2007 Daihatsu Materia

materia1.jpg

What’s this then, a mini Chrysler PT Cruiser? Daihatsu introduced the 2007 Daihatsu Materia at the 2006 Paris Motor Show, a little boxy mini-MPV-like wagon vehicle which is also known as the Daihatsu Coo or the Toyota bB in other parts of the world. The bB Concept was introduced as a preview to the successor to the Scion xB, a popular wagon sold in the US under Toyota’s Scion arm. While it might look terribly boxy and Gundam-ish to us, the Scion xB has proven to be quite popular in the US.

While the first generation Scion xB used Toyota’s 2NZ-FE 1.3 litre and 1NZ-FE 1.5 litre, power for this successor comes from either a 1.3 litre K3-VE engine, or a 1.5 litre 3SZ-VE, the same Daihatsu-based engines being offered in our local Toyota Avanza. This shows Toyota is moving towards using Daihatsu engines for it’s low displacement models across the board, whether the model is Daihatsu or Toyota originated.

Some models of the Daihatsu Coo in Japan has four wheel drive options, but it’s not clear to me right now whether the European Daihatsu Materia will have 4WD or not. Daihatsu expects to build about 1,000 units per month.

materia2.jpg

materia3.jpg

materia4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• u5 (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 12:34 am

weird back, it sports rear lights which looks like a front of a car … perhaps the rear lights would make a better front for this mini monster. the back looks awkwardly out of proportion, thankgod this is produced by daihatsu which would easily get away with critics. had it been a msian made,this poor machine would never have been spared the harsh words…,

• jtshin (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 12:56 am

Well, surprisingly, I like this type of boxy cars.. Toyota bB, Scion xB… now this Materia looks awesome too. the rear looks ok after few glimpse.. first look u'll feel strange but after a while its still not bad..

• infinity (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 1:16 am

yup..couldn't agree more with jtshin…look a few more times, and it'll look better…jz like when savvy was launched..it looks terrible..but now..(as for me la)..it looks great!!hahaha..

okok..back to this car..it looks aggresive, solid and modern..interior is both nice and practical..there r cup holders on all 4doors and another 2 more at the same position as where it's in the MyVi..

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 1:22 am

yet another potential p2 rebadge.

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 3:41 am

Nice looking little box on wheels. But, how in the world it get that arse? It kinda spoil the overall look of it for me. Are they running out of idea when designing the rear end? It is so out of propotion, not inline with the overall design at all.

I can feel the cheapness on the dashboard. It looks very plasticky to my eyes. I guess every car maker in the world are opting for cheaper materials i.e cutting more cost in the production since everything else is going up.

Anyway, good collaboration between Daihatsu and Toyota.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 3:48 am

EErrr,,…A "new" PERODUA "model in the making" perhaps…looks boxy..but looks kind of spacy too…..wonder what name will P2 give 2 this one…?

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 3:51 am

Weirdest design…can be Kenari RM?

• engtaokia (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 3:52 am

let me give the name: PERODUA MATERIALISTIK !!! :D

shape are kinda boxy, but very practical in everyday driving.

• asimo (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 4:16 am

kereta mayat ooooooooooooooooooooooo

• DtG (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 5:05 am

asimo, i agree that it could be a hearse if it was a little bit longer… boxes on wheels are appearing everywhere now…

• jtshin (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 5:06 am

if u think this is ugly, go n hv a look at Nissan Micra older version.. urgh.. its quite erm.. ugly for me.. but many ppl driving it in the UK.. cos its cheap.. so as long as the car's quality is acceptable and its cheap.. ppl will drive…

• szw (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 5:18 am

kenari ?

lolz !

• demio121 (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 6:06 am

except for the so "imaginative" steering, the interior is very nice. this car is availa ble here will have a cult following.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 6:21 am

will b nice and brutal in black..

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 6:34 am

This is a weird looking car… especially when seen from the rear.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 6:53 am

Paul,

When can we expect Daihatsu Sonica Turbo 660cc 2/4WD to get here (i dont like Materia). Can you please give me a ballpark figure as to how much this car will cost (in Ringgit Malaysia).

If its below RM55K (or 58K for 4WD version), i may seriously consider getting one.

• Paul Tan on Oct 09, 2006 at 7:06 am

MyBoy, unfortunately, likely never. Your best bet would be to ask Naza, they might be able to import one at Honda Jazz-like prices.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 7:12 am

What? Honda Jazz-like prices? Proud to be Malaysian!

Mission failed! ;D

_

Paul,

Wonder why Perodua do not bring in the 660cc Turbo engine for any of its cars. Any clue?

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 7:16 am

Why Daihatsu Malaysia do not bring one instead? I dont mind if its 60K. But Honda Jazz-like prices is utterly insane. ;)

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 7:40 am

Ops! it seems the blog do not imidiately updated, so i have posted my second message because i thought my first post is not being sent.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 4:40 pm

That is one big car. The brake lamps could use some redesigning though, looks like somebody wasn't paying attention while building the car. I do like the name though, Materia, reminds me of Final Fantasy VII !

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 4:59 pm

Funky!!! I love it!!! :D

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 5:14 pm

the nissan cube looks cool too. i like boxy cars too. spacious and looks different. but i do agree that the rear looks weird.

if p2 brings in the car, they'll surely re-design it to give it some local flavour and i'm sure it'll look better than the original. even some british and singaporean journalists say our myvi looks better than the original so i'm quite confident of a good re-design by the p2 ppl!

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 8:09 pm

spacious!!.. i wudn't care much about the boxy design.. turn it black, can be a mafia's car…or kereta mayat…or death car from hell…

• sooaun (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 8:31 pm

man… i love square cars too…

• neurra (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 10:37 pm

hmm.. somehow it attracts me.. as a boombox car that is..

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 11:44 pm

" Chi Kow shin "

Wonder who is going to buy such a car ?

Saw a smart car the other day, it is one of the stupiest car I ever seen, but this is worst. :)

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 10, 2006 at 7:27 pm

anyone noticed dat it has 2 holes for exhaust pipes when it only has one?

• wanto on Nov 04, 2009 at 12:40 am

mane nak cari kereta ini saya minat gila…