Lexus LS flagship may get baseline V6 engine

Lexus LS460

Sources say Lexus will most likely add a baseline V6 model to its flagship Lexus LS range, in line with recessive market trends as well as expected benefits to the company’s overall CAFE ratings. This could happen when Lexus unveils the facelift for the LS, which would be due anytime soon as it was launched in the year 2007.

A Lexus LS 350 could be powered by the 2GR-FSE 3.5 litre V6 engine incorporating Toyota D4-S twin injection technology, which combines port injection with direct injection. It produces 315 PS and 377Nm of torque, which puts it somewhere in line with the F01/F02 BMW 740i.

The LS is currently only offered in LS 460 and LS 600h variants. Both are V8s with a 4.6 litre and 5.0 litre engine respectively, the latter also equipped with a high-output electric motor and a NiMH battery pack. In Malaysia in particular where only the LS 460 and LS 460L are sold, the LS is burdened with high road tax costs, and a LS 350 could help boost LS market share with the private buyer “entry level” owners.

Don’t expect anything lower than this at the moment though, as the LS doesn’t have the kind of volumes in 3rd world countries to warrant something like the 730i (yet to be released with the F01/F02 but is said to be a work in progress) or the S300.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• red7 (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 4:07 am

better get a bmw

cheers~

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 4:22 am

lexus is basically a toyota with wood. better buy a camry to save money or just buy the german makes

• cam.shaft (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 8:38 am

Kevin Lee said,

January 29, 2009 @ 4:22 am

lexus is basically a toyota with wood. better buy a camry to save money or just buy the german makes

agree with you on some points. But lexus vs camry still has a large difference in term of comfort and quiteness in the cabin…but in malaysia, due to the great taxes and duties…yeah…might as well settle for german makes…

cam.shaft

• kington (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 8:58 am

Camry’s a far cry from what Toyota engineers have pored into making a Lex. On paper, the Lex is indeed a glorified Toyota but its drivetrain smoothness and comfort actually beats the S-Class and the 7 to a certain extent.

Of course, the 7 epitomises the fun in driving a limo especially the new 7 which has Active Steering coupled with 4 wheel steering (if i’m not wrong), it really makes you feel like you’re piloting a 3 series. The new S-Class has improved a lot in the sense you can actually call it a driver’s car too as per the 7 while the Lex is still lacking in this dept.

Hence, i would classify the Lex for those who prefer to be driven in an extremely refined and comfy manner, the 7 offers slightly less comfort but with heaps of drivability while the S sits somewhere in the middle with its 3 pointed star still, the most sought after badge in this class.

• kington (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 9:16 am

I agree with the general sentiment that Lex models are glorified Toyotas, but experiencing the Lex LS and GS changed my perception slightly. Its premium offering of drivetrain and ride refinement is certainly better than the S and the 7. I remembered reading in TORQUE years ago when it was said that you can actually place a 50 cent Malaysian coin on the dash and it will not drop even when you crank the engine to life.

The 7 remains the best driver’s car, especially the new one with Active Steering and 4 wheel steering working in tandem, which gives this limo the handling of a 3. The S to me has improved a lot, it the CKD S300 certainly felt closer to the 7 in many areas except for that lil’ extra bodyroll.

I guess in the end, those who prefer to be driven in refined comfort should go for the Lex LS while the 7 would appeal more for those who prefer to have their own cake and eating it. The S is somewhat in the middle but the 3 pointed start will always remain the most sought after badge.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 9:52 am

Lexus LS compared to a camry? It is like comparing a Land Cruiser to a Nautica.

If it were to be compared, it should be at least the Toyota Crown. The Lexus LS is seriously premium. I remember back in the past when they show a stack full of champaign glass could still balance on the hood of the previous lexus while the engine is still running. That is how refined it is.

Without a doubt, Lexus is striving to be among the top 3 luxury marques. However I feel that it is overpriced and too close to BMW/Mercs. As a new comer in Malaysia (officially brought in, not recond), UMW could have priced it more competitively.

