Tiara Replacement Model on the road

Rumours say that Proton is set to launch it’s Tiara Replacement Model soon. It’s been seriously delayed for so many times already. Supposed to be launched end of last year if I recall it.

For a recap, the Tiara Replacement Model will be something in the K-car class, using a 1.2 litre Renault powerplant. No idea why they are not using a Campro for this model. It’s not like they don’t have a 1.3 Campro engine available. They’re already using that in the export model GEN2 though it’s not available locally yet. Maybe they don’t want to compete with the Wira 1.3.

The car looks good. Seriously all the K-cars look darn good to me. The Myvi, and now this TRM. If only I wasn’t so big sized, heh.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• auyongtc on May 09, 2005 at 9:33 pm

About time for a serious diet change regime! :p

• Eh.. how much is this car?

• ivan: Not sure man.

auyongtc: bleh!

• ohh so cute…. serious lar, cantik beb…

• Mellissa on May 10, 2005 at 3:57 am

oh man, it's cute .. but i don't know why but i seem to think the myvi seems more *me* than this one. hmm.

• michellelee on May 10, 2005 at 5:57 am

the car looks good.. but… i'm slightly sceptical on whether it's really good or not.

old 2nd hand tiaras' now cost bout 3-4K?

me wonders how much the replacement model will cost..

ps: dun mind me but i dunno much about cars.. but what's with the campro engines? i thought that people are complaining that their gen2s engines have some serious problem or somethign..

• i dont know. i think if i had the cash i would avoid this. it's based on an european platform. contis dont really do well here.

look at the waja 1.8 (renault laguna engine), and the tiara (citroen ax copy)

but damn it DOES look good lar.

• Nicolas on May 11, 2005 at 6:44 am

Do you guys think about TRM's future value? if it like the current model, i think its too damn!

• The Tiara sure looks good but a lot of people is loosing faith in Proton base on the 1 genaration Tiara & second genaration proton "Gen2". I heard there are a lot of problems with the engine.

Now proton only start to make some improvement on their QC & promote everyday on star paper. Now only they realize that Malaysian are not stupid & we prefer to pay more for a better quality vehicles.

FYI, I heard the launch of new Tiara is on the 20th May 05 & Produa MYVI in on the 25th May 05.

My advise is to place your deposit after 2 of the above vehicle is launch.

Compare Quality, specs, designs, price & after sale service.

• Raveen on May 19, 2005 at 12:55 am

from what i know, this car is totally diff from Tiara. It does not have any link whatsoever. Bout the quality, it is monitored by TUV (Germany). Thus I expect good quality from Proton this time around. It sure looks good.

• i think this car looks good! it departs from any other japanese design! but i dont think many malaysians are ready to "change" their perception. anyway, isnt that what the designers at proton are trying to achieve…regardless of evertyhing, i believe the days for P2 are up..! game on!

• Richard Foo on May 20, 2005 at 6:56 pm

By the time you place booking after car is launched, the waiting period with be more than 3 months to 6 months. Look at the Avanza, it even outsell the Waja with waiting list stretching tll 9 months. I already place a deposit for a MYVI 1.3A. Based on track record, the Perodua will be a safer bet. They waited for a year after the Daihatsu/Toyota version of the MYVI was launched in Japan. By August or September hopefully I can get the JJJ plate.

• I think perodua will be better, atleast they had invested millions RM to upgrade facilities to cope for toyota standard. Proton… sad story, my new wira aeroback SE out Dec03, outlook ok, quality……(1st month already had sound from front side) now i still can hear weird sound from front & back if i'm not on the sound system to cover it. even went to repair they just simply repaired, problems come back in short while. If go for proton then must upgrade sound system to cover sound…haha… i'm not simply made the comment & this is not the 1st proton i had.

• rakyat on May 26, 2005 at 2:19 am

Proton Sassy ??! The guys at Perodua must be laughing real hard. First of all, the name is already a failure. Whould any guys wanna buy a Sassy ? It sounds like sissy or sexy. And to call it a Tiara replacement model is actually reminding us of the horrible looking car again and again. Would you wanna buy a Juara replacement model ?? I feel sorry for Tengku Mahaleel.

• Freddie on May 27, 2005 at 5:20 am

juat booked a TRM. one of 5 who booked at Jln Sultan Ahmad Shah in Penang.

• Freddie on May 27, 2005 at 5:21 am

Am i stupid to book online or perhaps just desperate to be one of first few to be seen with new car?

• sorry lah…"sassy" sounds like sissy. No way..I don't trust the quality control of proton. They will never improve. GO FOR MYVI!

• Accord Kia on Jun 01, 2005 at 1:33 am

eh…proton…the car looks so sporty and stylish but the name is too lousy la….

if your ppl dont know how to name it….pls advertise on newpaper to ask us give your a hand to name it.

'sassy' is the second worst name than 'juara'

• Too nice and Cute as well~ i will definately buy this cute Savvy! CooL~

• TAN SRI JAMES on Jun 05, 2005 at 5:26 pm

HMMMMMM……. ITS LIKE A BATTLE BETWEEN "MYVI"..THUMPS UP FR ME FOR THIS CUTIE…….AND WHT ITS NAME SISSY…… WHT U SAY IF WE R 2 NAME IT …. LET ME THINK … EURICA…… I GOT IT PAKAILAH NAMA NI….. "" PROTON SEXY"" WHT U THINK……….HAHAHA………

• to brother2 kat atas sane:

sendiri makan pengat,

sendiri mau ingat..tok sah

gado2..dua2 malaysia gak!!

yang gado2 org malaysia gak..ishish

malu sihh..peace malaysia!!!

yiipiiee..andreandre..ariaba..yariaba

*aku gak yang best naik bas je..haha*

• Jordan on Jun 08, 2005 at 9:36 pm

Congratulation to those who has already invest on this new TRM(unrelated to Tiara actually)..U all can see the car at 5pm in Penang Sales Branch(Jln Sultan Ahmad Shah) today.It will be a grand launching..Hi Mr. Frederick.

• Jordan on Jun 08, 2005 at 9:41 pm

Its a great car i can assure u.No jokes.I've test drive this car last Friday..The ride and handling is superb..top speed 170 above..good looks also..Btw,i have the authorise to test drive this car because i'm a sales rep in pg branch..Come at 5pm today to have a look at this new great car at our showroom.

• river on Jun 08, 2005 at 10:40 pm

Well, they realized their mistake and switched the name to Savvy, does it sound better? hmmm… I think at least better than always call it `Tiara Replacement Model' which had scared half of the people away… what a pity…