Proton-Volkswagen talks are OFF!

[ UPDATE: The talks between Proton and Volkswagen have been called off, but why? Click here for the inside scoop. ]

The verdict is out – Proton and Volkswagen are not tying up together in a partnership that involves stake transfer.

Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop says the earlier plan for Proton to have a foreign strategic partner was no longer applicable as circumstances have changed.

Proton has shown clear improvement in the recent months, including significantly improved sales figures and a popular new model. It will also be launching the new BLM soon, the long awaited People’s Car replacement for the ageing Proton Saga, which despite its age has also become a sales success in recent months thanks to the new Merdeka promotion pricing. The new Saga will come in 2008. There is also an MPV in the works for a 2009 launch.

Consumer confidence in Proton have also been slowly restored, though Proton has a long way to go in that area. Other improvements that the government noted include improving overseas ventures – Proton has had dealings with Iran and China recently. It exported 5,000 Wajas to Iran with plans for GEN2 assembly there, and negotiated a rebadging deal with China’s Jinhua Youngman for them to sell GEN2 cars there under the Europestar badge.

Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop says Volkswagen did not walk away from the negotiation, and there was no breakdown in talks. Volkswagen was disappointed in the government (Khazanah)’s decision to pull out of the talks, but respected its decision.

The government does not rule out the possibility of future strategic alliances with foreign partners, but only at a more appropriate time and when Proton is in a stronger negotiating position. And from what the public can see at least, Proton looks like it is on its way to that position.

Youngman to sell Proton GEN2 in China badged as Europestar
Proton exports 5,000 Waja taxis to Iran

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• soporific (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 5:35 pm

proton for the win! w00t!

• Infinitt (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 5:39 pm

As expected. Syabas Proton!!

• Hikaru (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 5:41 pm

Proton is not doing business. When their models don’t sell again, who will buy them then?

Must be protecting certain ppl……

Disappointed just sums it up.

• ENZO (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 5:48 pm

if [Proton-Volkswagen talks are OFF!]
    how bout Proton-Nissan or Proton-Toyota
    OR even Proton-Mitsubishi

• zarieq (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 5:51 pm

as usual proton become bigger head just because sales is up. good for u proton keep it up. when blm comes out n sales not good then you’ll be running back to vw for help

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 5:55 pm

zarieq, i think you’re barking up the wrong tree. no point blaming proton. i dont think its their decision anyway.
    “the government (Khazanah)’s decision to pull out of the talks, but respected its decision.”

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 5:56 pm

as expected lah, but nvm, still got a lot of company out there…..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 5:57 pm

I heard some talk maybe VW wanted to rebadge Savvy/BLM for China market. Maybe now Proton will do it themselves with Jinhua Youngman and all.

• scouser (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:00 pm

There goes our chance to see cheaper VW cars

• owaief (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:01 pm

expected

• Paul Tan on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:01 pm

For those who want cheaper VW cars, I am sure VW will go around looking for another contract assembler – if they ever intended to start CKD production of VW cars here in Malaysia in the first place.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:01 pm

It was a ridiculous fantasy anyway, to see maybe Polo Sedan or something at around Persona or even Honda City pricing.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:02 pm

at last it was off…there is pro n cons for this matter…wutever it is i hope proton will not stop developing new quality car in the future…hope we malaysian give them chance to do thing right…they doing it right now i think

• blazerSST (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:03 pm

I hope theydon’t bloody get big headed and egoistic and think they don’t need to buck up their act, then i hope they get forcefully taken over.

• NiceCar (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:07 pm

emmm… when market not good then keep negotiate with VW.. now market slight improve then wanna withdraw?
    anyway.. wish P1 good luck in the future.. and let the time to judge it.. =P

• Xoomie (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:07 pm

Oh my Proton Passat is gone now..!

• proton12vauto (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:10 pm

congrats proton.

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:21 pm

YES!! YES!, PROTON can now partner the IRANIANS in creating a new ISLAMIC CAR. That will certainly take the world by STORM!!

• Skyline (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:23 pm

I am happy to hear that. Lets together develop & support Proton. Proton boleh!!

• tariq (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:27 pm

sheesh…

• mycam (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:31 pm

expected,look at the current situation in malaysia,VW decided cabut-dulu

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:32 pm

Ha.. ha.. ha… lets see how proton fairs… Take a look at the BLM.. its hideous.. Persona may be doing good now, but is that enough? we shall see then.. Never had much faith in proton.

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:41 pm

yay! let’s leave the dying company… dead! better take some few looks on the thundercat logo before they vanish in years to come…

• Cire (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:43 pm

Ppl., with election coming around the corner, the one chip that the G banks on is the support of the ppl in gettin it restored to the majority. If VW were to be in, a lot of interest will be lost, and this may make the ppl’s support to the G to be lost. Its simple as that. So, I guess the next step would be to tighten up the APs, strangle the free way for importing of cars, and then find other non-automotive ways to generate FDIs.
    If VW were to take hold of proton, both states will have loose out a lot on job opportunities and work. This will translate into unemployment and many many influential folks to suffer massive lost in their already way-of-life benefits.
    If the bug buckeroos here backed out of support to the G, the latter will definitely fail in the g.election to come.
    So, the rationale for the walk-out is to build up proton ourselves but the msian way…pay 100bucks to get 50buckeroos worth of goods, but nevermind, at least you still have a job/lifestyle that one cannot afford to loose now..the many porsche outthere need more fuel to run around, so more rakyat monies need to be doped out from them..
    Well, syabas. Lets take a really slow stroll around the park…

• acbc (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 6:51 pm

As expected… the G will never let foreigners control Proton. It is either they come here and manage it or shut up. So much arrogance for a company that almost went into bankruptcy a couple of months back.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 7:06 pm

Finally, we need to get this moving. I said it before, they had guts pushing the new product out when still in talks with VW. Now our own people don’t get bullied by some Ultra Rightist in fatigues! If you think there is arrogance, you have not seen them when they band together. Nationalist. I work for the past 8 years and I know. We sweat and take our time off from families and they go back to an expat package and would NEVER let us go up the career ladder. While in their hearts they are so afraid we can easily take their place and be so bl00dy more efficient at it too!

It pays to be at the edge! Proton has got to learn that in this open market. It takes guts to shove off the Germans. No matter what people say.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 7:13 pm

Well, I’ve said it before, history does repeat itself. Before it was the bridge, now this. Nonetheless, both are crucial decision in the best interest of the country. It is an absolute absurdity to accept all terms from foreigners who have little intentions of working together for the benefits of both parties. This is the right decision, keep on marketing agressively because there are still many countries out there who are keen on Proton cars. Perhaps Proton should create a R&D dept on marketing as well.

