Nasim launches locally assembled Peugeot 407

Peugeot 407

Nasim Sdn Bhd has launched the facelifted Peugeot 407, now available in showrooms around Malaysia. The new Peugeot 407 is locally assembled and comes in two trim levels. Both come with the 2.0 litre Peugeot EW10A engine with variable valve timing producing 140 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 200Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. The Tiptronic System Porsche 4-speed automatic has also been revised.

The high-end model comes with full leather interior and integrated GPS navigation, a first at this price point. It is not an aftermarket unit but is integrated into the 407’s dashboard. It is priced at RM133,888 OTR.

For the version without GPS and cloth seats, you pay RM125,888. These are great prices for an European D-segment, and for those who care about safety the 407 also scores a high 5 stars on the EuroNCAP crash test and comes with 7 airbags (driver, passenger, driver side knee, driver side, passenger side and 2 curtain airbags). Five colours are available – Aluminium, Iron Grey, White Gold, Montebello Blue and Nera Black. You can also visit their 407 microsite for more info.

Peugeot 407 – RM125,888
  • 140hp 200Nm 2.0L VVT engine
  • 4-speed Porsche Tiptronic automatic
  • 240W 10 speaker JBL hi-fi with subwoofer
  • Boot-mounted CD changer
  • Trip computer
  • Auto-dimming rear view mirror
  • Electric front seats
  • Driver’s seat lumbar adjustment
  • Auto-height adjustment Xenon headlamps
  • Electric folding and adjustable wing mirrors
  • 17 inch alloys with 215/55R17 tyres
  • Anti-lock Brakes (ABS)
  • Electronic Brakeforce Distribution
  • Emergency Brake Assist
  • Electronic Stability Program (ESP)
  • 7 airbags (2 x front with passenger side disable switch, driver knee, 2 x curtain, 2 x side)
  • 5-star Euro NCAP rating
  • Cruise Control
  • Rear air-cond vents
  • Dual-zone climate control
  • Active carbon/pollen filter
  • Rake and reach adjustable steering
  • Automatic light-sensing headlamps
  • Front foglamps
Peugeot 407 – RM133,888
  • All of the above
  • Leather seats, steering wheel and gear knob
  • 7 inch dash-integrated LCD screen with GPS navigation

It looks like Nasim Sdn Bhd wants to officially enter the market with its first Peugeot offering with a big impact, as the good prices and equipment levels indicate. The 407 is assembled in Gurun, Kedah with 40% local content.

Peugeot director operations director for Asia-Pacific and Africa Francois Poirier said upcoming Peugeot vehicles for the local market included the 207 GTI, the 207cc, the 308 and the 308RCZ. The 308 is next in line, to be launched by Q4 2008. To support sales two more 3S centers similiar to the flagship Blue Box in Glenmarie would be opened in Penang and Kuala Lumpur.

More images after the jump.

Peugeot 407

Peugeot 407

Peugeot 407
Click for more details

Peugeot 407

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• rexis (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 8:56 am

What are the changes they will assemble the diesel version of 407? Is it more then 5%?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 8:58 am

This 407 looks like a very good value for money.

If Nasim can drum up demand for the 407 and Peugeot on the whole, as well as provide decent support in terms of affordable and available spares, who knows, perhaps they can reverse the landslide depreciation from one of these things.

• abtm (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 9:17 am

Looks good, but it’s underpowered and maybe like all frenchies unreliable?

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 10:55 am

very impressive package and pricing, french cars reliability are always sketchy..for pug models, the 407 seems to be ok unlike the 206 which was rated the ‘worst car in the UK’ by BBC..had an oppotunity to own a Citroen ZX 16v from 95-2001, it utilizes mostly Pug parts and mechanicals..was reliable over years except for very minor issues..ride and handling of these cars are excellent..it seems pug/cit cars only company which manufactures their own suspension components in house..

• lchan (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 11:36 am

Good value i say. Test drove the 407 about 3 years ago and was not impress with the rolling noise and crashy suspension on poor roads. Hopeful it is sorted out. 4 speed auto is a real let down.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 11:52 am

abtm,

you hv not driven this version with vvt yet. so you cannot say it is underpowered. don’t judge a new book by it’s cover. just because the book looks familiar, it doesnt mean there are no revisions inside.

i’d advise you to head down to the showroom this weekend where they’re also having some sort of event thing and test drive the car. then only comment on whether it is underpowered or not.

you’ve gotta be fair in your assessment and not say things which are baseless.

