Proton Savvy Launch at 5pm Today!

The Proton Savvy will be launched today nationwide by Proton at 5pm. Check out your Proton showrooms to get a glimpse of the car. Now for a short re-cap on what the Proton Savvy has to offer.

Colours

The Savvy comes in three colours. Magma Red, Stratosphere Blue and Midnight Black. Bright and sporty colours, quite suitable for the car I think.

Engine

The Proton Savvy will be powered by a 1.2 (1149cc) litre Renault engine with a 5 speed manual transmission. The manual transmission reminds us of European models where the reverse gear is not in the usual bottom right position, but you have to pull the gear shift up and put it top left in the first gear’s position.

Savvy Dashboard

There will also be an automatic transmission for the car. It’s rumoured that the auto will feature shiftronic style sequential shifting.

The 1.2 litre engine makes 74hp at 5500rpm and 105Nm of torque at 4250 rpm. Bore is 69mm and stroke is 76.8mm. Fuel is supplied through electronic fuel injection. Top speed is rated at 170km/h and 0-100km/h times are 12.6 seconds. Not too bad. Throttle control is drive-by-wire, like the Waja 1.8 and Gen2.

Power steering is provided but it’s a normal hydraulic power steering, not an electronic one.

Safety

The Proton Savvy will offer ABS and EBD on certain higher spec models, just like the Perodua Myvi offers. The car’s body is also supposed to have a body strength/bending stiffness of 17,000N/mm, whatever that means. LOL! The body is made of L3 galvanised steel.

Headlamps are made of polycarbonate and use H7 halogen bulbs. They look pretty nice.

Brakes are ventilated 13 inch discs at the front and drum brakes at the back.

Fuel Consumption

The fuel consumption is rated at 5.3 litres at 100km/h for highway driving at constant 90km/h. Not sure how’s city driving like.

Wheels

The car comes with 15 inch alloy rims. The multi-spoke design is really nice.

In-Car Entertainment

The Proton Savvy comes with a Clarion CD player with a custom faceplate. Looks pretty nice with a high-tech type of look to me. It’s in black and silver. The car has 4 speakers installed by stock.

Storage and Space

The car is built to be a 5 seater. Headroom looks pretty low but we won’t know until we actually get into the car and try it out. The rear seats can be folded flat down to provide a bigger boot space, a design feature common in most modern cars now especially hatchbacks.

Dimensions

Overall Length 3710mm
Overall Width 1643mm
Overall Height 1480mm
Wheelbase 2395mm
Front Track 1420mm
Rear Track 1410mm
Front Overhang 255mm
Rear Overhang 560mm
Weight 953kg

Most Importantly… Price?

There are three spec levels, basic, standard and comfort spec levels. Only manual transmission is available at the moment.

1.2 STD M/T (Basic) RM40970.07
1.2 STD M/T (Standard) RM42,888.00
1.2 STD M/T (Comfort) RM43714.00

1.2 Basic comes with the CD player, central locking and anti-rust coating. Rims are steel rims. There are no power windows for this model.

1.2 Standard – Comes with additional power window, alarm system, fog lamps, and alloy rims.

1.2 Comfort – An upgrade from the standard version, this comes with Safetint, Coil mat and a First Aid Kit.

Anyway, for more details you can head on to Proton Edar’s website and look for yourself. They have a creative comic book theme for the Proton Savvy there.

Update: Proton Edar’s website lists the Proton Savvy as having 15″ steel rims but it’s clearly seen in showrooms that the car has alloy rims. I’ve updated the info. Also, thanks to Mattie from the Perodua Myvi Forums for information on the 3 trim levels.

Related Proton Savvy posts:
Tiara Replacement Model Available For Booking
Tiara Replacement Model On The Road
Tiara Replacement Model Again
New Tiara Replacement Model Spyshots
Tiara Replacement Model Ads in Newspapers
Proton Sassy – The Name for the Tiara Replacement Model
Proton Savvy: Proton Renames The Sassy Tiara Replacement Model to Savvy
Proton Savvy Launch this 8th June
Possible Proton Savvy Interior Shots
Proton Savvy Photos
Proton Savvy Quality Control TUV Audit
Proton Savvy Launch at 5pm today!
Proton Press Release on the Savvy
Proton Savvy R3 ?
Proton Savvy R3 Concept at Proton Edar Mutiara
Proton Savvy Automatic to get Renault’s Quickshift 5

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jun 09, 2005 at 3:03 am

Wth , the Proton guys told me it'd be 4-6 (FOUR)[EMPAT]{SI} Months for an Automatic Model.. I was gonna say 'Wtf' So pissed ler.. How can they launch a model when they don't even have an Auto model ready. Btw I asked about the Manual model and they say its 2-4 months. So disappointed.

Overall the interior is quite good , the Air-cond vents are not solid but at least they look good. Unlike the MyVi . Glad to hear that it have an ABS model.

Are they gonna do business or not..?

• Anonymous on Jun 09, 2005 at 4:31 am

I believe the M and the S should stand for Metallic paint and Solid paint as the small price difference of about RM 350 cant justify extras like ABS, EBD, etc.

• i just saw the car. i am so disappointed to say that it is terrible. the interior is just like gen2's, there's this 'touch of quality' that is always missing in proton. god, it was totally horrendous. the exterior looks alright, but it looks so much different from the drawings. i guess i just have too much hope for it to be awesome. :(

• i wana hear proper comparison between this car with MyVi..overall is quite nice+affortable but from the outlook of this car..MyVi Strikes it ..

perforMance oso lose to MyVi as it has diff engine..hrM i wana hear more specific/detial abouT comparison between them..

• soggy on Jun 09, 2005 at 5:29 am

Well, i dropped by at a proton showroom earlier. So dissappointed.

Paul wrote: "The car is built to be a 5 seater. Headroom looks pretty low but we won’t know until we actually get into the car and try it out." Well paul i can tell you, i actually got in the car and for a guy with my height (5-8), headroom IS LOW! Similar to gen 2, especially rear seats.

The interior still boasts the proton plastic trademark. Glove box opens and closes like waja's. Side signal lights, exactly gen 2 lights.

Check out the internal door lever handles guys. They're laughable!

Unless they really come up with that shiftronic gear as rumoured, myvi wins hands down! I went straight to perodua and saw the myvi again. Suddenly it looked better then the first time i saw it last week. I'm convinced now that i should book the myvi.

wallaooeh! I'm not gonna pay the down payment for the other car!

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jun 09, 2005 at 7:36 am

-.-" Gonna book a MyVi soon. Any 1 willing to Give up their Precious MyVi bookings? Or for a Price…?

@#$#$@#$Proton@#$@#%@!# That Savvy model seems like Proton's eagerness to Compete with MyVi that they either didn't have enough stock or they are just too afraid to make more since it might just not sell. Who knows…

O/T : Any 1 willing to sell/give their MyVi EZ or EZi bookings….?

