Suzuki Motors may take control of Malaysian business

swift_sport_front.jpg

Suzuki Motors may establish it’s presence here in Malaysia officially, as part of it’s plans to take control of the marketing and strategic direction of the Suzuki business here. This would give Suzuki control over matters like marketing strategies and pricing strategies of vehicles. Suzuki Malaysia Automobile Sdn Bhd currently has a 3 model line-up in Malaysia – the Suzuki Swift, the Suzuki APV and the Suzuki Grand Vitara.

Following GM’s footsteps with Hicomobil, Suzuki is reported to be interested in at least a 51% controlling stake in Suzuki Malaysia Automobile Sdn Bhd. Some may think that this looks like DRB-HICOM is losing the confidence of the principal companies, but in reality DRB-HICOM views this as inviting the principals to take a more active role in Malaysia so that the businesses can grow further.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 3:20 pm

On an unrelated news, Richard Hammond (the short guy) of BBC Top Gear is seriously injured in a jet-powered car crash. It was reported that the car overturned at almost 280mph!

I hope he survives… such is the commitment shown by a foreign motoring journalist, something we will not see in motoring journalists here, who's job is only to please car distributors!

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 4:03 pm

Hahahaha…

Really unrelated news but thanks for the information..

By the way…any more news about it? What car is that?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 4:32 pm

Pricipal company direct involvement in marketing in auto industry that is the future trend and the right direction……. as competition is very intense ……

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 4:59 pm

Good news for us, hope Suzuki can bring more models to here, more competition, more choices.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:29 pm

I believe Suzuki Motors will put more effort in marketing their trump card now, Swift. Hopefully the Suzuki car prices can be reduced to a more attractive and competitive with Toyota Vios & City..

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:40 pm

After all, these NEP products (ppl) still can't Stand Up by its own. Why can't they all success in Any Business and still need Foreigners to take over and control? Really SAD to see it, but it was predicted before.

Remember, Easy money will not last forever. Only Hard earn money will last long.

Siapa lagi sokong?

Dr.M sokong…..but sad to see……

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:50 pm

Good, slowly "kick out" all the bumi AP holders from the motor industry… It's about God damned time…

• acbc (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 6:21 pm

Principal coming down to take over and invest is a good sign. Less 'idiots' milking the ordinary citizens. With more and more foreign control, the G will have to listen to them otherwise they just pack their stuff n move to China.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 8:01 pm

Thats a good move for Principles to come in and inject money and/or expertise in the industry.

I'm sure plenty of people got very rich from these Principle buyouts.

As for APs, I wont be too naive to expect this to change too soon. These guys wont want thier rice bowl to be broken. Its free money.. you think they will let it go so easily? They will rather companies pack up and go to china than give up APs. What do they care?

• J (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 9:08 pm

Anyone know when is the Suzuki Swift Sport available on sale in Msia ?

Price range ?

Thanks…

• Kaboda (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 9:43 pm

Speaking about Richard hammond, Paul you should put up something about this. Its quite devestating. Richard Hammond is one of the three Steve Irwin's of the motoring industry.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2-2006430740,0…

More news there lets hope he pulls through.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 11:02 pm

maybe this is one of the few tings that the NAP got it right,…for manufacturers to setup their operations here…

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 1:18 am

Good news for owners of Suzuki ERV who were left stranded by Lion Suzuki's withdrawal from the ownership of Suzuki marque. Now I am sure, ERV owners can breathe easily as spare parts will not be a problem. I also hope that Suzuki bring back the ERV to contest the Avanza market, spec for spec, the ERV will trash Avanza without a fight.

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 1:26 am

Sorry some correction, spare parts for ERV was not a problem, I have been using an ERV for 3 years now, my father is using an ERV as well. What i mean is that spare parts will not be a problem in the future.

• Aziz dsago on Nov 26, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Where to find a Suzuki ERV parts? I am looking all over Kuching for inner door handle, but none.. can you help me with this, tq.

• Cire (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 2:19 am

Setting operation here alone would not make things all bright, unless the cars are priced competitively – like in the region of rm55-65k for the Swift ?

Too tall an order? Well, Msians will be Msians, the feel of payin too much for a ckd small car will always play in the mind of a typical Msians.

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 4:10 am

They cant do that, if they do, P1,P2 will go bankrupt!

who wanna buy waja or gen2 or satria neo if you can buy swift at 55K?

if you have such a choice, you would be downright stupid to buy proton or perodua……

• african (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 5:59 am

Suzuki has never design a good and durable car. I don't think it is going to be successful in now a day competitive car market.

Vitara is the only model which look better, but the engine wears out so easily. The price is sky high due to CBU, but the CKD Jimmy is not cheap neither.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 6:58 am

J, below is exclusive comments on Suzuki Sport.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/main.jhtml?xm…

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 10:26 am

very appealing design. base model of this car goes head to head with the savvy. in price.

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 5:53 am

may be suzuli should reintroduce to our shore the new model jimny!

• szw (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:56 am

if wanna take over da business, get more cars in here.

• shah_tru (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 5:29 pm

Best product from SUZUKI… CHAYO CHAYO

• amri (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 1:31 pm

saya baru membeli suzuki erv 2001 1.3 A. Sesiapa mempunyai maklumat mengenainya, sila hantarkan komen anda. Setakat saya memilikinya di Kuala Terengganu ,saya baru terserempak sebuah sahaja model berkenaan di sekitar K.Trg. Mengapa sedemikian, adakah model ini terlalu teruk, tidak diminati, bermasalah, sukar mendapat alat ganti? hantarkan komen anda.terima kasih

• rosdi omar on Jan 11, 2011 at 2:14 am

Saya teringin nak beli suzuki erv. Boleh bagi komen sikit selama saudara menggunakannya?

• Rasyid on Jan 21, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Hi all, i have problem with my Suzuki ERV,
    somebody told me, clutch bowl got problem,

My engine can start, but Can’t Move, too high RPM for moving.
    something like clutch not grip each other,

Please help me…