Kia Grand Carnival 2.2 CRDi – prices and specs revealed – 200 PS/440 Nm eight-seater, from RM154k

The Kia Grand Carnival was first previewed at the at the Mines International Exhibition and Convention Centre (MIECC) back in November, and now, the large eight-seat MPV has made its way to the Naza Kia Red Cube showroom in Petaling Jaya.

Two variants will be available to Malaysians – the 2.2D and 2.2D GS – with the former being priced at RM153,888 while the range-topper retails for RM181,888. All prices mentioned here are on-the-road with insurance, and come inclusive of a five-year/unlimited mileage manufacturer’s warranty and Naza Kia’s ‘Value 5’ scheme.

Powering the Grand Carnival is a 2.2 litre CRDi turbodiesel four-cylinder engine, providing 200 PS at 3,800 rpm and 440 Nm of torque at 1,750 to 2,750 rpm. The mill is fitted on both the 2.2D, as well as the 2.2D GS, and is paired with a six-speed automatic transmission.

On the exterior, all variants of the Grand Carnival are fitted with projector halogen headlamps (with LED DRLs), front and rear fog lamps, LED-type rear combination lamps, electric-folding side mirrors (with LED indicators) and a shark fin antenna

Both also come with 18-inch alloy wheels (with 235/60 section tyres), which differ from the chromed, 19-inch units that were seen on the display car at MIECC. However, the 2.2D GS is differentiated from the base spec thanks to a front grille that features high-gloss black and white chrome accents, plus it comes with a roof rack.

Other items that are specific to the 2.2D GS include power sliding doors, keyless operation (entry with push start) and a smart power tailgate. These items are not found on the 2.2D, which instead gets a manually-operated sliding door and a standard key fob.

Proceeding inside, you’ll find leather seats instead of fabric ones in the base variant, along with a triple-zone automatic climate control with cluster ioniser (manual adjustment on the 2.2D).

Beyond that, both cars have the same interior kit list, where there is a 3.5-inch Supervision TFT-mono OLED instrument cluster, 4.3-inch TFT colour touchscreen entertainment system, rearview camera and six speakers.

Additionally, the front seats are manually adjusted, with lumbar support being available on the driver side. Second-row seats are foldable in a 40:20:40 split, and can be slid forwards for easier access to the third row. On that mention, the rearmost seats can be folded flat in a 50:50 split to accommodate larger cargo. All three seat rows have their own set of ceiling-mounted air-con vents.

Safety-wise, six airbags (dual front, side and curtain), front and rear parking sensors, Electronic Stability Control, ABS and Hill Assist Control are standard on both variants. Also fitted are Isofix child seat mounts, with two located at the second row (outer seats) and one more at the third row (driver’s side).

Kia Grand Carnival 2.2D

Kia Grand Carnival 2.2D GS

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 27, 2016 at 10:17 am

Hmmm they could have charged a bit more n added power doors and a reverse camera into the mix since this is quite a big vehicle. Also where’s the HID headlamps for the high spec Carnival??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • seancorr (Member) on Dec 27, 2016 at 10:20 am

Oops my bad didn’t see the camera in the kit list just now.

• alldisc on Dec 27, 2016 at 10:45 am

in the year 1999-2000 naza brought in for the first time Kia Carnival as CBU units. sold for 160K. it was a hit, especilly the nearest cheapest MPV was 8 seater Toyota Unser 1.8 MT and the the only way to go up was for the reconditioned Toyota Estima (egg shape TCR10) which can be anything between 180-250k, depending on year and spec.

less than 3 years after that, the MPV was rebadge as Naza and classified as locally assembled national car. the price – 103K. wow.

dont buy this car now. the same thing may happen again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 13
      • Dun like cheaper cars? Pls meet albert@kunta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • U think too much. Tell me what number will open tonight?

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:21 pm

for sure naza will ckd this and rebadge this. Then RV sure will be half

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Albert on Dec 27, 2016 at 3:33 pm

This carnival is a poorman’s Alphard,but it cost a bomb.
        The problem with the resale value…is due to the distributor.
        HORROR OF HORRORS…..very poor service,after sales I mean.
        They have the best salesmen in town that can make a bird drop from a tree..
        A Kia Ria ,2006 you can have it for rm10K now.
        May the Force be with u,if u still want to buy a local Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 31
        • Kunta Kinte on Dec 27, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Very true. read every forum in Malaysia. Every Naza Ria owner complain teruk teruk.

trust me, stay away from Naza and stay away from Kia. You will cry in 3 yrs time when the RV becomes RM40k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
          • I will wait another 3 year then i can get 1/4 price

• me too

• Ria owners on Dec 28, 2016 at 5:11 pm

I saw their price list, includes Guaranteed Future Value.. They have high confidence on the Resale Value already… can buy…

• OMG…they should intro new Kia carens here with cheaper pricing than Nissan.G.Livina. Tat only can improve their sales here…

• Power is more than adequate. This is a people carrier not a sports car.