• akari on Jun 09, 2005 at 7:40 am

anyone have saw the world-most-idiot advertisement about Proton Savvy on TV? which have a big monster de… unbelieveable….. =.="

• 2nd salesman on Jun 09, 2005 at 7:55 am

Proton Savvy ? hopefully jangan ikut nasib like Tiara once upon

• Chapree Da Grande on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:22 am

Me and my family went to the Proton showroom nearby…which is conveniently next to a Perodua showroom. So we got to compare both at the same time, yada yada yada…we decide to Savvy. Just hope the windows doesn't die on us. Oh btw, the power windows only for front seats. Rear seat…manual roll window…*LOL*

The one in the showroom is blue color with white alloy rims. Too bad that they said the white rims only for showroom car. The retail is grey platinum color rims. I like blue car with white rims :(

• gundu on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:25 am

better than myvi supposed too, anyway congratulation for good design, good care of quality by appointed TUV. interior look nice compare than myvi look plain, comfortable seats compare than myvi secondary quality provided.I proposed to my wife cancel the order with perodua due to good incoming product from Proton. Bravo

• gundu on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:28 am

chapree Da Grande….you received wrong info..actually only blue car will provide white sport rims instead of the others. not the white rims for show room……

• Harry on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:42 am

Price Comparison On The Road:

Myvi 1.3 Manual Standard Metallic RM45,300

Savvy 1.2 Manual Comfort Metallic RM43,714

————-

check out savvy's rear seats power window! lol

• hmmm..actually we cannot bring a lot of unreasonable comment about this car ..

because it cost only RM below

• akari on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:51 am

i have read about "WITH AN INTERIOR SPACE THAT 7% LARGER THAN ITS CLOSEST RIVAL" on proton's website, it properly point to Myvi… 7% larger? got such thing? those already visit their showroom can tell a bit about this? my head will be there only tmr cause of today's traffic jam by this fella

• Philip on Jun 09, 2005 at 9:38 am

Have only seen it on tv and also when i passed by Proton's Shah Alam plant(2 blue ones were driven pass me). I have to say the built quality looks better than the models prior to it. The front looks promising but not the rear. It looks like a shrunken and modified front of a Waja. Why 2 logos? I will personally sit in one and check it out later. Good try Proton but there is more room for improvement if they want to reach a 2000 car export figure.

• I told my self the next card I'm going to buy it's definately not another proton car. Enough of having from my parent's saga to wira sedan n tiara and then wira aeroback and satria then gen2. All of the above was disastrous. Im gonna shift to perodua.I never hear my friends complainin about their kelisas or kenaris. So to whats that car called again Savvy?? Save it la. Unless the quality of all proton cars can be a guaranteed satisfaction. Then maybe I'll think again. Maybe.

• Mohd Hassan Hj Abd K on Jun 09, 2005 at 3:53 pm

New Technology New Dimensi From Malaysian Product,Keep Going On We As A Malaysian Citizen

Must Support Our Industrial Automobil For Our Country.

• Mohd Hassan Hj Abd K on Jun 09, 2005 at 4:11 pm

SAVVY Is Very Comfortable & Suitable To Drive in The Town Area,A Nice Looking On It Body Design,It Seem Now Proton Has A Improvement CONGRATULATION An Keep It On.The Rear View It Look Like ALFA 145,An The Front View It Totaly Had A Improvement.Comparison To The PRODUA KANCIL

SAVVY Had More Improvement.We Should Be Proud & Support To Our Malaysian Technology.

• budin b. semeon on Jun 09, 2005 at 4:47 pm

jaja tarak baca ka…itu TUV audit???

• Savvy feels more European, like the likes of, fiat panda, ford fiesta, renault clio, citroen C3, VW Polo…. feels solid…. I would go for Savvy.

• magebass on Jun 09, 2005 at 5:57 pm

my personal comparison between savvy and myvi:

1) the headroom is so low compared to myvi (FYI my height is 6' :) ..)

2) savvy's interior design and colour is so dull..compared to myvi which is so impressive

3) i think the luggage capacity for myvi is larget then savvy

4) no immobilizer for savvy..(for safety maa!!)

5) myvi wins the exterior design as the savvy design is so ugly..

6)like the automated manual transmission for savvy which will be offered in 3 months

7) like the sport rims for savvy.. :)

but overall i like myvi..bcos of:

more comfortable,

got immobilizer,

no stress when driving long journey,

more headroom,

stylish,

bigger than savvy,

not worry about the quality as i'm using kenari aero n no problem at all..(sold my previous car,waja as it makes me headache!! power window problem, bocor bila hujan!! also tuning problem and the mechanic said have to send to proton plant at shah alam!! arghhhh!!!)

• for friend that have not go to the showroom, save your time>>go shopping centre better.

remember the myvi's advert on TV people running to the car, just replace the myvi with savvy, then play the advert, BUT REWIND THE MOVIE. (people running away fron the car !!!).

my money is in myvi.

• Accord Kia on Jun 09, 2005 at 6:12 pm

wat the stupid design of it!!! yesterday i went to the showroom and the crowd is much lesser than Myvi open ceremony. and the proton showroom only put one showcar only. wat the hell are they doing!!!

damn ugly, i just stood for 3 mins then i ran off. all the sale persons just stand aside and nobody ask about this idiot car.

what i surprise that is the Savvy is only for Manual and at the moment still dont have any Auto model. wat the fork they wan to launch so fast.

Proton, u always stand on the Lose Side. again…Shame on you. Pls redesign ur logo again. dame outdated!!!

• Why so bising one, the car retail at RM43k ++ for the premium model compared to Myvi that's touching the RM50k price, the Picanto at RM50k and the Swift at RM80k…Malaysian will still be Malaysian – want a car with a price of Kancil and quality of a Mercedes Benz.

If you want to buy, just buylah. Don't want to buy, no need to kutuk like hell. Follow your taste and give good/fair comments.

• It looks like a shrunken and modified front of a Waja.1.2 (1149cc) liter Renault engine (twin cam???)

(air bag&ABS??)

??????????????????????

• kalau tgk dari pekembangan proton dari dulu hingga sekarang boleh dikatakan membanggakan..

walaupn kadang2 ada masalah..

proton boleh..!!

• Beli Savvy, tak sesal punya.

Test Drive Savvy

Body dia nampak tough dan solid.

Torque pun ada umph…

Driving position Fiat Punto

Driving Feel ..rasa padul ike most european car

Test Drive Myvii

Rasa macam bawak Kelisa

Body macam tong kosong…

Driving Feel… macam bawak keta jepun lain.

As expected ringan semacam jer..

For me I'll vote for SAVVY

• (((so good saying Accord Kia))(((wat the stupid design of it!!! yesterday i went to the showroom and the crowd is much lesser than Myvi open ceremony. and the proton showroom only put one showcar only. wat the hell are they doing!!!

damn ugly, i just stood for 3 mins then i ran off. all the sale persons just stand aside and nobody ask about this idiot car.

what i surprise that is the Savvy is only for Manual and at the moment still dont have any Auto model. wat the fork they wan to launch so fast.

Proton, u always stand on the Lose Side. again…Shame on you. Pls redesign ur logo again. dame outdated!!!))

• I experience the same thing as "Accord KIa". At first I was so eager to check-out Proton's latest invention but when I arrived at this Jln Ampang Proton Edar the mood totally change. I think it was due to the following :-

1) The Car ….i don't no what to say …with that pricing RM40K-43K. i think its a hard sell. It seems that Proton were trying very hard to impress the Malaysia public with its latest invention.

2)Promoter does not show interest on the product. Besides handling over phamplets to everybody (including childrens) The sales person just stood there similing amongst themselves (and some are busy having free diner at one corner of the show compound)except for one poorly informed M.C. which was constantly narrating/boosting about the car performance, and once a while making comic comments about the car… i wonder why?. Upon approached about AT model the same answer ("later availability as now only produce manual"…i don't get this remark FROM the other car maker GeeZ !!!! Proton…Proton …never change strategy)

3)Overall, my view on this so call SAVVY Proton is not a product failure just yet (the statistic is not in to realy bombard Proton YET in comparing with "THE OTHER CAR"). Savvy may have capture its own market niche. However, Proton should look back on the pricing strategy for this car as I believe we the Malaysian Public have been getting the LOWER END products at a higher price compare to the "MAT SALLEH BUSUK" overseas which get the PREMIUM products at a lower price.

HOWEVER. MY VOTE STILL GOES TO THE OTHER CAR and I DON'T REGRET BOOKING THE OTHER CAR (although some says its a copycat…who cares!!!)

