BMW Malaysia launches new BMW 320i Sports

BMW 320i Sports

BMW has launched another BMW 320i variant called the BMW 320i Sports. The Sports suffix means your usual 320i gets an M Aerodynamics bodykit, 17 inch Double-Spoke M Light Alloy Wheels wrapped with 225/45R17 runflat tyres at the front and 225/40R17 runflat tyres at the rear, an M Sports Suspension which is stiffer and lowers ride height by 15mm, and a thicker M Leather Steering Wheel.

The 2.0 litre inline-4 Valvetronic engine produces an extra 6 horsepower over the normal 320i’s engine at 156 horsepower, but this additional power is gained through the extension of the power band to a peak of 6,500rpm rather than the 320i’s 150 horsepower at 6,200rpm. Peak torque is the same 200Nm kicking in at 3,600rpm.

On the inside, the interior is done up in Aluminum Glacier Silver trim. You also get semi-electrically adjustable sports seats. Another feature is an USB audio interface which allows the connection of iPods and some USB-based MP3 players/thumbdrives.

The BMW 320i Sports is priced at RM245,800 OTR without insurance, a premium of RM9,000 over the 320i which carries a sticker tag of RM236,800. Continue reading to view two more photos of the BMW 320i Sports.

BMW 320i Sports

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 7:17 am

What? Front tyres are bigger than the rear tyres? Sounds weird.

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:05 am

The M Sports Suspension stiffens and lowers the ride height, and BMW has to ensure balance suspension setup especialy on the rear since the gap is made closer. Thats why the rear tyres is smaller in diameter.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:21 am

Sounds more like a typo. No way BMW will make the rear tyres smaller in diameter. Thats really odd.

Now if it read 225/45/17 at the front and 255/40/17 at the rear, then it all makes sense. Its normal to run wider tyres at the back. This is the same setup on the 325i

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:32 am

Looks like I’m not the only one to notice the wheels measurement. Its gotta be a typo, with the rear size as per what “4G63T DSM” had said. It’s quite common for the BMW Sports model to come with 255 section tyres at the rear.

Paul?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 9:24 am

izit a typo mistake??i think the rear would be wider than the front…

• kjryth (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 9:37 am

the front bumper nose is on the current trend… as spotted in the VW Golf GTI, Saga..etc

• carfanz (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 10:21 am

nice car…luxury and sporty as well…itz juz da matter of price

• ariff (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 11:09 am

kjryth said,

April 18, 2008 @ 9:37 am

the front bumper nose is on the current trend… as spotted in the VW Golf GTI, Saga..etc

…………………………………………………………………………

BMW tiru Proton..hehehe

• moonier (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 12:58 pm

exterior modification to keep attractive and up to date..

• ThienWu (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 2:13 pm

This Car is Manual ??? Its look Nice anyway…

• juanbeibei (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:09 pm

frm the pic i think its auto..

• juanbeibei (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:11 pm

sorry for double post, btw, the interior finishings looks the same as the current 320i i think.. juz wondering whether there r optional for beige like the normal 320i/325i..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:23 pm

for the COOL factor, I will go for Audi A4….

for the slightly-richer-than-you image, C-Class is the car……

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 5:04 pm

This is drop dead gorgeous, the picture I mean. SLR or your phone camera Paul?

• whodz (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 5:14 pm

Have already seen it at Brunei..Niceee man.

• charles27 (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 5:24 pm

nice look and sporty.. love the design.
    not enough power is the concern.. beside the low 200NM as well.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 10:26 pm

Correct me if I am wrong.
    RM 9k more.
    additional 6 hp higher than current engine.
    So for 6hp you pay 9k extra is it?!

So expansive for such a small amount of power

• Javanese (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 10:51 pm

Ahhh…. Finally, car for the “wannabes”. I guess it compliments the waves of 318 E46 with 18″-20″s on M’sian road today. A natural upgrade for ahbengs from their hondas I suppose.

• szw (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 12:33 am

dis is one hell of a car…

• jimbet (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 12:26 pm

What’s the problem with people who own e46 with big wheelers?

• knight_templar (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 3:45 pm

nah, id js go for d C63 AMG. Not this M3 pretender.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Apr 20, 2008 at 12:29 am

2k lesser than mercedes c-class, the horsepower and torque is a hell lesser than the mercedes c-class. seriously bmw needs to rethink its position

• mfg030380 (Member) on Apr 20, 2008 at 9:17 am

>>>nah, id js go for d C63 AMG. Not this M3 pretender.