• aripson (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 7:22 pm

Really sad, sad news to hear today…

Having VW with Proton shall entitled us for VW’s advanced tech in automotive. I’ve heard that Proton is aiming for TDi tech, but VW said no! –due to synergy drive ability to produce a lot of biodiesel (later on, of course!)– but what the heck! There’s FSI and TFSI. I want those to be in Proton’s car. Not Campro which has no cam-profile-shifting!

What a waste of time for us anticipating good result out of the VW-Proton talk. What kind of ‘wayang’ is this?

• cetakbaju (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 7:22 pm

thumbs up proton

• mytouch (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 7:25 pm

When ther car sales are slightly getting better,they will bcome bit “head win”,plus can so incrediblely predict the future will go bright & wonderful,even not yet knowing how d Europestar badge will perform ar European countries…& if something gone wrong,then they will start the long “Soup Opera” with another car maker company…waliao…but luckly,i bet most of d people never put so much hope for this negotiation b4…only sad story is,we never gona get d chance to own a cheaper VW car…haiz…

• kington (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 7:28 pm

Well there are pros and cons to this but given the current circumstances, i can only hope that we wrap the Proton story and begin afresh.

Forging an alliance with VW will of course benefit Proton a lot, but since the Khazanah has decided not to sell their stake to VW, i believe the future seems stark for Proton. True, once sold, it’s gonna be lost, but i don’t see the Spanish people complaining about SEAT, nor did the Czechs complain about the loss of Skoda.

Hyundai is perhaps the best example we can learn from. Started almost in a same manner like Proton with its collaboration with Mitsubishi, the automotive manufacturing arm have grown heaps and bounds, with plants all over the world, though not as many as GM and Toyota.

I believe there will always be a lil patriotism left in us no matter how much we disagree with the decisions made by the government but in times when Proton is struggling to make things work vis-a-vis 10 years ago when every new car you see is a Proton, i’d have agreed to the sale to VW.

They are now too dependant on the sales of the antique Saga to reap sales and achieve high turnover figures but the production ratio is heavily imbalanced. The Persona is selling pretty well but if they can only depend on these 2 models to turn things around, i think it’s gonna take quite a lot to do so. Perodua’s models have been selling consistently well and the fact that the Viva is only approx. 3000 units shy of the MyVi in September sales figures speaks volume.

I wish Proton all the best but i just can’t see myself getting another Proton after my first experience back in 1995.

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:09 pm

no idea why people think it’s arrogant of Proton to not have a partnership with VW.
    even more so why they assumed Proton was the one who pulled out (it was clearly stated in the article).

like some have mentioned, there are pros and cons to this issue.
    i personally think that it is a good move for Proton to be confident in itself and trying hard to work things out on its own, rather than being dependent on a foreign company.
    on the other hand, they shouldn’t be so cocky and think that they could create profit based solely on the Persona (and the upcoming BLM), or the Saga, even.

now that they’re not having a partnership with VW, they should prove to the general public that they are able to create profit, develop new technologies and produce quality cars, all on their own.
    let’s just hope that they will do just that and not go looking for a new partner if they failed.

• indigo (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:14 pm

What a bummer. Proton is not even 10% of Hyundai. China is strong now, lets see what Proton will do next. I do see Indian car is upgrading. Tata Indica is not really a bad idea, although it looks ugly but then still it is the country’s pride.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:20 pm

#
    maibatsu_thunder said,

November 20, 2007 @ 5:57 pm

I heard some talk maybe VW wanted to rebadge Savvy/BLM for China market. Maybe now Proton will do it themselves with Jinhua Youngman and all.

proton should allowed Jinhua Youngman to rebadge all their model from waja until new BLM..if it sell well,proton can reach economy of scale.get more money and invest more in RnD but with effectiveness and efficiency.dont take too much time to introduce their new technology.

future market are hard to predict plus with increasing fuel price.i hope proton can sustain in domestic and open market outside the country.proton must move faster if they want to sustain.if not,they will regret with this decision and they already dig their own grave.

• haroldz (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:20 pm

cant wait 4 the market reaction 2 tis
    after proton will announce some profit thus driving the share price higher.

in long term, proton will suffer again as they r very slow to adapt new automobile technologies.
    mayb they will adapt SPACE TECHNOLOGY in future models
    yippeee!!

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:25 pm

WHATTTT???????? It’s not possible. Just because proton is improving this doesn’t mean it should not stop looking for partners, i mean vw is a good co. to get along with.

• benkenobi19 (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:25 pm

An increase in sales is enough to make the government happy! But do Proton has advanced car making technologies? I think the decision not to form an alliance with Volkswagen is stupid.

Proton: Hey, the car sales have increased! We have new model coming out next year. Yippee, hurray! The future is very bright for us! VW, goodbye! Soon Proton will dethrone Toyota, Benz, Ford, Honda and you VM, to become the best auto-maker in the world! Malaysia boleh! Boleh………

Ha, let’s hope Proton do not go back to Volkswagen when the sales drop again.

Proton: Hello, we need a foreign partner. Are you interested, VM? Or you, General Motors. How about you, PSA Peugeot Citroen? What do you think, Mitsubishi?

• bmx (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:39 pm

Hahaha, Proton will slowly die now….there is no fundamental value in Proton, either technical or business.

VW is smart by setting tough requirements for any merger, which our politicians cannot agree and then so called ‘pull out’…..

• kingglim (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 8:40 pm

“Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop says Volkswagen did not walk away from the negotiation, and there was no breakdown in talks. Volkswagen was disappointed in the government (Khazanah)’s decision to pull out of the talks, but respected its decision.”…What a crap talk is that lah, as if Proton is almighty powerful??? More like powderful to me!!!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 9:15 pm

Oh yeah that’s it ?????? Just like that ??????

I absolutely have no problem whether the Proton-VW affair is going to be happy ending or eventually just crash and burn as what most people presumed. But what pissed me-off is when someone lied. No conscience and no sense of responsibility but only a bullshite.
    So what’s all about these few days back when they said something like this:
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/11/16/the-edge-proton-vw-moi-to-be-signed-soon/

As our friends said, this new outcome of Proton-VW saga might have pros and cons but to me it’s more than that. Now, all has been proved and revealed that….. The EDGE is a fcuking big liar. Shame on you MF !!

