2016 Proton Persona now open for booking – three-year free service package offered until September 30

Proton Persona open for booking

Proton has announced that the new 2016 Proton Persona is now open for booking ahead of its launch on August 23, just a week away. What’s more, the national carmaker is offering a three-year free service package (inclusive of parts and labour) for bookings made before September 30.

As we’ve written before, the Iriz-based B-segment sedan will be offered in three variants, these being Standard, Executive and Premium – with a Premium SE adding a dual-tone bodykit on top of the range topper. Active safety kit, including ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Hill Hold Assist (HHA) and ISOFIX child seat anchors, comes as standard across the range, just like the Iriz.

Kit count on the Standard variant includes dual airbags, grey 15-inch turbine design alloy wheels, power-adjustable side mirrors and a single-DIN Bluetooth-enabled radio. Move up to the Executive and one gains body-coloured side mirrors and door handles, front fog lights, a bootlid lip spoiler, a double-DIN head unit, USB charging ports and a 60:40 split-folding rear bench.

At the top of the range, the Premium gains six airbags, silver wheels, black B-pillar trim, power-folding side mirrors, keyless entry, push-button start, an Android-based touchscreen infotainment system with navigation and a reverse camera and leather upholstery.

Despite carrying the same wheelbase as the Iriz, the Persona feels bigger inside thanks to a scalloped front seat back and a more reclined rear seat; the boot is also a massive 510 litres. It’s around 20 kg lighter than the previous-generation model thanks to the use of high-tensile steel, but between 20 to 30 kg heavier than the Iriz depending on the spec.

All models are powered by the same 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated VVT engine as the Iriz, making 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The Standard variant gets a choice of either a five-speed manual gearbox or a CVT; all other models are only available with the CVT.

Notable figures include a 0-100 km/h acceleration time of 10.9 seconds with the manual, plus fuel consumption of 5.6 litres per 100 km with the manual and 6.1 litres per 100 km with the CVT. Do note, however, that these figures were taken at a constant speed of 90 km/h. An Eco Drive Assist indicator, which lights up when the car senses you’re driving economically, is fitted as standard.

Want to know how the new 2016 Proton Persona drives? Read our first impressions here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• citizen on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:40 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 273
    • Suprimas werent meant to be a volume pusher unlike Preve sibling, so its quite successful seeing more on the road nowadays.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 26
      • Autodriver on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Seeing more on the road, are you sure? I am doing sales and run all over KV. It is so hard to see a Suprima S. I don’t even see 1 Suprima S per day running on the road, ad hoc day only I seen it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 41
        • Price Important on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Must be below 55k for the highest SPECS … only I will consider.

• Same L00 on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Everyone is giving 5 years warranty and Proton dare to give 3 years only. Why?

Don’t play play with Proton quality. Better sell off your Proton before warranty ended.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
        • Yep. Saw quite often at NS hiway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • Skooling on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:38 pm

Omgg?!! Rm 50K only so dem cheap!!!

This car is worth same as P2 Axia in Singapura. SGD85k = Rm250k!!

• proton on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:21 pm

It’s quite successful after we sold 1 car in Sg and 1 Perdana to the Sultan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • Naza Sux on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:30 pm

Thats not true… I bought the New Perdana too… and i am no Sultan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
      • Syok sendiri syndrome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • Proton is the only non luxury brand carrying most models that not intend to be volume pusher.

• Theres alwiz a few in everyones lineup, remember Naughty Car? Opps I mean Nautica.

• Mr. Loba loba on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:40 am

This looks like a good job done by proton. Haters will hate, no matter what. Credits where it’s due.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 6
    • Agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Semaibakti on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:36 pm

yeayyy my ohhsome kolej ride!!!

Nanti graduate in 3 years. Will Upgrade to Conti ! Ohhsome

• Buy Persona from me and i will gip u free service. I can service everything including ur body like how i service Najib. As an added bonus, i will service u 3 years like an indon maid. Buy from me and i will include this special service package for a limited time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 20
    • usin bolt on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:38 pm

p2 salesman shooh shhoooh , hahahahaha

• Raghu on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:36 pm

I will buy if offered 10-Years car warranty + 10-years Free service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Operation Manager on Aug 16, 2016 at 1:36 am

How to book… without estimated price…? Its 20k…?