320 sport = M3 pretender?
    Comparing 320 with C63?

• mfg030380 (Member) on Apr 20, 2008 at 4:23 pm

Btw I rather wait for d facelift version.

• knight_templar (Member) on Apr 20, 2008 at 5:03 pm

mfg030380, i was expecting someone to ask that sometime. Yes, why settle for less? Why aim for the roof, when u can reach the stars? Of course if cant afford a C63, work n save uplah. Otherwise just be a lame lowlifer n drive a local make.
    I rest my case.

• mfg030380 (Member) on Apr 20, 2008 at 5:44 pm

Okay, I get what u mean…just that we have different “size” of dream….;)

• mfg030380 (Member) on Apr 20, 2008 at 11:34 pm

Actually, having 17″ on a 2.0L car is nothing nowadays…most latest model comes with 18″ stock.

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 12:26 am

who cares how it looks. its a 2 litre. just as bad a choice as buying a 1.6litre bmw 1 series.

wats the point?

2.5litre is the minimum.

• mfg030380 (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 1:01 am

the point is….not everyone need that much of power for a car.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 8:33 am

mfg030380 said,
    April 21, 2008 @ 1:01 am

the point is….not everyone need that much of power for a car.

right….if Ford sold you a Mustang with a 4 cyc and only 150hp, you’d scoff at Ford for a “watered down” pony car.

The E90 is a heavy car. It feels lethargic anyway you put in. Even the 325 we drove at the BMW Drivers Intructor selection felt underpowered when it was put through its paces.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 11:16 am

Well they’ve got to add more pizzaz to this model to sell more of it don’t they? But admittedly they’ve gone the local camp and did bodykits like the local Japanese car operation here to bring up the value.

I’ll be a lowlifer and be proud that my house is 10 times more expensive than the current value of my locally produced car and it’ll appreciate in value. Hell! My 7000sqft land with 4500sqft built up area bungalow is more expensive than this BMW.

Am I happy? You bet.

• mfg030380 (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 5:10 pm

If Ford really lost their mind, made a 150hp-4 pot putting a Mustang badge on it. And you still think that is pure muscle car. What can I say.

3er is just an entry class sedan for BMW. We all know which one to choose btw 320 and 325 if money is not an issue. We already heard abt how well-balanced n refine that BMW 6 pot is. Do you think BMW can survive by just selling their M’s? Don’t get brain-washed by those American lifestyle.

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 11:24 pm

mfg030380 said,

April 21, 2008 @ 5:10 pm

If Ford really lost their mind, made a 150hp-4 pot putting a Mustang badge on it. And you still think that is pure muscle car. What can I say.

3er is just an entry class sedan for BMW. We all know which one to choose btw 320 and 325 if money is not an issue. We already heard abt how well-balanced n refine that BMW 6 pot is. Do you think BMW can survive by just selling their M’s? Don’t get brain-washed by those American lifestyle.

————————————-

the way u think like that no wonder toyota, bmw and the rest are like selling you a 2.0litre bmw 3 series for 2.5litre or 3 litre prices. toyota selling the camry with a 2.0litre engine is just absurd when thier 3.5litre engine is just as fuel efficient.

4G63T DSM said,

the 2.5litre bmw is underpowered. but its the absolute minimum. not ideal

• JackAss on Jun 01, 2009 at 12:27 pm

wow..it's a nice car for the young generations..but i dun think young generations could afford it..

• zaidi Othman on Jul 17, 2009 at 8:13 am

i just bought the second hand 320i 2007 and i think it lighter thanmy last 318 2000 model. i really miiss my e36 328..with pure bm spirit..i wish i could get back my e36..now i just let my wife driving the 2007 32oi..

• Mcdiey on Oct 24, 2009 at 5:11 am

I will go for Audi A4, looks nicer and more power….

• now saya pakai kereta ni…mmg power dari mercedes benz c200!

• ratka on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Enough with all the talking la wehhh….Drive it than you know la. I just smoke few civics and accords on the PLUS highway and the speed was 215km/hr. The fuel paddle still has space for more. But the adrenalin ask me to stop. What a superb performance with the price tag. The sound of the engine…cair wa cakap lu….