Proton and PSA Peugeot Citroen sign letter of intent

After rumours of talks between PSA Peugeot Citroen and Proton surfaced back in May 2006, we can finally see some results with Proton and Peugeot having signed a letter of intent in France to study possible co-operation between the two companies last Friday on the September 15th 2006. The evaluation is expected to reach a result on January 1 2007, which is when the pact will expire, unless extended.

Possible co-operation would focus mainly on the ASEAN region but could include other regions as well, and would involve product development, manufacturing, quality initiatives, vendor development, contract assembly and distribution. For PSA Peugeot Citroen, it could possibly result in the increase of Peugeot and Citroën vehicles sales in Malaysia, local assembly of PSA Peugeot Citroen vehicles in Proton’s assembly lines as well as make Malaysia PSA Peugeot Citroen’s hub for ASEAN operations.

PSA Peugeot Citroen is not foreign to partnerships with other companies. They currently have a joint venture with Toyota for small cars (the Peugeot 107, the Citroen C1 and the Toyota Aygo are the same car), a joint venture with Mitsubishi for SUVs (Peugeot 4007 based on Mitsubishi Outlander), engine partnerships with BMW (2nd generation new MINI’s engine is a project between BMW and PSA Peogeot Citroen), as well as other partnerships with Fiat, and Seat. All these partnerships function without cross-shareholding.

This is not the first time PSA Peugeot Citroen and Proton have dealed together. The old Proton Tiara was based on the Citroen AX. Sad to say, Proton’s first foray into the small car market was pretty much a flop.

A question that comes to mind is – what will happen to the pre-existing relationship between Naza and Peugeot? Previously, Naza Group managing director Tan Sri SM Nasimuddin SM Amin said Naza had plans to turn its new Penang plant into an exclusive production facility dedicated entirely to the Peugeot marque, and was bidding for rights to manufacture other Peugeot cars.

Naza wants to manufacture more Peugeots
Proton partnership with PSA Peugeot Citroen
PSA Peugeot Citroen confirms talks
Proton, PSA Peugeot Citroen and Volkswagen

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• slippers (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 1:12 am

Thought they had some sort of partnership in the past… and what did they beget? The Proton Tiara…. ugh

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 1:16 am

What? PSA again with….Proton, Naza, Toyota,…….Mitsu…..Fiat…….maybe become a Rojak project.

I thought Proton is looking for MPV and SUV segment, than what PSA can offer Proton lei?

Siapa Tahu?

Beritahulah sikit pun tak apa….

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 1:22 am

If Proton want Outlander or 4007, they can talk to Mitsu mah!

Paul, where did you heard about this? Source from?

Siapa sokong?

Mitsubishi's CEO sokong….

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 1:33 am

Maybe/hopefully PROTON will now produce their own SUV version of the Puegeot 4007s..the guys from MITSUBISHI will certainly make some noise though….or maybe PROTON will go for the Aygo this time..(But)I still remember when the Tiara first came…Well,just have to keep my fingers cross until something happens till then.. SUVs,MPVs,MINIs,…but please…not the likes of ULTRAMAN again..!!!

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 1:36 am

Wonder what will likely be the new name chosen…? PROJAK…?( Pronounce as projek…)

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 1:47 am

Cant help thinking whats PROTON into with PSA.Hopefully the 4007s laa…and make it CHEAP!!!! But then……how "CHEAP" is "CHEAP" in this Taxland /Bolehland….?? Don't tell me that RM80K to RM95K is considered cheap…

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 4:11 am

Maybe the Perdana will be based on the C6?

