Proton Press Release On The Savvy

08/06/2005 – SMALL BUT BIG ON PERFORMANCE – PROTON’S ALL NEW SAVVY

National car manufacturer PROTON today introduced the Savvy, a five-door compact hatchback making its debut and intending to set a new benchmark in the competitive small car market segment.

The all-new Savvy is powered by a 1.2 litre engine and driven by a five-speed manual transmission, capable of delivering a punch of 74 brake horse power and a maximum speed of 170km/h, making it one of the speediest and most powerful vehicles in its class.

“We’d like to think of it as my first Lotus,” said PROTON Group Chief Executive Officer Tengku Tan Sri Mahaleel Tengku Ariff.

“That was certainly the design ideology from the start of the project. We wanted a small car that offers practicality, fuel economy, generous space and great all round performance. It’s not a sports car nor does it look like a Lotus but certain elements have been engineered into the car that’ll give you a taste of what it’s like to drive one of the world’s best handling vehicles. The results are outstanding.”

These elements involved engineering a new, stronger and more rigid chassis (platform) and bringing Lotus dynamics into a small car, resulting in a vehicle that is more superior in handling, safe, well balanced, responsive and has good power to weight ratio, all the necessary ingredients to making a powerful and enjoyable small package. The Savvy also has greater torsion and bending rigidity compared to previous Proton cars. It has also been tested and verified to be stronger than that of German and Italian marques respectively, that were used to benchmark in the development process. Structural integrity in the car, in terms of bending and torsion rigidity, is almost three times stronger than that of the Wira.

Lotus styling also helped to influence the vehicle’s sleek and stylish exterior projecting a young, spirited and energetic car. Lotus styling prevailed through to the interior of the car with its minimalist approach to creating a practical and sporty cabin. One unique and practical feature built into the car is the flat-folding rear seats for larger boot space.

Priced very competitively, the Savvy is available in the choice of three colours; STRATOS (passion blue), MIDNIGHT (tranquility black) and MAGMA (chilli red).

The Savvy is also designed to be the small-segment car for PROTON’s new generation of vehicles. PROTON had launched the GEN.2 early last year and is planning to launch two more vehicles within this financial year – one for the mass market and the other a niche vehicle.

In line with PROTON’s commitment to producing better and higher quality cars for the market, the Savvy is also the first made-in-Malaysia car to roll off the production line with TUV certification for quality. TUV not only certified the overall vehicle, but also helped to control the quality of production processes at PROTON vendors, and more importantly the components they supplied.

Internationally renowned TUV Rheinland Group is a global leader in compliance engineering, testing and quality registration services for domestic and foreign markets and engineers were engaged to give the Savvy an independent assessment of the overall vehicle’s quality.

“We’ve decided to call in the big boys where quality is concerned with PROTON’s new generation of vehicles. There will be no compromise on quality. This is an area that has repeatedly hurt the PROTON brand despite our very best efforts to produce good quality, reliable and dependable cars for the consumer.

“In the long term, TUV certification will underline the effectiveness of PROTON’s quality management system and its conformity with the relevant globally valid standards.”

The cars are available at all Proton Edar showrooms and sales outlets nationwide and a booking fee of RM1,000 can be made immediately with delivery of the first cars expected to be within the next one month.

Source: Proton Berhad Press Release – SMALL BUT BIG ON PERFORMANCE – PROTON’S ALL NEW SAVVY

Related Proton Savvy posts:

Tiara Replacement Model Available For Booking
Tiara Replacement Model On The Road
Tiara Replacement Model Again
New Tiara Replacement Model Spyshots
Tiara Replacement Model Ads in Newspapers
Proton Sassy – The Name for the Tiara Replacement Model
Proton Savvy: Proton Renames The Sassy Tiara Replacement Model to Savvy
Proton Savvy Launch this 8th June
Possible Proton Savvy Interior Shots
Proton Savvy Photos
Proton Savvy Quality Control TUV Audit
Proton Savvy Launch at 5pm today!
Proton Press Release on the Savvy
Proton Savvy R3 ?
Proton Savvy R3 Concept at Proton Edar Mutiara
Proton Savvy Automatic to get Renault’s Quickshift 5

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cheers..can`t wait SRM.how many booking till now?

how was the launching ceremony and public response? showroom services? 1-5 star?

