Kia Malaysia’s ‘Value 5’ scheme for Sportage and Sorento – guaranteed future value after 5 years

Kia_Sportage_New_Ext-3

Perhaps it’s because of the high price of cars in Malaysia, but there are many who think of “selling their car before even buying it”. That’s making “resale value” a major consideration in a car purchase, in other words. Despite being very good cars, Korean-brand SUVs generally don’t fare too well in this aspect, and that’s something Kia Malaysia is attempting to remedy with its new “Value 5” scheme.

The unique thing about the company’s Value 5 scheme is the Guaranteed Future Value (GFV) after five years. Taking the top Sportage GT Line as an example, the GFV after five years for the RM141,888 SUV is RM72,000.

One can’t run away from depreciation in car value, which is almost as certain as taxes and death, but “losing” RM70k over five years (or RM14k per year of ownership) isn’t quite financial suicide. And it’s laid out in black and white on the day you sign on the line, which means no surprises.

Kia_Sorento_New_Ext-3

The scheme is for the latest Kia Sportage OL and Sorento UM SUVs, and the GFV after five years is in brackets: RM141,888 Sportage GT Line (RM72,000), RM121,888 Sportage KX (RM61,000), RM155,888 Sorento LS Diesel (RM78,000), RM165,888 Sorento MS (RM83,000) and RM175,888 Sorento HS (RM88,000). Valid from now till December 31, 2016.

Those who take this up will have to perform service maintenance at authorised Kia service centres for five years, and renew motor insurance with Kia’s panel insurers. The scheme, which is non-transferable, comes with free five years of breakdown assistance. The value “strictly cannot be exchanged to cash” and the GFV figures are for trading-in for a new Kia five years down the line.

“Through the Kia Value 5 program, we want to create robust Kia used car value by guaranteeing the future value prescribed ahead, to customers who may want to upgrade to a new Kia model in five years. As the only mass model brand in Malaysia giving this opportunity to our customers, it is also the first ever GFV programme without any exclusive tie-up with financial institutions,” said Datuk Samson Anand George, Group COO of Naza’s automotive business.

On another note, the Kia Lucky Drive to Melbourne campaign for November 2016 is offering one lucky winner an opportunity to experience the tennis Australian Open 2017 live. Kia is the sponsor of the Grand Slam event.

GALLERY: Kia Sportage

GALLERY: Kia Sorento

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Han sam ha me da on Nov 03, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Guaranty resale value !! Really ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Smart Sam on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:16 pm

RV RV RV. Hahahah

• VW should learn from Kia

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:10 am

Hopefully Proton, instead of sucking rakyat money, can assure Perdana buyers.

People scared to buy Perdana because in 5 years time, the car drops from RM117k to RM20k.

Why don’t Proton give RM60 Guranteed Resale Value?

• Ford Power on Nov 06, 2016 at 12:53 am

If you worry about RV, clearly you don’t have the mullah for it. So, just stick to your H&T.. bet you won’t be buying Proton with or without Guaranteed RV because the next thing you complaint would be built quality or safety. Ironically, you’d be much more lenient to the Japanese who themselves are also having QC issues and even trust! (MITSU emissions scandal?).. not to mention exorbitant price! But wait, that’s Proton’s fault too..

• Henry on Nov 03, 2016 at 7:42 pm

Read the last paragraph. It is guaranteed trade-in value and not guaranteed resale value. It means after five you will have to trade-in for another KIA to get this value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • -Faiz Roslan on Nov 03, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Taking a look at the current depreciation rate, and also considering that other currencies are doing slightly better than MY, the offer by NAZA is pretty good. This is another good service and innovative solution to alleviate any fears from KIA owners on their second hand value.

Well done to NAZA Bumi Entrepeuners for coming up with this innovative and win-win solution!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 32
  • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 03, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Very good move. Infact Proton should do this since their cars have worse RV than Kia.

Bravo to Kia Malaysia for coming up with this scheme.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
    • No need to, as P1 is cheap enuff and value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:08 am

what an uneducated statement. 30k might be small for you but it maybe the whole world to many Malaysians. To me, RM30k is a lot of money. If Proton can assure me I get RM15k after 5 years, I will be grateful.

Please grow up

• Yong Tau Fu on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:17 am

Raised a cattle n u don’t have to worry about money anymore

• When u see 30k, u think 30k. Deswai u dun grow up. And u never will, if u dun change that mentality.

• menee on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:43 pm

The more expensive the car the more you lose in depreciation value every year.

Go figure.

• Later bashers says they not accountants, so they dunno how to count

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 03, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Toyota also should learn from Kia. Their Camry and Altis drop in price like crazy. 2 year old Camry 2.5 now selling for RM85k. Brand new RM180k.

Of course VW can’t implement this scheme lah. Nama too busuk. No RV, bad service, perpetual breakdowns…..no buy back scheme will ever work for VW customers.

VW customers just have to cry in silence.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
    • ollie on Nov 03, 2016 at 6:32 pm

Interesting point for the Toyota RV bandwagon

• stupid M'sian cars on Nov 03, 2016 at 10:29 pm

RM85K? you must be kidding. Please get your facts checked again.

