Proton X50 colour chart revealed – six colours, Passion Red exclusive to Premium and Flagship only

After yesterday’s media preview, we have just received the colour chart for the Proton X50. Just like it is on the bigger X70, not all options are available for each variant, with select colours reserved for the higher end models only.

Out of the six colour options, only three will be available on the Standard variant: Snow White, Armour Silver and Ocean Blue. The Executive adds on the option of Jet Grey and Citric Orange, while the hero colour, Passion Red, is exclusive to the Premium and Flagship variants. All Flagship models, of course, get the dual-tone treatment with a blacked-out roof and side mirrors.

We have also repurposed Proton’s official images of the X50 to show how the new model would look in all six colour options below. Which one is your favourite, and does this colour chart spoil your plans somewhat? Discuss in the comments section below.

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 colour options

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Rex Sharma on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:32 am

Well done Geely, you even know what colours sell in Malaysia. This is what you call great market research. Don’t know what we would have done without Geely and China help in making our national car maker a success

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 58
    • Hainan rice on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:38 am

Exactly, when I look at the chart, all those colors are Malaysian’s favourite. Geely’s Game-Changing research is spot on! This is unlike Proton who gave so many weird colors before, like rainbow. At last, Proton got so many unsold cars because of the weird colors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • You do love the attentions & arguments right?.
        Always first to comment and then wait,
        (keeps refreshing the page and scroll down straightaway to the space below your comment). Youre waiting, hoping, longing for them…..
        (you love their attentions right – especially john)
        to come, to read then to counter or fight your argument. When they came and replied,
        the adrenalins shocked you.
        you’re jumping with joy,
        you reached the climax of your day.
        Then You puts a nonstop thanks & praises
        to God in those moment.
        Instead of focussing on your series of mega praising towards Geely’s & China but actually in reverse to downplay P1 capabilities,
        better just channeling your energy to wish the world be a better place and free of covid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • True bro. And when people ignores him, he goes on a long winded self replying frenzy with different names like a tin kosong.

• Lee Hwa Beng on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:40 am

Soon, all cars in Malaysia will be China cars. I am super happy China is getting richer and richer. As Geely owns 50% of Proton, half of all profits will go back to my kampung

Pls bring in more China cars into Malaysia. This will help build China into a super powerhouse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • Red Karma on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:24 pm

To Rex Sharma and gang: Enough of big praises to G please. It’s too much already. Lets talk about X-50 specifically. Thank you.

• Tester on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:44 pm

this is the differences between a person who wanted to success and one who just wanted corruption

• EON Story on Sep 16, 2020 at 1:12 pm

Hope the quality of the car better than the quality of the sales person.

• azlano on Sep 16, 2020 at 1:31 pm

That Infinite Weave grille definitely a crowdpuller

• Lee Cun Giler on Sep 16, 2020 at 3:44 pm

These china troll are getting a bit too obvious…

• Why so ugly on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:28 pm

Why give such a low end engine? If price at RM50k is fair for the low class engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Ol Skool on Sep 17, 2020 at 9:08 pm

Which brand gives off “low end” 177hp,255nm or maybe even lower 150hp, 226nm at RM50k? Please tell me, I want to give my hard earned money to that brand, cash!!

• Celup King on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:55 pm

Sour people like you that criticize Proton giving expensive new technologies like Level 2 Autonomous driving in an affordable car are just Jealous.

• Aura89 on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:59 pm

Dude, Its Malaysia Day. You had been going on and on in the past 3-4 X50 articles. Give it a rest will you. You are deliberately trying to start shit with your comments. Again, you are an instigator, and you know what you are doing. You pretend to be innocent, but you purposely make comments to get fights going all the time.

• /ktard on Sep 17, 2020 at 12:16 pm

Your friend john is no better also, yet you never criticise him. Why ah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • Chavez on Sep 17, 2020 at 1:53 pm

betui..john the kepala Batu api here, shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • Copy Paste on Sep 17, 2020 at 3:31 pm

Copy paste: “I see the same troll with many names have come out. He loves to say “Dont get me wrong….”

