Volvo S80 promotion by Volvo Car Malaysia

s80promo.jpg

For a limited time only, Volvo Car Malaysia is having a one month promotion from now until the 31st of December 2006 where you’ll be able to buy the Volvo S80 2.0T Classic for only RM199,000 excluding insurance, alot cheaper than the original price without insurance of RM250,927.42! That’s a savings of over RM50,000.

Some specs of the Volvo S80 2.0T Classic – it’s powered by a 5 cylinder light pressure turbocharged engine making 180hp at 5,500rpm and 250Nm of torque between 1,850rpm to 5,000rpm. The engine is mated to a 5-speed auto. Top speed is 210km/h, and 0-100km/h acceleration time is 9.8 seconds. Of course, this is the current S80 that’s on sale here, not the recently launched new Volvo S80.

For more info, visit any Federal Auto Cars or Swedish Marque showroom.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ed0r (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:28 am

Saving over RM50K. A price of a car. But most of us are still out of the league :(

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:32 am

ni yang tak habis jual, s80 all new on the road already.

this is oldies,

240 classic then bye bye

s80 classic the bye bye of course,

classic=saki baki,

• msmar_453 (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:53 am

what a "plain" product with a "plain" marketing strategy!!

Agree with u protonGL. You memang best la!!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 1:25 am

this is all because Proton la….

stupid make ruin all the market.

price too high

too easy to buy car

npl

high interest

higer death on the road…

all because of Proton la

• skywalker (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 1:27 am

Part of Malaysia Year End Sale promotion i guess.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 1:28 am

useless…new model already on d road…

• RM (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 2:05 am

Volvo supporters who bought in at the higher price must be pissing mad. Sales strategy aside, I don't care if its to rid old stock or not in preparation for the new model, for me I see a massive dilution in brand perception. This is Volvo taking the easiest route of ridding their unsold stocks. They should have done it more discreetly such as through giving the first rights of refusal to existing volvo clientele (on a pretext of a loyalty programme) or even via a fleet sale to corporations.

I wonder whether Volvo will do the same for its other outgoing models. Maybe other brands will also start dumping their cars? Worth deferring that investment, right? Now if 100,000 kiasu malaysian's think the same wouldn't that make matters even worse ? Government may want to re-look at giving manufacturers a rebate on the car duties paid as an incentive to re-export the cars to other markets which would help create stability in car values.

• jonjwlee (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 2:13 am

Can anyone say "run-out sale"?

The new S80 is not on sale yet. They're merely clearing old stock in preparation for the new model. The only recent Volvo that has reached our shores was the new C70.

Speaking of which, I saw a black C70 T5 on the Federal Highway yesterday. I think it was the one that was featured on Star Motoring last Sunday. Very sleek. Sat four adults.

• transformer (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 2:18 am

current S80 owner would CRY……. overnight, lost RM50,000

just like those new car own before NAP announce….! CRY baby!

anyone know when its the next NAP coming out?

IMHO, the side profile of this S80 looklike a Chinese Coffin! ( Sorry! )

• Hikaru (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 2:24 am

Buy cheap now, 3 years later your bank balance will break. This car has too much problem which are too costly to maintain or repair. Friend's company bought one as company car but had to sell it off because too many things starting to break.

Nonetheless a good car if well maintained.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 7:19 am

Car prices in Malaysia are ridiculous! :(

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 7:47 am

GAH!!! Why no savings on the S60?? Then I'd be able to drive one sooner!! Oh well I can always wait…

• tishaban (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:18 pm

Volvo did the same thing with the outgoing S40 when the new one was introduced as well. RM30-40k discount if I recall for the outgoing model, complete with sports package etc.

Skoda is doing the same with their current outgoing Fabia and Octavia with RM20-25k. Even Toyota had > RM10k discounts on their discontinued Camrys some time back before the new one came in.

Standard marketing strategy I guess.

• layman (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 7:42 pm

This kind of sales strategy only can be done in Malaysia – The Boleh Land.

All the old stock from Singapore and Thailand will send to Boleh Land for disposal. That why the new model always launch earlier in Singapore and Thailand.