ALL THE BEST PROTON for this production..Keep simple on the R&D and produce BETTER product in the future.

In the end PROTON should not complain about not enough support as the organization is not at infant stage

• napps on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:17 pm

you losers are all sour grapes…i bet u regret putting RM1,000 on the MyA** MyVi….so u condemn the Savvy, coz u can't reclaim ur deposit….hahahaha….suckers….

btw, what lame-ass kinda name is MyVi??? sound like a contraceptive or medicine for my boils!!

• komen on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:29 pm

terukk semalam aku tutup boned dia " thumbbbb' semua org tengo aku sebab bunyi kuat macam nak runtuh..tak macam MYVI bunyi dia klu nak tutup pintu pun sedap jeee..keta ni lebih kepada pepempuan laaa klu org lelaki bawa komform kena gelar keta pondan …kakakakaka

• bla...bla...bla... on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:57 pm

korang2 ni pun satu… cakap je banyak!!… kalu tak suka tu diam je la!!… kalu dah suka tu beli je, jangan banyak songeh… sendiri punye duit, sendiri mau ingat la!!!… atuk aku pernah cakap kat aku, jangan dok kutuk2 sangat la kat ape2 pun, last2 nanti diri sendiri dapat benda tu… tak kesah la korang kutuk MyVi ke Savvy ke… last2 nanti korang jugak yang beli… wakakakakaka… padan muka korang!!….

• carol on Jun 09, 2005 at 9:02 pm

i decided to buy MYVI but donnt know what to buy now. i have visited the MYVI but will visit SAVVY showroom later. but from the pic, i dun like the logo at the back side….. then i dun like the exzos to be in the centre of the car…!

any idea?

• zafir on Jun 09, 2005 at 9:05 pm

proton savvy looks like a moving toilet…!!!!!

• zafir on Jun 09, 2005 at 9:08 pm

no dohc, no valve timing control, no turbines, not for guys.

• zafir on Jun 09, 2005 at 9:09 pm

hope to see proton built a car that can be sold out.

• KOMEN, tu je lah keja kau pergi showroom sana-sini buat semak jerr..lepas tu lagak macam qualified QC, hempas pintu sana, hempas pintu sini, pegang sana, pegang sini.

Ooi tak der duit tu buat je lah cara tak de duit!

Orang lain senyap-senyap jer dah booked.tak le kelam kelibut macam kau tu. Buat semak showroom jer.

Lepas tu post kat website hentam itu dan ini.

Macam le bagus sangat tentang automobile punya technology.

PIRAAHHHH!!!!!

• Andrew on Jun 09, 2005 at 10:23 pm

Paul

Did you notice that the engine mounting of the Renault D4F Engine in the Savvy looks weird? Maybe it is just me, but I felt that Savvy was not initially designed to use the D4F Engine, as it does not seem to sit comfortably in the engine bay (referring to the 'felt-like-it's-being-modified' engine mount).

By the way, do you have any idea why the Proton CEO says that 'this is my first lotus'? I do not really get it. If this car is Lotus designed, it must have been 'locally-modified' by our local engineers resulting in the current model.

Good try though. But more of a fun car than a people's car. If R3 can sort of put more R&D into the Savvy, I can see a potential WRC participant. I based this on the fact that the Proton CEO mentioned about the toughness of the chassis and rally was the first thought that sprang in to my mind.

Clio 1.2ltr 16V was using the same engine as Savvy, but with lower output rate and torque. Wonder if it is the Proton that tweaked the ECU to give more power or was the Clio restricted due to the EU emissions restrictions. Anyway, Clio has a V6 version, and also a mid-engined rear-drive GTi version. Hope Savvy will see that potential if it were to challenge the EU market.

What'd you think?

• Harry on Jun 09, 2005 at 10:36 pm

Price Comparison On The Road:

Myvi 1.3 Manual Standard Metallic RM45,300

Savvy 1.2 Manual Comfort Metallic RM43,714

——————

huhu… sapa suka keta sempit ambil ler savvy hehe

• Angku on Jun 09, 2005 at 10:39 pm

Korang jangan memalukan buatan negara sendiri ye biar hujan emas di negera orang dan hujan batu di tempat kita (tapi kalau batu besar matilah kita)….

• bla...bla...bla... on Jun 09, 2005 at 11:00 pm

banyak duit beli la MyVi, kurang duit beli la Savvy, tadak duit dudok je diam2, keje rajin2, toksah dok mengomen je kejenye….wakakakaka…

• napps on Jun 09, 2005 at 11:01 pm

if one looks carefully at both the savvy and the myvi, there are obvious differences despite the closeness in price and engine size. the myvi is pitched at young families, hence the cabin and trunk size and (probable) reliability but mundane, run-of-the-mill toyota-esque looks and handling. the savvy is aimed at singles, hence the smaller cabin but better handling, funkier look and (probably) less reliable. so if u have circa RM40K dosh, buy depending on your need!

having said that, i prefer the savvy because:

1) looks better

2) engine has better kick

3) handling feels smoother

4) since both cars have cheapo plastic interior finish, might as well go for the sexier one!

5) for all intents and purposes, the myvi is a rebadged DAIHATSU….

• Harry on Jun 09, 2005 at 11:35 pm

Who cares whether it is a rebadged or not. As long as it sells. Says perodua salesman.. lol.

Aiya, for all intent and purposes, majority of the customers just want bigger space, cheap and reliability. Given proton past performance – reliability is suspect with or without TUV certification. Even with 3 yrs warranty for power windows errr front windows that is.

But one must noted that out of 21,000 who booked myvi, 70% booked for premium model i.e. with ABS and airbags. Things to ponder…

Cheers!

• Nurlea Laurielle on Jun 09, 2005 at 11:35 pm

Dearest Paul Tan,

I'm linking ur page from one of my entries regarding Myvi and Savvy… is that alright? Just took two pics as a source to ur link only. Hope u dont mind. Holla back at me at my email or my blog. thanks…

• bard_pakai_waja on Jun 09, 2005 at 11:45 pm

just came back from proton edar showroom…

1st impression impressive… the best proton cars in term of front exterior and interior design and engineering.. (they mounted the renalut engine well.. consider the chasis cannot accomodate it in the 1st place) the back look hillarious.. with the face lift of front waja i think.. and the plastic inside.. come on.. give us a break..

next, the models.. just manual transmission for now.. the so called tiptronic will be out in 3 to 4 months time.. plus the said from tengku mahalel.. the car this strong dun need airbags.. HAHAHA.. wonder why volvo merc and lexus (just to a name a few) which have stronger body and strength put many airbag in them.. certainly strong for the cars but not for the occupants i guess… i will not compare both myvi and savvy (although the names end with the same pronounciation)coz there are many ppl gives comment here would like to do that for me..

still the ergonomics isnt there.. esp when to turn on the signals light while yer finger still at the steering wheel. (that y many ppl here seldom use their signals when turning.. thanks to proton…

anyway.. i guess one thumbs up for proton for making progress alone for the last ten years.. i certainly hope that more new models are capable of making a comeback for proton..

ps: advice.. malaysian ppl just want a japanese wannabe cars.. not european wannabe cars.. y proton realize this..

ps2: nice gear shift… same like berlingo and kangoo (i drove the company cars for sometime. and i like it.. the easiness from reverse to gear 1)

• Zackrossi on Jun 10, 2005 at 12:06 am

Ape la korang semua, Anak kondem kereta malaysia. Bagi la can mrk nak buat improvement skit2. Bangga la skit ngan kereta kite. Kalau nak bandingkan ngan kereta jepun, korea & eropah, kita kurang setanding ngan mrk. Mungkin lps nie ada perkembangan baik. Satu lagi buat PROTON, cuba tingkatkan kualiti produk anda sblm pasarkan model baru. Kalau kualiti kereta baik, xde org nak komplen dlm blog nie.

