2006 Nissan 350Z Facelift

Nissan has launched a facelift of it’s flagship sports car, the Nissan 350Z. It’s not just a facelift though, the new engine comes with some re-engineering that gives it a little more power and a nicer torque curve.

The new 2006 Nissan 350Z has a restyled bumper, new headlamps and tail lamps, new sports rims on the exterior. The interior has also been refreshed, with different materials used, more storage space, a speed sensitive power steering and Bluetooth phone integration with the sound system.

Under the hood, Nissan has updated it’s VQ35DE engine 3.5 litre DOHC V6 engine. The new VQ35DE revs higher, resulting in higher horsepower of 300ps at 6400rpm, up from the 280ps at 6200rpm previously. The redline is now 7000rpm instead of 6600rpm. However changes in the engine tuning caused a small torque drop to 353Nm, where it was perviously 363Nm. But the torque curve is different now, with more torque at the high revs than the previous engine. Other enhancements include new pistons, revised intake manifold, revised camshaft profile and variable exhaust valve timing.

0-100km/h times are lower by 0.1 seconds now, what used to take 5.9 seconds takes 5.8.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dksh1892 on Dec 17, 2005 at 4:04 pm

hmm…with those exterior 'facelifts'… to be frank.. i don't quite see much of a change here.. =S anyhoos..how would i know rite? not like i have the car to notice to slight changes on it.. =) ehehehe! cheers mate!

• cipanyellow on Dec 17, 2005 at 5:02 pm

look same to me, what about price?

• terion on Dec 17, 2005 at 5:55 pm

Hi Paul, I heard that the 350Z's engine is actually a Renault sourced one and not a Nissan's. Do you know if that's true?

• wth** on Dec 17, 2005 at 6:20 pm

a bit like porsche from the first look at the first pic..

• The VQ SHOULD be Nissan developed. I think the QR series was jointly developed with Renault. Anyone got more reliable info?

• hfrshah on Dec 17, 2005 at 7:23 pm

Dude those rims aren't new. They have always been offered as an extra-cost option in the UK

• Stevarac on Dec 17, 2005 at 7:45 pm

Don't know much about sports car , but the interior is dull and the seat colour …well just pretty Ah Beng to me.

BUT THEN , WHAT DO I KNOW….

Give a chance to do a few laps , then maybe my impression will change.

Yeah , in my dream.

AP king >> boleh pinjam kereta kah ??

• neurra on Dec 17, 2005 at 9:23 pm

swweeeet engineeee

• Quit Smoking on Dec 17, 2005 at 9:36 pm

Small refinements rather than big changes, it's a very nice car already so why change it a lot?

That's a UK plate too :)

• for 500k, not a car i'd buy. :D

• VQ engines existed for more than a decade. Rounding up in the "10 Best Engines of The Year" since year 1995.

In my opinion, the current 350Z (I'd rather its called Fairlady) is one of the most soul-less Japanese sports car. Its design doesn't echoe abit of Nissan heritage. The interior looked bland, or a pimped 80's interior. This is one of the worst designed cars from Nissan. But its a successful one, WHY? Designed by Americans, for the American market.

Silvia S15, Skyline GTR 34….. where are you guys?

Anyway, better than taking Renault designs….. hohoho

• Poor driver on Dec 18, 2005 at 2:55 am

whatever it is, 350Z will always be 'Poor man's Porsche'….hehehehe

• E-nabill on Dec 18, 2005 at 3:02 am

that oso called a face lift ah?? to me its 99.99% the same as the old one,nt that the old one was ugly,bt to label this as a facelift seems like a ripoff to me

• cbljkkj on Dec 18, 2005 at 5:08 am

I think the 350Z (Fairlady Z33) here costs bout Rm440,000. Apart from the minute exterior facelift, it is nice to see that Nissan has not forgotten the engine.

The car i'm looking forward to next year is Nissan's "rumoured" 4.5 liter engine which would most likely be a upped version of the 350Z called the 450Z. Fingers crossed!

• cbljkkj said,

December 17, 2005 @ 9:08 pm

I think the 350Z (Fairlady Z33) here costs bout Rm440,000. Apart from the minute exterior facelift, it is nice to see that Nissan has not forgotten the engine.

The car i’m looking forward to next year is Nissan’s “rumoured” 4.5 liter engine which would most likely be a upped version of the 350Z called the 450Z. Fingers crossed!

Fingers crossed!??!?!?! You actually thought of buying it? OMFG! I'd rather go Toyota Soarer/ Lexus SC430 rather than buying this 350Z. It doesnt look expensive, not to say it doesn't look like a RM500k car. it looked more or less RM300k to me.

• nissmo on Dec 18, 2005 at 8:28 am

what d hell aww com on guy's…..what facelift….where… your only convincing me even more that my skyline is 'GOD'

• cbljkkj on Dec 18, 2005 at 11:37 am

Bob

If you did a little more research, you would find that the suspension set-up on the Soarer is just horrible. The suspension is so soft that the only other competition is a marshmellow. It jumps around like a Jack Russell terrier and is quite possibly the most boring car I have ever seen.

That said the Soarer in my book does not even qualify as a RM500K car. Its also pretty obvious that you are a diehard Toyota fan.

If I were you I would get a proper Lexus like the IS350

• Sexythang on Dec 18, 2005 at 11:45 am

i thought the soarer is an old car…at least for the rest of the world. but even so…..the z and the lexus are diferent type of cars.

btw….isnt that z just like the anniversary version with an mild facelift interior?

• albagmane on Dec 18, 2005 at 7:51 pm

gosh.. no matter how well it is.. it is truly unaffordable to me.. sigh…

• Michael Chua on Dec 19, 2005 at 8:07 pm

Purely cosmetic. No extreme makeover certainly.

• terion on Dec 20, 2005 at 12:57 am

Hi Paul, did some google digging and found this from a review of Renault Laguna

"The Renault-Nissan alliance has brought us some great cars. What company do you think developed the 3.0-litre V6 engine found in the front of a Nissan 350Z?"

So it looks like the engine really came from Renault.

Source :http://uk.cars.yahoo.com/car-reviews/car-and-driving/renault-laguna-2.0-dci-150-1004931.html

• myhorng on Dec 20, 2005 at 1:01 am

Can u imagine there is an idiot actually comparing this car with our local Waja on its handlilng..?? damn stupid right.. like comparing an apple with a durian. WTF

• superman on Dec 21, 2005 at 3:53 am

The VQ 35 in the Nissans are based on the engine block of the 3.5 ltrs engine as used by Renault in the Avantime, Laguna and some other renault I forgot.

However Nissan added their own cranks, conrod pistons and Head design.

• AFAIK, the VQ series of engines are purely Nissan. Most of the technology shared moves one way, from Nissan to Renault.