• yvvas on Jun 09, 2005 at 9:09 am

Alamak! Mana ada gambar Savvy?

• cloudz on Jun 09, 2005 at 9:10 am

i think they onli say like that just becoz they send their car for TUV inspection..

but if MyVi does it..i think maybe the comment will be better fRom the ouTlook to quality/durablility..

but in terms of stiffness of car,savvy owns it..it reli hav a good structure to take impact as well to make an impact to other thing(safety feature of car)..

it claim 300% more safety in terms of impact taking if compared with wira..

• neuss64 on Jun 09, 2005 at 10:08 am

if you drive fast and crashed, 300% more strengthen vehicle also cant safe ur life, all of this is about how do u drive the car..btw, how many star does proton get in crash test then..weird…….myvi got three out of five stars

• Savvy has that European feel…. solid… like the VW polo, Citroen C3, Renault Clio, Fiat panda, ford fiesta and the likes… probably better, well done and keep it up proton…. cheers.

• fork protonn!!!

• I feel Savvy can give Myvi a good fight for the

money. The exterior looks good with a size 15 tyre while Myvi is only 14 size tyre. Inside it is a pretty basic car. Well what do you expect a car with a price tag of 40+K. The queation mark is quality.I hope that with TUV help Proton can control the quality. The latest defect rate for Perodua car is 0.2 . Can Proton beat that?

• "intending to set a new benchmark in the competitive small car market segment">>> for the worst design ?

"delivering a punch of 74 brake horse power" >>> at 74 u call a punch !! just wait for the 100++hp car will say, 'boom' ?

"One unique and practical feature built into the car is the flat-folding rear seats for larger boot space" >>> wah!! all car in the class have this too, what talking !!

proton are like NATO (No Action Talk Only).

If there is expiry date on the car like food, guess this car had expired. Old technology, old look, old engine, old chasis

• good work by proton. MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!!

• napps on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:09 pm

The Savvy is a carlover's car….u have to treat it with TLC….u cannot compare it to the Myvi, which has mundane design and performance, but good reliability, much like ur fridge or washing machine…if u just love tweaking and spending time under the hood, buy the sexy Savvy, if u play safe, don't mind driving a boring, shamelessly rebadged lame-ass DAIHATSU go for the Myvi…

• napps on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:12 pm

for more info, buy the latest AUTOCAR (Asean Ed, Jun 05)…read the review on the DAIHATSU SIRION (which for all intents and purposes, is the MyVi)…2.5 star out of 5…so average….

• mp5onfire on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:12 pm

that car really suck…. especially the muffler (u should really bend down and look at the workmanship) …damn "chekai"… single overhead cam (even myvi came with DOHC)…at lest throw in a 1.5liter engine…campro 1.6 would be the best… n the meater walau eh!!! yellow!!!! silver would be ok at least it looks like a car not a toy….but the gear feel is ok.. quite solid.. like continental car…ya ya Malaysia Boleh!!!!!!!

• bla...bla...bla... on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:15 pm

what is so superb about MyVi if it's 3-star rated for crash? do you know that the best rating is 5-star??… From the internal Proton sources, this Savvy once achieved 4-STAR for crash during their testing!!!… however, they have lowered down the rating to 3-star as well, takut2 MyVi tak laku lak nanti….. wakakakakakaka…

• Pal Negyesi on Jun 09, 2005 at 9:01 pm

Hi!

Paul, can you send me some official press photos on the car? It'd be great assistance!

Thanks,

Pal Negyesi

Editor, Autoindex

• Hello!! any 1 knew where got olive green color of Myvi Display at any K.L Perdua showroom. thank's for your help.

• joOoonetan on Jun 09, 2005 at 10:16 pm

the interior very small ler.. narrow than myvi

• proton wira is better than savvy.

• boong on Jun 09, 2005 at 10:54 pm

I saw the Proton Savvy during lunch time 2day. What i can say is that its a good effort by Proton to build new generation cars. Other observation is as follows

a. Because of the rear curve, my head is only 3 to 4 inches away from the roof when seated at the back of the driver. ( I am 5' 7")

b. The aircon window is small.