• the stig's Malaysian cousin on Mar 16, 2017 at 8:55 pm

200PS 400+NM 2.2 turbodiesel sounds like a great output for an MPV

• Sam very Huat Loo on Dec 28, 2016 at 11:07 am

Innova terbaik ! 105K sajaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • why so expensive?
    this mpv will be a pathetic tank after 3 years.
    Better buy Hyundai Starex.
    Korean made??? Will explode or not??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 74
    • karam singh on Dec 27, 2016 at 11:14 am

1st, new Carnival better safety than Starex
      2nd handles better than Starex – lower than Starex
      Korean cars are getting better, their sales better than some japanese brand in the US, being top 10 car brand defeating Subaru , VW , Mazda.
      But, I admit it is expensive considering its spec abit lower than expected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • Chongwei on Dec 27, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Your comment is SO LAME

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • virosh on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:33 pm

looks a little basic. And where’s the front grill from the sedona?

• Aragon on Dec 27, 2016 at 10:30 am

Ask Naza to rebadge it as a new Ria like old time then u’ll see the selling price drop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 27, 2016 at 10:36 am

cbu or ckd?

• Tiger on Dec 27, 2016 at 10:37 am

Not acceptable bez of its price tag.it should b in 100k range to capture this mkt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • leon898 on Dec 27, 2016 at 11:23 am

If you can’t afford, don’t blame the manufacturer. Simple

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
      • U compare it to Innova? LOL
        Diff class la

• Lucky there is not much customer like you nowadays. My pipu smart already. That is why UMW can drop price vs spec. It is not the case of can’t afford or not, it is because it should not be price like that. Yes, smart customer blame the manufacturer because smart customer know value for money is.

• nabill (Member) on Dec 27, 2016 at 10:54 am

I thought the price was not bad from the heading untill i saw the amount of features its missing… Almost rm30k difference from base to full spec… Thats a big ouch!
    Maybe the base model is targeted at fleet…
    TBH… wen it was previewed earlier i thought its gonna cross the 200k mark.. I think we all should ditch the notion of korean cars are going to be the cheaper alternative, that era has gone, they are clearly going premium… And its up to u to decide if that is warranted or not…. Personally, i think it looks way sleeker than estima/alphard alternative…. And its just wrong to compare this to the agricultural Starex…thats more mainstream, way more basic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
  • Diffusal on Dec 27, 2016 at 10:56 am

Grand Ria please Naza. Hehehe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 2
  • Wow this is gonna be a super value purchase when it’s 2-4 years old in the pre-owned market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • John Doe on Dec 27, 2016 at 11:04 am

Drove this in downunder as a rental a few months ago. Very nice and smooth car, torque from the 2.2 diesel is more than adequate for its size, pretty comfortable too. A lot of USB ports in the car too.
    Expensive?? a RECON Estima still slightly above the price of the this car, which has around the same specs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • John Doe on Dec 27, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Btw the boot space is good too, big and deep with 3rd row fully up. It swallowed more than 6 big luggages on our trip with only 1 of the chair folded to the floor, without blocking the rear windscreen.

Fuel consumption based on the screen was around 8.0+ l/100km, which is not bad for its size.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • tishaban on Dec 27, 2016 at 11:09 am

1. I like the 8-seater option. With 3 kids in tow, all can sit in the 2nd row and have a much bigger crumple zone behind compared to a 7-seater option where there’s less than 1 meter crumple zone. Safety first.

2. Diesel only seems somewhat limited, given the govt’s push towards B10 diesel. Where’s the 2.0 petrol turbo?

3. Why no active safety options eg. front collision warning? It should be there on the high spec at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • ex-VGM staff on Dec 27, 2016 at 12:56 pm

with 6 gears, you will not realise the lack of top end. besides, in you dont drive an MPV at a hoovering 5-6,000rpm.

express buses. they can do 100kph at less than 2,000rpm.

• viosfan on Dec 28, 2016 at 2:16 pm

I can do it with vios too
        when i go down hill

• Rokiah on Dec 27, 2016 at 11:21 am

Nice exterior design but somehow, KIA still doesn’t revolutionise its dashboard & gearknob. Still like old old model :(

• thgh (Member) on Dec 27, 2016 at 11:40 am

the number of people who had no idea what to say are surprisingly a lot.

still stuck in the Naza Ria days, like how they stuck with Proton power windows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • ben yap on Dec 27, 2016 at 11:57 am

this car has low resale value. just look at the previous carnival. those who bought it lost a big chunk of their money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • contender on Dec 27, 2016 at 11:59 am

only buy when they give huge discount next year for 2016 make Grand Carnival, early birds who buy now will cry when they drop price …. not to mention their after sales service and resale value.