• pirate (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 4:22 am

Proton C4 to replace Wira Aeroback?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 4:22 am

the one with naza is rebadging..agreement with p1 i tink its probably a full blown collaboration…sharing platforms n so on i guess…otherwise doesnt make sence…bt so far working with da french has been unprofitable..tiara and the Waja 1.8 are examples..althought savvy is abit beter sales wise… i hope proton gets a beter deal than wat PSA is getting…

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 4:22 am

by the way, proton tiara a.k.a citroen ax was the car of the year in the 90's (check uk magazine, not sure when)…

actually it was a good step with a bad result…and it must be a good car if it won car of the year award..

i wonder why it dont sell in malaysia?…

bolehland ppl too stupid to appreciate?…

donno, tell me…

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 4:25 am

hmm.. this sounds interesting..

• penguin (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 4:38 am

for me..tak kisahler….if P1 want work togather with any another co. But pls make sure…the result must be good..P1 should be think.. design yg macam mana boleh jual..for eg. Neo is better for design…but it's not to ergonomic for pasengger…pls laaa…Like Savvy..belakang mcm oltroman…mcm kura2 pun ada..sooo..kesianlaaa….PLS THINK….

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 4:47 am

I like Citroens, but I don't really like Protons, having mixed feelings about it. I'll be glad if Proton can bring quality cars into the market, but seeing it's past record, it'll most probably churn out inferior copies of the original; the looks are the same but the quality's no where near the original.

• szw (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 5:06 am

cool move, no need to rely on those japanese oni.

• demio121 (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 5:25 am

Being the size of PSA, they are smart to enter all those partnership to stay relevant. Being the size of Proton, someone decide to go on its own and make it "Asia answer to BMW"…!!!

I hope something good comes out of this venture.

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 7:08 am

Why still no news with Volkswagen, I think Volkswagen still the better choice…

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 7:53 am

VW is too successful , so no need to deal with bottom feeders

• malayman (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 8:51 am

whoa..cool.. hope this goes thru with interesting results. i dont hink they might be venturing into the suv market with these guys. they arent really famous for suv are they?

as for tiara it is plain and simple. yes it was the car of the year in its time and a great success. but unfortunately proton rushed its production here so when the first few batchs came out they were bogged with problems like over heating and even the lights would melt under the sun. it is not that car is terrible but it was rushed and not transformed properly for our climate. the batches of tiaras that were sold in full silver had all problems sorted but by that time it already had a bad rep thanks to brainless proton bashers who probably never even sat in one! i am sure proton has learnt from that and makes good of this… lets just wait and see..

• dk (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 8:53 am

Partner with this, partner with that, partner with those…. all for show one …. at the end of the day nothing significant come of it…. "too many cooks spoil the food".

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 4:43 pm

Proton and PSA Peugeot? Hmmm…. be it PSA or VW AG, things will get complicated when tax tariffs and NAP get into the picture. Even now, UMW Toyota Malaysia having difficulties exporting their vehicles to ASEAN countries because of our NAP. Until this NAP thing is resolve, I see nothing will accomplish from this or any collaboration that our local manufacturer make with foreign automaker.

We must remember that Proton needs all these collaborations with foreign investor to stay alive. But industry player also have to force the government to revise the NAP again and make it easier for them to do business and also easier for us as the consumer. But as long as the current situation is not changing, then everything will be pretty much the same.

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 4:46 pm

Well Proton can team up with Ferarri for all I care but if they don't change their attitude and hone a passion to excel then I see no point!! They'll probably make crappy Citroens then.

But I doubt that they'll introduce the Citroen models as future models of Proton. It will be too expensive to do so but I think they adopt the technology used by Citroen.

Just my 2 cents.

• whatsoever (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 4:52 pm

hold on, this might be another rumour to push the share again.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 5:20 pm

It's just a letter of intent… no concrete contract agreement has been signed. Hopefully it won't like the VW case. I think Proton would cooperate with PSA in developing a new MPV.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 5:37 pm

Ahh.. bolehlah.. Malay says…"Kalau tiada rotan, akar pun jadilah…"

ps: but lagi bagus kalau mampus terus (together with NAP).. we suffer long enuf oredi…

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 6:03 pm

motorhead, It is true that we all have suffered long enough. But to put all the blame solely on Proton is simply unfair. IMO Proton is not the only culprit here. It's a GLC. So the government also got a hand in molding into what it is today. If Proton were left alone as a business entity and let them play on their own, I don't see any need for the government to impose these quota and that tariffs to protect them. Proton could've been more successful without all the GLC culprits and leechers.