• samn (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 8:02 pm

Condolences to the existing owners…Volvo should pay compensations to these customers. It brings the Pride of owning the Volvo S80 down to the drain coz' by Standard it is similar to BMW 5 series and Merc S Class. Shame on Federal Auto and Swedish Marque for treating existing customers this way. New customers must think carefully before parting your cash.

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 9:00 pm

losing money on new cars is going to be a normal thing already. it's the same in many developed car markets where new models may even be cheaper than the outgoing model. as a result, used values will plummet and we should be able to get good used cars at a bargain… at the expense of the one who bought it brand new. car companies have no choice. it is not to hurt their current customers but rather to survive. if they cant sell, they can't continue giving after sales service and could close down. its not shameful or anything, its more a matter of survival. sell the older cars at a loss and stay afloat or sink with higher interest payments later. its obvious what direction car companies will take. naza does it, bmw does it, mercedes benz does it, volvo does it, and the list goes on and on. so buyers beware and be prepared to keep that new car for a long long time.

• wookie00 (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 9:14 pm

50K is alot to lose. I definitely smell clearing out for new model. For owners of cars before the NAP, dun be too huddup about it. Pre NAP, you still get high value for your old car trade ins… hence compensate for the higher Pre NAP new car prices. However POST NAP, just take a look at the 2nd car market now…. SLUMP. Even with the new lower car prices… the market is still SLUMP. it evens out!…. I got my new 1.8 sentra pre NAP, paid maybe 8K more than POST NAP value but i got high trade for my old CRV at that time. ;) see… not so bad.

• Cire (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 10:41 pm

They could always have the cars pre-registered and then sold at a discount. Then the impact would not be that bad for those who bought the car much earlier.

Anyways, the car does not appeal as much as a Merc or a bimmer.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 09, 2006 at 7:35 pm

S80?? hm……

I like S40 more…….

• SamGan (Member) on Dec 09, 2006 at 9:59 pm

Just look at how high their margins are. I don't suppose they are selling at a loss even with RM50K discount. No business will sell at a loss.

• Victorfoo123 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 9:56 pm

I bought this car yesterday and buy the car plate .It was not very expensive but it is worth it.

• volvotan (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 2:27 am

I’ve been a Volvo owner since 1973 starting first with a 144 DL, then a 244GL and finally a 240GLT fuel-injection. They are all very good cars and I
    enjoyed all of them.

However, I am quite cheesed-off with Federal Auto as they do not recognise
    me as a potential buyer. I am sure they have my details and the marketing/sales ppl did not think it fit to contact me for a sales pitch.

Anyway, many thanks to them as it made me decide to “change brands” as
    I got a Honda City and now a Camry 2007.

I also discern that their sales must be terrible: First by observing their showrooms/service centres. Secondly, I don’t see much, if any at all, new
    Volvos on the road.

Anyway, it’s none of my business now as my 240 GLT is to be given away to
    my son-in-law. It is still very good after 18 years. Spent about RM3,500 to
    really spruce it up.

Anyone out there who needs some advice on 240 repairs/tips ?

• Yes, i own a 240SE 93 model.
      Can u recommend some good mechanic.

i just bought it 6 months ago.

• Victor on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:03 pm

We are looking for a experienced Volvo mechanic who specializes in Volvo service & repair. We have a 240 GL/Auto. Pls. recommend. Thankyou.

• cheal_c (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 7:37 pm

Hi Guys,

I’m new here. It’s a heart-breaking marketing strategy from volvo to current S80 owner :(. I’m one of volvo since I saw S70 model. But I’m planning to get S40 2.4i. Anyone know if it could be a good buy for me?

• Victor on Jul 23, 2010 at 8:52 am

Hi guys, I’m also new and looking for S80 second hand anyone can help? Most appreciative and would be really keen to be owner of S 80 …..

• Peter on Jul 23, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Me too. I saw from Muday.my there is one to let go. RM50000 but need to repaire which cost me up to RM10000 to oil leak ECU tunning.