• 8918 (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 10:40 am

Anyone can comment on the comparison of quality by Merc…BMW an Lexus?Just forget the brand name a while and is Lexus really better than those german marque?I can remember that during a Auto show,Lexus start the engine by putting a coin on top of the dashboard and yet the coin does not move/vibrate …I have know some of the BMW 5 Series driver’s who actually commenting that Lexus is very “geng” wor!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 11:25 am

i think its difficult to make a real direct comparison i’ve only ever driven an is200, but never experienced the larger lexus cars, but the legendary smoothness of the bmw straight-six engine is no slouch either, let alone the sound it makes. i’m not too sure about the 50 sen coin thing on the dash, and decided to experiment with my own car, the result? no movement or vibration of the coin when i started the engine as well. not even when i revved up to 6500rpm and held it there. but personally, i think that hardly tells us anything about a car.. remember the glass of water on the engine of the nissan V6? does that mean its smoother and more refined than the lexus?

i do agree though that lexus cars are very refined, well built and are of the highest quality you can expect in a car… but, i find them extremely boring. to drive and to look at.

to me, what makes a car great is not how well its built, or that it never breaks down.. the longevity of the car and its desireability depends on what happens after 10 years.. just look at the amount of well cared for alfa romeos and their diehard fans as one simple example..

to cut things short.. the lexus is a good car. it will be well worth your money if you can afford it. but i dont think its going to be much of a collectors car.

and in ending, no. you do not make a lexus cheaper to “compete” with the competition. its a luxury marque, and you do not fight on price, ever. if its not selling well, its not the price, but the brand is most likely at fault.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 3:49 pm

i rather have a ford mondeo

• common-sensor (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Its QUALITY may be superior than the Germans, but it is lacking in CHARACTER. So, I’d go with the Germans makes.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 7:12 pm

common-sensor said,

January 29, 2009 @ 4:59 pm

Its QUALITY may be superior than the Germans, but it is lacking in CHARACTER. So, I’d go with the Germans makes.
    —————-
    the british quality is way superior

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 10:46 pm

typical mentality of most Malaysians:

better get a 7-series or S-class……

• csv (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 11:38 pm

oh i seen this car in person, registered.

guess how much the road tax is.

22k. yeah, you read it right. 22,000 Ringgit Malaysia.

but i think thats a company registered vehicle as its pretty damn ex for tax alone.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 1:22 am

better go for S-class or 7-series !!! Latest long wheelbase 7-series should be better !!!

• king (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 1:45 am

No, lexus LS is just a camry with more wood and a built in massage chair..

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 2:16 am

Kevin Lee said,
    January 29, 2009 @ 4:22 am

————————————————————–
    whoalao..id take it that youre a damn rich ass person right..??…well i personally couldnt agree more……then the german makes are just a bunch of “mondeos” stuck to REALLY expensive badges

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 11:34 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

January 29, 2009 @ 3:49 pm

——————————————————————-

Cheers up ! I support you !

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 2:32 am

lambov12 said,

January 31, 2009 @ 11:34 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

——————————————————————-

—————
    will malaysia ever have the mondeo or insignia, im sick of te stupud camry

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 9:15 pm

February 1, 2009 @ 2:32 am

lambov12 said,

January 31, 2009 @ 11:34 am

——————————————————————-

—————
    will malaysia ever have the mondeo or insignia, im sick of te stupud camry

———————————————

well then, what those bleedy AP holders are doing… actually AP holders can import any cars into Malaysia rite ??? So, they can bring in these two cars also rite ??? Please correct me if im wrong coz i dont really know much stuff about AP system in malaysia….

• Lexus is not just another TOYOTA. And anyways, people who say that are just complimenting it really, even when they are trying to insult it.

TOYOTA's are know worldwide for reliability, quality and top end engineering. Just examine and drive one and you'll see what I mean.

Lexus just builds on this by being the most reknown and acclaimed Manufacturer in the world.

The Lexus LS has been on JD powers best car in the world for over 16 years now.

SO those GERMAN CAR FANS need to look at the facts before speaking.

Just to let you know, the BMW 7 Series was one of the least reliable vehicles in 1999 and the MERCEDES M CLASS was the least satisfying car in the world

And this is a FACT, No Japanese Car has ever been on the bottom on any survey or awards list, (Except for style), Which is why Japan is the worlds most prolific Automobile Nation in the world

• ktas09 on Oct 23, 2009 at 7:41 pm

Prefer a reliable & comfortable car rather than fast car. The answer is LEXUS.

• Tan GH on Dec 25, 2009 at 6:55 am

I have driven a Lex LS460L from Singapore to Penang, non stop except for lunch in KL. Ultra smooth, fast high speed crusing, fast overtaking, the owner fell asleep at the back. I did not fell tired at all, and the high-fi was superb, No BMW or MB stereo could match. Even though the car was 1 year old, it felt like it's just out of the showroom, the engine, suspension, is just faultless If I can afford the insurance and road tax, this is the ultimate super saloon for me, In the automobile business since 1970, I have the experience to judge and comment, this is one of the best luxury saloon for our Malaysian roads.