So many people with different names like to use this phrase.

Ha ha. Spotted!”

• Copy Paste on Sep 17, 2020 at 3:33 pm

Copy paste: “Enough with the Game Over fake news kunta. Up there you said Gary, Alan, Aura89, Brian, Bro, etc sound alike but so many names keep quoting the same “over 200 countries”, which one is the fanboy with many dupe accounts? Didn’t Hafriz already reminded us all before not to post fake news? Please bertaubat kunta, I know you can do it!”

• Jeremy on Sep 17, 2020 at 3:52 pm

One key difference mate. John is not a spreader of hate unlike you.

• TiredOfIt on Sep 16, 2020 at 9:49 pm

Reeks of hidden meanings

• stranger on Sep 17, 2020 at 10:30 am

This is so sweet.thank you China Brand lend to us Malaysia National Brand nice looking car at cheap price. Good work both Geely and Proton

• Rex Sharma on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:33 am

Such a good choice Geely!!! Thank you. You know Red is the colour of Prosperity and Ong!!!!

Huat Huat Huat!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Alor who ate ball on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:44 am

Hopefully these bright colors paint especially passion red won’t discolored in short time due to tropical climate high UV rays bombardment.

• DumbCar on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:59 am

Still no pricing?
    Why so dumb now a day cant even give pricing.

• Monana on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:23 pm

Besides all the positive things mentioned by PaulTan and other reviewers, 1 good thing from my observation is, there is no ‘blank’ buttons unlike any other cars for the interior (point me if there is)

The only thing i dont like is the red-painted calipers (mcm AhBeng la).

Even though there are no paddle shifters, the original binyue and coolray has it. Just wait and there will be malaysian that will order and install it in our X50.

Power-boot; unfortunetely even the binyue doesnt have it (correct me if i’m wrong) but there are after market option (i dont really need it).

What i need right now is proper review of the car, especially on how good the LKAS since Geely claimed this car has level-2 autonomous driving. None of the other car manufacturers claim this except for Tesla, so i really need a review to cover this.

Well done Proton! And the only 2 parameters that the customer need to know are: reliability and after service. Oh, 1 more, the prices!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:33 pm

Well done Proton, this is what we can expect from our real national carmaker! You listen to us and you gave us exactly what we want and expectantly at prices we can afford much like your X70. This is why we love you for 30 years and continue to love you! Kudos to you Proton!

• I am so ashamed my P2 and Toyota designers cannot design such stunning colours for a beautiful car like this sporty and good looking design. What we got is dull and boring colours for a far uglier and inferior Rocky D55L that will be slaughtered by this superb Proton SUV.
    I am so malu right now to say I sell P2 cars and none currently and future will be good looking as this car. So malu!

• salgoodguy on Sep 16, 2020 at 1:09 pm

theres no black version?

• Azwan on Sep 16, 2020 at 2:31 pm

The Dual Tones effect for from both mixed of Snow White against the black roof & lip really the best!

• Celup King on Sep 16, 2020 at 3:30 pm

1.35tonne X50
    X50 Standard 150PS/225Nm 1.5TMPI – RM75k tax Free RM70k
    X50 Executive 150PS/225Nm 1.5TMPI – RM85k tax free RM79k
    X50 Premium 150PS 225Nm 1.5TMPI – RM95k tax free RM89k
    X50 Flagship AEB 177/255Nm 1.5TGDI – RM109k tax free RM102k

Vs

1.65tonne X70
    X70 low spec 181hp/300Nm RM95k tax free RM89k
    X70 Premium AEB 181hp/300Nm RM 122k tax RM115k

• Blue in render and the table looks different?

• Ikram Zilfikar on Sep 16, 2020 at 3:37 pm

x3sphere

• I like silver, executive is my choise

• deded on Sep 17, 2020 at 1:13 pm

Better take Premium, you will regret when you see the 8″ screen rather than the 10.25″. Go see the binyue in china website…

• Jaguh on Sep 16, 2020 at 9:12 pm

This X50 really tempting me to buy another new vehicle

• Ibnu bakrin on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:08 pm

This is a great SUV. Don’t have to wait for Corolla Cross. Just search Corolla Cross vs Geely Coolray, can know the winner.