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 9:17 pm

what the..im flabergasted. Not PROfessional at alL. Im a lot of ways from noth of them. WAste of time.

• altis_fan (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 9:24 pm

I really respect Proton’s decision, because it shows confidence. No need to depend on other manufacturer to succeed, and always think Proton Boleh!
    Now Proton has its own engine which is the most key element in the car. Just further improvement for better power and torque plus fuel consumption, off course not to forget the shape of car following what people want and with other safety features. I think Malaysians have many creative ideas how to make car better with some electronic gadgets, etc. Persona has already shown great success, so keep it up.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 9:33 pm

proton have to remember that increase in their car sales not only because of their latest car,but also without the protection in automotive industry..i dont know what happen to proton if this protection will be remove.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 9:50 pm

benkenobi19 said,
    November 20, 2007 @ 8:25 pm

Proton: Hello, we need a foreign partner. Are you interested, VM? Or you, General Motors. How about you, PSA Peugeot Citroen? What do you think, Mitsubishi?
    ————–
    This is the best statement to describe Proton having an “onn-off-affair” with other parties!

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 9:51 pm

Well, its not so much on sales alone but thought the Proton-VW deal was to help improve the aspect of R&D. I feel this is a great lost to Proton when all “established” car makers world-wide are looking at new technology in car especially when fuel prices are rocketing. These manufacturers are designing hybrid cars with fuel cells and some of them are looking at alternative fuels.

Here at home, we are still looking at sales? I guess we Malaysian are not looking at the big picture. Guess we have first world plans, but when executing, we become put on our third world mentality.

• edmund_lee83 (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 9:51 pm

HAIH~ When can Proton be shut down . Please shut down Proton lah. Useless company . see the Persona? ugly design ever. close down no need foreign company buy. better!!!!!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 9:52 pm

Now Proton enter into “MEMORANDUM OF PULL OUT COCK TALK” with VW!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:00 pm

Seem like make Protonomic decision as GE is “very near”!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:02 pm

Doesn’t sound good for our domestic long term sustainable auto sector growth as NAP/AP protective policies won’t stimulate competitiveness.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:06 pm

Toyota selling approximately 20,000 units car per day, yet some of their models chasis are in collaboration with other auto maker! What a big deal with Proton sales at approximately 300 units per day and already (through Khazanah) call off the tie up talk with VW?

• Andrewsiao (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:08 pm

Very dissapointed at the decision make by our government. I was so excited when hearing the joint venture with VW is almost completed because finally I thought I had a chance to enjoy better quality car. So let us all go down together with Proton to the bottom of the sea like Titanic. No change! No hope! Forever force to buy low quality car with high price. :-(

• ah liew (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:15 pm

Maybe Proton wants VW to indicate the ” halal ” sign on the cars… he! he! thats why the talks are OFF! Turns me off too! heheh…..

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:18 pm

If hypothesize Proton is 51% own by VW, Iran can’t granted Proton Islamic car status anymore!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:42 pm

This must a way of G gimic to prove to it’s loyalty cronies that they still help their own people, hoping to get more financial help for the next election… If u have a common sense, do u think Proton can survive without NAP, open market? And what technology Proton have? Lotus handling? Campro? VIM + CPS?

Do u know the VW 1.4L TSI super twin charge engine already win so many awards.. until now i dont even see any technology by proton are awarded by international… Jangan hangat-hangat tahi ayam, tot now persona sales good then say goodbye to VW. Later when real open market, then i gonna see someone offering RM1 to foreign to take over…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 10:58 pm

#
    Ralliace said,

November 20, 2007 @ 9:51 pm

Well, its not so much on sales alone but thought the Proton-VW deal was to help improve the aspect of R&D. I feel this is a great lost to Proton when all “established” car makers world-wide are looking at new technology in car especially when fuel prices are rocketing. These manufacturers are designing hybrid cars with fuel cells and some of them are looking at alternative fuels.

Here at home, we are still looking at sales? I guess we Malaysian are not looking at the big picture. Guess we have first world plans, but when executing, we become put on our third world mentality.

——————————-

Yup! i agree wif u about the big picture! If u see the above news, they say only see the condition now good then cancel it but how about next year or 5 years later if the fuel price rocket up sky high? If u see the pace of Proton moving in technology, can they match honda like the new FCX or even hybrid system? Even Turbo diesel engines also dont have… The only car i seen is built for the future is the EVE which is still a prototype… I think they should reconsider about it.

• cyborgx (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 11:09 pm

LOL!

As expected Proton-VW deal will not materialize. I know it is a waste of time and people still putting hope on Proton. Move on people! Nobody’s gonna drive Proton if they can afford a better car.

• Raphael (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 11:12 pm

.Is Malaysia doomed to loose?

• alique (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 11:21 pm

Whatever u guys say. I prefer own local product. Dun wan waste my money for stupid expensive spare part. Anyway, i really cant wait the very 1st Proton MPV’s. (not Juara)

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 11:28 pm

YES.

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 11:40 pm

Sometimes it’s also good for VW.

Imagine, GERMANs (efficient and effective) mind-set mix with a bunch of INCOMPETENT clowns working at the PROTON PLANTS.

I say ‘LUCKY’ VW.

• renyeo (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 11:45 pm

Tying up with Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and backing his new Islamic car is as sure as sending the Proton brand to its grave earlier. Watch this space. The end is near for Proton. The West starts to shun the brand…

VW certainly doesn’t need Proton.

• bmx (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:04 am

Be prepared everybody, the only way Proton can survive alone is to SUCK LOCAL BLOOD MORE and MORE…..

Let see what POLICY is being introduced SOON so that you all can ONLY afford to drive Proton….HAHAHAHA…..padan muka

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:13 am

After all these long long years, the deal is off… I wonder is proton will chnage their models every 5 years like all other auto manufacturers? Are we going to see the new improved engine every 5 years? So, when we got the money for R&D for new model and new engine, I really don’t want to see the same model and same engine use for years and years…I want to see new Persona model and new Persona engine on next 5 years…

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:14 am

A better engine with higher power output but also better FC…

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:30 am

What improvement? PROTON SAGAs are still in production!