• Jonn Dol on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:43 am

Bravo Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 26
  • Protong on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:44 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 148
    • wASHbUrn on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:02 am

Obviously you. I own both Myvi and Iriz and I’m happy with both cars as it serve my different needs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
      • wASHbUrn on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:06 am

Obviously not you. I own both Myvi and Iriz and I’m happy with both cars as it serve my different needs. I’m thinking of replacing my 2005 Myvi for the Persona as it’s loaded with more safety features+terrific handling.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
        • wASHbUrn on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Obviously you. I own both Myvi and Iriz and I’m not happy with both cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
          • dxdkcjgj on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:35 pm

u ni sekejab happy sekejab tak happy. dei mana fakta auta ni

• Nick dah kena hijack. Just like mine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • He’s like me. Sometimes i talk to myself too

• LOL, I did say after Bezza launched the only way P1 can sell its saga and persona is by offering free service and insurance renewal for life. Looks like they curi my idea a bit to not lose sales. Biasalah, kids grow up into adults, and the more gullible ones buy p1 cars not knowing the troubles ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 54
      • Yusuf on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Based on your logic, produa curi idea increase safety factor dari proton. Barula keluar kereta ncap tinggi dari produa

• If u observe carefully, all the pictures of Persona is close up like Bezza. Their marketing staff are really ‘rajin’ in copying. Bravo! Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 24
    • jinggo on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:21 am

Bulum coba bulum tau.. suda coba baru tau..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • ozawa on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Sudah coba..hari hari pon mau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Buy from me and i will service u. After u try, hari hari pun mau my service. I have satisfaction guaranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Protong 2 on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:16 pm

Then we should by what ? Please advice..

• Protong on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:46 am

Whose going to buy proton anyway?? Worst after sale and durability ever. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 75
    • paultan.comReader on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:44 am

Shut up. Pergi main jauh-jauh. Annoying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Yusuf on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:32 pm

Who is going to listen to you anywayy?? Trash talker and wasting time. Period.

• kenot on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:48 am

For me, SE version should get 16″ inch rim for better visual. Add bodykit only might be make the car look more awkward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Wow. Good move proton. Good luck. Make sure price competitive and after sales service at par with perodua. Than we find a new winner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
  • Why no opposite:
    Free 2016 Proton Persona until September 30.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
  • 3 years parts & labour is quite a bargain. Means no need pay anything at all, unlike those that gip free labour only. But still must see how the revamp service by P1, if still cilaka then gip free oso dunwan. At least P1 cars still can go to under the tree bengkel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Free parts don’t mean you will not pay for the engine fuel right?

• If they say parts, that mean its usually included in the freebie unless they termed it as consumable item.

• tkhengong on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:01 am

Wow! They have got the steering wheel design changed for the better. In my opinion, this Persona’s steering wheel looks more classy than those from the Perdana. Overall, a good looking car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • Front look a bit like the old Saga FL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • why theres no chassis picture? do this model sharing the same old chassis? without chassis picture, how do we consumer know how weak or strong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:21 am

P1 Good points
    Fun to drive
    Solid build quality
    High specs (compared to P2)
    Cars high in safety
    Affordable to buy (with discounts)

P1 Bad points
    Poor fuel consumption
    Shity engine and powertrain
    Very bad after sales
    High maintenance costs
    Poor resale value

P2 Good points
    Excellent fuel consumption
    Reliable Japanese engine and powertrain
    Very good after sales
    Low maintenance costs
    Excellent resale value

P2 Bad Points
    Boring to drive
    Cars poor in safety
    Tin milo build quality
    Low specs (compared to P1)
    Expensive to buy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
    • Already renamed to VVT like jepunis overlords, so enjin should be ok

• Poor FC is a thing of the past. Look at Iriz, its FC is comparable to MyVi (if not better). Considering the Iriz is much much heavier than the MyVi, the FC of Iriz is actually a win

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Wanna dispute on some P1 bad points there:
      Bad FC – perhaps its me but my 1.6CPS is better than 1.3 Myvi.
      High maint cost – not high at all during service in SC. Standard price. Now service under tree bengkel oso not expensive. Change filters, fan belt, labour cost only Rm180.

• Jason Lim on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:25 am

they should have cover for USB charger
    it will look more neat

• annoy_namous on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Bro, pls look again. there is a cover for it.

• the USB Charger wording is the flap cover for the charger. look closely at the pic.

• EDWARD on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:26 am

OPEN booking w/o price ?

Sell durian ahhh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Asadun on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:28 am

Good job Proton!! Exterior design look nice and elegant. But for interior should be better. Looking forward to test drive it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Potong on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:32 am

Proton hebat…Proton hebat…

Change this model’s name to other than Persona la or just maintain Iriz’ name. WTF man.

This is like trying to sell a chocolate when it is clearly a shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • jinggo on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:55 pm

tahap kritikal dah kamu ni.. ni mesti belum pernah potong ni.

• krueger on Aug 15, 2016 at 8:14 pm

yeap his kulup needs a treatment. a sharp and nice thin blade will do.

• Lel. Constant 90kmh. I think only proton using this constant 90kmh to rate their fc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Alot of cars in MY do. Why P2 din go for NEDC mix cycle instead, hmm?

• Ahmadjr on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:51 am

From which company they use the cvt?

• maybe 16″ had effect on handling, 15″ better

• Autodriver on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:22 pm

What I feel is there are quite many P1 salespersons here promoting the new persona rather than car enthusiast. Let see how the new persona sales doing. Figure won’t lie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Don’t heboh lah. I need to get promoted, u know?