But personally, I want Proton to survive and succeed as an automaker in the same playing level as other automakers in the world. Not successful because we are force to pay our "patriotic contributions" through the crazy tax, tariffs and quotas.

Ahh…I'm so tired for all these crap. My otak tepu already….peace!

• motberg (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 7:24 pm

it's so obvious that Proton's biggest problem now is a lack of direction. the top guys are lost. little while there is talk of collaborating with VW, then Mitsu, then some other rumours, then now PSA. the problem is Proton is small compared to tese big guys and Proton still wants to retain control upon collaboration. that's why the VW deal fell through. (that's just my understanding of the matter, I might be wrong).

how would you feel if you were approached to invest / collaborate by a smaller company and then told that you cannot retain control of what happens in the company? that policies cannot be changed, that suppliers cannot be replaced (coz they are abang-adik companies), that you don't know the Malaysian market, so you must listen to us…. from the looks of things, no car manufacturer in their right mind will ever collaborate fully with Proton…

their best strategy would be to work on one or two models, get their profits and then get out. remember the Tiara, Proton?

• waimak (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 7:57 pm

I hope this would benefit Proton. I'm interested to more new models, then we all can give our comments here, then Paul's 'place' gets hotter… However the letter of intent is just the carrot. Still have to wait for the letter of offer/ MoU/ jV agreement or those sort of this lah right?

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 8:34 pm

"Possible co-operation would focus mainly on the ASEAN region but could include other regions as well, and would involve product development, manufacturing, quality initiatives, vendor development, contract assembly and distribution"

I think Proton is in dire need of product development, quality initiatives and vendor development. I do hope that this LOI becomes a concrete contract and hope Proton can reap the benefits of having PSA Citroen Peugoet as their partner.

Now…could we be getting a rebadge Xsara that Sebastien Loeb is driving as well " :-)

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 8:45 pm

This will make me look like a Proton hardcore. Hehehe. But I feel that the management seems to be loosing direction because of Proton as a whole. It's a Government run company. Even if you put 10 best automotives brainer won't turn Proton around because there will be interference from "up above". I feel there is a need to defend Proton as a business entity but not as "free ride" for some so called VIPs. Who's the person behind all the proposals and agreements? I don't think the current management team has the freedom to make their own decision.

Things that will stop the collaborations with any carmakers in the world will be coming from the government policies and their own people. You know what? If anything goes wrong, blame the government then.

By the way, I drive a Citroen.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 10:07 pm

askMs…

ermm… yeah, don't blame p1.. I blame anything or anyone connect with p1 & all the damn policies made (or soon to make) to protect it, just to make it survive and live like maggots…

I just made damn patriotic contribution, just received my new vios 2006 last week, & u know, if deduct tax it's price wud just around RM40k.. & it's features r damn good!!!, airbag 1 free… even it's 1.5, but damn good compare to waja, even perdana…running at 80++kmp, rpm only 2000….

I agree with some of u, p1 like losing it's direction.. & if it continues to perform like this.. baik mampus saja.. jgn tipu org with it's lauya products.. some wud bash me for kutuk p1, but after got my vios, I realize how true it is.. p1 mmg tak boleh pakai punya… they r very far left behind.. sy pun x sangka skrg all new car sudah ada mcm2 features… sy macam ketinggalan zaman… thx so much to NAP, p1, last but not least, the gov… lauya tetap lauya… now, nobody can change my mindset… patriotic or not I don't care.. but to stop people wasting their money, I think it's patriotic enuf…

ps: But I know, The song remains the same.. at least several years to come….