• MicroKiller (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:41 am

Well.. time will tell if this was a good or bad decision. I was quite skeptical at first about the entire deal with the rumors on all the conditions tht vw requested. If those rumors regarding the 20 to 30% stake with the G supporting the losses for the first 3 years and etc..are true then calling off this deal would be the most logical one. But if those wonderful Big shots at proton dont buck up their act.. then it will prove to be a huge mistake in the future. I jst hope tht they start producing real cars.. abt the probable new MPV… i hope its nothing like wht they launched last time.. tht model tht looks like a Loaf of Bread.. i cant even remember the name.. But anyhow.. the decision is made….

Given a new life line… lets see how proton will use it.

• skywalkers (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:47 am

No matter what happened, i still pray and hope that proton can keep continuos improving and increasing the quality standard of the cars and reduce the vehicles price. Please don’t make any cut and paste like what happened to the New Waja Campro 2007…don’t simply change just because you want it to look different…. in fact i think it looks more ugly which i still cannot accept.

I hope Proton are able to produce a car which is affordable by malaysian, and meantime increase their quality requirement and control on the vehicles. We don’t want to pay RM50~70k for local car which has a bad quality, which a has non-solid sound when the door closed, which has some funny sound in the dashboard (wira)…..

• ob8 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:03 am

im disapointed. hugely. the man behind the decisions certainly are Mr L and becoming Mr big heads just because of slight increase in activity of p1 cars of late. i hope the sales fall by midle of next year and sack that big head looser. the readers of paultanorg will hold signboards ‘we told you so’ at vw showroom at jalan pinang.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:03 am

Just like government, One kind buruk siku

• shooter (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:06 am

i sure as hell hope Khazanah/the G or whoever it was that pulled the plug on the negotiations, knows what the hell their doing! Going it alone is not the way forward as demonstrated by other global players, it pays to be part of a group/team. after the setbacks and losses P1 have brought upon themselves, this decision , in my opinion, is poor.

• azrai (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 6:37 am

“The EDGE! The most reliable source for your business needs.” Kaput. I think in one hand it’s a good move but in the other it’s a bad move by our G. Cronies as the vendor are protected again and again. Hmmm.I thank god because the VW parts if used in our Protons will become more expensive to maintain just like the Savvy. As a Malaysian we like to see Proton not only survive but strive in tyhe market right. I hope it will follow GLC’s like MAS and Time to make profit again without blood sucking the rakyat.

• coolguru (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:35 am

Let’s see if our PM may intervene to say, oh, hang in there! The talks may still be on… You know how quick our words can the twisted and over-ride!

Anyway, if short term gains means a turning point to Proton, it won’t be long to see where and when they screw up again!

Bottom line, if we consumer aren’t convince they alone will work (i.e. you don’t buy Proton), how on earth they can convince themselves that their models work?

I’m not being bias to Proton, in fact my first car was Proton! But if you ever get in touch with their equipment manufacturers you’ll then realise the cost-quality they’re talking about — even AirAsia may need to learn from them!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:43 am

I told you all before right! The News from The Edge is Bullshit just wanna to Boost the SHARE price up. I think Many ppl BURNT their hands due to this news.

PROTON VW, 20%? No logic, Now they blame the G, what a Story Maker.

• acbc (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:41 am

Now everyone knows… The Edge is merely a marketing tool to further increase Proton share value… nothing else and thus cannot be trusted ever again!

• neo2 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:42 am

I’m not surprised after following this P1-VW tie talks for months, if I recall correctly. In order to intelligently cover the real reasons behind the call-off, many speculative ideas are posed by fellow forumers. Despite the possible trueness and verification of the said conspiracy at this very and sensitive moment, period, we cannot deny the accumulating doubts of the decision made by G through K, which in fact clouding the judgement of such. Given the short-term success and questionable sustainable sales of P1, one would ponder the strategic planning for 5 or 10 years to come. Personally, no offence, the fast-selling of the long due Iswara is attributed to its unjustifiable selling price, in the sense that others would not foreseen its consequences. For instance, the heavily discounted Iswara is causing its second hand value to plunge like share market. P2 and any car makers would love to cut down their selling price but ask yourself the very same question, does it do any good to your owned car now? Or just bcoz P1 is manipulating the protective umbrella shielded by G makes it invincible? Takes our uni for instances, when it fell off top 200, does our G or ministry do any constructive measures to improve, instead of giving bullshit excuses? I’m sitting back and relaxing myself to watch the mighty P1 rises from ashes and wonder when the end would arrive to judge its arrogance and pompteous.

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:44 am

erm…

i wonder what are the collaboration terms that made such a hassle…
    does anyone knows?

über alles, Viel Glück Proton!

• rexis (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:47 am

Why sell our national car/pride if we have the option to keep it going? Maybe this is disagree by a portion of malaysian but i think at least we do not need to carry a german brand on our national car! Driving a proton logo around with the tag “Engineered by VW” is no fun at all.

Dont dream about getting those award winning technology at a cheap price, VW are not stupid and they wanna make profit too. And in the end we would end up with some very ordinary car with ordinary engine.

Proton should learn how to walk properly first before learning how to fly, first they should make their campro with a campro and make it very reliable. Job done.

We shall talk about TDI and biofuel only after they are able to make proper car.

• narrowband (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:47 am

Why am I not surprised? All that false hope and false reporting a few months earlier indicating that an alliance was in the pipeline… now everything turned out just the way I had earlier expected.

Frankly, I don’t believe half of what’s reported, especially the press statements apparently ‘quoted’ from the VIPs. VW didn’t walk out, no breakdown in talks? Only they would know. Proton’s too arrogant to let up.

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:53 am

No surprises here. Proton better keep it’s act up or risk embarassing itself again.

• ctawyong (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:56 am

(Volkswagen was disappointed in the government (Khazanah)’s decision to pull out of the talks, but respected its decision). LOL respect their decision!!! i think they want to pull out at the first place if they know proton its like this ( no future)!!!! when do proton learn how to manage and make a car like others( still want to do in their own way that prove failure)!!! after all this 22years and they come out with a persona and proud with it!!! it should be a shame!! why proton want to climb a ladder with all this small step!! while other ppl take a big leap and success!!!

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:58 am

THE EDG3 is b**lsh*t……..Leela Barr*ck is crap……..The most trusted TABLOID in the country………….kah kah kah, crap………

Have u all read The Edge online this morning…….??? Not a single news on Proton……..kah kah kah……..maybe the turtle is hiding its ugly red face………

• wildthingz (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:01 am

good dicission by proton now they going to have talk with iranian and built the first nuclear powered sedan what they call halal car yessss i must get one its fuel saver but if accident then the whole country exploded hahahaha anyway i agreee with u proton vw only want to take advantage on our market better talk with iranian then talk to europian maybe someday proton can build its own bumble bee…….