• knight_templar (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 12:08 pm

A bit unrelated,
    Since we’re on the topic of European cars, there’s something here about a new New Beetle.
    http://www.motortrend.com/features/auto_news/2008/112_0809_volkswagen_new_beetle/index.html

• longjaafar (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 12:11 pm

200nm of torque and a built in sat nav is good value for money. NAZA now has to sort out the servicing and spares. It is a good brand, but because of family squabbles in the earlier franchise holder,the development of the brand suffered.Asia motors used to be the agent, and when they gave it up, it was languishing, and even C&C did not really push the brand very much. As for technology, it almost unseated Audi at the recent LeMans, with it’s diesel powered cars.

• hfrshah (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 12:47 pm

Good price for the car. Great choice for people not restricted by the ‘buy boring japanese sedans only because I’m old-fashioned and I like to stick to the ‘safe’ choice in every way possible’ mentality.

Looking forward to seeing the sales chart for this car to compare it to the usual japanese suspects. Ratio of 1:50 maybe, or 1:100?

Makes me sick thinking what we Malaysians buy in hordes without even thinking of the alternatives.

Funny how they say they’ll make the 308RC-Z here considering it’s not even in production yet..

• abtm (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 1:04 pm

lowprofile,

True this has a revised motor, but i doubt an extra 4hp will make any difference, especially since it’s got a 4 auto speed gearbox with Porsche written on it

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 1:31 pm

abtm,

please drive the car. i’d like to know your test drive impressions.

• Bebelon (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 1:35 pm

hope this model will beat the japanese brands kuat kuat. Consumers in Malaysia will have wider choice when considering in buying higher capacity car and it is continental brand!!!

• vogue (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 1:52 pm

Anyone must be really stupid to buy this car. New car Year 2008 still using 4 speed auto. How sad. Before you buy, it is already outdated. French cars are renowned for their efficient turbo diesel engine and manual gearbox. Here, you are buying all their weakness, petrol + auto.

• carlover (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 2:12 pm

whatever floats your boat vogue! i like this car :) good specs = great value for money!

• ahlaplap (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 2:13 pm

I hope this serves as a good warning to Camry, Accord and Mazda 6. Their car is over priced with pathetic specs….dissappointed at our auto industry…. 407 is in the same leauge with them if not better….y can sell cheaper?

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 2:27 pm

vogue said,

July 10, 2008 @ 1:52 pm

Its still a better buy than the camry 2.0 & accord 2.0.
    Anyone must be bloody stupid to buy camry accord 2.0.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 3:18 pm

vogue, the camry also 4 speed lah. whats the big deal. a host of other japanese cars are also still using 4 speed auto lah. so, it’s no problemlah. of course, its good to hv latest technologies everywhere but malaysians are not ready to pay for it. especially if it comes from europe.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 3:27 pm

definitely one of the best Peugeot :-)

• rexis (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 4:02 pm

So we can see more 407 roaming the streets now? Indeed they are good looking, I think their old design beat new camry and accord.

• danny on Mar 24, 2010 at 3:03 pm

hi there, am owner of two peugeots……super car to drive but after sales service is screwed……..windscreen cracks easily as it cannot witstand local weather conditions…….nazim technical cannot see this…….

• zk9 (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 4:31 pm

seven airbags? is that TRUE? odyssey got about the same amount of airbag but costs more than a quarter million ringgit

• skodian (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 4:49 pm

Still Camry and Accord will still tops the chart. This is Malaysia’s reality. Those brands have been stamped hard into our Malaysian’s head.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 4:59 pm

SEVEN airbags, JBL audio with 8 speakers, subwoofer, amp and 6CD changer, powered seats, climate control, rain sensor, DSC (Dynamic Stability Control), ABS, EBD, cruise control, fuel computer, 17″ wheels (Michelin or Pirelli?), 3-year warranty … for RM125,888 OTR?

Those who are Jap-centric will never budge so let them be. Camry 2.0 can be 4-speed but to them Toyota can never do wrong.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 5:07 pm

steering wheel bag x 1
    front passenger bag x 1
    driver seat side bag x 1
    front passenger seat side bag x 1
    left curtain bag x 1
    right curtain bag x 1
    steering column/knee bag x 1

please note – many people mistake the curtain bag as many bags because the tag ‘aigbag’ appears on the a-pillar, b-pillar and c-pillar. it is usually one large bag.

