Peugeot 407 Test Drive Campaign by Nasim

Peugeot 407

Malaysian Peugeot distributors Nasim Sdn Bhd is having a test drive campaign for its new facelifted locally assembled Peugeot 407. Anyone can drop by the Peugeot Blue Box Glenmarie or Peugeot Bangsar on the 17th and 18th of October 2008 between 10am until 7pm to have a try at the 407.

The Peugeot 407 costs RM125,888 for the standard version and RM133,888 for the high-spec version – prices that are actually very very good for a European D-segment sedan fully loaded with high equipment levels such as 7 airbags and a good 10-speaker JBL stereo system. Read my previous story on the locally assembled Peugeot 407 for the full specs, photos and pricing.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kingv6 (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 1:26 pm

Hey Paul, hows the FC & maintenance compared to Civic 2.0 ?

• mithos (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 2:06 pm

Is this a new version of the CKD or same one that they officially launched a few months ago?

• jaygan (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 2:08 pm

Would really really love to get one…..but……….

• kerelbort (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 2:25 pm

wonderful car.. if i’ve the money to spend.. i wont be spending on accord or camry.. i would go for this instead… good pricing too…

• awak (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 3:08 pm

this one has double wishbone independant front suspension.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 3:16 pm

This new 2.0L engine has Variable Valve Timing.

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 3:34 pm

well the standard version is 26k more than mine..but..

• abtm (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 3:54 pm

the Mazda 6 or the Honda Accord’s the one to buy, and being french it doesn’t even look that nice

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 3:57 pm

Hi,

Peugeot 407 has always been my favorite car. I’ve been aiming this car for the past few years only that the money haven’t reached my pocket yet (typical Malaysian worker). I always love that “smiley” front grill looks. It is as if smiling to everybody’s on the road, “give me way please, I’m pretty and powerful”. Lol.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 5:28 pm

SYOH the car’s not smiling, its ready to GOBBLE UP the road!!

• torque (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 5:30 pm

Hmm…in my opinion…I’ll have the Mazda 6 as my 1st and foremost choice. It’s gorgeous, it’s comfy and it’s just so darn cool! As for 2nd place, I’ll take the Camry. It’s definately one of the most quiet car among it’s class. Plus, the engine is rather smooth and pack a punch! The Peugeot 407 (only this CKD version) fall to 3rd place. It may have all the best features among it’s class but I just don’t have faith anymore on CKD version. Most of all I’m quite worry of the spare parts availability and it’s price. But I have been in the CBU 407, test drive it and even nearly buy it (wife said it to costly la that time…baru kahwin). The 407 (CBU la) is by far have the best cabin fit and finish, ergonomics feel and class compare to the rest in my opinion. As for the new Accord…hmm…I quite never like the looks actually. Well, different people have different taste…

As for Nasim Sdn. Bhd., this is definately a very good way of bringing the public closer to the brand. Hope they (NAZA) can actually deliver their “promises” when the people finally have the car. Jangan la bagi test drive kereta “cantik” tapi bila dah sign/beli…bagi kereta “janji siap” pulak. Please don’t tainted the Peugeot name’s as it is one of the best French car I ever been in! Cheers everyone and Selamat Hari Raya! :-)

• lchan (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 5:51 pm

if the 2.2L 4 speed auto accelarates to 100km/h in in high ten second, that is our 2.0L going to be doing? Damn..where is the 5 speed auto?

• lchan (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 5:57 pm

damn…malaysian states 1.52 tonnes and australian site claims 1.66 tonnes. This car is heeeeavy!

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 7:22 pm

top gear readers survey has put the 407 in the bottom 6 cars in terms of reliability. i wonder if the 407 would be having such problems here?

• intermilan (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 11:06 pm

after a short spell of positive commets, the basher / naysayer / non-believer are very quick to swing the mood around.

i thought anyone who have interested in this car should grab the opportunity.

its free.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 11:32 pm

thr was a review on topgear magazine this mnth if im not mistaken rite…?

good comment on interior….bad comment on lazt engine.jerky gearbox.and god know wat after market support u get….the starting price might seem attractive at first but thn again its abt geting a good package nt jus a car only

• Beemer Freak (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 12:14 am

This car indeed is a rather complete package comparing with its competitors with similar pricing.

However that keeps me wondering… Why jap D segment sedans in Malaysia are so lowly spec when compared with those in Singapore and Thailand. For instance, an 2.0L Accord and Camry in Singapore has cruise control and sequential shift as standard while the Malaysian models do not get. Worse is they come form the same production and assembly plants.