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 10:36 pm

Whopper said,

September 19, 2006 @ 12:34 pm

Now…could we be getting a rebadge Xsara that Sebastien Loeb is driving as well ”

that one hah, not even in their list la, I think S Loeb is switching to new team because he might feel that collaboration with Proton will cost him the WRC Championship…y'know make friend with loser later you also become a loser..sometime worse loser

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 11:39 pm

Aiseyman. Mention Proton je kena kutuk…

As Proton is trying to improve itself (at least one guy in Proton does) it needs a partner like VW or PSA.

As you know, even a big engineering power like BMW worked with PSA to make 1.6-litre engines for its new MINI. Think about the benefits it can bring to Proton IF the deal goes through. I just hope Proton wise up and not go back on it like they did with VW.

I see an MPV collaboration on the cards. Proton desperately need an MPV model and who else other than PSA to give them a proper MPV.

And when you get a 806 with a Lotus-balanced chassis, you can expect fireworks!

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 11:55 pm

The French must be disugsted with the QC if they let Proton to build their car…Imagine a car manufacturer where its workers who feels that there's so many people around us and it's OK to make some mistake because no one will find out……..

Merit system is needed to ensure their worker qualifies first.

First of all…they should retrench workers(who cares where the hell they going if they take their work for granted) and choose the right person…THE ONLY WAY…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 12:10 am

Why would Peugeot want any 'platforms' from P1?

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 1:06 am

ok, then let just wait & see.. but time is running out… tick tock, tick tock… Still can't forget the VW pact drama…

ps:Live and let Die… Guns & Roses…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 1:15 am

SatriaGuy said,

September 19, 2006 @ 3:39 pm

"And when you get a 806 with a Lotus-balanced chassis, you can expect fireworks! "

Its still a VAN. Lotus may be good, but no miracle worker.

Back to the point, its interesting. PSA never quite had a good reputation for quality and reliability. The French buys Pugs and Citroens because they are immencely 'patriotic' – (a little easier when they don't get gouged by PSA), but to non-french, PSA cars are quite the joke. They may be perky, fun to drive cars but just not "reliable".

However in its defence, the Citroen AX is a GOOD car..even in Tiara form. Like all Citroens, the ride is extremely comfy for a car that size and offers very good fuel economy. Build quality is so so (made worst by Proton nontheless) but reliability is surprising good. However what killed it wasn't reliability nor Proton's build quality. What killed it was aftermarket support where price of spares are prohibitively expensive. It did not deserve the reputation it has.

However, that said, I would still like to see Proton drown…..i'm sure we've been patriotic enough.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 1:17 am

oh yeah…PSA also owns Nissan. A Proton Skyline with Lotus handling pack perhaps…….

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 2:09 am

proton should work hand in hand with any kedai membuat keranda better.

look at the crap we people have to buy. want quality? can pay all the ridiculous NAPs, Excise Duties, blah blah blah tarriffs to make Mrs 30% Minister, Close One Eye Mps and all their kaum kerabat richer and richer then only we can buy a Honda City or Toyota Vios or Mazda or Nissan Sentra at nearly if not more than 200% the real price.

do you know how much a Proton Iswara really costs? USD5000.00 only.

How much we paying in BolehlahLand? MYR35000.00 +++

anybody can recommend any good kedai keranda around? or kedai menjual kain kapan also can lah.

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 2:13 am

Being patriotic is one thing but being cheated day in day out without even blinking an eye is downright stupid…..

so be patriotic and pay silly money to fatten some people's coffers.

I am not patriotic and i will be giving all my votes to non dacing next election.

be it party basikal but so long not dacing.

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:41 am

So, in this case, we'll have to wait for the result of this evaluation till early next year (Jan 2007) huh.