Personally i prefer the P2 Myvi.

• akari on Jun 09, 2005 at 11:00 pm

Lotus… lotus….. n lotus……… y don't they just change their "Proton" word to "Lotus" to grab more buyer, did they said renault?

• Aiseehh, what so good about Myvi's engine when in actual fact that engine has been used before in the Kembara…If planned output is high but the other important thing such as gearbox, braking and suspension sucks, what is the point.

Yes! Proton has it downfalls but at least the gearchange (quick and short), braking system (solid and progressive)and suspension ciplaks from Lotus is solid compared to Kelisa/Kenari/Kancil or all the other animals in the Perodua Family.

Point to note: In Europe, when the Citroen C3 came out, most people saw it & class it as ugly piece of shit. However, love is blind and once you slam it and put on those 17" – hot hatch it became…

So Malaysian, no need to gaduh. Buy Myvi or Savvy and prove to the nation which car is best for the ever existence of performance/exterior enhancing.

• kalau untuk pergi sayur berpatutan lah beli(patut harga peroton sawi rm35-rm40ribu saja) peroton sawi..kalau mau power beli p2 myvi..peroton sawi 1.2 sohc,kosong itu saja…p2 myvi dohc,air bag,abs ebd,sporty moden..harga lebih kurang jadi fikir2 kan lah..siapa sokong saye angkat tangan!!

• kak kiah on Jun 10, 2005 at 1:24 am

make me dispointed…..

• Namiraz on Jun 10, 2005 at 3:01 am

Overall comment "HAMPEH" menyesal tunggu. This model will become next tiara and juara

• teikkin on Jun 10, 2005 at 3:44 am

LOL… looks like a lot of support for Plotong i See… And yes i support joni to the max. I will give Plotong a chance and there only time will tell. We shall see what are the comments we get in a year or 2. But from experience i have more faith in the P2. P2 Rocks and SaWi is yet to be tested..

As for the fact that there's nothing great bout the engine in the MyVi yes the fact that it has been used in the kembara bout do take note that the same capacity engine is now used in a FR and not a 4WD and thus the increase in Power and fuel effiency. And lets face facts who wants old technology when u can have new ones.

If owners are so proud with their SOHC Savvy.. go ahead and nobody's stopping them but while they are at it might as well throw in the carburretor instead of fuel injection.

Even the CEO calls his CAR the first Lotus isn't that trying to say they lack in standards trying very hard to get there..

• bamboo miang on Jun 10, 2005 at 5:50 am

kalau setakat autocar s`pore mana ada kereta jepun/korea cost RM50k+ dapat pujian in term of riding beb.cuba bagi kereta continental BMW,mau sumernyer perfect beb.papelah,try sendiri baru tau.maybe savvy best ridingnyer tapi org skrg dah pandai evaluate kereta mana yg lebih fleksible n cun!!myvi-passo best compact car seller last year in japan(famous automotive country).

• bamboo miang on Jun 10, 2005 at 8:23 am

oh yer,nape xde iklan komersial dlm berita online eg;berita,utusan,metro?personal web n motortrader mcm lagi happening either to promote n discussion.xpuas hati tul.masa myvi,kul 10 launch,1030pm dah kua gambar TPM Najib ngn Myvi.berbeza tul..nak jual ke tak?ke belum siap sebenarnyer?

ops,jokes man..

• latest AUTOCAR (Asean Ed, Jun 05)…what Savvy have ?? Zero of 5 star ??

• Proton Savvy interest is 2.9%….. why ??

I heard the salesman say Savvy will loose out in sales, so the only was to make an attraction is make it cheap…

SO, no power window for rear door, NO this no that… that make the price just below myvi RM45,000……. good cover-up

then interest 2.9% compare to myvi 3.75%…. another good marketing strategy from proton. Actually Proton is subsidising the interest.