UMW Toyota and Honda Malaysia should make sure that we receive what we pay for and not only what they assume we would want.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 8:05 am

guys,

why don’t you guys just go to either bangsar or glenmarie on those dates , test drive the cars which should be run-in already by now and report back your impression of the car (i think there’s a gift if you test drive the car too). better than speculating about the performancelah, the fittinglah the finishinglah etc. go there and see for yourself instead of carrying views that you heard from this person or that person then write here your impression drive report.

can?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 8:11 am

good car, a good drive, good price, but plagued by extremely strong negative perceptions on reliability, after-sales and re-sale value. Unfortunately, most of those perceptions are true. Personally, I really like the SW version of the 407. Looks super long…

Car buyers have become a generally boring lot in malaysia buying mainly the same cars. Imho, partly thanks to the high prices of cars. considering what a large investment they are to many, people will always tend to buy something thats known to be affordable to maintain, and has good resale value.. which automatically explains why toyota and honda are still at the top for foreign car makes. A lot of people dont want to “gamble” with their money.

• tikus (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 9:13 am

Nazim, went can the adik 308 will be available? Cant wait !

• lchan (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 10:22 am

Not really..we are just forced into being a bunch of boring lots because of the rediculous prices of cars here.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 10:25 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

i agree with you. unfortunately, to lower prices from what they are now (which have already been lowered), there must be more numbers. basic economies of scale theory. but it’s also a bit of chicken and egg situation and nasim has to balance the two sides carefullt to what is an acceptable price while avoiding doing business for free.

like you said, it is a matter of perception and i agree fully. it takes a lot of time to re-build a battered brand screwed up by past poor models. people still think the new models are problematic because of, … the reality of the older models. sad but very true. this also affects resale value and so on and so forth. the car business is not as easy as many think ;)

a bit i’d like to add on car spare parts pricing. many have mentioned that official service centres charge a lot for their spares compared to the ‘kedai alat ganti ah chong’. this is true. it is definitely more expensive because of the following:

1) the need to maintain a work force
    2) premises rental / purchase
    3) sending that workforce for training
    4) paying royalties for proprietary software and equipment from the principal
    5) purchasing special tools
    6) purchasing uniforms
    7) maintaining corporate identity
    8) maintaining limited number of stock as compared to kedai alat ganti
    9) paying duties and taxes (actual amount) on parts
    10) no under-declared parts (this is debatable, i know)
    11) being able to complete jobs faster due to proper special tools and equipment
    12) warranty on parts
    13) genuine parts
    14) having customer lounges where customer can wait in comfort (this is also debatable)

so, this is why the parts are considered more expensive from official franchise holders. its the same for all brands. i think i speak on behalf of all official car importers/distributors/assemblers etc. on this. just hope that you guys can see the difference between the parts bought over the counter from the ‘kedai alat ganti’ and parts from official franchise holders. believe me, franchise holders want very much to bring prices down but they also have many more things to think about than just slapping a price on a part.

just my 2 sen worth.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:56 am

Japanese will never put high specs on 2.0L Accord/Camry because they’ll save the goodies for the 2.4L models la …

Parts? Of course lah Jalan Ipoh underwater parts are cheaper!! Same applies to Japanese – Toyota, Honda, etc. so don’t just single out Peugeot cos that’s nonsense!

Official distributor spare parts – NO underwater. Must pay import duty about 25-30% and 10% Sales Tax. NO exceptions.

• dale (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 11:04 am

Test drove this beauty at Bangsar yesterday evening (friday). It was raining heavily. Didn’t get the chance to test its cornering ability, therefore my E39 is still the best in that aspect. My only comment is, I really hope that the after sales service will be well taken care of by Nasim so called Blue Box.

• torque (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 12:15 pm

Ya ya, agree with maibatsu_thunder regarding about the parts issue. Many Japs parts are mostly come from underwater. For example, a Toyo tire Proxes T1-R 215/45 17 inches in Vision Auto at Bangsar is sold around RM460 and comes with warranty but in some Sunway district (along Jalan Horsepower) some of the tires sold there are underwater, for the same Toyo tire you’ll just pay RM400 without any warranty (just a mouth warranty that is).

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:01 pm

nice, but i wished they bought in the citroen c5

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 7:59 pm

yeap…. quiet eager to see new Citroen C5 in Malaysia….

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 9:02 pm

that car is seriously nice, after the alfa romeo 159 its the second best. and stupidly comfortable. i don’t know why what car? rate the ford mondeo so well. must try both of the cars given the chance.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 1:15 am

Accord & Camry Singapore spec have cruise control? I wonder where they wanna cruise? Round island i guess.

• davidchan on Jun 14, 2009 at 7:24 am

im goin to save money to buy dis phoojoo. change to 18inch sport rim.. change sport caliper. lower it. change front grill to chrome.. add spoiler. change dual exhaust pipe.. change bumper to 407 coupe bumper. i mean front bumper.. tint it black.. change recaro seat.. wow…. dreamin….

• grezer29 on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:03 am

Lowprofile & inter are definitely one of the most knowledgeable conti lovers here.. I know coz i've been looking through lots of sites since falling in love with the 407! Go test drive and you'll know the difference.

Just a question though – what's the FC really like with the 4 gears? It's a small price to pay, i know.. but with if oil price were to hit skyhigh again *faint** . Anyone has any idea?