• SAVVY PROTON FAN CLU on Jun 10, 2005 at 12:15 am

Quoted by Napps @ 9/6/2005 @ 12:17 pm

" you losers are all sour grapes…i bet u regret putting RM1,000 on the MyA** MyVi….so u condemn the Savvy, coz u can’t reclaim ur deposit….hahahaha….suckers….

btw, what lame-ass kinda name is MyVi??? sound like a contraceptive or medicine for my boils!!"

Elo!!! whose the REAL SUCKERS here. For your info. the booking for MyVi is RM500/- and it is refundable. I believe the one (dealers) that charges RM1,000 are just desprate to gain a quick buck. But it does not matter as i think noBODY REGRETS BOOKING THE OTHER CAR COMPARE TO THIS – So whose the real looser now.

Buy the way Napps have you booked on the SAVVY PROTON yet???Hows the booking yet…is it refundable? My friend if you have yet to book go and do it now "on-line" ma and don't just flame people and if you have yet to do so ..just sit there infront of your PC and serve porn and SH_T THE F_CK UP!! (Sorry my Bad)LOL.

• Best thing about Myvi K3VE engine if its K3VET. If no T at the end, go and drive the Kembara, same feeling different car.

• Sunny on Jun 10, 2005 at 12:19 am

hey, guys..seriously don't just simply say bad thing about SAVVY ok…to me, last week I went to sign for MY-VI bcos of all your good commnets, however until yesterday visiting Proton showroom and had a test drive..fulawey..better than that stupid car of MY-VI..the car ride & handling as promising as the adverts…MY-Vi to me is just a lady with thick make-up..after you took out everything..fuhh..just plain jane…this one SAVVY interior better, seat surely more confert than that stupid MY-VI, so damn hard, stearing although look similar to GEN.2 but ok la..air-cond (well compliment la, almost instant cooling) even under the hot sun..not like MY-VI so slow feel like pop-con, rim 15 inch with 175 tyre, better than MY-VI…body well what they say about the strong body is totally true not just a gimic, as for MY-VI so sorry to say yours is just like MILO tin lah…front lamp (bravo) you proved that hilogen lamp really clear and bright..this MY-VI look like bicycle lamp only..so big but useless..I do not know why I place my booking with MY-Vi..probably bcos that idiot comments from PERODUA freak ..now I realise that PROTON is getting better..To all you guys place order now la..cancel your booking with MY-VI they cheat us by telling good things about the car and delivery so call 8 mths – 1 year… 20000 booking my A*S.

Go for SAVVY.. very good car to ride…to accord kia..go to hell la about your comment cos you make me become and idiot for listening to you negative about PROTON!

Chao

• SAVVY PROTON FAN CLU on Jun 10, 2005 at 12:19 am

Quoted by Napps @ 9/6/2005 @ 12:17 pm

" you losers are all sour grapes…i bet u regret putting RM1,000 on the MyA** MyVi….so u condemn the Savvy, coz u can’t reclaim ur deposit….hahahaha….suckers….

btw, what lame-ass kinda name is MyVi??? sound like a contraceptive or medicine for my boils!!"

Elo Napps!!! you r so LAME DAME!!!!…Whose the REAL SUCKERS here. For your info. the booking for MyVi is RM500/- and it is refundable (Go and checkout a couple of showrooms you DumbAss!!!. I believe the one (dealers) that charges RM1,000 are just desprate to gain a quick buck. But it does not matter as i think noBODY REGRETS BOOKING THE OTHER CAR COMPARE TO THIS OFFERING- So whose the real LOOSER n SUCKERS now.

Buy the way Napps have YOU booked on the SAVVY PROTON yet???Hows the booking like??…is it refundable? My friend if you have yet to book go and do it now..you can event do it "on-line" ma and don't just flame people on their taste and buying power and if you have yet to do so ..just sit there infront of your PC, serve for PORN and SH_T THE F_CK UP!! (Sorry my Bad)LOL.

• Man Drove on Jun 10, 2005 at 12:25 am

Toyalah lu all….kata macam macam pasal Proton SAVVY..lu ingat lu punya kereta MY-VI bagus sangat ka?

Dah la bentuk macam kura-kura, belakang macam perempuan beranak sepuluh..lagi kata bagus..lu orang buta kot or bengap..cuba la drive dulu, kita orang street drivers dah cuba MY-Vi and now naik pula SAVVY..dua dua ada V kat belakang, tapi SAVVY memang cun, tahan, pick-up mantun beb, body keras, lampu terang, best part cornering cengkap beb..ini MY-VI dah la kembang bila belok sikit macam nak terbalik , "you must be kidding" ada bangang-bangang beli 20K units dah..tembak kot! gua tengok sepi je…

Gua tahu la, gua kaki race, ini SAVVY ada potensi..bad boys out there, go for SAVVY, trust me ok!

Rock you lah SAVVY.

• faizal on Jun 10, 2005 at 12:27 am

gua nak tahu berapa kah kelajuan maksimum kereta savvy tu ha? adakah boleh mencecah sehingga 170-200km sejam?!dan satu lagi boleh kah di convert kan dengan turbo?

• faizal on Jun 10, 2005 at 12:34 am

gua nak tanya lu all semua laju ke tak kereta proton savvy tu adakah ia mencecah sehingga 170-200km sejam?? kuasa maksimum dia berapa?

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jun 10, 2005 at 12:59 am

Booked a Car! Guess what is it?

Its……a MyVi.

The Savvy's lousy plastics turned my dad off almost instantly , he left the showroom fuming when told the car needed 4-6 mths before arrival for the 1.2L Tiptronic Version .

We went to the Perodua Showroom immediately and placed the booking on a MyVi [BLACK]. I opted for the Standard EZ version as the EZi had too many bookings.

Anyways back to the Savvy. I 'HOPE' it can reach its rated speed of 170 km/h. Anyways for some info : The Savvy 1.2M/T is consuming more fuel on a constant 90 km/h than a MyVi 1.3 M/T on a Constant 100 km/h. How's that for fuel saving?

• akari on Jun 10, 2005 at 1:20 am

just come back from proton showroom, there no more than 5 people looking n non of any salesperson are serving, all sit around n chatting… good… atleast i can look without disturbing… first after all, exterior of Savvy is not so bad than what i imagine while looking at the spyshots, it had quite strong body.

ok now i'm inside… my height is 173cm n my hair is touch the roof, the dashboard is very cool!! most material already improve from cheap plastic to better plastic, the cd player's button also not so hard to press as imagine too, the doors are seem very cheap… i cant found windows visor for all the windows, Savvy owner pls check if u have fully close the windows or not :D so… still consider not bad la… if the roof higher will be better.

ok finally one of their salesperson stand up to serve me while the showroom left only me 1 visitor,

he ask "ngam boh?"

Q "this car have ABS or not? i have read about it on their website…"

A "nope, not available for current model yet. normaly no people want abs at such compact car coz usually will drive around their house n wont drive very fast… they only want it at big car, n abs make car more expensive"

Q "oooo… have air bag?"

A "nope"

Q "ok… how about A/T model?"

A "yes, but not so soon yet, this M/T model is cheap enought just at RM43,714, and A/T model also wont more than RM46,000."

Q "cool, may i have catalog of this car?"