• Here what d germans say abt Proton Savvy although im not sure watf they talk abt!!!

check it from website Auto Motor Und Sport:
    http://www.auto-motor-und-sport.de/d/84612

• This question was posted on the yahoo.com.my

“Should the government protect Proton from foreign competition?”

more than 65% respondence agree to “No protection please. Proton needs to compete globally or sink ”

Having to raise my children, I know we to let them learn by themselves.

Our son Proton is now 30 years old, still studying in the University, and when there was a big bully push him around, father have to make a trip to the school to inform the teacher , and look for the bully.

Poor old father is now 65+ and one will imagine how long will father still need to do this.

Our son Proton graduated and started working is a big firm, at now age 40, married and have child of his own, his manager scolded our son proton and make him do the report again, poor old father, now at age 75+, DO YOU THINK HE NEED TO GO TO THE OFFICE TO SCOLD THE MANAGER.

GROW UP PROTON

• Read the Business Time yesterday .

MyVi booking already surpass 33,000 units. Already 33,000 people are sure that MyVi is better then Savvy.

Proton…. start thinking.

• Just my experience with Savvy.

http://www.vespa.com.my/savvy/

• Alantris on Oct 14, 2005 at 7:53 pm

Have driven the Savvy for 2500km now, my comments, i can out handle and outperform myVi, this is proven, and to some extent, (not boasting or doing pr job for proton) the little car actually performed on par with bigger capacity cars. Its very zippy and nipping through traffic is ez with the quick steering. The gear is weird, and if it wasnt for the beep sound, i would have hit the wall thinking i'm in reverse getting outta park. speed, well, spec says 159, test say 170, i got 180, strange how they varies, really fast for a small car, u can feel if a cross wind hits it at high speed but nevertheless it sticks to the road like glue hehehe. braking into cornering is good, the car doesnt tend to skid or tilt even at sharp bends at 80-100kph, this is achieved at Mantin area corners. Now on comfort, yes , wind noise, space is adequate, want bigger, get a merc. finish, for a 40k car, i can live with it. the upholsetry, the floor carpet fitting is poor. this i agree,and if any small light metal thing is put in the glove box or the door compartment, u can hear rattles at certain RPM.

so, all around

it is good performing, adequate space and comfort, and seen its accidents picture, proves that it really has a strong cockpit, none of the accident got thru to the passenger area, the Savvy hit a lorry and lorry hit savvy back end, a kancil would be keropok for sure, i have seen them hitting a bus end and weh…

• Adam Sulaiman on Nov 24, 2005 at 8:18 am

I got savvy with green-appel colour, everybody said it’s nice look.

One thing I want to tell you,

Once I drived savvy, I feel like continental car.

More fantastic !!!! fuel consumption like Japanes car.

Now’s a day fuel’s price quite exspensive,

It’s good for less budget’s life.

talking about bodykit…..

front elevation look good,

sideview at the middle, look good too,

rear elevation, i still prefer CILO / RIO,

it'll be totaly look difference b'cos of the back-lamp was malaysian wau design.

talking about spare-part….

if your BMW/MERC got problem then u know how long it take time….

PROTON have good potential be among top5 auto-manufacture in future.

PROTON have their own target, making /supplying all kind of spare-part for all imported car in malaysia at PROTON CITY in Tanjong Malim.(just follow Mahadhir's plan). it's well known by foreigner investor,

bad-gimmick around us about PROTON just to let foriegn's company (see the share holder now) to control PROTON in future. once PROTON in foriegner's hand, you…. malaysian will never-never dream to get back any more…

think…about old malay folk MENANG SABONG (AYAM), KAMPONG TERGADAI.

THINK BEFORE YOU TALK, DEED NOT WORD

• Savvy VS Myvi on Dec 06, 2005 at 9:44 am

R3 Street Shoot-Out at Batu Kawan: Savvy Vs Myvi

Tuesday, August 23, 2005 By YS Khong

Savvy Versus Myvi : R3 Street Shoot-Out at Batu Kawan:

Batu Kawan, 21 August 2005 – It was Proton Savvy versus Perodua Myvi at the Proton Shoot-out time attack held at Batu Kawan, Kedah today. Several thousand spectators were treated to a straight fight between a Proton Savvy and two Perodua Myvi’s at the R3 Street Shoot-out held at Batu Kawan, a little town near Juru, today.