• zanggief (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:04 am

This is the normal way.. Our hope to get some ‘Proton’ golf, polo or passat no more. If the sales drop again which player still interested on that? I don’t think other player still want to buy them.

• Apathy (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:11 am

ewwwww bercinta lama giler, heboh satu Malaya, akhirnya tak jadi kahwin. Buat malu saja. ewwwwww just based on the current Persona sales figure and projected expectation of future BLM, Khaznah decided not to nikah these two love birds? just plain sucks excuses. i wonder what are P1 strategy on how to spread their lil spawns across d world………..wait after 2009 (possibility of MyFirstProtonMPV arr?) ewwwwwww yuck.

• Apathy (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:17 am

ewwwww sampai bila P1 mau dilindungi arr? Are we expecting more measures like higher price tag for imported cars in d near future? —– expect after bulan 3 (pilihanraya?) 2008? ewwwww Big Bro sucks.

• rosdi (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:22 am

Good.. good.. I believe this is purely business matter. The germans want proton at dirt cheap price.. let us show them that they need us as much as we need them.

Bravo Govt.

• moha774 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:25 am

I think what the Gov. meant is that, maybe the term and condition imposed by VW right now is not in favour of Proton and Khazanah, since the company’s current market standing. So the best thing to do is to back out in polite way and infact the Gov. never say that the the door is shut tight on finding foreign alliance, but not until Proton is strong enough financially so that the other party cannot dictate the T & C on shareholding and all. Futher more the Gov. now sees that Proton – Lotus cooperation is going toward more technology transfer for new Proton car models unlike before where the emphasise more on ride and handling, and supposely more to come.

Its technology transfer that matters and its one of the basis when they first went into talking about finding an alliance. I wont be surprise that next time more and more engine that has been design by collaboration between Lotus and other manufacturer make its way into Proton cars just like Lotus is having right now… a Toyota engine with Supercharger designed by Lotus… who knows…

• Dogster (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:34 am

A scam by the gov! Plot to drive the shares up. ITs tumbling now! Die proton! I was really hoping for more injection of technology into this overprotected country! Bloody hell!….>>>>>>>>>>>.

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:44 am

VERY DISAPPOINTED…

the VW alliance will bring a lot of changes to our automotive industry… having the marketing power and R&D knowhow of engines and chassis from VW will increase Proton’s export potential… without any additional export potential, Proton will only be a jaguh kampung as the max 25million population in Msia will not be able to sustain its growth… they have not even think of our 9 yrs car loan… which makes our market to be even more saturated by a few years later…

we dont have enough ppl to buy cars, we dont have wages high enough due to inflation to buy cars, we have ppl stuck in 9 yrs loan and will not buy another car in 9 yrs time, we dont have enough roads in the city to support all the cars, we dont have enough money to pay the tolls, we dont have enough money to pay for fuel (which war crisis could bring it to 2x or 3x the current level)…

without any export potential, we wont be able to break free from our protection based market… as proton will be too dependent on our own ppl to buy the car… we shd export upwards, not downwards… exporting to 1st world countries and oil-rich middle east countries should be our target… not china or iran as taxis… these are not long term income… these are more like a one-off income…

• ezralimm (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:24 am

Kudos to proton. Im sure there is a reason to why khazanah withdrew from the talks.

Our 20 yr old car company is starting to stand up on it’s own two feet. Couldnt yet run with the big boys, but at least it can walk…

For now, proton is making cars that arent on the bleeding edge of technology, but they are reasonably priced for what they offer. Similar cars of foreign brands are more hi-tech, but even without NAP, in a fair-tax scenario, they will be more expensive than proton’s offerings.

• szw (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:30 am

those ppl jz think about current situation , like proton is goin to stay dis way 4ever .
    nvr think a head wan.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:35 am

Sh*t.. The Proton share now dropped from 4.94 to 4.52 this morning at around 10.30am. Hope every people quickly sell the Proton share, when the price all collapse then VW or other manufacturers will come and ask want to sell or not? lolz…

• KL-ATR (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:37 am

Expected. After Khazanah managed to finally SQUEEZE DIGI into buying TdC’s 3G license for a blooming 650M when TdC only paid 50M for it, their head have got bloated. They think they can squeeze a few B out of VW by breaking off talks now. Improving situations are just an excuse. 25,000 cars can turn them around after losing so many B?

• azolkipl (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:23 am

All I want for christmas was a locally made TSI engined car. Sigh… sigh…
    Oh well, maybe we can convince VW to open an assembly plant in Malaysia again. I mean, look at the kind of incentives we give out. Oh wait, The Phillipines and Thailand give better incentives. Oh yes, let’s bank on political stability then, and convince VW we will never have a revolt, because our ‘rakyat’ are mostly cowards, and won’t ever go against the govt. F00k that.. this Sux

• megahyper (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:29 am

wow. paultan.org getting patrolled by proton/(vested interest) cybertrooper by the minutes. bravo proton, at least you win a war at one front – the blogging front.hehe.

Before the news, i dont hear any such stupid comment like as expected, i know already la, was expected. After the news, so many tok bomoh suddenly appear. They saw it in their crystal ball that Proton would turnaround even before it actually do, and thus they also foresaw the govt. move. We are such a great bomoh country.

• in_put (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:31 am

I doubt other carmakes would want to form strategic alliances with proton after this long-drawn debacle. What our carmaker should do now is rethink its long-term goals and strategy WITHOUT foreign partners for a change. Proton was born with Mitsubishi know-how, not to mention alliances with French carmakers Citroen and Renault (remember the Tiara and Waja 1.8 engine?). And we even has Lotus in our stable, so isn’t it time to begin developing our own technology and prove that Malaysia Boleh! After all, the Korean carmakers started with a lot less…

• yippi33 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:35 am

Its all about pride…all the best proton!!now walk the talk and prove it to the nation and the whole world that you can walk on your own feet..

• megahyper (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:38 am

With their bestseller coming from a car from the 80s, technology from the 70s and debilitating taxes on other marques, suddenly they are the better company than VW. haha.

The reason for feeling great? they dont need VW’s rescue for now.

I feel great already!

• Dogster (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:46 am

What can we do? We rakyat only!. No power. Or maybe we can actually do something. Dont vote for BN???? Stupid decisions by the gov. One small success with persona, then can firmly say we no need other car manufacturer’s help? No track record of continuous success can say proton is stable d…. Walueh. Kenot tahan this Yakcop guy….. Very boastful of this small success? WTh??

