BMW cars damaged by kids throwing rocks

Broken BMWImagine, you’re just moseying along driving your trailer carrying 9 imported BMWs trying to earn a living, when suddenly a rain of rocks fall from the sky and 4 of the BMWs you’re carrying get damaged, causing massive damage including broken windscreens and damaged body panels.

This is exactly what happened in China, where a group of kids decided to throw rocks at a passing trailer because, according to them, “it was fun.” When confronted, the parents of the kids were only wiling to fork out a maximum of 5000 yuan or US$729 for the damage.

Interestingly the news article seemed to indicate that the driver is in extreme distress trying to figure out how to cover the damage. No insurance policy?

source via

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 1:37 am

Same here in Malaysia on the PLUS highway where you passby some kampungs.

• ckengyo (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 1:59 am

sorry, something off topic here. just 1 2 leave a message 2 Paul. can cover some of the story of Toyota vios sport edition in Singapore with pics & detail or not? very hard 2 locate by my own. look very aggressive.

• calvin_ngan (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 5:19 am

he is just the driver of the trailer, shouldn’t the company sue the kid’s parents for damages? or probably there are no such laws in China. If I am the driver and am liable for the damages, I’ll cry, imagine how is he going to feed his family now, naughty kids, the ought to be punished.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 8:40 am

comeon, they’re kids, young and dumb, don’t tell me you’ve never done anything wrong when you’re that age!

• White Jack (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 8:59 am

Paul.. interesting news.. well I think no surprise, most kids like to “experiment” this kind of fun. Some like to put rock on the railway track to see what happen when the train pass by :)

Anyway, not sure if it is a typo.

500 Yuan is not equal to USD 729.

• lchan (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 9:48 am

Kids should be cained left, right and centre. Very unfortunate for the driver but why no insurance? Does this mean BMW uses transportation company or individual services that are the cheapest without a drawn guidelines to minimum requirements?

• willpower (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 10:02 am

i disagreed with what abtm said. Kids nowadays is much much imporved and intelligent than us last time. Parents should be liable for what their kids did. Parents are too busy to grasp lots lots of cash in the society, they should pay more attention to the kids and care for them.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 10:44 am

just trial the kids at juvenile court, if China has such justice system. Get the parents pay for compensation.

Kids can’t be let of just becoz they were “kids, young and dumb”. They must be punished for their wrong-doing.

We should see this matter critically– WHAT IF the stones thrown at the truck hit the driver’s head, driver went unconcious, lost control of truck, truck ram into other cars in the road, and ultimately took lives of innocent people and not to mentioned, damaged BMWs.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 10:47 am

Kids are more intelligent and they are not so naive nowadays…They are no longer “angels”….more like hellish brats if you ask me…

Just visit some shopping center in KL, and you’ll see some kids doing all sort of faces and attitude, throwing tantrum etc….

• BW (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 11:16 am

I bet those kids should have got into really big trouble when they get home lol… Rotan awaits from mom and dad…. lol

• Ralliace (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 11:31 am

The Chinese government shoud take these kids to Tiananmen Square and shoot them all ;)

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 12:30 pm

Imagine, this kind of thing can happen to BMW, same like Proton, don bash Proton sommore la, i pity the RnD team !

• shianghorng (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 2:07 pm

No money?

Take thier kidneys out!!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 6:34 pm

poor thing

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 6:37 pm

Imagine if it was a Veyron and not BMW, driver will surely cancel car orders. The driver of the trailer is in distress? Lol, he is just the driver, the owner should be more worried, or he is worried about his job…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 7:19 pm

Take their kidneys out!!

hahaha!!! if not enuf, their retina oso can.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 7:59 pm

BMW Malaysia, watch out!

Let’s get its Corporate Communication guy, Vijay to put together a beautiful corporate statement on how this won’t happen with BMW cars in Malaysia, shall we?

• Auto_crat (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 9:18 pm

Kids should be taught of right and wrong. Don’t let them off just because they are ‘young, dumb and innocent’. What if you’re the truck driver?

• csv (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 11:28 pm

man, i would have kick those kids ass.

just because you’re a kid, doesn’t mean you are eligible to cause other people suffering. in fact, it gives me more reason to whoop your sorry little ass!

man, i pity the driver. throw stones back at those kids. then laugh in their face, tell them it’s fun.

• kruzer (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 12:08 am

I remember reading in the papers some kids in either USA or Australia doing the same thing on passing cars. One of the rocks crash through the windscreen of a car and caused the driver to suffer a cardiac arrest. He died on the spot.
    Imaging driving at 110kmh and hitting a rock!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:51 am

this has actually happened in malaysia before..

and still happens occasionally, especially on the plus highways.
    there was an incident in which some people were injured as well. Cant remember exactly when, but it was only a couple of years back.

kids from nearby kampungs, probably with no other entertainment must have thought it would be fun to hurl rocks unto passing traffic from the many flyovers that criss-cross the highway.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 9:59 am

One day i drive my beloved wira pass thru a jejantas…
    Then my windscreen cracked into thousand pieces.

Thats RM800 fix.

• melvin.foong (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 10:31 am

This happened to be back when I was driving my Nissan. It was more than RM800 fix, though.

Perhaps there were some form of insurance coverage for the cars, maybe the truck driver had thought that since the cars are his responsibility and all.

All and all, I think people nowadays are naive. Kids will be kids, true. But if the kids are not tought by the adults what is wrong and what is not, then who and how these children will grow up to be?

If back in my younger days I were to whine in shopping malls (not that there are many) I get a spanking right at the spot. Right now, in yer 2008, when a kid whine, the parents get them whatever they want. Kids learn, they know by whining, they get things.

Okay, major off topic already.

• Wombat (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 11:27 am

“It was fun” huh? Maybe the trailer driver should throw the kids off the same bridge and see if their parents will think it is fun or not.

There’s absolutely no excuse for the kids not to know that throwing rocks at cars is wrong. It only proved that they were not educated properly by their parents. But having seen the way some parents treat their kids (or little emperors) in China, I am not surprised.

• torque (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 2:43 pm

Hahahaa..Ralliace, now China is a democracy country already. If the kids do this in their communist era, then can shoot those kids with AK47 lor. :-)

• torque (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 2:45 pm

Roti Naan, you made a VERY good point with the WHAT IF factor…good comments dude!