I think, what Proton needs is more new models. In this case, at least 1 or 2 models a year, like what they are planning to do. But, logically a new model takes at least 2 or 3 years to develop, such as the Satria Neo. So, i'm not too sure whether they're going to keep their promise of launching 2 new models next year…

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 6:31 am

proton with psa peugeot citröen is good direction.

citröen ads are already pushing the key message of citröen 'alive with technology' across UK, Europe and Down Under. shld be a boost to proton bad brand image.

check out the first and second citröen C4 ad with transformer element in it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4ckJFNkra8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRsHFYJkOfw

and the spoof http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A-dLNwYpAus

btw, those who criticise proton tiara was a disaster. i have relatives who bought cheap tiara from the used car market n reconditioned it with citroen parts. it performs outstandingly than any p2 model. low fc is most noticable and easy to maintain. so there r losers n winners. n whiners too.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 7:13 am

15 September 2006 signed LOI with PSA Peugeot Citroen, expires 1 January 2007 – Most likely nothing happens by then.

15 February 2007 signed LOI with Volvo, expires 1 June 2007 – Most likely nothing happens by then.

15 July 2007 signed LOI with Renault, expires 1 November 2007 – Most likely nothing happens by then.

15 December 2007 signed LOI with Fiat, expires 1 April 2008 – Most likely nothing happens by then.

15 May 2008 signed LOI with BMW, expires 1 September 2008 – Most likely nothing happens by then.

Need I write more? Do you folks get my message? Where r u? Mr Joe Ooi, can't wait to read your comments.

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 8:44 am

4G63T DSM mate,

when did PSA owned Nissan? are u sure u got the right french marque?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 9:20 am

NeedGoodCar, what the info I got from P1 whristle-blower and as posted previously that all these signing thingies like LOI, MOU, etc were desperate attempt on the following: –

1. Try to shore up P1 share by announcing "cooperation" on this-and-that-and-those-and-who-and-whose with the car manufacturers as to portray to the share holder and market that P1 have rosy future and can achieve potential profits with such arrangement – hope market sentiment will do a favour to P1 share for their "lip service".

2. Just put up a show in our auto market that P1 do something that in fact achieve nothing!

In normal circumstances (in any potential biz venture), before embark on anything, feasibility study shall be carry out first by the party concern or joint venture parties to determine and establish that such venture is economically and financially viable, be it building tol highway, LRT, car, airport, etc. Then only come to some form of "understanding" like MOU, LOI, JV Agreement, etc if it involve more than one party.

But what P1 do is totally a BIG JOKE – 360 degree "terbalik" – sign MOU, LOI, etc first with Mits, VW, Chery/Alado, etc, etc, etc than later only start to conduct such "feasibility study" or "biz plan/proposal"? What they are doing are actually means the above 2 items as described, not really to come out with bona-fide ("genuine") partnership to produce new car. Without such LOI also can conduct feasibility study mah…… what a big fuss.

If like that me as an individual also can sign MOU or LOI with Euro Airbus ("assume they willing") to produce supersonic jet and after "feasibility study", aiyaya………, I got RM 1 K in my pocket only, OK lah produce supersonic jet poster and stick to my room wall is "feasible"……….

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:30 pm

Yeah!! feasibility study this, feasibility study that.. LOI this, LOI that… better feasibility study how to Rest In Peace (RIP)… just scrap p1 & NAP masuk tong sampah.. they r not relevan anymore.. not in this 21st century… perform or just die… it just business… nothing personal.. how many big companies in US collapsed??.. but their lives still goin on as usual… biasalah tu…

ps: Or just sell p1 damn cheap to Toyota.. I wud be happy.. enuf said about being patriotic.. I am patriotic to my country, but not to corrupted leaders & powers!!!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 6:09 pm

motorhead said,

September 20, 2006 @ 9:30 am

ps: Or just sell p1 damn cheap to Toyota.. I wud be happy.. enuf said about being patriotic.. I am patriotic to my country, but not to corrupted leaders & powers!!!