• megahyper (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:52 am

Let me lit my crystal ball. After the general election, things maybe different. maybe some negotiation would resume. I think you guys can see how this move (cancel the deal) has generate such a passionate respond from a band of misguided proud bomoh and thus the poll.

If they can’t breakout to foreign market, within 5 years there will be another round of this nonsense. Only thing is this time, suitor will bring with them a pinch of salt and cane.

But you never know, Thru malaysia boleh spirit, the billionaire Tansri NAZA may actually won the day, or even the behind the scene play? Follow by some corporate exercise of naza group………kaching……magic

Can I be a zeallionaire please?

• carsut (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:17 pm

Good job P1, better off then lost ur hand on proton.. Malaysia Boleh, Proton Also Boleh.. We should proud with P1 decision, I don’t want we jz hold the NAME, but the reality it’s not ours.. jangan jadi time zaman british, semua harta negara kena angkut ke UK, walaupun semua harta tu kita punye,.. Apa ada pada nama?? sape rugi?? Jz think about it.. anyway I proud with that decision..

• redragon (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:38 pm

RIP

proton.

• motberg (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:48 pm

it’s like a freaking yo-yo! first say yes, then say no, then say yes again, then say negotiating, then say GM also interested, then say no, then say yes, then VW say no, then proton say yes, then say no, then say maybe, then say considering, then say NO… walao, what a convulated confusion of events. stay tuned for more confusing answers in future ladies & gentlemen! : )

• azmirnordin (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:49 pm

Good Decision! It’s a wise decision to stand on our own rather than losing
    the pride for the sake of VW. I believe in what Proton capable of now days.
    Ofcourse they faced their hard time past few years and they did learn a lot
    lesson as in return. Good Luck and wish all the best for proton! It’s not an easy job but Dont give up, keep focus! As malaysian, I’m really proud! Syabas!

• kingglim (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:50 pm

Coincidentally, few lines after the Proton-VW Talk Off news on Paultan, it is the news of VW Msia launching Golf R32:

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/11/21/volkswagen-golf-r32-launched-in-malaysia/

VW produces dream cars; Proton produces ??? cars; no way this marriage fly.

• ezralimm (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:55 pm

megahyper said,
    November 21, 2007 @ 11:38 am
    With their bestseller coming from a car from the 80s, technology from the 70s and debilitating taxes on other marques, suddenly they are the better company than VW. haha.

It’s a bestseller because it’s cheap and it’s what a section of the market demands.

You will not get a current-tech sedan for RM30k OTR anywhere. Even WITHOUT “debilitating taxes” (NO NAP. fair tax scenario) budget jap mini sedans cost at least RM55k and a typical current jap sedan (corolla manual) costs about RM80k OTR.

As for the VWs, they are more expensive than the jap equivalents (similar car build/type/size/wt).

RM90k Persona TSI anyone?

• intermilan (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:01 pm

surprisingly.. many people who support the G decision make Nationalistic reference when justifiying or praising the decision.

Oi! look at PROTON share price today la.. and a few months lagi..
    this is business lah, not nation pride anymore.

Btw, how can u be proud of some low quality products from Potong? Stupid pride that’s it.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:46 pm

Pride! Those blind defender forever come with freak Protonomic statement and argue the price for 80s tech is “cheap”!

• ctawyong (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:46 pm

1985 first proton saga!!! 2007 proton persona!!!! this is what proton achieve in 22 years!! i beg proton will the the worst carmaker in years to come!!!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:48 pm

Supposed the rakyat demand those in Khazanah handle the negotiation repay back all cost related to negotiation including got one time fly to New York! Sheesssss, rakyat always got sh*t from this cock talk.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:51 pm

ezralimm said,
    November 21, 2007 @ 12:55 pm

It’s a bestseller because it’s cheap and it’s what a section of the market demands.
    ——————
    Iswara is bestseller? OK lah for the “stone age milo tin on the wheel” category.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:51 pm

The best selling model in the world is Corrola.

• najibest (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 2:07 pm

i was really hoping that proton can get a partner so that they can at least build descent cars with up to date technologies.. it does not necessarily means that proton need to be bought over, try and work out a partnership would be good enough..

on the notion that even without proton and NAP taxes we cannot get cheap cars..i beg to differ on that .. made in USA cars such as the Hyundai Elantra and Kia Optima cost around RM40-60K only.. heck, even the newly launched Mistu Lancer only cost around RM50-60K in the US.. and those cars has VVT engines, and tons of features including dual airbags and much more safety features, and the fact is that they’re made in USA which is suppose to cost much more than a made in Malaysia cars using made in Malaysia parts as the operating cost there are a lot higher.. so don’t say that without NAP and in fair tax regime we can’t get cheap cars..

i really would like to know what’s the purpose of setting up proton in the 1st place.. if it’s really to deliver cheap affordable cars to malaysians, they have definitely fail to do that.. stuck on a 9 year loan for a car that would almost have no value at the end of the loan term is no fun at all….

• Gunners4Life (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 2:37 pm

As usual, the negotiators cock it up at the last pitch to PM…

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 3:09 pm

proton bullshits, china? i havent seen any protons in china….export increase, more like a decrease, the only reason ppl buy ur cars is because the stupid proton cars are cheap and the others aren;t, that does not mean an increase in business, one word
    proton – YOU SUCK!!!

• neurra (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 3:23 pm

hahaha improve a bit oni proton’s ‘head’ come out of the ground? very malaysian of proton.. malaysia boleh!

• oversight (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 3:25 pm

emm. Proton and Khazanah can win Best Actor for this “Tie in Tie off” soap opera drama. Best Director can be given to our “beloved goverment”. Bravo, speechless for such of masterpiece drama. haha my fellow malaysians next time don’t put hope too high and make ourself learn the trick of malaysian capitalist and our goverment so that we can predict it in future time.

• Gunners4Life (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 3:26 pm

are u a twit julianlee2…of course there is no proton in china yet…u cant expect to mfg the cars within a month signing off the agreement…are u telling me that the 30% ppl buying proton cars are stupid…maybe you ought to stand in the middle of the road and tell that to the middle class ppl on affordability…maybe they ought to run down then…

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 3:52 pm

intermilan said,
    November 21, 2007 @ 1:01 pm

surprisingly.. many people who support the G decision make Nationalistic reference when justifiying or praising the decision.
    ———-
    These bunch of blind defender always related the pure commercial product to nationalism?

