2007 Malaysia Customer Satisfaction Index Study

JD Power

Above are the results of the J.D. Power Asia Pacific 2007 Malaysia Customer Satisfaction Index (CSI) StudySM published by J.D. Power Asia Pacific.

Congratulations for Edaran Tan Chong Motor for topping the list with a whopping 756 points on a 1,000 point scale, with notable performance in the areas of service quality, service advisor, service initiation, user-friendly service and service delivery factors. In second place is Honda, and for national makes, Perodua is the only national brand to perform above the industry average of 728 with an index score of 735.

Proton is second from the bottom on the list at 713 points, however it is still an improvement over the last year as they are up 36 points from the previous results – one of the greatest improvements in the industry together with Korean brand Kia. On the overall, satisfaction throughout the industry has improved with the industry average going up 19 points compared to last year.

The 2007 Malaysia Customer Satisfaction Index Study is based on evaluations gathered between February and May 2007 from more than 3,000 new-vehicle owners at 12 to 18 months of ownership, and includes those who purchased their vehicles between August 2005 and May 2006.

You will find a pie chart with the factors contributing to overall satisfaction after the jump.

JD Power

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raverus (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 9:24 am

KIA is unexpected, well done.
    Bottom 3 very expected!!!

• ys (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 9:26 am

basically we have limited time to judge a brand by owning it for 12~18months. it make more sense if the survery is conducted in different period of time… 3 yrs, 5 yrs….etc.
    anyway, bravo to those in top 5….
    how come bimmer, mecs and other top european car not in the list.

good job to produa.

• ob8 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 9:28 am

P2 got fairly impressive rating considering the no. of cars they sold. the percentage could easily flactuate.

• drM (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:00 am

Proton can make cars, thats a fact.

quality part is the only concern to them. should cut off this cancer soon before it become worse.

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:18 am

I guess those who are selling more cars have a higher chance of hurting their ratings.

Anyway, congrats to the Korean car makers and Perodua for scoring above average. And our P2 customers are almost as satisfied as Toyota’s customers. Impressive…

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:53 am

Hmmmm, a complete different experience for me. Keep up the good work. Strive for betterness.

• bs (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 11:21 am

I am a bit surprise Kia is performing so well and yet Naza is right at the bottom. Isn’t Naza (licensed by KIA) getting almost everything from KIA?

I believe the sample size is very different from each brand. KIA only sold very few cars in Malaysia (niche market only), and only to a few hardcore fans and supporter…naturally these people will give very good feedback resulting in very high points.
    Look what happens, when they sell a lot of cars via Naza, the ratings drop drastically…

Same goes for Nissan. It is hard to believe they are performing better than Honda and Toyota…maybe they have very small market share in Malaysia, hence same story as KIA.

• azrai (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 11:24 am

Dear Proton, what ever happened to your SuperBrand label?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 11:33 am

survey mostly about service or at service center?

• xstan (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 11:51 am

Surprised with Kia position too. Not bad … Proton also improved in that segment too. Good..I see some effort by Protons.

• Infinitt (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 12:11 pm

Not much point gap earning by each manufacturer. Good show for all manufacturer. Keep it up.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 12:12 pm

I dont understand the Hyundai/Inokom and Kia/Naza separation.

Please bear in mind that this is weighted towards aftersales service. “Product Quality” as in defects is only 18%

Perhaps Protons products have gotten better but if they dont buck up thier service, there little change next year. So no more “ni Proton, normal-lah” from thier service department. Are you listening Proton?

No manufacturer is immune to the off hand duds. The question is, how do you deal with them.

Although we had problem with our Accord (masuk workshop 3 times in 1st month), we were nonetheless treated with respect and staff were apologetic of thier less than perfect product. This is what scores brownie points.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 12:37 pm

i think the key fact is, at least proton has shown an improvement.. i think they hit rock bottom in the last survey.. i suppose the only way from here now is up.

• azrai (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 12:38 pm

Proton is Superbrand right?

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 12:56 pm

Kudos for Perodua for making it up there, Proton, not too shabby eh, if it’s 36 points better off than last year.

• wong (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 1:04 pm

any improvement means good effort

• szw (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 1:34 pm

nissan ?
    how many cars did nissan sell recently ?

• gonggok (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 1:41 pm

Sales numbers count for a lot. My brother loves his Nissan as the service center isn’t busy and they can afford to give him proper attention.

• J (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 3:04 pm

Previously FORD is the leader best ?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 3:08 pm

how about BMW and Mercedes Benz?

• I my (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 3:20 pm

aik? what’s the diffrent between kia & naza?? r they not the same?

• bmx (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 6:14 pm

1) Naza deserve to be the last, they are only platying LEGO (who did badly).
    2) Proton at bottom 2 is within expectation, as their mentality never improved.
    3) Kia at top 3 is also expected, they score very well in US and UK too.
    4) Toyota (I think) being brought down by the Vios Thailand model.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 6:45 pm

Wow it seems that KIA improved outstandingly. They were below the industry average and at the 3rd place from bottom in last 2006 ranking but bounced up to 3rd place from top in this year’s ranking. Impressive !

Nissan, Honda & Toyota..well no doubt on that. But where is Ford ? It was in for last year’s but disappears from the ranking due to small sample size?…hmm does it tell us Ford’s sales decline abruptly ? Need further explanation.

To Perodua, congratulations and should never satisfy on your performance. At least aim for the top 3. Strive further.