yes agree no more…patriotic to the motherland not to fat crocs ,,and really2 greedy crocs

• bobdbuilder (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 9:47 pm

Porotn of late have been releasing a lot of half pass six news to the media, in my opinion. E.g. Want 2 selll car in thailand and indonesia, assemble car in indonesia, after talking with VW, talk with Mistubishi, talk with PSA, talk with australia on assembing Perdana replacement model. All these r big talk, talk, talk only. Proton has become too talkative nowdays. Mayby they should shut up their mouth and concentrate on signing 'real deals'. Not those big announcement like signing MOU, JV, LOI with this n that company. After spending tons of money and feasibility study bla, bla the whole deal is off, just like the talk with VW. Remember, talk is cheap.

• Matthew Seleigh (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 1:00 am

4G63T DSM, Nissan is owned by Renault, not PSA.

MS

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 10:56 am

hehe, i thought was Michael Schumacher.

if they did a feasability study on proton itself in the car market , the company would have need to be scrapped immediately.

french cars are a no no.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 4:38 pm

"Feasibility study" – what segment of car? Small passenger car, sub-compact, MPV, SUV, bus, truck, motorcycle, bicycle, etc,etc, etc,? On Bolehland territory only?, ASEAN, China/India or the world market? All NOT FEASIBLE…….. What feasible? Close shop …….. at most let other take over or become contract assembler than it should have potential …..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 8:34 pm

"Matthew Seleigh said,

September 20, 2006 @ 5:00 pm

4G63T DSM, Nissan is owned by Renault, not PSA.

MS "

Hahaha. My mistake. Accidentally lumped Renault into PSA. :p

• Bigjoe (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 6:57 pm

Proton seems to be doing all these marginal partnership and other move to look like they have a strategy for turning things around. These things are more for justifying CEO and top management keeping their jobs and getting annual bonuses more than a real plan. Later on someone has to unwind all these complications to sell off the company.

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 12:39 am

better than never.

• Matthew Seleigh (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 4:00 pm

I wouldn't assume that Proton is happy about making all these announcements. If you look at them, only the Mitsubishi announcement was a big "event", and that was (according to the Japanese stock and industry analysts community) at Mitsubishi's insistence. Proton's MD was – again, according to these sources in Tokyo – unenthusiastic about playing up the MOU, as merely covers a feasibility study.

So why mention it at all then? Partly because it appears that Proton must.

Proton has to make any and all announcements regarding MOUs, LOIs or partnerships of any kind because such announcements are REQUIRED by the KLSE. Listed companies must announce such things or get de-listed. The MOU signed with PSA Peugeot Citroen was apparently an extremely low-key affair: not a single French or Malaysian journalist was brought in, no press conference or anthing similar. This is in stark contrast to the Mitsubishi Media Show that took place when Proton signed an agreement to study the business case of a two models (one new, one old) with its former mentor.

Given the reality as to how the way things have been going at Mitsubishi vis-a-vis the big deal the Japanese made of the MOU signing, it doesn't take a genius to realise that the low-key signings that Proton is involved in are probably serious discussions with other manufacturers while the heavily promoted, big deals are to keep insolvent MMC (only life-support from Mitsubishi Corporation is keeping Mitsubishi Motors alive) from looking as though it's already been embalmed. And in this perverse case, Proton's the one being used to support Mitsubishi's share price.

Now I doubt that anyone will let a few facts get in the way of a good story (since many people seem to have their minds made up when Proton's concerned, regardless of the facts), but maybe a few of the mob around here will find them interesting, even if they mean that Proton may not be announcing these MOUs to look as though they're doing something when it's believed they are not. In fact, MOU signing events in the MMC mould may indeed be diverting the company (if only a little) from moving ahead with product and other changes needed to set the company right.

MS

• Opitycica on Nov 11, 2009 at 5:57 pm

Could not find a suitable section so I written here, how to become a moderator for your forum, that need for this?