A "sure"

end

he give me a proton key chain together with the catalog too ^^

so the "1.2 Comfort" spec of Savvy is same with Myvi's "1.3 Standard GX" which without ABS and air bag,

1.2 Savvy = RM43,714

1.3 Myvi = RM45,300

= RM1,586 no much different also…

Savvy hot, Myvi cool, just go for which u like la. =D

• Accord Kia on Jun 10, 2005 at 5:24 am

to sunny,

i just given my comments only, noneed go to hell gua!!! the design to me is really ugly. the 1st proton saga better than this stupid car.

this car definately will follow to Tiara and Juara footstage. pls design something that i can feel proud of you. and pls stop selling your wira and saga again (you have selling more than 10 years, what the fork!!! i can understand that this two models is yours most beautiful car)

proton, you established nearly 20 years but why i never proud of you.

• bamboo miang on Jun 10, 2005 at 6:02 am

cuba bawak savvy n then berenti sebelah myvi kat traffic lights,n then ade awek2 cun tgh cross jln.ape perasaan ah?hehehe..if duk belakang savvy,terhenjut2lah bukak power windor warranty 3 tahun,myvi passenger kalu,tekan je butang hehehe..terpressure sgt ke proton sales skrg?myvi dah 25000 booking maa..ape lagi,jual murah la beb..

• moonlight on Jun 10, 2005 at 9:23 am

how many car have you book huh sunny?good for proton.better give him 30% discount.at least you can refund ur money and many people are happy that u quit so they can get their car faster.better save money to visit SC proton from now on :-)

• gomen,this forum for savy ke myVi?

• pejalan kaki on Jun 10, 2005 at 4:31 pm

comment?…yes. Negative comments always many. Fair comments?… never cross our minds. thats the minds of majority of us Malaysian commentors… kalau ade competetion on this thing kita mesti jadi champ kot (maybe Paul should start one, eh?)…on personal basis still like MYvi (kalaulah harga boleh turun sikit for the high end one, better)…Proton, keep improving so as u do not lag behind Pro2…

• Encik Angku…..

"Korang jangan memalukan buatan negara sendiri ye biar hujan emas di negera orang dan hujan batu di tempat kita (tapi kalau batu besar matilah kita)…. "

for your information, BOTH Proton and Perodua are malaysian made. And I still support Malaysian made Perodua MyVi

• napps on Jun 10, 2005 at 6:01 pm

>

hey, if u read what i said carefully i was talking about the NON-REFUNDABLE RM1,000 deposit BEFORE the launch…..of course laa RM500 refundable AFTER launch….even proton ALSO like that what?! stop reading with ur nostrils ok??? try using ur eyes, it's a lot better!

i'm booking a savvy for my 2nd car, fyi…black lagi….who cares if there's no ABS kaa no air bag kaa? do u even know that an air bag is redundant if U WEAR SEATBELTS?!! it could even kill ur small kid if u let them sit in front and ur car smashes up! have u not read how many ppl get killed driving a bloody kancil???

maybe u r just one of those pissed becos u put the deposit first BEFORE taking a look at both cars…luck i didn't put my deposit on the (spit)MyA**!!!

• myvi is a rebadged DAIHATSU and Toyota…. why not, I will buy, it is cheaper that the actual Japanese car.

savvy is a rebadged ROJAK.

Dear Paul,

careful…. more of this forum continue, someone probably shutdown your site… he he h a ha

• napps on Jun 10, 2005 at 6:04 pm

"Elo Napps!!! you r so LAME DAME!!!!…Whose the REAL SUCKERS here. For your info. the booking for MyVi is RM500/- and it is refundable (Go and checkout a couple of showrooms you DumbAss!!!. I believe the one (dealers) that charges RM1,000 are just desprate to gain a quick buck. But it does not matter as i think noBODY REGRETS BOOKING THE OTHER CAR COMPARE TO THIS OFFERING- So whose the real LOOSER n SUCKERS now."

hey, if u read what i said carefully i was talking about the NON-REFUNDABLE RM1,000 deposit BEFORE the launch…..of course laa RM500 refundable AFTER launch….even proton ALSO like that what?! stop reading with ur nostrils ok??? try using ur eyes, it’s a lot better!

i’m booking a savvy for my 2nd car, fyi…black lagi….who cares if there’s no ABS kaa no air bag kaa? do u even know that an air bag is redundant if U WEAR SEATBELTS?!! it could even kill ur small kid if u let them sit in front and ur car smashes up! have u not read how many ppl get killed driving a bloody kancil???

maybe u r just one of those pissed becos u put the deposit first BEFORE taking a look at both cars…lucky i didn’t put my deposit on the (spit) MyA**!!!

• Juara vs Rusa…. Rusa win

Tiara vs Kelisa….. Kelisa win

Savvy vs MyVi…. ???????

wait and see la… for me, I will not take the risk, I go for MyVi

• akari on Jun 10, 2005 at 10:32 pm

calm down man…… lol

• Proton Owner on Jun 10, 2005 at 11:28 pm

Here are my comments about the Proton Savvy:

1. Exterior (Front)

(a). Heads lights look okay.

(b). Bonnet looks like an item which can be found in my bathroom. (No prizes for guessing what it is!)

(c). The curve at the front side windows is ridiculous and shouldn't be there at all.

Exterior (Back)

(a). The V shape curve is ridiculous and is a copied design taken from the Waja's bonnet.

(b). THe rear lights look okay.

Interior

(a). No power wqindows for the two back doors. Why? At this price without rear power windows is something strange.

(b). Colour coordination is not right. Grey for dashboard and beige for the door trims and panel is just not right. One dark colour and another is light colour don't blend in the interior of the car.

(c). The back seats are not spacious and the roof is too low.

(d). The boot is too small.

Conclusion: Overall design is lousy!

I don't know about the performance of the car yet.

• This question was posted on the yahoo.com.my

“Should the government protect Proton from foreign competition?”

more than 65% respondence agree to “No protection please. Proton needs to compete globally or sink ”

Having to raise my children, I know we to let them learn by themselves.

Our son Proton is now 30 years old, still studying in the University, and when there was a big bully push him around, father have to make a trip to the school to inform the teacher , and look for the bully.

Poor old father is now 65+ and one will imagine how long will father still need to do this.

Our son Proton graduated and started working is a big firm, at now age 40, married and have child of his own, his manager scolded our son proton and make him do the report again, poor old father, now at age 75+, DO YOU THINK HE NEED TO GO TO THE OFFICE TO SCOLD THE MANAGER.

GROW UP PROTON

• MalaY-sian on Jun 11, 2005 at 9:58 pm

As a malaysian, I'm not being so proud after seeing the fuss of proton products. They are unfair as the imported car actually more cheaper (exclusive of taxes) and giving more satis fication on the buyers. What for I'm buying a Proton car after all I have to pay the suffers and the installment. The first thing PROTON has to reevalute the bad impression and the frustated of the consumers instead of launching another headaches!!!!!

• James on Jun 12, 2005 at 12:26 am

The design wasn't soo bad, but not much attraction compare MyVi. I'm soo disapointed when i feel the sound of closing the door. terrible sound same as the old timer proton saga. Come on Proton Engineers, you guys are a way back, please go n try the feel of closing the door of MyVi. I'm sure you will realise something which is the bigest mistake in the design of savvy.

• teikkin on Jun 12, 2005 at 7:32 am

Lets all be cool about everything here and try our best to at least act civilised. We as humans have our rights to our opinion and therefore should not be all too worried about what others say. And calling others names and all over the bookings of a car is definitely not a smart thing to do.

It is true that both the cars are different. Lets admit it Savvy was a good project but Tengku Mahaleel did Launch it a bit to hastily. It only shows how unreliable and childish it is. How can a company launch a car without developing a full range available to customers.

That aside, from the specs alone, it is undeniably clear that for the price of the car considering the accessories provided for in the MyVi there is nothing in the market which can compare or even equate that offer.

Of course that doesn't stop others from using their hard earned cash to buy Savvy as well I for one look forward to a day where proton can produce a Good Quality car and give P2 a run for their money but I for one will not be the ones taking that risk. Go ahead and buy Savvy and Feel Free to prove me wrong. So the only thing left now is for time to tell…

Lets all of us keep our fingers crossed and the ideal thing is both the cars do well and malaysians live happily ever after.

