Proton Saga – all three generations side-by-side

At the launch of the 2016 Proton Saga, the national carmaker also wheeled out examples of the first two generations of its bread-and-butter model. We took the opportunity to photograph both these cars to show you just how far the latest model has come.

We all know where it started – in 1985, then Malaysian prime minister, now former Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad unveiled the first-generation Saga, based on the front-wheel drive Mitsubishi Lancer sedan. It was simple in style, interior appointments and mechanicals – power came from a 1.3 litre 4G13 carbureted eight-valve, four-cylinder engine, mated to a five-speed manual transmission.

Honest it may be, but the original Saga was long a mainstay in Proton’s lineup, remaining in production for 22 years. In that time it spawned a five-door Aeroback variant, morphed into the Iswara and was offered in numerous special edition variants, including the Saga Knight, fuel-injected Iswara CARES and LMST models.

This particular unit is the Megavalve, introduced in 1990 with 1.3 and 1.5 litre 12-valve engines, larger grille openings, ‘Megavalve’ script imprinted on the rear windscreen and a ‘Saga 12V’ badge. Safety kit was also improved with a third brake light and rear three-point seat belts.

Proton finally replaced the first Saga with a new one in 2008. Based on the Savvy, Malaysia’s most affordable sedan featured a more restrained, pragmatic design compared to its hatchback sibling – no more stepped window line and yellow gauges – along with a silver-on-black logo that was only recently replaced with a new version on the Perdana.

Making its debut on the Saga was the new Intake Air-Fuel Module (IAFM), a variable-length manifold that virtually eliminated the original CamPro engine’s torque dip. A 1.3 litre mill was offered at first, mated to either a five-speed manual gearbox or a four-speed automatic.

The Saga was facelifted in 2010 and given an FL suffix. Both front and rear fascias were revised, including wider reshaped headlights, slimmer LED tail lights and new door mirrors with LED indicators; the range-topping Executive also received a passenger airbag. The following year, a 1.6 Elegance model was added, with a 1.6 litre CamPro IAFM engine, a new alloy wheel design and body stripes.

Soon after, the Saga FLX was launched with a CVT – the first Proton with the stepless drivetrain – along with an updated CamPro IAFM+ engine designed to work with the new transmission. Also included was ABS with EBD on the 1.3 Executive model, while the 1.6 SE model introduced later that year added the new 1.6 litre CamPro IAFM+ mill, a bodykit, smoked taillights and larger 15-inch wheels.

In 2013 came the Saga SV, a value-added base model with standard dual airbags; a reinforced frame was also added across the range which netted the car a three-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating. A runout Saga Plus variant, based on the SV, was introduced last year with a bodykit and 14-inch alloy wheels, although the car seen here oddly does without the latter.

The second-gen Saga bowed out with the introduction of the new car yesterday. Despite being based on the previous model, it has been significantly revised, being longer, wider and lower than before. It also boasts a new, more dynamic exterior design, an entirely revamped cabin and a boot that’s now seven litres bigger at 420 litres.

There’s only one engine option – as part of a range-wide restructuring, you can only have the Saga with the smaller 1.3 litre VVT four-cylinder engine from the Iriz, producing 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Despite similar outputs as before, the new car is said to be faster and more fuel efficient than before, both with the five-speed manual and the improved CVT.

Big news is the addition of stability control and hill-start assist on the top Premium variant, making it the cheapest sedan in Malaysia to come with the electronic safety net. Dual airbags are standard across the range, but only the Executive model and above get ABS with EBD and brake assist. All models get a four-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating, up from three stars previously.

So there you have it, all three generations of the Proton Saga side-by-side. For more details of the new 2016 Proton Saga, check out our comprehensive launch report here.

GALLERY: 1990 Proton Saga 12V

GALLERY: 2015 Proton Saga Plus
GALLERY: 2016 Proton Saga 1.3L Premium

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• I have a 1990 Megavalve-4G15 Saga sitting on the driveway. As much as I clean it monthly and it’s still pretty shiny, it hasn’t left my driveway for a year or so. The old guy has about 280k on the odo and has faithfully served our family from the day it left the showroom and went through my parents marriage, my birth and until the last day of my college.

Yes it’s a shitty car, has cockroaches here and there, leaking boot and a temperamental engine, but even after 5 newer cars come and go in my family, It’s still a damn charismatic little thing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 7
    • Sharul on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:08 pm

This is a kind of things that critics and bashers alike would not comprehend and understand and possibly will never have…… A Heart…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 6
      • I remember Proton Saga Iswara itself also got many generations. Where are they now?

• john is otak batu on Sep 29, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Simple answer=scrap yard

• Saga 1990 owner on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Selling off a used Saga will make you profit those days …as waiting list was 6 months at Proton plant full production.

It was a good car. First car to have power steering, power windows and power mirrors. When toyotas and nissan were still manually winding up its windows, driver asking the front passenger to adjust the left door mirror and drivers building biceps with no power steering.

