Volvo S80 to get new 205hp Volvo D5 twin-turbocharged diesel engine

Volvo D5 Twin Turbo Diesel
Click for enlarged image

Volvo is the latest car manufacturer with a new high-powered twin turbodiesel engine that has good power, loads of torque and at the same time, low emissions and good fuel economy. The new Volvo D5 inline-5 twin-turbodiesel has 2.4 litres of displacement and uses two differently sized turbochargers installed in a sequential arrangement to produce 205hp and 420Nm of torque, while achieving 45.6mpg and 164g/km of emissions, meeting Euro 5 standards.

The formula is a well-known and used one, a small turbocharger to rapidly spool up and provide lag-free boost from idle that hands over the job to a larger turbocharger at higher revs, up to 1.8 bar of boost. It also allows using exhaust gas recirculation over a wider range than before, helping reduce harmful emissions. Fuel is delivered via piezoelectric fuel injectors, and the engine also uses ceramic glowplugs that improve cold-starts because they can reach 1000 degrees Celcius in just 2 seconds.

Another feature of the engine is the elimination of an oil dipstick for the owner to check his engine lubricant levels. Instead, an information display in the car shows the status of the engine oil and if it needs replenishing, the owner is even informed of exactly how much oil to pour in.

This new all-aluminium D5 twin turbodiesel engine will first be used in the Volvo S80 from mid-2009 onwards in the UK, but specs and price of the new twin turbodiesel S80 have not been revealed yet, only to be announced nearer to the showroom launch date.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 6:09 pm

Excuse me..wanna chilok a lil bit..

I was in Proton City Tanjung Malim 22 Dec 2008 because of my work. I work as lift technician. So,on that day I went there because the new Proton office there has my company’s lift. After serviced the lifts, as usual I have to see the in-charge person to put his signature on my service sheet. There, the in-charge person was an executive in what department I didn’t know. So I asked him about this new mpv. An according to him, this new mpv will be launch in May or June. And surprisingly, this no-name-yet mpv is under testing because he said that the campro is ‘tak larat’ to run it. And what a wonderfull world, a mitsubishi engine will be under its hood. I forgot (actually afraid) to ask him more like how much the mitsubishi engine capacity to be use with this mpv.

Any other Proton staff here, please correct me if I was wrong. And I hope whoever Proton staff here please don’t find this executive and report about what he told me about to the ‘orang atas’ Proton and then fired him. Pity for him. I think this info is not so confidential to share with ‘rakyat’. Right si-fu?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 7:12 pm

VOLVO is always the best !!!! Keep on your good work… Bravo ….

… Volvo For Life !!!! …………….

• red7 (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 11:36 pm

V O L V O = Very Old Looking Vehicular Object.

cheers~

• alihms (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 7:47 am

Romeo misteri

I suggest you post your comment on rumor section in Motor Trader or Autoworld. The crowd over there would be more receptive to this kind of things. Here I would like to hear news that can be substantiated.

It is probably true that you heard this yourself – but one single visit to Proton does not prove anything. Especially since the source is simply from one executive who for whatever reason may choose to give wrong or outdated information.

No hard feelings okay!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 8:32 am

Back to Volvo, Ford is still trying to sell off Volvo at US$6 billion. Mr Ratan, you’ve bought Jaguar, buy this too! Don’t let Ford neglect Volvo like GM neglect Saab.

Well actually Volvo has prosper pretty well under Ford. The same can’t be said about Saab’s fate under GM.

I still love the Volvo 240 and 244, and also the 360. Those are as tough as fridges, even BANK VAULT! My dad’s 240 had 4-forward gear and one 5th overdrive (button). Interesting.

I believe they’ve always had quite a few range of turbo petrol engines lineup in Malaysia since the 80s.

• Shaekey (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 9:27 am

Wow, 45.6 mpg for a 2.4 liter engine. That’s over 19 km/l, way better mileage than most cars we have on the road in Malaysia.

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 11:31 am

Shaekey said,
    January 9, 2009 @ 9:27 am

Wow, 45.6 mpg for a 2.4 liter engine. That’s over 19 km/l, way better mileage than most cars we have on the road in Malaysia.

—————————————————————-

Wish we can get this kind of diesel….but, our current diesel quality won’t be suitable

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 6:10 pm

screw this gov