Nissan Teana on sale for RM230,000 OTR!

Teana

It appears that the Nissan Teana will not be replacing the aging Nissan Cefiro after all. Edaran Tan Chong Motor is somehow placing the Teana in the top of the line Japanese D-segment CBU segment, occupied currently by the lone Honda Accord 3.0 V6. The Nissan Teana will be fully imported from Thailand and will go for RM230,000 OTR.

RM230,000 will buy you a generally nice looking car, however it seems overpriced for what it is. The Toyota Camry 2.4, also a CBU from Thailand, goes for only RM168,303.00, making it seem like a bargain. It also makes you wonder why the Teana has to be priced the way it is now, when Toyota can get the Camry in for much cheaper.

The Honda Accord 3.0 V6 CBU also comes from Thailand, and goes for RM212,800, even cheaper than the Teana V6 2.3L! It also has bigger and more powerful engine, plus a sunroof, but the Teana has 6 airbags while the Accord 3.0 V6 only has 4. However, the Teana also still uses a 4-speed auto, while rivals have gone 5 speeds.

The Teana could give it’s competitors an edge and end up being somewhat worth it in terms of ride and handling though, but I can’t exactly do a comparison looking at spec sheets so we’ll have to leave it at this for the moment. There must be some reason why the Teana ended up being priced like this, but I don’t know why.

More photos after the jump.

Teana

Teana

Teana

Teana

Teana

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• familyman (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:28 am

hmm.. they should push some other models.. at least in the same class this still doesn't beat the new camry looks…

not sure bout the performance though.. when can we get those paul?

honda vs toyota vs nissan…

• thow (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:40 am

RM230000???!!!!…I rather get a 2.4 camry or 3.0 accord with change to spare..

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:43 am

230K for this?! Duh, what are they thinking. Seriously overpriced ler.

• cyborgx (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:46 am

The frontal part looks like Mitsubishi 380 (frontal), the rear looks like Nissan Sentra (rear) with slight modification. Hm.. not so exciting design overall.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:56 am

That why i say Nissan Tan Chong in Malaysia really louzy… And they think the car is so advance in technology that ppl want to rebut it like sentra?!? Hei, ppl know what is internet and they know how to search for new models.. you tot Teana is the newest and most high-tech car meh? I heard they take only 80 Teana into Malaysia…

And one thing, they can discount a lot coz they always price it very high. Even 350z fairlady can discount about 50k from 500k to 450k for 06' model. But, in term of value + performance go for Camry 2.4! Only those who are Nissan fanatics will buy this car…

• happymeal (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 8:10 am

i read its imported from Japan, hence that ridiculous price.

tak tau ler…

interesting enough though…

http://www.customs.gov.my/index.php?option=com_co…

• avanza (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 8:15 am

In s'pore, this is actually the cefiro. Wonder why TCM is not willing to dump the old cefiro and bring in the new one starting with the 2.0?!?!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 9:22 am

Lol, all Japs makes now Made in Tomyam Land. Our Bolehland left with craps P1 cars!

• Mayonaise (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 10:04 am

TCM is making a big mistake… Let's watch it flop…

• PGlang (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 2:42 pm

Ha..I would rather go for Camry…

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 3:05 pm

Nissan, your car is overpriced too much, in term of quality, power, tenna should price below camry and accord…nissan z is RM450k compare to USD32k in US, it is over overprice…

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 3:09 pm

Very greedy you are, Edaran Tan Chong Motor…

I wonder that DB9 WBD 33 is belong to one of your family member…

• wmblade (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 3:27 pm

What pot is Edaran Tan Chong Motor smoking?

BS.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:04 pm

I dont even remember the old G35 costing this much at the grey imports?

At least the G35 you can justify the price because of the sporty FR layout.

230K is insane for a basically re-skinned Altima sedan, and a 2.3L at that.

230K will buy you a lot of other (better) cars.

Whatever TCM is smoking, I would like to have some……

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:32 pm

TCM must be trying to put this model on top of the current Cefiro instead of replacing it. Bad move man.. They should just drop the existing Cefiro and make this a pure replacement.

With that price tag, RM230K can get a nice Honda Accord V6 3.0, Volvo S60 or a Hyundai Azera V6 3.3.

For the BMW fans, RM230K can get a BMW 320i.

• Tanpanama (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:46 pm

Overpriced car..Mau untung banyak.!.I rather buy camry and accord..Why is it Tan Chong always bring in new model late than the others..Examples, new hilux and triton is already in the market, but where's the new nissan frontier (a.ka. Navara)..

• MyBoy (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:48 pm

Teana (new cefiro) is Cefiro (old) natural replacement but this TCM basta*d think otherwise. I'd rather go for BMW.

• waimak (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:51 pm

It's a very nice looking car but with that price I'd choose camry. TCM must have got a reason to place the Teana very high.

• h2k (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:58 pm

TC are known to be lousy…u can see with TC Euro who sell renault…we don't get clio, megane etc…what we get is the lousy ridiculously renault kangoo…what are they thinking? too busy with internal conflicts?