Compared to its peers….the Saga was way way Better than Nissan sunny 130Y or Toyota Corolla models then… outsold them 10 to 1. Hopefully Proton will be back .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • Sam VHL Loo on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:56 pm

@ Saga 1990 owner, Also, it was among first car to have automatic transmission apart from power steering and power window for 1.5L Istimewa (badged 1.5I), but that time there’s limited colour choices (it’s kasturi green and blueish silver for Magma version, then silver and maroon for Megavalve version).

• I have been a Motorhead all my life for as long as I can remember. I may not be the most hands-on person with my cars but I love cars Nonetheless, and I strongly believe no matter how shieße the car is as a machine, a Saga, Myvi, Vios or a Chana Era CM8, spend long enough with the machine and you’ll get to understand it more until it becomes more than just 1 tone piece of machinery, it becomes your buddy, partner , companion, even a friend, something you have stories WITH it, much more than anything else man made.

To quote the 6ft 5 ex-BBC orang Utan “It’s what non-car people don’t get. They see all cars as just a ton and a half, two tons of wires, glass, metal, and rubber, and that’s all they see. People like you or I know we have an unshakable belief that cars are living entities… You can develop a relationship with a car and that’s what non-car people don’t get… When something has foibles and won’t handle properly, that gives it a particularly human quality because it makes mistakes, and that’s how you can build a relationship with a car that other people won’t get. – Jeremy Clarkson”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Same L00 on Oct 01, 2016 at 1:47 am

So much of self feel good. Being so proud of buying junk again and again. I just can’t stop laughing.

• safety 1st on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:24 pm

i tot three gen side by side? no photos of the three gen together side by side to do comparison….

• The cars r side by side, but probably PT din have wide angle lens camera to take all 3 cars in the shot

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 29, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Proton saga iswara is akin to toyota corolla altis…like that one ijit…if not like how…

• Ruslan Bahari on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:44 pm

You should join the search contest being organised at PROTON!

• Is there a competition by Proton? I was a preliminary on the essay competition by Proton a few months back but thats it.

• Iswara Karuppiah on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:45 pm

1990 Megavalve-4G15 Saga, 5-star NCAP.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 29, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Most Malaysians have driven and owned a saga in their lifetime…such is pride of the nation…i owned 2 saga aerobacks before finally shifting to another brand and other brands later on…it was so enjoyable back then to be seen driving an aeroback…more sporty maa…now they should build aeroback model again…why not???

• Yong Tau Fu on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:34 pm

As a car enthusiasts, I salute you sir

• Silthice on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:52 pm

For the standard should remove the all round sensors (maybe just retain the rear), usb charging ports, rear fog lights and other cosmetic accessories. If still not enough, don’t use power ⛮ windows for rear windows and just use manual. They should prioritize safety package (ABS, EBD, BA & ESC) first before the things I mentioned above cause this safety package might help to avoid accidents or reduce the severity of the accident. They’re going 180 degrees from what they have promised before. Really sad to see Proton management unable to determine which things should have come as standard and optional.
    Not sure how the top management going to make a more sophisticated and important decision if they are unable to decide for simple things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • azurestratos on Sep 29, 2016 at 3:07 pm

What for safety features in car if Malaysians no want to buy? Look at Perodua Axia, only the the big mouth version (SE and Advance) have ABS, yet most Axia I see is Standard type. Uncle and Auntie are skilled drivers no need auto-safety.

Proton also offered sedan with full auto-safety at CHEAPEST price currently in market, so they kept their promise. If buyer had 2 brain cells they know where to put their money. Smart buyers la.

If they want only ABS and no VSC, then they can buy axia or bezza at 37k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • If MY pipu were smart and buy safer cars, P2/toyota wud kolos shop long time ago b4 vios facelift & Biza

• afars88 on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:47 pm

I thought that the axia standard G had been equipped with both abs/ba since end of last year, hence the newer axia G is sold at rm1500 more expensive than its predecessor, so if u jus wanna have a good reliable car to move from point a to point b with decent safety features, jus get urself axia standard G, it’s cheap and fuel efficient as well

• Unknown on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:55 pm

Recently came out of the cave are we? Since early 2016 Axia line up have been equipped with abs and ebd as standard from Standard G and up

• Old skool on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:55 pm

The dashboard literally unchanged from 1985 til now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
    • Stupid basher on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:22 pm

are you blind or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Yes i agree. Until now its still has steering wheel, buttons, knobs, and aircon.

• Alifzz on Sep 29, 2016 at 7:36 pm

1st Gen Saga (Orion engine) comes with optional aircond, so you may saw some without temperature dial.

• 1985 Proton Saga, keta klasik beb…roadtag murah giler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • azrai on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:48 pm

What tag? Smart tag? Price tag? It is tax la, road tax. Tax = Cukai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • RavenAii (Member) on Oct 01, 2016 at 12:20 pm

I guess people who were disliking this comment also say tag instead of tax. Hahahahaahah budak² wicet. Anyway the Saga and Iswara probably the most durable proton car ever, cheap to maintain and have lots of mods to choose from.