• dutch oven on Sep 17, 2020 at 12:58 am

the red interior is a deal breaker for me at least…. it’s hideous. why couldn’t proton just go with black or dark grey?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Gabriel on Sep 17, 2020 at 10:10 am

Yup, the red interior is certainly is a turn off. Prefer black instead.

• yup. gonna wrap my Flagship unit in matte pink..

• Sporty exterior styling and gloomy all-black interior? Something doesn’t sound right there, I am not sure what.

• bangsat people. only know black or grey,

• PESB take my money flagship model for me if <RM95k :-)

• newme on Sep 17, 2020 at 10:23 am

Waiting for the post explaining the revolutionary design of radiator cap in detail. And also fuel cap as well as the wiper.

• Darren on Sep 17, 2020 at 3:26 pm

Don’t worry you won’t. Instead here is something amazing that Proton did https://paultan.org/2018/01/12/photo-of-proton-right-hand-drive-geely-boyue-is-fake/

• newme on Sep 17, 2020 at 5:05 pm

Not surprising. China is well known for fake product.

• Logical Deduction on Sep 17, 2020 at 5:41 pm

I didn’t know a car you could touch, see, feel, buy and use, is faked. My mind is blown! This whole thing with automotive and cars must be fake as well. That makes me doubt if this reality is real, or perhaps just your reality might be fake???

• TiredOfIt on Sep 17, 2020 at 3:41 pm

Yeah, just like how they did with the Rocky, Bezza facelift.. etc.

• Why there is no black colour which looks cool?

• C.P. MOHAN on Sep 17, 2020 at 12:46 pm

A game-changer too me is a quantum leap like EV and battery enhancements not improvements to current engine technology. My enthusiasm is toward VFM-pricing than old-technology.

• Celup King on Sep 18, 2020 at 6:52 pm

Perodua’s GC is coming out with teh tarik hook and 5 substandard cars you shouldn’t buy yet they still sold.

• nopatience on Sep 17, 2020 at 1:08 pm

i have been waiting since last year for x50. yet on a soft launching day the price still unrevealed & the cloud became darker to me. So i just booked Iriz.

• newme on Sep 17, 2020 at 5:07 pm

As like booking X50 is not dumb enough, you actually go one level up with Iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Sick & Tired on Sep 17, 2020 at 7:09 pm

People buy car of their preference up to them lah. Whats it to you their choice is not your liking? Did you pay for it? Whats wrong with you trying to dictate what others should and should not buy?

• LooseScrew on Sep 18, 2020 at 3:36 pm

The “newme” person may have experience unpleasant things since being a commenter in PT or maybe in real life, all related to Proton obviously – maybe being laid off by Proton, cheated by a Proton salesman or serviceman etc. If that’s true, it means that “newme” is actually a Proton user and have a deep love with it but having a hard time to admit due to the experience.

• Logical Deduction on Sep 18, 2020 at 7:51 pm

For that much personal hatred, it would have to be more deep seated than that, it would have to be something threatening his ricebowl level and that means he is just a competitor salesperson.

• Foo K F on Sep 17, 2020 at 4:54 pm

Price Price Price That is what everyone want to know !
    No point of talking so much about the goodies.

• Azman on Sep 17, 2020 at 7:29 pm

Orchid whithe is a solid or metallic colour?

• Julian desk on Sep 20, 2020 at 8:25 pm

All Proton’s colors scheme now are in Metallic finish. For white, they call it ‘Snow’ now. ‘Orchid’ term used by Honda. Snow white more vibrant, glossy, snowy smoother & more ‘atas’ than orchid white. Its up there amongst the best with luxury paints found on mazda & Lexus.
      https://s3.paultan.org/image/2020/09/Proton-X50-Colour-options.jpg

• Fahad mansoor on Sep 18, 2020 at 2:40 am

Nice car