• aku dah bawa savvy smlm d glenmarie shah alam, savvy bukan saingan myvi tapi saingan kelisa sbb byk beza savvy dan myvi. jgn compare savvy dan myvi tapi kedua2 nya keta malaysia.

• DannyRed on Jun 13, 2005 at 9:54 am

anyone here think sunny and napps are just frustrated proton dealers? LOL….some of the other guys sound like they've been hired by proton….lol

• sempoi on Jun 13, 2005 at 7:06 pm

this blog is so useful for me to get info especially for cars that yet to be launched. i wonder why over 7,000 people have placed their deposit to Myvi (before launching)even they knew its a gambling. When proton savvy started their advertising, those 7,000 have asked in their mind "am i took a rite decision (to buy Myvi) or otherwise"..

then after Savvy has launched, that 7,000 seems like feeling happy, coz they think they have made a good decision and some of them has express their feeling by condemning Savvy and become fanatic (even they know Savvy also not really bad).interior wise, i think Savvy is better and i believe most Myvian agreed on this.

Pls do not put the bad think of Savvy or Myvi just to "sedapkan hati" you all. i need reliable info of Savvy and Myvi without any influence of "berat sebelah" even your already place your booking either myvi or Savvy. Pls give your reliable and truth comments ya. Pls.

i already booked for Myvi on 25th May 2005 and so satisfied with my decision so far..

• bedul on Jun 13, 2005 at 7:40 pm

test drive myvi and savvy ……myvi macam hyundai atos conering nak terbalik …thanks to proton coz provide good handling to savvy

Note : telling th truth

• Accord Kia on Jun 13, 2005 at 7:53 pm

i have did a survey with 30 ppl in my office, about 99% said that they more prefer Myvi rather than Savvy.

what i can conclude is proton, it's time for you to drink milk, and pls dont launch any new car more because your mind still not mature yet.

• bedul on Jun 13, 2005 at 8:26 pm

my office surprise with a new improvement of proton

• Accord Kia on Jun 13, 2005 at 9:19 pm

perodua got a very good management system. they knew that quality is more important than design a new car.

they are doing step by step, they copy other cars and provide a good quality materials. when they think that they can design their own car, people still faithfull with their workmanship.

unlike proton, he still not mature but wan to act like adult, what a stupid brain!!! eventhought they are design a new car but ppl still not believe their quality.

so, perodua, i really feel proud of you. i hope i can see your own design car soon. keep improve.

• bedul on Jun 13, 2005 at 10:46 pm

ini atas tada baca punya olang…cakap quality itu baru punya proton sudah ada TUV cert maaa…perodua ada kaaa…itu perodua jupun punya company mana ada local design, ini tipu punya tambah bonet sama dashboard

• Once, there was a family known as Malaysia. In 1985, they were blessed with their first born, Proton. The family loved Proton all they can.

They gave Proton everything. They protected Proton from the bigger boys in Kindergarden. They told Proton, "You're young, you need protection from them. It's okay to make mistakes, you're young. Even if you don't learn from mistakes…it's okay…you are young."

Proton became spoilt. He always depended on parents and used up all his allowance on useless things. When he had to do his chores, he paid people to do it and the work is lousy, causing the parents having to call repairmen to fix all the mess that he made.

Anyway, when Proton was 10 (but he still acted like he was 1 or 2 years old), he had a younger brother, Perodua. At first, everyone thought this younger brother will be like Proton. Anyway, this new baby was more handsome and looks smarter than Proton. Malaysia knew there is a possibilty Perodua could be smarter than Proton. Since they love Proton so much, they decided that Perodua can only learn a few things. Cannot learn the same thing as Proton. This is so that Perodua wouldn't beat Proton at what Proton is doing.

Although Perodua was also protected by Malaysia, he learn to be independent very fast. He made good friends with Daihatsu, who had an elder brother Toyota. The two of them helped Perodua in everything.

Perodua, being independent and smart, learnt a lot and in a short while, was becoming as good as, if not better, than Proton.

Malaysia realized that Perodua was becoming better than his brother.

Although proud of Perodua, they still love Proton best. They paid Lotus (which is older and well known worldwide) to be friends with Proton. Using this advantage, Proton mentioned Lotus everytime he wanted to tell people about himself. On this own, he was still the same.

Moreover, Proton is always not updated. When doing his work, he still uses the typewriter and refuses to use the computer. Perodua, so much younger, used the computer, with broadband for his work.

Perodua was improving so much that Toyota has assigned him with his work, codename Avanza.

2005. Proton is 20 years old, Perodua only 10. It was obvious that Perodua was the more successful of the two siblings. What is worse, Proton said he still need his parents to help him for another 10 years.

He still need to protection from the big boys. In May 2005, Perodua was about the show Malaysia his best work so far…codename Myvi.

Proton, being jealous, quickly came up with an unprofessional remark about Perodua's work and show his work at the same time as Perodua on purpose.

The future of Malaysia and its two kids are still unknown. But it would be obvious that Perodua will shine, leaving Proton crying. It would be a wonder if in 2015, Proton will ask Malaysia for another 10 years of help and protection…maybe this time…protection from Perodua as well………..

THE END

• Raveen on Jun 14, 2005 at 1:48 am

hey accord kia…you seem to have a lot to say (bad things) that is…bout Savvy. Have you driven it? have you driven Myvi…. have you made the comparison?? Honestly you sound immature yourself……Lots of people would agree….have progressive comparitive comments my friend….You really sound un-educated.

I have driven both cars…..MYVI is bigger and more spacious….looks better…but build quality…savvy is better…engine feel…Savvy seems smoother and more powerful…handling, savvy beats myvi flat. But it depends on what ones preference would be….about the interior plastics…my friend owns a Aveo and for 70 over K, its dashboard is the same material.

Dont get it why we make a big fuss when it comes to malaysian car….

• Accord Kia on Jun 14, 2005 at 1:57 am

to Esth,

i like your story, but i want to add one more sentences, perodua is smarter than his brother 'proton' because 'proton' is reduntance.

• patriot on Jun 14, 2005 at 3:12 am

Memang Proton dulu banyak masalah. Saya sendiri dah meluat dengan kualiti Proton dan baru saja jual kereta Proton saya sebab bercadang untuk beli MyVi. Tapi apabila test drive MyVi ketika selekoh rasa macam nak terbalik, saya tak jadi beli. Bila keluar Savvi dan saya test drive. Saya hampir tak percaya, ride & handlingnya sungguh hebat. Memang keluasan penting tapi keluasan sahaja, drive tak sedap buat penama.. Baik beli van Nissan C20.

• gundu on Jun 14, 2005 at 7:21 am

i agree with patriot and bedul the ride and handling can see the different between Myvi and Savvy.

• dullah betawi on Jun 14, 2005 at 7:23 am

bagi aku myvi sesuai untuk pompuan jer…tak macho laki pakai myvi.

• bomohsiam on Jun 14, 2005 at 7:38 am

korang ni betul la….tengok macam aku, kerja bawak lori petronas, gaji rm 5000, pakai volvo 850A, hway berdesup…minyak free..toll pakai TAG…sebulan 2 kali balik taiping(rumah binik aku) 2 kali balik kuantan( umah aku)pasti puas hati..ini gaduh gaduh…yang komen tu orang yang sama gak…tapi kan aku tengok,proton ni pelik sikit…org lain kuar keta besar MPV, diaorang kuar keta kecik lawan myvi, pastu nama pun kat kat sama…tak do nama lain ko…tiru sana tiru sinik…janganla ngabihkan duit petronas jo…bilo keto dah tak laku, camno nak carik makan? buat la yang lebih baik lagi jangan tun juk kan kebodohan kita, tak matang langsung…aku gi show room myvi, macan nak runtuh di bueknyo,sekali aku gi sroom savy…segannya aku tengok,orang 3 4 orang jo yang datang tengok…muka salesmannya pulak kelat semacam je, macam nak halau orang suruh balik je…apa dah jadi?