• jehutyz (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:09 pm

Is quite pricey…..

Then i think Latio also will be pricey too.

• kody (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:20 pm

Wahlaueh…

Who is going to buy this bigger 'Sentra'??… haha…. the owner should go for a medical check on brain & eyes…

Too overprice. It looks so ordinary & nothing special.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:22 pm

It's overpriced.. I don't think it's a good move from TCM. Wonder how much they put the price tag for Latio…. RM150K???????? Ridiculous………..

• mattyboy (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:31 pm

Paul – pretty sure that this is CBU from Japan not Thailand thus not enjoying the lower ASEAN tarrifs hence the high price

• jazz1011 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:33 pm

Pricey indeed.

With a few thousand extra, I could get a C200K – complete with Teutonic quality.

While I may not enjoy the power of a 2.3L but as 4G63T DSM puts it – 230K for a car with this engine capacity is completely insane.

Nissan should concentrate on bringing in "lower capacity & more affordable" models to tap the market here.

Cheers!

• Paul Tan on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:36 pm

chips yap of mtm said it is cbu thailand. he had also stated it was cbu japan earlier, but tan chong clarified with him.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:44 pm

Even this this Teana price similar to Camry 2.4L, I still go for Camry!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:29 pm

Just for comparison on how Cefiro/Maxima/Teana is priced compared to X-Trail in Singapore and Australia.

In Singapore:

X-Trail 2.5 MC $90500

Cefiro 2.0 200JK $93000

Cefiro 2.3 230JM $98000

Cefiro 3.5 350JM $111500

In Australia:

X-Trail 2.5 Ti $40790

Maxima 3.5 Ti $45290

You can see it is priced slightly higher than an X-Trail. Sadly we are priced about RM100K more. If it is Thailand CBU, the tax should be lower from Japan import but yet we are getting such a crazy price for it.

• Charger (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:41 pm

Wow! RM230k? I could go for Azera V6 3.3lt for RM220k, with spare change to "upgrade" the suspensions. And that's fully imported from kimchi land, instead of the nearby tomyam land. lol

• tt2007 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:15 pm

TCM has given the best offer trade price in local market , this is their "bullet".

• zanggief (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:19 pm

it looks the bulkiest in the class compare to accord, camry and sonata….

• Tanpanama (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 8:16 pm

If i were to be given this car for free, I won't accept it..(Well, I will accept it and sale it back) So…old school..Only apek who don't know anything about car design,styling would buy it..

• transformer (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 9:20 pm

a bad example of bad market research!

wrong product for the wrong segment!

to make it worse, wrong pricing!

• KelvC (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 10:52 pm

I agree with transformer. It is a product placed in the wrong price segment. While i cannot say for sure that TC priced it that way for massive profit (if CBU Japan + AP + import duty + Sales tax + road tax + insurance + DLL), one thing for sure the available target group left are Corporate customers.

Ever wondered why Lexus would want to make available their products officially in MY and for who? Corporate customer of course! Likewise, TC could be targeting the same Corporate customer who is looking for exclusiveness. BMW, Merc, etc has becomed a household name…yup household. So, if i'm a Chairman or CEO of a multi million…hmmm…million is too common these days…multi-billion dollar company ….not possible, if multi billion then might as well go for Bentley. Ok, multi-multi million dollar company therefore Lexus could be within reach…if kiasu abit then Teana is available around the corner.

At the end of the day, TC should take care of the bread and butter segment first. Introduce product for small sedan segment (compete with Vios and City) and refresh the mid size sedan (Sentra/Sunny..reintroduce Sunny brandname, nostalgic value) and large (?) size sedan (Cefiro).

Want to be competitive? "Give them nothing! But take from them everything!" says the King.

• Paul Tan on Apr 03, 2007 at 10:55 pm

it is cbu thailand not cbu japan!

• KelvC (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 11:09 pm

CBU from Detroit Asia!?!?! Sigh! TC needs to "turun padang" (come to the field) more and "temuramah" (interview/survey) the folks on the ground. Nissan…good cars/marque but have not so discerning distributors.

Paul (or anyone out there), do you have the latest kastam '07 for imported cars?

• KelvC (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 11:10 pm

My apologies, too eager to press "Submit Comment":

Paul (or anyone out there), do you have the latest kastam ‘07 CIF List for imported cars?

• offroader manix (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:01 am

Soh hai……with the price…or etc…looks like only can sell a minimum or cannot sell at all.

V6 accord already koyak….at that price.

200K+ car….M'sian mentality sure goes for continental car.

• kendo (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:28 am

hello,

it is only RM120K (RMB250,000)

in china!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• mytouch (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:28 am

TCM going for the wrong move…this car either engine specifications or exterior design is consider as out-dated…why buy this car where we can choose the better performance Toyota Camry & Honda Accord??