• Just as many bashers here, althou I doubt many probably r dupes of 1 person who-shall-not-be-named

• Andas on Aug 16, 2016 at 7:12 pm

U bash kaw kaw then u called ur self CAR ENTHUSIAST??? Wallaweh..

• Proton on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:26 pm

2 tone is fine but the door panel and center console in white is a dirt/stain magnet……come on…..

• Lots of other brands do it. But the doorcards dun extend all the way down to the foot height, so probably wun kena stain.

• White represents purity, like Proton

• Johan on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Do you think it would be possible to transplant the persona front lights, grille and bumper onto the iriz? I kinda like this face better than the iriz, but prefer the hatch back configuration.

• Abumuhammad65 on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Kudos to Proton! Fresh design language and improved service. Received a text message reminder to send my car for service….something new after all these years of owning Proton cars.
    Personally and frankly, I never had any horrible experience as posted in this blog whenever Proton is mentioned.
    Take your Proton to the authorised service center! They know their stuff.
    To those who still talks about Proton power window issue, you are living in the past!
    All the best Proton and keep listening to the customers’ needs, suggestions and comments…of course take actions too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Barely any full picture made to public, already open for booking.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:02 pm

A lot of Proton paid cybertroopers “supporters” are flooding the comments as you can see from the dislikes we get

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • And a lot of bashers as well. So it balances out everything. The turtle is well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Ayish on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Please get the spelling right, proton.
    PESONA not PERSONA.
    Refer to KAMUS DEWAN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • persona on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:13 pm

You are the one who got it wrong. What’s wrong with Proton Persona?

• TERPESONA on Aug 16, 2016 at 3:51 pm

What is the meaning of persona?
        Or it just ‘pesona’ with the wrong spelling?
        Malu larr melayu sendiri ejaan salah..

• Ayish on Aug 16, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Me who got it wrong?
        Please explain the meaning of PERSONA?

• doktorgigi on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:15 am

Its just a branding name. Sama juga bezza. Patutnya BEZA. hahah. Tak payah jadi isu la

• TERPESONA on Aug 16, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Did you really think Bezza is Beza? Or Best za?
        Same like Yess za?
        What about PERSONA? I think they misspell here than
        more on just a funky spelling.

• syerin on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:16 pm

back to you. do you think Persona here means Pesona if Bezza doesn’t mean Beza? you are biased to won yourself and its too obvious for me to dismiss.

• TERPESONA on Aug 17, 2016 at 3:37 pm

I think so?
            So what does PERSONA means then?

• syerin on Aug 16, 2016 at 11:46 am

Sama la almera. In kamus dewan it should be almari.

• Andas on Aug 16, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Er.. if almari, johorean will call it nissan gerobok.. can ah?

• Das Auto on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:33 pm

The passenger seat behind is quite thin and same goes with Bezza. I’ve noticed that car manufacturers are making those seats thinner. Look like its gonna give an uncomfortable sitting. Is it a new trend? Maybe one-day driver’s seat also becoming thin? They are taking this fuel consumption saving a bit too serious.

• Losai on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Admin, betul ker harga Persona RM48xxx – RM58xxx.
    Ada 4 versi. Standard, Executive, Premium, Limited Edition.

• davidletterboyz on Aug 15, 2016 at 3:14 pm

According to mudah.my posts, The cheapest is RM42k. I assume that’s the Standard version. Some are RM48k but the description says 6 air-bags.

• Ootai on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:25 pm

P1 used to give 7 years warranty, then 5 years, and now, 3 years free service. Please buy P1 cars. Warranty?? Ha, ha, try the door handle. If the engine sounds torquey, earplugs maybe handy.

• Ex-Proton on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:30 pm

The chrome lining top of Headlight look similar with new Civic… emmm…..

• davidletterboyz on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:52 pm

No comparison with the outgoing Persona? :P

• Bezza VS Samma on Aug 15, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Dah Booking 3 buah.. esok nak lagi satu.. terbaik Proton.

• TQ for booking with me. One special service package coming ur way…

• Think smart on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Good design n well equipped safety features but dun buy it until the new persona come with new drivetrain like GDI engine n Jatco CVTand get EEV certified. For nw still very poor in fuel consumption.

• david on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:06 am

Proton makes cars & never put a gun on your head to buy them.
    I use proton from day 1, numerous models and still am and will.
    The most cars i see in the roads are proton and perodua daily..
    Your bashings does no good to any car makers..
    Even ferraris i think people can find flaws…

• nice

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 19, 2016 at 8:42 am

When is Proton going to offer the 6 speed MT?

• Mana Bolih on Sep 17, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Later year, ‘WHOSE-EVER’ car breakdown MORE often to visit Repair-shops will finally know whether they have bought the RIGHT/WRONG car or NOT!