Piloting a stock standard Proton Savvy, Ian Khong thrilled the crowd with his exuberant driving style to take 1st place in the PV (Pre-viagra) class for cars under 1300 cc, his best time of 82.03 seconds narrowly beating Khairol Sham Mohd Razali and Hasrol Hashim in a Myvi 1.3. Another Myvi 1.0 litre driven by Teng Poh Soon clocked a distant best time of 90.65 seconds.

The battle of the mini cars was the talk of the day, as everybody was curious to see which of the two cars would come out on top. In the early part of the day, the Myvi 1.3 of Khairol Sham and Hasrol were the favourites, theirs being a modified car complete with spoilers, a full roll-over cage, and with the interior all stripped down for the competition. It also had semi-clicks, and it looked and sounded like there had been some work done to the engine and suspension.

In contrast, the Savvy was a ‘borrowed’ car, and other than an alignment ‘set-up’ done on Ian’s alignment machine, all the parts and specifications were stock, including the tyres. Ian confessed later that he removed the headrests from the seats, and took out the spare tyre and jack, but that was all that was done to the car. “We even kept the air-conditioner belt on, because I don’t fancy driving all the way up from Petaling Jaya and back without it,” said Ian.

Well, we certainly look forward to seeing more of both the Myvi and Savvy in action in future events.

Elsewhere in the same event, Ivan Khong had a field day, clocking a fastest time of 74.99 seconds to beat 8 other competitors in his class to win the ‘Rocco’ class for cars. Second place in this class went to his brother, Ian, who clocked 75.47 seconds in the same car, a difference of 0.48 seconds. Some friendly sibling rivalry was evident, as the brothers went at it hammer and thongs, trying to outdo each other.

In the ‘Hung’ Class for cars up to 1.6 litres, Ho Wai Kok in his trusty Wira 1.6 narrowly beat Galen Lai in a Honda civic by 0.16 seconds to win the class. Third place in the class went to the ever-smiling Ricky Teoh who drove a beautifully appointed Starlet KP61.

Ricky’s brother, Mickey Teoh, fondly known as ‘Tree Hugger’ (of KKS Autocross fame), drove superbly to clinch third place behind, the Khong brothers for the Rocco Class.

The 'North Pole' class for sports cars was won by Benedict Lim, who clocked a best time of 77.58 seconds in his Toyota MR2

In the ‘Hung’ Class for cars from 1601 to 1900cc, Hammond Lai again took the honours with a best time of 75.63 seconds.

The best team prize went to the ‘All Stars’ Team, made up of Ivan Khong, Ian Khong, and W.K. Ho. They beat Team Furtive by 4 seconds in total penalty time. In the team championships, Team All Stars leads with two more rounds to go..

Kalau tak percaya try cek kat sini
    http://www.autoworld.com.my/emzine/review/viewpfa…

• Wan.JJK on Dec 11, 2005 at 2:59 am

Aku ada sebuah savvy/sawi tp kene aku pusing kekanan ada bunyi.aku anta ke proton edar tampoi….antar pagi OOo petang dah siap dah…..aku test first time OK… pas tu aku test kali kedua pun OK…Maknanya kereta nie kalau da ape-ape problem pun PROTON boleh settle dalam sehari dua …kalau nak di bandingkan aku pakai kancil tunggu spare part kurang kurang makan sebulan.

Masa aku test drive dulu naik dengan pemandu Rally malaysia.. Tak kan korang tak kenal….Dia punya bawak memang hebat…pastu aku punya kereta keluar aje aku try jugak macam dia buat…jadi BEB.

sampai sekarang nie kereta aku still orang kata Tip Top lagi.kalau korang tak percaya boleh contact aku..Nie nombor nye 07-228 2900

Aku pun bebaru nie ada berembat dgn MYVI..korang tahu pick up aje dah tinggal 2 tiang,belum top speed lagi.

Jadi boleh dikatakan kalau orang Muda macam aku nie memang kene lah pakai SAVY,minyak kurang,Low Maintenance,Suspension bagus,Air Cond kuat.semuanya Ok Lah..