• mytouch (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:37 am

TCM going for the wrong move…this car either engine specifications or exterior design is consider as out-dated…why buy this car where we can choose the better performance Toyota Camry & Honda Accord??rily ridiculous…

• kyosho (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:37 am

this car is unlike camry or honda accord, please feel it before you nag about the price… i tried out in taiwan and the engine was very amazing… from basement carpark ramp up, you have a totally different range of feeling… i dare not to say it is the best, but it is one of the best i have tried… based on the feeling from camry and accord, i will say this is the best, but not the price range wise.

• cyborgx (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 3:54 am

Accord, Camry, Volvo S60 > Teana

• ab (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 5:32 am

I can understand why nissan priced it so high, they know it will be hard to squeeae it with the Accord and Camry, so they priced it high so that people who don't know cars think it is a Jap 5-series and get cheated. They won't sell many, but think of the profit if one is sold.

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 6:28 am

RM230k and it is CBU from Thailand, I rather have CKD in Malaysia, ridiculous expensive, I will buy merc for this kind of price…

• J (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 6:37 am

I think they will review the price one la. This one is to scare scare you guys first, and see what response :)

• kenfresh (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 8:52 am

I remember seeing this in SG years ago. Why is it a new model again?

• carfanz (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 4:34 am

WOW taxes Causes the car fly high price !!! OMG 230k !! i would rather buy a Merc or BMW !!!! Altough it looks nice and Stylish !!! But itz too Outdated in design …… even dis car was long time ago seen in Singapore And Thailand….now ony arrive ….so… long for ages

• japankiller (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 4:50 am

do you believe no demo car in the show room when they call it as Nissan Car showroom?

this is what i have encountered when i walk in Tan Choong Nissan Showroom Jalan Baru, Penang to get a test drive of the Cefiro. And no feedback from their customer service team in KL even i did send an email to highlight this matter. However, what do i get nowadays is their JUNK EMAIL telling me their latest promotion, do you think this is work?no way, i have this sender blocked.

KAMBADE Nissan !!!

• japankiller (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 4:52 am

And just to share, i get my Camry, although this is not my first choice.

I did like to own a Nissan Cefiro but they dont make my passion to own that car.

• Mr.F (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 1:45 am

Yaa.. I do agree with 99 percent of our commentators here.. TCM need to be beefed up if they like to remain as key players in automobile industry in Malaysia.. Since time immemorial (as far as Malaysian is concerned) the model introduced either very very very late or already outdated and sorry to say 'design without taste' .. I think, even the present cefiro is far better in term of design compared to this so call 'teana'.. Give option, definitely go for camry, accord or yesss.. azera (hyundai sonata!).. You guys at nissan malaysia need to refurbished their their thinking in bringing up new model into Malaysia.. please make a 'wow' impact.. rather than.. 'aya.. another grandfather model kaa…' This model not yet tested in malaysian market.. so, how come nissan so sure to introduce it in a hefty price market.. need promotion first maa.. then let the people decide.. otherwise, with that price.. hmm.. better go for beemer 3 series.. much more better in whatever area…

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 07, 2007 at 4:57 am

Add few more K and get a BMW 3 series

• gurugurumawaru (Member) on Apr 12, 2007 at 7:28 am

the price in japan is between 2.4M-2.75M yen(about RM 69k-79k) for 2.3 engine depends on model.how much do you think TCM should sell for this car?i`m not sure which model they import to msia either 230JM or 230JK but teana also have 2.5 and 3.5 engines.its quite a nice car and among nissan`s best selling car for this class alongside skyline sedan, i think.nearly got the 230JM,year 2003,second hand model for RM 24k but lost at the last minute in auction

• DEVILMAN (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 5:31 pm

no need to sell la…this car !!!

• Paul HONG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 4:49 pm

In SG, the 230JS sells for like, $98,000. And by the way, this car has been sold in SG for like, 4-5 years. You got the Teana late it seems.

• Nice car……

• BJ Lee on Jun 30, 2009 at 10:50 pm

I have one in China, 2.5 V6, priced on the road equivalent to RM120K. Indeed a nice and solid car than Cam and Acc. The reason why M'sian priced that "high" is due to political and social-economy reasons and background. Nothing else. If a nation is strong and dare to meet challenges, willing to open up for good sake of her people, you will see otherwise.

• prince on Sep 29, 2009 at 12:29 am

wat the hell???? 230?? i will tell my dad to get he honda rather than TEANA….this is reaally STUPID!!! WHO CARES BOUT 6@4 airbags!!! nonsence!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• go for 72 tests la!! who will buy ur cars haaaaa?

• M0isty on Dec 09, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Teana is the cheapest range when it comes to Camry and Accord.

How come in Malaysia,its sold for so much higher price?

• Outdoor Person on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:06 am

seriously wif tat price tag, who wan to buy laa..unless it is an armored car for some reason..

• down payment for my house 1st if got 230k…. ;p

• TejusReddy on Dec 19, 2010 at 2:05 pm

NISSAN TEANA is an awesome CAR
    I LIKED IT VERY MUCH