• Naive on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:36 am

Please get me one 2 years 2.5 Camry..im generous enough to make it 90k

• Come, bring me 2 years old camry 2.5.. Pay you cash 95k, 10k commission for you to sweeten the deal.. Cash ready.. Else don’t talk cock sing song here..

• Therealmaserati on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:15 pm

Absolute rubbish from a poorfag who knows nothing about cars. A 2 year old camry 2.5 is gng for roughly around 130k.

Dont believe? Go check online. Pls, if u want to lie, lie using ur brain!

• Therealmaserati on Nov 03, 2016 at 4:56 pm

The problem with Kia and Hyundai is that the cars are not nice to drive. Very lousy engine and the drive is so bad. I drove a Vios and A Cerato and my goodness the Vios is so much better to drive. The cerato drive is very bad. Plus the vios engine is so responsive and smooth. Those Korean brands should improve their technology.

When ur car is good, people will automatically buy it. No need to throw price and offer stupid packages like this GFV package. At the moment, Korean cars are still way way way behind the Japanese. Not even close. Let the sales figure speak for themselves. Even Merc and BMW sell more than Kia and Hyundai combined.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 109
    • notakata on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Vios? Oh that’s ugly catfish car?
      Noone bothers about it. Bad handling, meaningless dual VVTi, firestarter switch, killer airbags…

Now more and more Vios in showrooms only, not on the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
    • Steve on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Well said! ! !

• Sure haa vios much better than cerato… I have vios and cerato For me vios handling totally sampah & feels like naik sampan… Even my wife said i won’t get into this car anymore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • wendy on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:51 pm

another Toyota sales agent spotted, comparing the tin kosong vios with cerato k3? even the small kia rio drive far better than vios..duhhh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
      • Therealmaserati on Nov 03, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Talk rubbish. Rio has one of the worst engines ever. So blardy underpowered. But fuel consumption is so bad. Absolutely rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 36
    • Kiaforte on Nov 03, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Bro, you wanna test my kia forte power before you even comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Kiaforte on Nov 03, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Bro you wanna test my kia forte before you talk? Bad handling? At least the kia forte doors sounds like a premium bmw/audi feel, vios? peh macam proton when you close the door, empty metal.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
      • Therealmaserati on Nov 03, 2016 at 8:13 pm

No need. I have driven ur junk forte 2.0 many times. Sorry its an absolute piece of crap. No power for a 2.0. Handles like a freaking boat. All of u r in denial mode. Stop defending crap. The only way Kia and Hyundai can improve is when people like u stop buying their crap.

Only buy Japanese. Thr is a reason why so many people still buy Jap and frown up Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
        • stupid M'sian cars on Nov 03, 2016 at 10:33 pm

seriously Koreans are crap. fuel consumption is horrible. I owned 1 and I know buying korean is a bad choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • ncpau on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Proton nowadays are not empty metal
        You are right if you refer to those rebadged mitsu orion aka first gen saga

• You should change your name from therealmaserati to therealb*llsh*t. You have too much free time in your showroom because nobody is buying Toyota anymore. Some worss od advice: Better jump ship to other brands rather than staying at the sinking UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • the comments make me Lol ,
      this guy claimed he have forte & cerato & rio & Hyundai

ok la every korean car also u drove before , u win this time

• Therealmaserati on Nov 04, 2016 at 1:58 pm

My goodness. U can go to showroom to test drive right? This kinda stuff need to teach?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • C. P. MOHAN on Nov 03, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Does guaranteed resale value only apply if one purchases another KIA or is there an option?

• Paul Tan on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:02 pm

I think its the former, because the T&C says not exchangeable for cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • waters on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Ahh – That’s how they get you.

• They ARE offering something to address the RV issue. But don’t expect them to commit suicide doing so. That’s how they feed their families. Wouldn’t you? Ain’t no totally free lunch bro… Tak kan diorang nak bagi anak isteri diorang makan pasir kot….

• Ootai on Nov 03, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Service & maintenance only at kia. Budget extra cash lor for 5 years. Samore, if rm depreciate further in 5 years, budget extra further to buy another kia vehicle.

• waters on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:53 am

True, understood, it’s a start. But whether the TnCs are accepted by the public is another story.

• Mentioned in the last paragraph – for trade in purposes. Anyway, this trend started by Peugeot for some time. Oopss.. Both Peugeot and kia under naza group also.

• sohai on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:02 pm

That resale value sounds too good to be true. Even the typical Toyota or Honda I doubt could fetch that kind of rate.
    What’s the catch? somethings gotta give. Premium sparepart prices maybe, since the likely condition will be to keep the car serviced on time.
    Unlike they know something that we don’t (increase duties after election? maybe?)

• takNakP1 on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:05 pm

there is not enough details how this scheme works.
    The “after 5 years” is quite ambiguous.

Is the GFV only applies for the 6th years? How about after 7, 6, or 10 years?

Is this means owner can only trade in for a new Kia? What if no buyer willing to pay the GFV value, will Kia compensate the owner?

i wouldn’t be too joyful until i fully understand the scheme. in another way, this indicates car price will not drop but possible go up.