• I ada tanya seorg salesman Myvi, diaorg dpt booking around 25 unit seorang, tapi bila I tanya salesman Savvy, just 1-2 unit.. Think about its….Apsal ye??

• James Bill on Jun 16, 2005 at 8:05 am

If sold at RM12,000/= surely a Value Buy.

• Siti Noraini on Jun 16, 2005 at 8:27 pm

Kalau Savvy nak complete dengan Myvi, bak pepatah Orang Melayu, Ukur badan di badan sendiri dulu……Overall the quality of Savvy still far behind technology used by Perodue

• Kutuk mengutuk macam ada Masters in Automotive Engineering, kalah Jaremy Clarkson of BBC…Lepas nie boleh kerja untuk Proton or Perodua, yang mana sukalah.

• George Bush on Jun 18, 2005 at 5:18 am

Both Myvi and Savvy is no good….Malaysian cars pakai sampai tiga tahun je lepas tu boleh buat besi buruk beb…

• agong on Jun 18, 2005 at 9:02 am

my friend in U.K told me that Myvi over there only sell RM20k-RM30k,even proton car r extreamely cheap over there,y malaysia here sell so expensive? y ha? can anybody can pass this message to mahathir or adullah/najib or raffidah?

damn m’sia minister!!!oh ya , i forgot that proton company main holder is under maharthir & his son,right?

• failah on Jun 18, 2005 at 9:09 am

bettehr dont buy mahathir punya proton , tipu rakyat m'sia, i hav a fren in U.K told me that proton only can sell RM5000 only!!!!oh damn god!!!n i believe that mahathir is the richest man in asia!!

• agong on Jun 18, 2005 at 9:11 am

my friend in U.K told me that Myvi over there only sell RM20k-RM30k,even proton car r extreamely cheap over there,y malaysia here sell so expensive? y ha? can anybody can pass this message to mahathir or adullah/najib or raffidah?

damn m’sia minister!!!oh ya , i forgot that proton company main holder is under maharthir & his son,am i right?

• Esth…. GREAT STORY, I LOVE IT. An upgrade version to my story, otherwise better.

everyone should read it

• Read the Business Time yesterday .

MyVi booking already surpass 33,000 units. Already 33,000 people are sure that MyVi is better then Savvy.

Whatever people say, say it with action, MyVi have 33,000 booking, what can savvy prove.

Proton…. start thinking.

• badawi on Jun 19, 2005 at 5:15 am

damn m’sia minister!!!oh ya , i forgot that proton company main holder is under maharthir & his son,right? i thnk mahathir is the richest man in asia!and malaysian r getting poor bc of corruption minister!!!

• neurra on Jun 21, 2005 at 12:55 pm

u guys really should cut the crap.. savvy is not even competing with myvi.. they're both in different category.. why bother comparing here n there? get savvy if u like sporty, get myvi if u like space… as simple as that.. savvy will surely be sold to lots of the younger generations and myvi to the just-starting-a-family.. and fyi, myvi a lot of booking becoz savvy came out late.. damn proton.. if it came out earlier it would've been savvy that was booked.. hav u all test drive both cars? savvy's handling rocks while myvi's space is so roomy.. as for me, i'm not needing that space very much so i go for savvy.. savvy is true competitor for cars like kelisa, atos and picanto… as aforementioned in mototrader review.. do some google and see they're impression on savvy k myvi-folks? da'

• mothergoose on Jul 01, 2005 at 8:36 am

edw… which school did you attend as a child… it should be closed down and the teachers sent back to training school…

launch first = advantage… its hardly two months since the savvy was launched… give it a gestation period la… do i have to spell things out to you every step of the way… ?

i don't drive a proton…. but i know most ppl do… chances are… every stinking soul here that is giving bad reviews on proton, are driving wira ke.. waja ke… arena ke.. and the ones that are most vocal… must be driving juara…

edw.. your parents are driving bimmers?…. merc?… if they are driving proton, go tell em to sell, trade it, dump it in sea… and get merc… city or jazz… otherwise, lighten up la…

proton is affordable… its not german technology… but it helps when you're fresh out of uni and need a car…

if your earning big bucks.. go buy yourself a VW gti… or do u look poor the sales guy wont let u drive the car… but if your earning like the rest of us…. small pay… try to enjoy the cars from proton…

because honest to god, your not doing the country a favour by stabbing it in the back… don't bite the hand that feeds ya…

migrate if it hurts so bad that you have to bitch about your country…

• mothergoose on Jul 01, 2005 at 8:42 am

… the story about brother? whats the rational behind it again…?

perodua… 51% japanese… proton… malaysian owned…

how are they brothers… ? dont start with half brothers and the likes of it…

truth is… inline wit the story, it is more like perodua is playing both sides… its not family but act like it belongs to the family… on the other hand… its taking profit out of the country…. to give to some other fella out of the family…

its a scandal … two faced weasels should not be tolerated… why label it a national car when it is not owned fully by malaysian…. its not.. so dont kid ourselves about who is the better brother.. the other one is exchange student la… coming into the family to create havoc..

unbelievable how ppl talk without knowing their stuff….

• Ah Fai on Jul 08, 2005 at 6:01 pm

The Savvy looks extreamly ugly. Another bad design from proton. Congratulation to those who have book MYVI. For those who want to buy this toy(Savvy) please think about Juara and Tiara owner feelings. Just add another junk in the garage. No resell value at all.

• lilin on Jul 09, 2005 at 12:28 am

itu pandangan anda, pandangan saya myvi pulak ugly, mcm anaconda…

no resell value? pernah beli savvy atau myvi secondhand ker?

• if wana know which car got resell value, go to ask 2nd hand car dealer. many frens told me savvy ugly oso o… every one have different view rite.

• kakipukul on Jul 12, 2005 at 8:42 pm

banyak sangat kritikan tak membina..macam ni ke rakyat kita. nak komen pun, buatlah nada baik. aku pun bukan baik sangat, tapi bersopan la sikit beb!myvi vs savvy, ikutla kemampuan dan cita rasa. nak buat keter bukan senang. daihatsu boon(myvi) ni pun cuba hang tgk kritikan org eropean, tapi tak le seteruk kritikan orang malaysia. naik malu baca.. lepas ni ada la yang tak puas hati…so kita tunggu dan saksikan..just advise u all… ada duit, belilah yang termampu, ttg teknologi, rasa dulu baru make comment…ok..chau…

• lovemalaya on Jul 13, 2005 at 12:21 am

heh..kakipukul….relaxla brader..tapi tul gak ko cakap..lain macam je diorang komen..cam bagus..itu inilah..tak paham la aku..kalo bab ngutuk, orang kita memang terer..nak cipta, semua gulung cam ulat gonggok..tak nasionalisma tul.. hal proton nih..ada part part diaorang tak baguslah. patutnya buatlah diagnostik kenapa hal ni berlaku..but tahniah jugak sebab proton antara kompeni kita yang grow up ekonomi..(petronas geng dia) sama sama berjaya…ttg keter myvi…aku takla nak bangga sangat. tapi at least kita dah ada dua pengilang keter dalam malaya..aku ingat, kalu dah lama established, apa lagi padula tenaga, jadi kompeni yang ada R&d termaju, jurutera tempatan hebat, vendor pun janganla tau nak kaut untung jer..contohi thailand tuh, banyak banyak barang murah pun, mampu kuarkan komponen kualiti untuk honda… proton pun satu, cubalah amik berkat pereka serba boleh, zulkifli tuh..sama sama bantu hasilkan keter tercanggih.. malaysia nih panas, designle aircond untuk penumpang belakang ker, lcd serba guna..bukan depend pada cd semata mata..kerusi mudah laras, bukan cam waja kena pulas…letih lo…then design blakang yang lebih menarik, lampu halogen terang, luas, then fabrik kushen yang tak mudah kotor…tak macam waja dan gen 2..aku ingat produk proton pasti lebih menawan hati rakyat nanti…korang yang kaki kutuk tu, cubala bagi opinion..minta paultan hantar ke orang proton kaji..amalkan..jgn syok dengan design sendirik

• Photoong stupidlah on Jul 14, 2005 at 8:34 am

Whatlah…photong damn stupid. Think can attract buyers by putting up stupid ads. Any fellow that buys Sawi, i think he/she really has no brains. I think his/her parents also never teach him/her to be a good consumer. Pity his/her parentslah. sigh……. . Hope Sawwy drivers smash their cars into brick wall and go to hell.