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 3:56 pm

JULIANLEE2 said,
    November 21, 2007 @ 3:09 pm

“the only reason ppl buy ur cars is because the stupid proton cars are cheap and the others aren;t, that does not mean an increase in business, one word
    proton – YOU SUCK!!!”
    ——————
    Gunners4Life said,
    November 21, 2007 @ 3:26 pm

are u a twit julianlee2…of course there is no proton in china yet…u cant expect to mfg the cars within a month signing off the agreement…are u telling me that the 30% ppl buying proton cars are stupid…
    ——————
    Gunners4Life, read the wording – stupid proton car, not stupid buyers!

Or he may imply stupid car is produce by stupid people, definitely it is not refer to buyer as stupid!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:02 pm

najibest, your comment on NAP tax regime is naked truth on the ground, just compare Peninsular (under NAP) and Langkawi selling price for all makes and models, the price difference is so obvious.

But obviously that intelligent chap currently “station” at down south refuse to recognize it despite many attempt to explain, elaborate and make a lot of references all over the world about the car price. Be it on the road (OTR), on the port, Manufacturer Retail Suggested Price, G gazet price, etc. THe fact is NAP tax is prohibitive high up to 280% (ED, ID & ST).

• megatron (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:34 pm

Thank God, it’s good to hear that Proton has called off the negotiation…

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:44 pm

Prootn never call off the talk, but Khazanah!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:46 pm

May be another few days after Proton share plunge so badly, some one from G come out and deny this report. Then Proton-VW talk on again!

• intermilan (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:56 pm

orang yg mata hati sudah dibutakan, kalau ada sikap bodoh sombong memang sukar mau pulih untuk melihat cahaya kebenaran. kalau buta dan kena tipu sorang2 itu hak peribadi (hahaha!) la..tak mengapa.. tapi ini lagi mau tarik orang percaya penipuan dan lagi puji2 dan congratz orang yg butakan diri dia.. what the heck?

—–

tengok share price proton today… @ 4.30pm ++.. sudah jatuh 19% ooo..90sen … now rm4.04 only.. from closing price rm4.9X..
    ini org market share susah sikit mau kena tipu.. kekeke…

besok mau jatuh lagi jadi rm3.xx saja.. nnt itu geng kroni beli.. media hantam deliver good good news banyak2 (betul ke tipu ke, itu belakang kira).. share price naik sikit .. diaorang jual balik cepat2.. quick buck!
    dan this baru ‘celah gigi’… haiyah..

• bot_tech (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 5:23 pm

a comment from me:

Malaysia Boleh…Proton Boleh…BOLEH BLAH!!

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 6:28 pm

Penang people say..pi mai pimai tang tu….dok lagu tu…

• 2ST (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:01 pm

Haha..lantak nko la proton ke khazanah ke…
    Persona baru keluar 3 hari dah banyak defect..
    Logik too, now 22k order. Imagine their prod line macamane?
    Mesti kena paksa OT. Then assembler operator & QA inspector pun cincai2..janji meet delivery.
    Now proton call up bangla/nepal manpower to support tak??
    That u call quality improvement in current and future model eh?
    High price no quality what so ever..
    Shame on you guys…shame on nation,sedarlah….dah selalu kena kutuk ni..
    Thanks paul T.

• bmx (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:01 pm

Today Proton SHARE PRICE DROP 19% !!!

I dont think this is overselling, this is price correction….further correction to the downside is possible…

Proton Boleh? Lama lagi…..sampai 2020 pun tak boleh….

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:11 pm

go to hell proton, may all the directors, corrupted ppl of the company drown in hell

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:25 pm

Yeah let see where the bloody ‘great and patriotic’ move leads us. Just take a peep here:
    http://biz.thestar.com.my/marketwatch/charts/l.asp?code=5304~PROTON&p1=4.94&p2=4.7&p3=4.7&p4=3.98&p5=4.02&p6=-0.92&p7=-18.62&p8=159839&p9=0.536

The fact is that….it’s going down. Yeah it’s going down…real fast and steep.
    Investors have no confidence against Proton at all. Sustainability and fundamental value ? Hah crap !!

• vandenlye (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:26 pm

in long terms, this is a wrong decision…

• megahyper (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:20 pm

who care about long term?

My humble opinion is election should be around March!

• megahyper (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:29 pm

ezralimm, Salute brother. I almost believe you.

They have a nice strategy, a categorically budget strategy? wow unbelievable. They do make something work.

According to your excuses, I hope they can crown themselves as budget king like airasia in the car industry and export habis-habis throughout the world and get rid of those NAP tax and AP limits of import cars. haha. Perodua beware!

But hey, what i hear whispering around and more logical answer is that the price offered becoz of over-stocking (berlimpah-limpah) and under-capacity in production.

as i said, I almost believe you. heh

• altis_fan (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:43 pm

Don’t you guys believe in Malaysian people boleh. You are malaysians, be prould of what you could do. Put up ideas how to improve our national car. Don’t depend on outsiders. They will never teach us technology, believe it.
    Why Japaneese can build good car, but in late 70s no one look-up their products, the only thing I knew was Selipar Jepun. Now, they are monster in technology. Did they build up strategic alliances with Europeans?

• megahyper (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:49 pm

altis_fan,

your name says it. you aint proton_fan.

jangan lebih lebih.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:53 pm

Don’t you guys believe in Malaysian people boleh. You are malaysians, be prould of what you could do. Put up ideas how to improve our national car. Don’t depend on outsiders. They will never teach us technology, believe it.
    Why Japaneese can build good car, but in late 70s no one look-up their products, the only thing I knew was Selipar Jepun. Now, they are monster in technology. Did they build up strategic alliances with Europeans?

yea rite, proton = corruption

• adamccl (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:55 pm

I’ll say it’s a good thing Proton and VW stop ties. The bloody Hitler’s Car is never suitable to be matched to Malaysian humble beginnings. The only thing Germans are good at is spreading their imperialism of torture, hatred and racism. If this were France, VW would have been banned, even sales. Malaysia should consider tying up with something more humble like Ford or Fiat…

• megahyper (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:16 pm

adamccl,

japan takluk malaysia b4 and torture quite many people. USA side with israel and perang iraq. British takluk malaysia even longer.

adamccl, please don’t drive a car. they invented it anyway.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:55 pm

adamccl – How patriotic. You wana go moon? G got $$ from ur parents. They fly u to space, take picture, put on paper, very happy.

