . with retuning ecu n xtcu.. more dynamic driving and cvt protection measure was achieved. do that means, Proton learnt it lesson.

• Sarel on Aug 25, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Komplen jer xreti nak bersyukur

• vincent hew on Aug 25, 2016 at 8:33 pm

The VVT engine is indeed an old campro engine. Just that they enhanced the old campro engine with a VVT technology, using back the same old engine block and pistons. Iriz has been critised for using the punch cvt gearbox, yet proton still use it in its new Persona. Didn’t they hear what the people are complaining? 1.6 litre engine with 107 horsepower is kinda dissapointing with today’s technology. Proton should have used the 1.6 turbo cps engine to capture more market spectrum.

Nevertheless, I do wanna praise Proton for putting all the safety gadgets across the variants in the Persona.

• Pak Atan on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:43 pm

i think you are brainsless, the block already improved alot. oil gallery and water jacket impressively redo. piston with low tension ring n DLC.. so nothing wrong.with block any more . with retuning ecu n xtcu.. more dynamic driving and cvt protection measure was achieved. do that means, Proton learnt it lesson.

• Proton should consider adding these for the RM60k Persona to stand on par with the B segment crowd:
    1. Cruise control
    2. Auto climate control air cond.
    3. Rear air cond vents.
    4. Auto Wiper
    5. Paddle shifter
    6. Include Security Tint in the package.

Leather seats should be optional since not everyone likes the slippery surface and they tend to show crack lines after few years.

• AhHuat on Aug 25, 2016 at 8:44 pm

Good job Proton. Excellent specs and price range. You are starting to regain my confidence in you.
    Nevertheless, do consider extending the Manual transmission option for the higher spec variants for hardcore stick-shift kakis like us older folks.

• oh mak lu cina on Aug 28, 2016 at 11:19 pm

People like you who talk like this when agree to buy loan all will kena reject. End up tak laku also!

• Korean Fan on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:42 am

Bezza simply throws everything that kiasu people want. Big space, big leg room, super fuel saving engine. Never mind about safety, design, handling, tin milo etc because kiasu people want to max out their car space for the money.

• Pak Atan on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:38 pm

ohh noo..you trade off your.safety with that expensive, low torqur, tonggek, tin milo, rear.seat keras ….wmf..

• Ryeon on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:24 pm

if you prefer a better ride and handling, go for persona.
    if you prefer a better fuel consumption, go for bezza.

• Pak Atan on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:36 pm

of you prefer mati katak, go to bezza. If you prefer kena kutuk , go to bezza

• rambo on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:45 pm

All variant with drum rear brakes? Isn’t this moving backwards?

• Pak Atan on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:34 pm

8 owner di JB cancel loan utk beza, beralih kepada Persona… tahniah.. you do a correct choice..

• mohamad on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:26 pm

Persona booking harian 500 unit, betul ke.

• Hakim on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:29 pm

Test drove the Persona today. Not impress at all. Power is pretty sluggish and engine noise is loud. Not much improvement over the iriz. There are 2 adults at the back and pulling power is pretty bad. The Bezza 1.3L offers much better linear and refine pulling power than the 1.6L Persona. The 1.3L bezza engine is also quieter than the persona. I think the main reason is the weight issue. 1210kg vs 900kg. 300kg difference which is like 5 adults already. Although the CVT of the Persona has improved over the iriz but it’s still not as good as Vios, Almera or myvi / Axia. We hit the highway at around 100km per hr the wind noise and nvh is apparent and comparable to Iriz, myvi and axia has better nvh than the Persona. Overall the build quality is pretty OK, interior is neat, but the engine is still very sluggish and CVT and nvh not refined enough. The rear legroom is pretty tight, reminds me of Ford Fiesta which is very cramp. Bezza offers better legroom. At 56k for the middle range it’s pretty steep for the price. 10k more with lower interest rate you can get an Almera with monthly installment just $30 more but offers so much better refinement and legroom, space over the Persona. Don’t see any point in getting the Persona middle and high range. The lower range starts from 50k for the auto, 6k more than the entry level Bezza 1.3L. Mix bag with the Persona. If it’s price at 40k yes it’s a good deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • C K F on Sep 10, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Who said stick-shift lovers don’t need those advance features on the Premium?