• Han sam ha me da on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:50 pm

” Yes . The t&c is you trade in and must buy our new kia 5 years later, i guarranty you no resale value if you trade in to others brand!”
      Ceo naza .

• Albert on Nov 03, 2016 at 6:01 pm

5 years is a long time.
      Look a VW.They chickened out,appoint a representative to market and service VW cars.
      Kia Malaysia…look at their service now.It sucks.
      Their parts…never cheap and unreliable at times with lots of internal politics.
      By the 6th year,they may have exited the auto industry or gave reasons for not been able to fulfill the rv thing,or find fault with u.You wanna sue them to their underpants?
      This is a PROMOTIONAL ,MARKETING GIMMICK.Sales is going downhill…..it is like a salesgirl opening 2 buttons to let u see her CLEAVAGE,and tempt u into buying,when u cant think straight.
      WALK OUT OF THE BLADDY SHOWROOM,INTACT…DONT BUY ANYTHING ,NO MATTER HOW TEMPTING THE OFFER IS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
  • shahriman on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:06 pm

regardless the T&C, still a very good deal.. well done naza kia!..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • If the only option to purchase KIA, then they are tying us to KIA forever unless we are prepared to lose huge amount in order to purchase other brands.

Naza Distributors is so hopeless and they way they are managing KIA and Peugeot is only by white lies and trying to cheat innocent Malaysians with empty promises.

Even if we take them to Tribunal, the organisation is big enough to hire lawyers and elevate the case to a civil case and eventually win or put pressure on the purchaser till they give up.

That’s how they manipulate our judiciary system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Ex VGM staff on Nov 03, 2016 at 8:25 pm

In tribunal, lawyers not allowed. Only the claimant, defendant and the President.

• IF they are not happy with Tribunal results, they will proceed to civil suits and in the end the customers will lose eventually as the time frame taken will be long and the owner of the car have to bear the cost of maintaining their junk car and eventually sell at a lower prices using the discounts given by other manufacturers and even top up further to dump their Peugeot and Kia.

• Ben Yap on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:30 pm

after 5 years lost half the price….. still gotta top up loan…. lousy scheme.

• wendy on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:54 pm

better than no scheme lorrr..

if other brand u dunno what ur car price like in 5years time..now they tell u already upfront..

• Andrekua on Nov 03, 2016 at 6:06 pm

I think must buy another kia then only guarantee the high RV. Secondly may have to buy it at RRP aka no discount.

• ollie on Nov 03, 2016 at 6:37 pm

T&C is not that hard to understand. After 5 years, Kia guarantees the value with trade in. That’s it – you still can sell on the market, its not valid after 5th year, etc etc. Very simple to understand.

PS. I bought a Kia Forte and its been really good. No regrets, and my respect for the brand really went up after 2 years of owning this 6 year old car. RV is up for most models, the same for Hyundai. But on the flipside, I quite like that certain brands have bad reputation for reliability and RV. Its good as it means those of us who seek value will still be able to find it. Unlike the Toyota/Honda market with crazy inflated prices like 4 year old Civic going for 80k. :)

• Kia and Hyundai make good cars. Only a brand junkie will look down on those brand. However, the days of value for money purchase are over as their price has increased quite substantially. The Forte was the last batch of Kia cars which were of exceptional value. The current models are just too pricey.

• Henry on Nov 03, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Thanks but no thanks.

• No matter what strategy they goin to work also….Korean cars fuel consumption sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Apa susah-susah… just sell the new car price at rv value after 5 years with all the terms and conditions. Then you take the car back.. less money to borrow.. less commintment for us.

• Saitam on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:27 am

Is a step in the right direction.
    Have deal is better than no deal, right?

I am not sure it will be enough to swing your decision to buy a Kia (given that Naza does have some fundamental issues in servicing customers).
    But just look at the product itself and give some credit to it. Kia has some handsome cars in its stable, and the brand has matured with some good reliability. The weakest link to this brand is its distributor.

The Sportage is very nice. Just take a look at Toyota, what UMW offers in this segment? nothing. The model in Toyota showroom is all very stale. They don’t even offer the compact car segment anymore and prefer to milk the cash from P2.

• Therealmaserati on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:09 pm

What KIA is doing now is fighting a losing battle. The are fighting a battle which cannot be won. Not with cars that are on par with China cars. They should go bck to the drawing board. Start from bottom up. Make sure the fundamentals are right. Make a car that is nice to drive. I am not asking for it to drive like a Ferrari. But at least it drives like a Honda or Toyota. At the moment, all Korean cars drive like a car from the 90s.

• kimochidesuneh on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:49 pm

talk so much, u must be driving a 90s kancil

• EyeOpener on Nov 04, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Open up you view bro. Motoring world is not only JP and KR, the world is much bigger than you think. Btw, there’s an very interesting fact that they are selling like a hotcake.

• Pondan on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Kia Malaysia guarantee RV, Sam loo guarantee makan tahi selling Toyo-ta

• Subaruu

• I was told that Kia Value 5 was discontinued. Is that true?