• If the interior goes for a much darker tone it will look even nicer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Holofanboi on Dec 27, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Im gonna guess you are under 25? I used to think the same as you but im now beginning to find beige/tan interior to FEEL more luxurious (just my opinion).

Heck, i even find this car attractive due to its specs, usability and price. Life and priorities feel so different when you are married :(. Its weird man. Or maybe the uncle effect is setting in. Oh noooooooo ;_;

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Hahaha…im 10 years older than what you’ve been guessing and married with 4 kids. I believe you have a serious emotional issue when someone has different opinion from you…in this world you can’t simply satisfy everybody…some like darker interior and some might settle for biege color. Its a personal preference bro…same as you put that anime pic with cat’s ears. What’s with that? You had a fetish for cat’s ears or something?

Learn to respect other people’s choices and you’ll be appreciated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • RV fetish is high in here, lol

• Holofanboi on Dec 28, 2016 at 2:49 pm

O.o whoa chill how did my comment incite such a retaliation from you? I meant no offense man. Ironically, it seems that you are the one having emotional insecurity jeebus.

Also, im proud being an anime lover :3

• Chris on Dec 27, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Don’t buy Kia. I am driving a 2005 CBU Sorento. Average masuk kilang every 3-5 months. Each time the repair cost higher and higher.

Latest was Injector died, need to change 2, KIA Service center refused to change asked me to go outside because 2 injectors cost more than a second hand car.

Part is super duper expensive. Spent more than $300 for hose problem. The rubber hose is connected to an metal hose (metal hose is ok) but need to change all.

Cost a bomb….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • RUSLAN BAHARI on Dec 27, 2016 at 8:16 pm

That’s 11 years ago, dude. 11. Go buy your China car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • do want to hear my 2008 c200 Mercedes vs 2016 c200?

come on… lol…

after sale service aside, if someone talked about 2016 sportage or sorento then that can be a good advice.

• Gonggok on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:05 pm

What is the service interval since its a diesel. 5000km or 10,000km?

• Kuinosan on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:22 pm

They should have brought it in like 3 years ago. It’s an old model in overseas markets and now it’s being introduced here as a new model, and the asking price is a bit for a Korean MPV don’t you agree? And that 5 years resale value guarantee program is a bad idea and a lame one. Who would be interested to buy a Korean vehicle at premium prices and hope to retain its vehicle value through this program? If one were to read the fine prints and its T&C, they will be shocked to find out how tight and rigid the terms are to stay illegible. At the end of the day, it sounds more like a scam to me. So, no thank you Naza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Moving daddy on Dec 27, 2016 at 4:39 pm

My 2013 Sharan has 5 isofix for 2&3 row seats and 9 airbags. And also one built in child booster seat on 2 row. Plus it has a 2.0 GTi petrol engine with 6 speed wet DSG. Was hoping this carnival could best that so I could change car but looks like I’m going to be disappointed. But it’s sub 200k so to be fair I think it’s going to give alphard and Vellfire a run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • unvield on Dec 28, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Your sharan is fuel guzzler, cannot do 14km/l in city

• Mpvtourer on Dec 28, 2016 at 6:18 pm

If u re light footed and don’t show off your GTi 200hp 380nm torque that can propel your 1.8 ton beast from 0-100 in 8.3secs, u should average around 10 to 11km/liter. But if u like to tekan and race expect 9km/l or lower. If fuel efficiency is a priority Serena Hybrid should be more your choice as a family mover.

• Zuluboy on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:32 pm

1. Why only 1 Isofix on the 3rd row?!?!
    I was excited when i saw this car at MINES & thought it’d be an option I’d go for since that unit has 2 isofix on that last row.
    Paul Tan, please provide feedback to NAZA.

2. A car this size should come with all round camera view like the one on X-Trail, or at least a reverse camera. ESPECIALLY for THAT PRICE.

3. Manual seat adjustment for the front seats??
    What?!?!?!

4. For that price, it should come with a plethora of safety features – ABS, ABD, EBA, HSA, TC etc etc and with ventilated disc brakes (since you’ll be carrying 8 pax plus the vehicle’s heft)..

I hope they’ll come up with a CKD version & address those shortcomings.
    ESPECIALLY that isofix on the 3rd row!