• Decent on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Ok la looks decent. But damn only 3 generations since 1985???

• the Iswara was using Saga chassis,same doors, same seat and everything. It was the revamped version of Saga after 2 minor facelifts (Magma in 1987, Megavalve in 1990). Iswara doesnt count as a new model

• For your info mr. Author, the LMST variant is still a carbureted engine. How do I know? Because I own one of these LMST and they are all equipped with Aisan Carburetor on the 4G13P engine straight out the factory.

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2016 at 3:30 pm

author was referring fuel injection to the CARES model, which replicate UK spec models (using lancer dashboard and EFI wiring).

CARES stands for Clean Air Regulated Emission System – means the EFi system helps to reduce carbon dioxide and monoxide emission.

• Unknown on Sep 29, 2016 at 6:00 pm

The author is referring to the Iswara CARES as the fuel-injected model, not the LMST. Just because it says “and” in the article doesn’t mean it’s referring to both.

• Waiting on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Only 3rd gen after 30years ;(
    It sould be 5th 0r 6th gen already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Proton got Iswara then LMST then LMSS … all SAGA base! … suppose now 6th Gen?

• gtmaniac on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Nice Megavalve there.. though missing some details – rear badges, wrong radiator grill colour (should be in black). Otherwise, it is pretty original.

• What about this?
    https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/2e/Proton_Saga_(re-release%3B_third_facelift)_(front),_Serdang.jpg

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Enough of Proton la, focus on the Paris Motor Show!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • The progress has been slow… But some progress nevertheless.

I still recalled the moment when the original Saga was launched. And how surprised I was when I looked at the car. It was one of the most beautiful model on sale then.

And I also recall how the car got its name, from biji saga, a tiny red seed. Despite the size, the core is solid and strong.

I hope one day, this model can live up to the character of the seed that it got its name from.

Even with all the loud critics, I know Malaysian wants to see you succeed.

So please continue to progress, at a faster pace this time hopefully.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Leafable on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:38 pm

Sorry whats the different between the MK2 & the MK3?

• Mortal Kombat 2 introduced Fatality, Babality and Friendship (Friendship?) finishing moves, while Mortal Kombat 3 added a Run button.

• passion on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:46 pm

its time for esp and abs to be made mandatory.

• Persona on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Go buys Persona.. ESC , EBD, ABS comes standar for all variant

• fadzlisyed on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:48 pm

wait i thought there is another one, saga hatchback? missing?

• i bet saga will outsell the new persona :D

• Ben Yap on Sep 29, 2016 at 3:33 pm

i used to like the stretched Proton Saga Executive and the limousine.

stands out among the crowd!

• john is otak batu on Sep 29, 2016 at 3:38 pm

3 generations of reason rakyat suffering from high car prices…sigh!!!

• I’d love to see they do another ‘Proton Makeover’ on a Gen1 Saga, with Gen3’s stuffed in it including the engine.

• Isnt the iswara is suppose to be a saga as well?
    Cos iirc its written there both the saga at the boot and iswara is hatched at the rear windscreen.
    Means its the forth gen already at least

• Why Saga Iswara dun have? It oso saga famili what

• Kumar on Sep 29, 2016 at 4:20 pm

The second generation Saga shown in the comparison is NOT a second generation Saga. It actually Face Lift version of second generation Saga. Second generation Saga actually SAGA BLM the pre-face lift version. Kindly correct the facts. Tq

• At least show 1 picture of them side by side lah.

• Chingu on Sep 29, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Why not considering Iswara as its own generation? Iswara is just like the new saga… old frame at the inside with new skin on the outside….

I believe the new Saga is the 4th Gen as including Iswara for the 2nd generation

• seman on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:25 pm

better to include the saga blm too as it will complete the saga evolution

• Syawalfitri Yaakob on Sep 29, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Still wondering until now why Iswara and Iswara LMST are labelled as Saga…

Because they are not Saga, that’s why only 3 gens is it?

• Unknown on Sep 29, 2016 at 8:12 pm

They are all “Saga”. The Iswara is officially called as the “Saga Iswara” while the LMST is renamed as “Saga” instead of Iswara. These variants are facelifts of the original Saga, that’s why there are only 3 generations of Saga

• Where is SAGA BLM?

• FLX is the facelift of BLM, thats why they considered both as 1 model

• During the late 80s’ and early 90s’, 1st generation Saga and Aeroback were quite up-to-date with the trend in terms of their design and features.

Current Saga totally does not have that up-to-date / trendy feeling.

Just make me feel like we are moving towards to become like those low-income countries, where people have no choice but to accept small cheap cars with just ‘ok’ ‘boleh lah’ / ‘takpe lah, apa mau lagi’ quality.

• Bernard on Oct 01, 2016 at 4:34 pm

The best was the first gen.