• s60t (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 5:26 pm

very good value for money.pity the guys who bought the CBU units for 160K though. pugs are really comfortable and good cruisers on the highway.

• intermilan (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 5:41 pm

Great value for money i would say.

should entice malaysian to really reassess their option if they are in the market looking for a spanking new D-segment vehicle.

looking at the detail brouchure of 407.. the 407 surprisingly offer even greater value than almost if not all malaysian’s favourite / default choice in D-segment.

Lets look at the numbers:

A. ‘Premium’ 407 at RM133,888 OTR.
    B. ‘Standard’ 407 at RM125,888 OTR.

Similar offerings in the market, most of which is the volume class leaders:

1. Camry 2.0G at RM151,246.10 OTR;
    2. Camry 2.0E at RM141,109.10 OTR;
    3. Accord 2.0VTi at RM141,800.00 OTR;
    4. Civic 2.0S at RM128,800.00 OTR (in lower C-segment compared to 407);
    5. Sylphy 2.0 Luxury at RM117,589.20 OTR.
    6. Lancer 2.0GT at RM115,980.00 OTR

The 407 pricing undercut almost all competition, including some Japanese marques (!) and when we look at the specifications of each car, then the true value on offer will further stand out.

Most equivalent European CBU offering are priced around RM165K OTR (excluding Beemer, Audi, VW and Merc which start around RM200K and above).

i guesstimate that the introduction of 407 diesel variants depends on market response to the petrol offerings and any changes of the G policy towards diesel. so far so bad…

• Hikaru (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 5:48 pm

hmm…..in terms of value for money, I think as many have pointed out here that the 407 is must more value for money than the Jap counterparts. Throw in some french flair compared to the very pragmatic design of the Japs, it really is in for a shout.

However, 407 (like most European Marques, save Merc and perhaps BM) suffers big depreciation and it may not be the wisest choice for those who are money conscious (who isn’t these days?). This I am afraid may be its biggest stumbling block. I cannot think of any other reason not to buy this car, save for the painful depreciation.

• gtmaniac (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 7:00 pm

Spec by spec, I would say it is a really good price for a mid-size sedan. A good buy to whoever planning to use it in long term. Hope the aftersales service/parts availability is good too.

To whoever concerned on resale value just remember, nowadays any car – including even the Jap marques – will not retain good resale value, unlike the 80/90’s era where you can buy an 1998 EJ Civic for RM85k, used it for a couple of years, and trade-in it for RM80k without any doubt. Get a Motor Trader, check-out the price of a 2 or 3years old Accord/Camry and compare the price when it was new in that time, and you’ll get my idea. Or try to bring your 2 or 3 years old car to used car lot abd prepare to get shock.

But I’d buy this Pug based on the looks alone. Seeing it on the road once a while got my eyes opened, even it have been on the road for sometime now. May be i got tired seeing to many Accords and Camrys on road..

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 7:05 pm

finally…we are not a slave to the camry and accord

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 7:12 pm

Great car la. With this price u can get a Europen car with all kind of techies. I always wanted to have this French makers car but just because of the maintenance fee is on the high side, i would have to let this dream away. But indeed the 4 speed is abit slow to the technology. Why is never comes in with the diesel unit? or should i say why M’sia never wanted to increase it’s diesel quality…..

• kevin62 (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 8:24 pm

Great!! Didn’t aspect lower than RM130k.. Well Done NAZA.

Im looking for the Blue Box in Penang.

Try to beat those Jap

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 8:26 pm

this car could be the best value for money, maybe even better than the new lancer. spec wise it should win hands down.

however i still have big doubt about the build quality… 40% localised parts? i believe even accord don’t have so much local sourced components, yet it has been in malaysia for decades (with potentially much higher volume than 407). a totally new car, put together by relatively young assembly plant, and sold by even younger company..for me it’s a recipe for disaster. if i’m in the market for this type of car, i would be patient and wait for feedbacks from pioneering customer.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 9:35 pm

Very very attractive price. Nice looking car too

• arcana (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 10:32 pm

great price indeed…….quality of this car is still unknown.
    sales volume wont be superb due to buyers choice biased towards jap brands.
    even koreans priced their similar cars at 30-40k cheaper and still couldnt get more sales than jap brands……

its like asking urself, why do u buy branded material at a much higher price when there’s something similar around at 1/4-1/2 the price maybe?…….same purchasing mentality applies on cars.

arent we getting another diesel upgrade in 2009?…..previously was 2007 right?