• hambo on Jul 15, 2005 at 4:25 am

Malaysia Boleh!!!!!!!

• lucky have people like u all not even know which is good value wort it paying money for time been on our car industry to compare other wise PROTON won live till now if no people like u all who don't even know which is value for money. shabas for setia raja anak watan malaysia yang pandai!.

• Copycat on Jul 19, 2005 at 7:11 pm

Aku pun kesian dengan proton. Kekadang dia orang buat kereta ni tak kaji market dulu kot? Sebab kalau nak bangga dengan teknologi R&D saja tak boleh le. Sebab lepas dari production line, all the cars nak kena jual bukan takat nak tengok saja. Kalau nak dijadikan con kita tengok Yusof Haslam dia buat filem ikut market bukan ikut citarasa saja macam tu jugak dengan kereta ni, pasaran yang penting. Kita ada kekuatan dari semangat nasionalisma tetapi Proton tak gunakan kesempatan tu, buat keta tak dak kualiti, dah tu relatifnya masih mahal berbanding dengan keta luar.Segala komen tu sebenarnya they all harapkan QUALITY CAR WITH LOW TAG PRICE. jangan kata ia imposible….

• malaysian on Jul 20, 2005 at 1:22 am

Congrats proton.. good product! Amazingly good looking! so gorgeous, bold, and daring. The handling is even more astonishing, myvi's handling? you dont even compare.

I like what mothergoose said, perodua should not be considered national car. How can it be national car when it is 51% owned by Japanese? Her triminology is even better, perodua is two faced weasels, get somebody's car, change the logo, tada!.. a national car! get eligible for tax exemption, make a lot of money, give it to the japanese. hah!

• Piggy Asha on Aug 20, 2005 at 2:58 pm

Well!! What's a new design came out from proton savvy, but people call that moving toilet yah~?! Goodness! What about Kenari? When the time before I buy my 1st vehichle Proton Satria, I was deeply in love with the New Aerosport's Kenari. But only got Manual, and my bf said if i want to buy this kenari and he won't pay any single cents for the downpayment. End up I bought Satria and he gave me 10k….You know why? Cause my boyfriend said Kenari is like a Washing machine with 4 wheels…The most ugliest car on this planet…But unfortunetely he bought this kenari last this month ago!! No choice because nowadays petrol keep on expensive…that's why my bf chooce this washing machine! Even now myself already upgrading from Satria to this BMW318i also just recently found too much for the petrol…and looking for any vehichle that really can save petrol…

Honda City? I don't like the exterior but like the interior coz really spacious!

Toyota Vios? I like the exterior but the interior not spacious enough!

Honda Jazz? I love from exterior into the interior but don't like the price!

Suzuki Swift? I love it, more like mini cooper design but really no 2nd hand's value, even free service 5 times for every 25'000km and 3 yrs warranty!!

Still not impress me enough!

Must be curious how come I change BMW318i right? First thing, it's a 1995 model not 2005! Damned stupid and never think the consequences will happens this old car! Believe it or not? I spent more than 20k the repairs fee within 6 months, 2nd thing it's petrol keep on raising price! Cannot Tahan!!

Just sold my BMW318i yesterday, but still have to took out RM6'500 to pay back to bank for the balance settlement!!

And now, down grade then….

Thinking of buying Kenari (Washing Machine) but I drove my bf's Kenari…Really not powerful enough! Cause I already get used to drive 1.8cc, no pickup for this kenari compares to my BMW! (Nonsense)!!

The Best choose is MyVI but have to wait for long period yah??

Shit ler!!! Desperated to have one car now but don't know which one to buy!!

Further more nowadays no more budget to buy import car!

Upsad! :(

• jongos on Aug 23, 2005 at 7:36 am

HELLO MISS PIGGY… LEH CAYA KAAAA ??

• SliCKLips on Aug 23, 2005 at 7:01 pm

Hmmmm… How should i start…. First, i drive a Kenari Aero…. Standard engine, no mods! Can reach 160 km/h easily… can "tapau" satria 1.3, iswara 1.3 and wira 1.3 with ease…. pickup much better than waja (all std cars)… But…. when savvy was test driven on the road i went for it…. i slid behind one and it literally " flew away " from me…. Good n/a technology!! Dammn fast acceleration… Then a few days back, i drove a Myvii…. While pressing on the pedal i said to myself…" Am I drunk or just dreaming?" the acceleration is not that good… Kenari got better acceleration…. But it is more nicer… So the verdict is, for power go for savvy but for looks go for myvii… Just my two cents bro…

• ghadafys on Aug 27, 2005 at 9:37 am

fuhhhh tak percaya walau kicik tapi power , aku pernah test drive kereta nie dengan 5 orang dalam kereta badan atas 60 kilo dan aku pun dah lepas 110 kilo so macam nakterbalik kereta hak milik eon tu wqalau pun test drive memang kereta tu power …. aku tengah mengah dok kumpul duit untuk nak beli kereta nie untuk adik aku… so to proton all the best ..

• compare to handling …. myvi jauh jauh jauh jauh jauh jauh jauh ketinggalan di belakang savvy .. harap x silap paham .. aku hanya bercerita pasal handling .. buka space .. bukan rupa luaran .. tapi… HANDLING .. lotus handling unbeatable compare to daihatsu.. trust me .. aku dah test drive savvy .. & myvi .. mak aku pun pakai atos.. myvi nye handling lebih kurang cam atos .. amik selekoh with highspeed .. cam nak terangkat tayar sebelah ..

ramai yg beli myvi sebab nak keluasan.. & kebanyakan tak test drive sebelum beli .. yg beli pun bukannye untuk belumba.. family car..

aku nak tengok myvi kat autoshow nanti .. mesti cun..

• sesape yg nak handling bagus.. atau dah bosan ngan mira 660 T .. savvy adalah projek yg terbaik..

kalau jenis yg bawak keta cam siput atau relax .. myvi ok la.. spacious.. tapi engine kureng sket..

savvy auto pakai engine same ngan manual .. tiptronic tech.. mesti pickup lebih kurang ngan manual

• Sir Atannas on Nov 29, 2005 at 12:52 am

comment again..

proton like a new generation for the future..

actually i very like about the new design builds of protons,

i very glads and happy..

this cars (savvy) liar to me….big problem, no good condition, something wrong with gearboxs..hmmm

power window, cannot open..i used the cars only 1 month..

many-many problem, many-many money…

so what can i do?…

• alantan on May 10, 2009 at 1:33 am

boleh bagi tau PROTON SAVVY adak pasangkan IMMOBILIZER tak??

Kereta itu yalah Tahun 2004.

terima kasih ++