Well, back to business, work hard to get our $, pay to G, G pay to Proton, Proton take our $ again. Sigh ….

Malaysia Economis Policies:

Earn money = Capitalism
    Lost money = Socialism

I hope Volkswagen starts making weapons and Wendelin Wiedeking bombed out Proton factory. :)

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 12:52 am

i hear hitler commading the ss men to take out all the proton directors, and the v2 bombs are flying all over tanjung malim, so long proton city, its now volkswagenland

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 8:10 am

adamccl should be like katak stay dibawah tempurong because infected by racist-phobia.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 11:13 am

yea, long live volkswagen

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 1:49 pm

Lucky VW. a company with German Efficiency & a culture continuous improvement.

Proton is made out of IMCOMPETENT and LAZY monkeys.

A VW take-over will be curse to all car lovers.

• electron (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 4:30 pm

“Volkswagen was disappointed in the government (Khazanah)’s decision to pull out of the talks..”

WHO WOULDN’T BE! After all the positive indication and build-up all this while and M’sians expecting to see nothing less than MOU signed between Proton and VW, suddenly..CRASH!

I wonder whether any German or other carmakers would have any interest in forging any future alliances with Proton. VW would be saying “I’ve just been taken for a ride (pun intended), so why would I waste my time and effort again with Proton..ever”

So, good job G, you’ve just screwed the one of the biggest automaker groups in the world who have the resources to put Proton on the world automotive map.

But, have the G really thought of the after effects of its decision? Maybe not because the G and its ‘back door negotiator/ally’ are probably too busy having a victory celebration of sorts somewhere exclusive

Well, here’s a possibility:

VW: So, this is how Malaysian business works. I’d better warn my business associates and global business partners then. I don’t want them to suffer my fate.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 7:26 pm

proton do a bit well happy already
    with all that protection, they still don’t do well can only mean one thing, u suck la

• MicroKiller (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 8:17 pm

A very good point mentioned by electron!!! With the drama and involvement of Khazanah and also the sudden decision to pull out on wht seemed to be a seemingly done deal is a real show of the value of a deal and word by the ppl involved. Doesnt really reflect good in terms of reliability and etc.. Would another multi national car manufacturer (not talking abt those who plan to rebadge in china or iran etc…) actually wnt to do business with proton again??

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 4:43 pm

i should be the ceo of proton

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 4:53 pm

hahahahaha…julianlee…u make me laugh la…wut a joke…

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 9:26 pm

the current ceo of proton probably studied in South Harmon Institute of Technology , majoring in “how to make lousy cars “

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 3:21 am

our G will continue to treat us like a dog. lets wait and see how they will gonna sucks the citizen money into their cronies pocket. we will never get good quality honda or either toyota cars with a valuable money in bolehland.
    Malaysia Boleh!!!

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 12:44 pm

i wish the current government lose the election but no, they are like a dictator group, so thats not going to happen

• adamccl (Member) on Dec 25, 2007 at 11:05 am

I rather support British than VW. Hey, British cars may look old but considering its technology, it’s at its height. Okay, British may have conquered us, but it didn’t leave a major blood-shed impact. Look at our neighbours. Which neighbouring country is producing cars worldwide and getting fame for it?
    On the other hand, I’m thinking of working closely with the Filipinos (they’ve got the skillsmen there) and maybe even rivalling Proton, hoping to create a healthy competition.
    You know, we look at the Westerners and Japanese like Gods, but unfortunately they too started like us, facing criticisms before making it really big.
    Sorry, I still never like Germans. They believe that Asians belong to to the race similar to Africans – trouble-makers, petty criminals and stupidly useless.

• OPRAH WINFREY (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 3:56 pm

rather support British than VW. Hey, British cars may look old but considering its technology, it’s at its height. Okay, British may have conquered us, but it didn’t leave a major blood-shed impact. Look at our neighbours. Which neighbouring country is producing cars worldwide and getting fame for it?
    On the other hand, I’m thinking of working closely with the Filipinos (they’ve got the skillsmen there) and maybe even rivalling Proton, hoping to create a healthy competition.
    You know, we look at the Westerners and Japanese like Gods, but unfortunately they too started like us, facing criticisms before making it really big.
    Sorry, I still never like Germans. They believe that Asians belong to to the race similar to Africans – trouble-makers, petty criminals and stupidly useless
    our G will continue to treat us like a dog. lets wait and see how they will gonna sucks the citizen money into their cronies pocket. we will never get good quality honda or either toyota cars with a valuable money in bolehland.
    Malaysia Boleh!!!

Ppl., with election coming around the corner, the one chip that the G banks on is the support of the ppl in gettin it restored to the majority. If VW were to be in, a lot of interest will be lost, and this may make the ppl’s support to the G to be lost. Its simple as that. So, I guess the next step would be to tighten up the APs, strangle the free way for importing of cars, and then find other non-automotive ways to generate FDIs.
    If VW were to take hold of proton, both states will have loose out a lot on job opportunities and work. This will translate into unemployment and many many influential folks to suffer massive lost in their already way-of-life benefits.
    If the bug buckeroos here backed out of support to the G, the latter will definitely fail in the g.election to come.
    So, the rationale for the walk-out is to build up proton ourselves but the msian way…pay 100bucks to get 50buckeroos worth of goods, but nevermind, at least you still have a job/lifestyle that one cannot afford to loose now..the many porsche outthere need more fuel to run around, so more rakyat monies need to be doped out from them..
    Well, syabas. Lets take a really slow stroll around the park…

LASTLY I WANT PROTON BUY DAIMLER AG AND TOYOTA……

• OPRAH WINFREY (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 4:11 pm

~~~~~~~~~FAKTA PROTON~~~~~~~~~

I HATE PROTON

KERANA PROTONLAH CAR TAX MAHAL GILER ( 200% )

PROTON PATUT DIHAPUSKAN

DAH LA KRETA PROTON X DE QUALITY LANGSUNG!

KLAU X DE PROTON , SEMUA RAKYAT MALAYSIA BLEH PKAI KETA MERC, BMW,
    JAG,etc.

~~~~~~~~~MINYAK PUN MAHAL JGK~~~~~~~~~

KALAU X NAK TURUN KAN HARGA MINYAK, PETRONAS MESTI DITUTUP

XKAN PETRONAS XLEH NK BGI SUBSIDI

• OPRAH WINFREY (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 4:19 pm

TURUNKAN TAX KERETA!!!