• vogue (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 10:44 pm

You might buy this car cheap now, but you will rugi big time when you resell it in future. Buying a good jap car like toyota or honda is more like an investment. You buy this, can consider your money all burned!

• vogue (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 10:55 pm

Dont say car of this segment. Compare Naza bestari and honda jazz also enough la? How much is the bestari and how much the jazz…. which do you see more on the road?

• csv (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 12:45 am

pretty good value for money i must say.

but french cars are known for their unreliability and depreciation.

the moment you drive it out from the showroom, it’s value drops by 20k. and the body starts falling off. LOL.

at least that’s what Jeremy Clarkson said.

• Wisdom (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 1:51 am

Vogue you sound so irritating. I’m driving a japs too but i didnt limit myself there.

Its a good package no doubt, if not the best. Those thinkin about resell value has and always been a typical malaysian. Tell u what, buy car = loss. Only the figuring is different.

Me more into the safety feature offered. 7 airbgs is the best offered on our shore so far. I used to work in an MNC producing sensors controlling airbags deployment sort of thing and i can tell you that PSA-Peug always demand on better spec sensors, which is expensive. Having 7 airbags is one thing, but properly deloying them in the event of an accident is another. However i can rest my confident to the Peug for a safer journey for my wife and kids, and finally now at a cheaper option. Good job Naza. Be carefull with the service.

• zk9 (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 8:56 am

Having extra airbags beside front airbags definitely has a major impact on reducing potential injuries and fatalities in crashes.

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/news04/2006/10/iihs_side_airbags.html

You have to consider how many private owners of high ground clearance vehicles are cruising on the road compared to a decade ago, and they drive their trucks and SUVs as if these body-on-frame vehicles have the same agility and road-sticking ability like monocoque sedans. The number of crashes resulting from bumper-to-bumper misalignment is on the increase in our country… and the upperbody and head areas are the most vulnerable parts of the human body.

KUDOS to Nasim for being the first ever in our country to introduce a model with that many airbags under RM 130K !

• S9E (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 9:04 am

13 years ago my Aussie boss entrusted me with her 405SRM when she balik kampung. I instantly wanted one for myself but gaji so little. Sempat test drive from Klang to Kuala Terengganu.. betol-betol syok and enjoyed every moment of driving. After that 406 was launced but gaji still too little, only can afford wira. With this 407 I think I am going to timbang kati my wira for the down payment. Always wanted this 4 series for my pencen.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 10:10 am

What are the tyres? Michelins or Pirellis? You can have ABS, DSC and all that but your final contact to the ground is the tyres.

The JBL audio system is also an eye opener cos the Japs refuse to put anything high-end in this range. For urban dwellers stuck in traffic jams a good audio system is a great help to reduce stress.

• intermilan (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 10:21 am

to be fair to the ‘new’ car, go and have a free test drive at showroom.
    then look & ask around what the car has to offer (features and all) or can ask first test drive later.

then sit down and calculate the possible depreciation over time, monthly installment, servicing cost and all the financial bits.

then compare with your expectations or perhaps what u know about the competitions; apple-to-apple.

finally, come back here and share with us what you think of this car as a whole package. there will be the upside and the downside. share it all.

—-

For me, the most probable thing to happen is that for the first 0-9 months we will see ‘standard’ number of units being sold. Naza is targeting 150units/month..

