Kia Malaysia to launch Grand Carnival soon, fourth-generation Optima and Rio hatchback to follow after

Naza Kia Malaysia is set to launch three new models in 2017, including the Grand Carnival, along with the fourth-generation Rio and Optima.

The big MPV has already made its way to showrooms, and although prices and specifications have been revealed, the Grand Carnival has yet to be officially introduced in Malaysia. Despite this, Nazman S.H.C Yusof, head of Naza Kia Malaysia says the reception to the model has been encouraging.

“We will launch the MPV very soon, and there are early buyers who will receive their Grand Carnival before the Chinese New Year celebrations this weekend,” he said. The Grand Carnival is offered in two variants – 2.2D and 2.2D GS – with the former being priced at RM153,888 while the range-topper retails for RM181,888 (OTR with insurance).

As for the all-new Rio, the B-segment model is a slightly larger car compared to its predecessor, and features significantly more Advanced High Strength Steel (AHSS) in its construction for improved safety. New styling inside and out, an updated kit list and a range of petrol engines are also part of the fourth-generation model’s offerings.

Finally, the long-awaited Optima will arrive this year, after it was first introduced at the 2015 New York International Auto Show. The Optima gets an updated look that is inspired by the Sportspace concept, and is available with turbocharged and naturally-aspirated petrol mills in the US market.

For now, complete specifications of the Rio and Optima destined for Malaysia have yet to be revealed by the company, nor any indication of a timeline. On a related matter, the company has expressed interest in bringing in the Stinger. “If possible, we would like to bring in the Stinger to the Malaysian market, but it will have to depend on the demand and legibility,” said Nazman. Which new Kia model will you be looking forward to the most?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Farhan on Jan 24, 2017 at 6:34 pm

To price competitively against the Japanese, please price it competitively.
    Optima: RM106-129k
    Grand Carnival: RM114-138k
    Rio: RM64-80k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Maybe in your dream lah !

• thefact on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:07 pm

Are u kidding me? :D
      Are u comparing correctly? Optima is civic price?
      you should be in automotive line. :)

• theanswer on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:58 am

kelakar tgk low baller ni.

• OMG…lately I rarely see Kia or Hyundai new cars on the road…their designs getting boring and pricing not cheap too, good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Rocketman on Jan 25, 2017 at 6:31 pm

I never owned a Korean car but friends told me that Korean cars start to give major problems on engine, transmission, etc. after about five years. Can any owners confirm this.

• Jabit on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:45 pm

I’ve been driving Korean car – Kia Spectra5 since 2009. No major issues faced. Engine and gearbox still in good condition. Mileage nearly 200k km. It is a good car for a point A to point B daily. Just service the car regularly as specified in the owner’s manual (mine is every 10k interval since brand new. At that time locally sold japanese car still require service 5k service interval). Only setback – hard to get non engine sparepart.

• own forte 1.6SX (6speed) since 2011. 6 yrs old car, service is bit expensive (ranging 500-1k with minor & major) compare to japn car. anyhow, i still love kia in lower pricing and better equipment. No really bother higher maintainence (give and take), not one time pay off. mileage 150k km. car performance is as new as first yr ! if want to change car, will still stick to kia – probably carnival or sportage :-)

• Diesel Rio with manual box please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Mikey on Jan 24, 2017 at 8:42 pm

Make sure the RIO comes with the latest transmission ie CVT or at least a 6-speeder auto to challenge the B-segment City, Vios, Mazda2, Fiesta & Polo. All the best KIA.

• Darren on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:01 pm

Brings in Optima 2.0 Turbo and Hybrid and Stinger 2.0 CRDi and and 2.0 Turbo

• Jibril on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:02 pm

I wish that NAZA will bring in Kia Niro. Looking at the positive response that the Ioniq is getting, if Naza packaged the Niro well, it can do well here in Malaysia..

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Naza is seriously taking its own sweet time launching the models.

• Henry on Jan 25, 2017 at 8:33 pm

While taking their own sweet time to launch new models customers are buying other brands. Too bad.

• Sorento 2.2 CRDi in a high spec trim please

• GeneralHoho on Jan 25, 2017 at 12:24 am

Yup! Sorento 2.2 CRDi in a medium / high spec trim please. Gerard Lye please tell Nazman this…

• camtakpro on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:13 pm

Yes. Just like Hyundai Ioniq, baru keluar got good review and sales, then increase price. Making Civic 1.8 looks more attractive liao.

• Airil Adnan on Jan 24, 2017 at 11:54 pm

STINGER please… although definitely can’t afford it!

• Pradeep on Jan 24, 2017 at 11:56 pm

Waiting for the new optima… With Apple carplay

• Airil Adnan on Jan 24, 2017 at 11:58 pm

ALSO please bear in mind… NAZA Kia after sales service is really down in the drains. This is talking from experience from owning an Optima K5 in Ipoh. And then NAZA decided to close down the main service centre in Falim. You buy a high technology machine, you can’t even get it serviced properly and just send to small scale Kia vendors. NAZA is turning a great global brand into rubbish in Malaysia. What happens if anyone needs to service their Stingers lah?!!

• Aragon on Jan 25, 2017 at 1:08 am

I would like to see Kia Soul in Malaysia. Its been introduce many years ago dont know why Naza dont bring it here. If price right it can be an alternative to Myvi.

• CBU disguised as CKD on Jan 25, 2017 at 1:31 am

How to know if ur kia is cbu disguised as ckd?
    Usually early or first a few batches are cbu.
    U can find registration number below the driver seat underneath the carpet.

• barbatos on Jan 25, 2017 at 8:15 am

Kia Pro’ceed GT plss…

• Same L0rr on Jan 25, 2017 at 8:15 am

Kia? Bad rv. Buy toyota better. Kimchi’s car are bad rv. Buy sushi car better.. good rv!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • azrai on Jan 25, 2017 at 8:41 am

Dear NAZA. Please stop selling Kia’s. No one want it in Malaysia. Just focus on your AP’s recond cars better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
  • musclemuseum on Jan 25, 2017 at 8:51 am

grand carnival 2.2D (low spec one) at least give us keyless entry and push start button please. rm150k+ but folding key with manual door lock? COME ON la KIA. i’m ok with no surround camera, no power sliding door, no power boot. even your A segment picanto has keyless entry with push start button. make the 2.2D carnival eyless entry and push start while retaining the current price and i’m sold!

• i kind alright with the price 153K for carnival – think best MPV in class (space etc and almost at par with recon estimate spec). at least keyless.

• Ben Yap on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:58 am

too poor resale value for me to gamble my money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • superdriver on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:23 am

Naza must bang the iron while its hot. Everyone wants the stinger.

• Why naza kia not bring the GDI and TGDI engines yet?