• Gaviny on Dec 27, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Audi’s 2.0 diesel turbo only reacher 190hp , this has 200 . It’s a lot of shove

• Mohammad on Dec 27, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Meanwhile, Proton still selling 8 years old garbage rotten junk Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Kangkong on Dec 27, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Meanwhile, USA offering year 2017 latest Sedona EX Variant, 3.3 V6 petrol engine with much better specification and features than 2.2GD here. Price at USD 33600 (RM151200 @ RM4.500).

How much actual value should the dated Carnival here? Heartless government and crony linked car distributor really treat Malaysian worst than a meat on the chopping board.

• Pukehmek on Dec 27, 2016 at 7:25 pm

Seriously ? For 180k++ you get only candle light Halogen?? WTF??

• Looking at the MPV market and price in Australia (comparing using similar specifications as Msia), this MPV is worth buying in Malaysia:
    Honda Odyssey price: AUD37k (Selling at RM248k in Msia)
    Kia Carnival price: AUD62k (RM182k in MSia)
    Despite of its higher price in Australia Kia Carnival total selling volume in 2016 is still 2x more than Honda Odyssey and 4x more than Toyote Previa.
    Compared to Toyota and Honda, this car also scored better in almost all review rating in Australia.
    Only in Malaysia ppl are so biased towards Jap cars that ppl would rather pay RM248k for a Honda Odyssey than paying RM182k for a Kia Carnival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • What a shame. No power adjust front sit. No lane watch. No multi angle camera. Somemore diesel. I think their target is tour company. 180k. My vellfire r better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Ad Jalil on Dec 27, 2016 at 11:48 pm

Read all the comments here. I’m driving K5, a CBU ever since 2012. Was driving same variant from Nissan n Toyota, for record. Nothing when wrong so far with my K5. Last year, the Naza Kia has replaced my steering n few parts, as per their technicians advice, thanks to the KIA’s 5-yr unlimited mileage warranty! I’m biased, perhaps. Early this year, involved in an accident where I hit the concrete divider, n thanks God I’ve escaped safely. And again thanks to the ESC n others fitted in my KIA. Considering these, why must you buy a car with the wish that you’ll sell it later? Its quite dumb to compare the Japan’s recond Vellfire with this Grand Carnival. Why don’t you compare it with other similar variant MPVs made by the VW, Ford, Nissan, Honda n Toyota? If you’re afraid with this KIA’s CBU-priced, why don’t you just buy any MPVs made by any China’s brands? I drove almost similar rented KIA Carnival in Melbourne last year, it was such a smooth 4 hours driving from CBD to the Port Campbell via GOR. Suprisingly, it has carried 8 adults with 4 big luggage! So, be fair in your comments my dear salesmen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • hahaha…tengok spec saje pun dah kecoh! tunggu launch, pastuh test drive sampai lebam…baru tau OK ke KO! considering the specs and space offered, this may be a really good buy in it’s price range.

• jack of all trades on Dec 28, 2016 at 1:56 pm

reasonably equipped, reasonably priced. why don’t we all test drive first when launch, then give comments? haiya

• AlbertoKhair on Dec 28, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Hi..the comments in here moderated or not?

• KhairAlberto on Dec 28, 2016 at 3:39 pm

All of us read the review by Paul, rite? If u r not satisfied with the review, I think u see the grand carnival by ur own at nearest showroom..

Then,u can ask millions of question to the showroom manager.. If you need to change some specs to satisfy your belly, make sure u buy 1 grand carnival and do as u like.. u can paint it PINK or any colour as u like.. u can co anynthing you like… rite? Cheers!

• game changes, i think is another good deal in MPV market !

• I love Korean car design and pricing but was bitten not twice but 3 times. First experienced it with Kia Sephia years ago…seriously underpowered but what to do, love is blind. After few years, the repair work become unbearably expensive. Sold it and luckily with a few RM extra pocket money. Then fall in love with Picanto…and happy with it but soon spoiled by the gearbox problem. Got it repaired for thousand of RM but never fully recovered….jual at a lost. Then fall in love with Hyundai i10 and very happy but less than a year later the electrical system develop a very serious problem. The battery got drained out on many occasions and got me stranded in many odd places away from home. Jual at a loss…now happy with Myvi.

Enough is enough for Koreans car for me…or is it? The new Rio and Rio inspired Picanto look nice haha..

• Love
    good price with reasonable specs, big mpv

Disappointed
    old grill, old fog lamp?
    Watched alot youtube videos, mentioned as facelift version/2016. They got this Kia’s latest ‘dots/diamonds’ grill like sportage, with new fog light and lower bodykit design.

Anyhow, why Naza dont request for the new diamonds grill for Malaysia market. Are they keeping that for another 2 years as facelift to boost sales again?

Also, there is another grey + black interior style, should have that as choice for the upper trim.

• Commentor on Jan 16, 2017 at 4:22 pm

Hoping for it. :S