News about the availability of 407 is nothing spectacular like the lancer where everyone want one (some local car reviewer commented that the car not so good as its looks, but the attitude here is…. who cares?, which bring smile to mitsubishi). back to the 407, if in this ‘trial’ period no major problem are reported, then most probably sale will pick-up. Again this is perhaps what would happen, normally.

the experience naza have with the 206 CKD resemble the above i believe. quite disappointed to see the 206 CKs making little impact in term of presence on the road (aka sale), as it is also a good offering. a few years have passed since the day they launched the 206 CKD and lately, it seems that there are more and more 206 CKD on the road than ever before. maybe the sale has pick up for some time, let said since the past 6 months.. i dont know.

as we all know, dislike and wish we dont need to do it, malaysian prefer to wait and see when it come to buying non-toyota and non-honda new offerings.. as usual, they have done it with the 206 CKD, but i guess they shouldn’t do the same for the 407 CKD. Naza has shown they could assemble a car adequately. small problems are sometime unavoidable, but naza must.. and i suggest must support owner with excellent after sales service. and yes i do mean excellent in the real term.

ultimately, the more volume, the better the revenue stream. in turn there shall be more reason for them to establish and continually upgrade after sales and service facilities.

the commitment to open 2 New Bluebox, one each in KL n Penang is a very good one. they must show evidence that they are serious in delivering best ownership experience as a whole package (the 3S or 4S). do it ASAP thou.

the stronghold Jap carmakers have in Malaysia market is breakable if not ‘dent-able’.

all the best to all owners of the new 407, i believe, in the big picture, a good choice has been made.

• wakeyme (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 11:44 am

1 of friend of mind bought cbu unit’s 407 when he 22.seeing he drove this beauty makes me so jealous..

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 1:38 pm

the bestari had a few issues that prevented it from taking off spectacularly in sales. but these were all in the interest of safeguarding the premium image of the peugeot brand. but as it was branded a naza, it was difficult to tell potential owners that it is indeed a peugeot with little or even no change made to the original 206. today there are a lot more of these 206 bestari running around because i think the public have grown to know that the car is indeed a peugeot with naza badges. the badging issue is easily sorted out with a few hundred ringgit.

furthermore, there is the genuine 3 years free service package and also 5 year warranty for customers.

with the 407 launch, people are able to better identify the 206B with the 407 as they are sold side by side in the peugeot showroom. with the introduction of the new limited edition 206 premium, more effort has been done to increase peugeot branding on the car – the leather seatbacks have the peugeot logo, new sports rims with peugeot hub caps, side sill plates with peugeot branding.

the 407 comes with either michelin or pirelli tyres and is better specced over the japanese counterparts and is also better priced than japanese d-segment cars. but, it needs people to move their minds before it can be accepted fully into a japanese thinking landscape.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 3:19 pm

This means they should CKD and sell Volvos, Citroens, Volkswagens and Fiats in this price bracket too, as long as the spectacular specs are maintained as well. Consumer confidence will be restored for non-premium but quality continental cars.
    Just flood D segment with CKDd continentals, then we’ll see jumping Japs hehe..

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 4:01 pm

407 Coupe.. mmmmm, juicy.

• altimi (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 4:12 pm

At 125,888 it’s a steal. A lot of car for the money……….

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 5:51 pm

i wonder how many will buy the coupe. it looks so fabulous. but doubt it will be ckd’d cos numbers wont be many. plus, it should come with the 2.2 for more kick.

• Wisdom (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 6:25 pm

Perhaps the only thing prevent people from buying 206 is the Naza badge itself.

Anybody with 407 fuel consumption figure to share?

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 6:34 pm

Wow! Thats a great bargain. Now the rakyat will have the chance to afford a continental car with a reasonable price. With so many safety gadgets with and with such a marvellous price tag, this will be our dream come true. I am not worry about the depreciation because i will use it for years, then my wife, my sis (currently 9 years old)…. so its not an issue for me. 1 thing I don’t like about the car is the steering.. it reminds me of a 1999 kancil. hehe. No controls or anything there. So plain and that makes the whole car don’t look classy enough (that’s my perception la). But Paul, how is the fuel consumption like? and will be the spare parts made available easily withing reach? and howabout the price for the parts? is it expensive? Please tell me ok? I hope I can own it if my question had been answered in a positive way…. Bye!

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 6:37 pm

Wisdom,

i think you’re right. most 206B owners resort to re-badging their cars.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 6:50 pm

alvin,

the controls for the car are on the stalks behind the steering wheel. the french believe the steering wheel should be for steering the car only. thats why even the horn in older french cars were on stalks – think tiara!! ;)

• vogue (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 11:03 pm

Putting naza badge in place of peugeot = putting M7 badge in place of greddy. stupid ppl. thick skin.