Proton, well if KIA can do it, why can’t you. Only paradigm shift on your mentality and working culture can make that happens. Everything lays on your people’s shoulder. SHIFT…as what Nissan says.

Naza…hmmm…. irrelevant. Period

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 7:39 pm

As long as all car manufacturers (not only the above list) show the improvement then good for us and good for them too. Proton shows improvement and hopefully Proton i-care will help them further. So make sure give good service and best of all improve the car quality etc too.

Sorry to Naza and Inokom. You are trying to make money from Malaysian. Since got AP this and that, why don’t bring in the ORIGINAL MODEL instead of rebadge few models from few manufacturers (Inokom assemble/rebadge Hyundai. Naza assemble/rebadge Peugoet and Kia plus selling other cars too)? Naza interested in Proton? Haha…. Can they (Naza) gives technologies to Proton or Naza wanted the Proton’s high tech factory only to assemble their own cars.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 8:17 pm

less Nissan sales compared to Toyota, so they really take care of people?

• transformer (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 9:02 pm

insufficient service centre for Toyota!

their sales are too much for their centre to cope already…
    even their service centre in US are also couldn’t cope are mentioned by Autoblog few weeks ago…

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 9:36 pm

Agree with transformer. Tell you what, booking is a must for the Toyota SC in my place. And then, when the service is done the next challenge is maneuvering your car out of that cramped place. Other than that, I rate their service highly.

• floyd (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 9:37 pm

NAZA no 1 from the bottom!! I’m a much relieved man deciding against buying naza’s sorento early this year. Glad i bought toyota.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 9:45 pm

Nissan no. 1? i cant believe this… what they sell? how many? latio just came out..

• BrakeFader (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:22 pm

I’m surprised too with the big gap between KIA and NAZA. Aren’t they from the same place? I guess maybe it is due to NAZA’s non-KIA models like Sutera that pulled down the scores. Customer satisfaction is very important these days. Most dealers only know how to sell but forgot to keep your customers happy. With internet and review sites getting more accessible, car manufacturers should really work harder to keep customer loyalty and keeping them away from making complaints public.

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:26 pm

Luckly, my beloved honda in second place…

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:27 pm

Luckly, my beloved honda is in second place…

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:46 pm

azrai said,

August 1, 2007 @ 12:38 pm

Proton is Superbrand right?
    ——————————
    How naive can u b to believe in RD’s survey?

According to Motortrader’s website, Kia and Proton “show the greatest improvement in the number of service standards provided to customers”, so you see, Proton now under Syed Zainal is making progress, and also, to just show how reluctant Proton was to strive for excellence under the supersmart ex-CEO. So yes, you may argue Proton still sux, bt I’ll credit them for their effort.

You have my support then, Syed Zainal!! All the best for Proton’s continuous improvement!!

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:52 pm

I just looked at last year’s Customer Satisfaction, Nissan was 2nd last year wit 745 points, while Ford scored 781. So really, Ford’s feat is still the one to beat. Strangely, I wonder why Ford couldn’t be included in this year’s survey….what do they mean by small sample size? Because Ford sold too little cars?

Proton meanwhile was 677 last year. It seems Syed Zainal’s effort is beginning to bear it’s fruit. Of course, it is still no time to rejoice and goyang kaki, there is still a lot of ways for them to constantly improve, which is vital for consumers like us as well as for their survival in this ever challenging automotive business. Bt they do deserve a pat in the back and encouragement, IMHO.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 2:48 am

Notice one thing? the ‘SERVICING’ part took out a much larger percentage than the ‘PROBLEMS EXPERIENCED’ part.

By cutting it into many deviations, it is too hard for consumers to clearly figure out the exact portion of their servicing done and hence too easy for them to answer ‘Ok’.

Most people here leave their cars in service center and collect them later by the day, due to the importance of cars here, most people who couldn’t afford to have the time to even ‘SERVICE’ their cars HAD TO send their cars for service, how would they know whats the service like?

Initial quality should take up a larger percentage.

• funbox (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 10:58 am

Generally… Good effort! Congrates to Nissan!

Agree with “mzfnd”, those who sell more definitely got better share in this rating. Just wonder… Is the number of survey done equally for each brand… eg. 10 surveys for each brand?

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 11:35 am

They should include “independent service centre” in their survey as well – Ah Beng workshop?

• wong (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 12:37 pm

should include my favourate Kepong workshop…

• chuamike (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 1:59 pm

Strange. Nissan cars are such heavy petrol-guzzlers. Honda and Toyota cars are lighter and much more fuel-efficient than Nissan ones. I would take either a Honda or Toyota on any given day. No Nissan for me.

Customers happy that their Nissan cars consume more petrol and so can clock up more reward points on their petrol reward card? :p

• chuamike (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 2:03 pm

i suppose Nissan car owners are won over by Tan Chong Motor’s after sales workshop services.

Isn’t it better to get a car that consumes less petrol, has better pick-up power. Even though the dealer may not provide as good service as Tan Chong does.

Afterall, how often do we send our car for servicing? At the most a few times a year.

How often do we drive our car? Everyday right?

So which is better? To get a car from a dealer which offers good after-sale service but a heavy petrol-guzzler. Or to get a car from a dealer whose after sale service may not be as good but the car is superior in terms of fuel consumption and performance?

For me, i’ll take either a Toyota or Honda over a Nissan on any given day.