2007 Volvo C30 Details

c30_1.jpg

Volvo has released details on the upcoming Volvo C30 hatchback set to be unveiled to the public at the Paris Motor Show in September 2006. The Volvo C30 is a sporty two-door hatch with a unique large glass tailgate which Volvo targets at young singles or couples with an intense urban lifestyle. The car is a four-seater, with the rear row having two individual seats with a gap in the middle. More details after the jump!

c30_2.jpg

This is basically Volvo’s Mazda3 hatch. From the front, the Volvo C30 retains the look that it’s siblings the S40 and V50 have, angled headlamps and a low wide grille. The rear lamp cluster has the typical Volvo L-shape, and these flank an unconventionally large glass tailgate. The large tailgate concept was first introduced on the Volvo Safety Car Concept (SCC). This might remind you of a hearse at first sight, but it does help with rear visibility. The individual rear seats are placed close together with a small gap in between for a more centered seating position so the rear occupants can have a better view of where the car’s going.

Engine options will be similiar to it’s S40 brethren, ranging from a 100 horses inline-4 1.6-litre petrol engine, an inline-4 1.6-litre diesel with 109 hp to inline-5 D5 and T5 turbo engines, providing 180 and 220 hp respectively.

Coming with true Volvo DNA, it naturally features a myriad of safety equipment. The Volvo C30 comes with BLIS (Blind Spot Information System), which helps the driver to identify another vehicle in the blind spot at the rear sides of the car. Other safety equipment includes the Whiplash Protection System, WHIPS, and a Side Impact Protection System with side airbags and the Inflatable Curtain, IC. You also have the standard issue normal airbags and safety belt tensioners. The car is equiped across the range with a good sound system, but there are options to upgrade to Volvo’s Premium Sound system, with a digital 5x130W ICE Power amplifier from Alpine featuring Dolby Pro Logic II Surround, and 10 loudspeakers from Danish Dynaudio.

Volvo hopes to sell 65,000 of the Volvo C30 a year Production begins end-2006.

c30_3.jpg

c30_4.jpg

c30_5.jpg

c30_6.jpg

c30_7.jpg

c30_8.jpg

c30_9.jpg

c30_10.jpg

c30_11.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Tracks (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 1:14 am

Generally it looks okay but the tailgate looks funny. Nothing fresh at the front as it could be seen on the S40. Interior looks neat and nice looking individual rear seats.

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 1:38 am

i didnt like it the first time i saw it. now i like it a lot. any info on the pricing? its a 2 door and usually a 2 door is more expensive than 4 door. could it be more expensive than the s40?

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 2:25 am

Really got superb sound system upgrades for this one.. wow… but only a hundred horses for a 1.6? hmmm…

• malayman (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 3:31 am

interesting design…yea the front doesnt look new but the back..thats really fresh from the market!

• drM (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 4:16 am

excellent..volvo first hatchback, if i am not mistaken. getting old oledi..heheheheheheh fantastic.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 4:37 am

Impressive……Astonishing.

Really a nice car.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 5:10 am

jtshin said,

July 26, 2006 @ 6:25 pm

Really got superb sound system upgrades for this one.. wow… but only a hundred horses for a 1.6? hmmm…

European engines had a very wide power band, a 100hp (1300rpm – 4400rpm) is many times more useful than a 140hp (6000rpm) engine. :)

This C30 is the first hatchback I'd reckon will have a good fight with VW's Golf if it were about styling. Most have been flops (BMW 1 Series…. bleh~~)

• szw (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 5:35 am

da car looks tempting

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 5:54 am

I think they can sell 65k a year. They were using common sense when placing the rear seats nearer so the kids can see where they are going without standing in the middle

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 6:07 am

agree wit u…i series is the ugliest car in its class…sorry for i series owner..but dat car…dsg is rubbish…this car looks good…izit a 2 door hatch for s40???

• familyman (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 6:50 am

huhu..

if i had the money, this certainly be the second car for the family.

a bit more fun if can get the turbocharged one.

buy for me… er..er.. for my wife i meant.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 1:25 pm

Wow, Volvo designers have really found their design language now. I love the C30's looks. It's fresh and very distinctive indeed.

And to have that glass tailgate just makes it even more attractive isn't it? Its like a normal hatch but with a stationwagon's practicality. What a wonderful and ingenious solution!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 3:21 pm

rear end is very sexyla…very unique dsg for rear end..i think when it come to bolehland…estimate around 160-180k la i think…izit??same standard as the beemer 1 er,merc A,vw golf and alfa 147 price…

• ckengyo (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 6:47 pm

is volvo going 2 offer awd c30R? it is a contradict concept of speed & safety. & it can target on vw golf r32 market segment. consumer will have another choice 4 awd hothatch. the best 4 publicity is 2 participated in fia wrc. so that certain number of the on road model have 2 build n sell like wrx or evo in order 2 met the homologous rule from wrc. now all we need 2 do is strike jackpot n wait 4 it 2 come true.

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 8:13 pm

hmmm….nice car overall….

• oec88 (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 2:21 am

The front and the side looking is great for me, but the backside…looks weird @@

Volvo C30 VS Proton Satria NEO.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 8:27 am

Of course Satria Neo wins…heheh

• december (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 8:02 pm

Yeah, Volvo is good and all, but the moment you gonna sell it after 2 years or so, the price drops like hell. My uncle's RM420k Volvo XC90 2.5 Turbo( quite unsure about the CC and all) is only going for RM150k, car is barely 2 years old. :|

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 29, 2006 at 6:03 am

i dunnola u guyz…but 4 me dun care much abt d secondhand value…cost it doesnt matter for me…i jz want to enjoy it and feel it…did u want to sacrifice ur need jz bcoz to care of the secondhand value thing…for me…no…anyway…jz my opinion…

• pbostic (Member) on Aug 23, 2006 at 4:49 pm

Okay here's the deal. I have been negotiating on a 2005 S40 for more than a week now. I currently drive a 2000 S40 with more than 204k. I believe that there's a reason, albeit it may be nirvana now that I've seen the C30, that I haven't purchased the car yet. I am luv'n this new C30, but I need a price. Anyone know???