• carlover (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 12:02 am

vogue, dont blame them blame the govt! theyre just making cars affordable for the public… where is the love? hahahah

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 12:11 am

lowprofile said,
    July 11, 2008 @ 6:50 pm

alvin,

the controls for the car are on the stalks behind the steering wheel. the french believe the steering wheel should be for steering the car only. thats why even the horn in older french cars were on stalks – think tiara!!

dear Low profile, thanks mate. Thank you for your information. Do you know anything about its fuel consumption, the price for spare parts and services? I hope the assumption of “Continentals are expensive, not reliable and expensive parts and service” is not true. I really have to think twice before buying one. I am intending to wait for the sonata transform, or the latest kia optima (the 1 that has been facelifted in Korea). But this peugeot “distracted” my interest.. hehe. Its my second largest investment that i want to use for long. So i wouldn’t want to make a wrong choice. Btw. Thanks mate!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 6:56 am

It’s got variable valve timing and a fuel computer to tell you distance to empty, fuel consumption, etc. How much does it get? I suspect better than Japs VVTi and i-VTEC. Can anyone give more info?

• szw (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 11:10 am

well , this car will most probably sell by looks only .
    but it still a nice car.
    but the maintainence will be a pain in the a**

• Felix_Tay (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 12:32 pm

Hi Guys ! You can go to the following websifor more detail on peugeot car, spare parts, work shop, modification, experience and etc. It is organise by Peugeot Club Malaysia.

http://www.peugeotclubmalaysia.com/

I am one of the Peugeot fan around here, I been driving a Peugeot 306 for more than 5 years, spare parts cost is slightly more expensive than Proton Waja, but not Honda or Toyota. Just to share some of the basic maintenace cost, timing belt – RM400-RM500, Plug – RM40, Oil Filter – RM25, Engine Oil – nomal(up to you to choice) and Gear Oil chage (per 80k km) – RM70.

So … what do you think? Is it expensive? You may found out more in the above website, which I do before I bought my Peugeot 306. Make me feel more confident, as I don’t need to worry on where to find a Pug specialist, spare parts and etc.

• mithos (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 7:38 pm

407 has a service interval of 20K kilometers with each trip costing around RM500-600, according to the SA. Not sure if that is minor svc cost, I suspect it is. Whats the recommended svc interval for camry/accord, and how much per trip?

• vogue (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 10:30 pm

maibatsu_thunder:

Judging from its heavy body and 4 speed gearbox, how to compare with lightweight honda ivtec? moreover all honda cars sold today have 5 speed gearbox, the lower range have CVT+7 speed. So I doubt you will have good FC there.

• arcana (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 2:27 am

not sure bout accords, but camry has an interval of 10k…in fact i think most or all toyota’s are serviced every 10k km now……shouldnt cost more than RM300 per trip for normal servicing…..which probably adds up to about the same thing.
    but peugeot gives more warranty, cheaper price and better equipped model for sure…..and thats a bargain already.
    i got charged RM150 for servicing my civic 2.0….thats 5k km servicing….also adds up roughly the same as peugeot.

• jagermeister (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 10:04 am

I say its a good car and value for money. Its also a safer sedan for the family, compared with Japs cars which sacrifices safety features for styling and fuel consumption.

Not everybody is a cheapo and likes Jap cars. Most often, Jap cars are for the masses. One thing Jap cars will never have is prestige and class. That explains why those who compare or comment about Jap to European here car will always talk about 2nd hand value etc.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 6:08 pm

Vogue that’s just speculation. The Accord 2.0 has 189Nm and is perhaps lighter by one person’s weight. It’s tubby too at 1475kg so there’s no reason to doubt that the 407 has bad fuel consumption. Test drive it and see for yourself.

• s60t (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 9:31 pm

talking about consumption,I now have a wish 2.0{2007},CRV 2.0{2008} and volvo s60{2001}The volvo can go from Ipoh to KL and back with 2-3 days shopping total about 600km with a full 70 litre tank and still come back with 1/4 tank left.The wish and CRV need to be filled up on the way back {60 l tank}. My previous Volvo S40{2000} and Peugeot 307SW{2004} could also make it with one tank.My previous accord 2.2{1996} has the worst consumption of all the cars i have ever owned.1 tank can only give a range of 300km in town.So japs are not necessaruly more frugal with fuel, only if it is a small one like a vios or city.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 9:39 pm

jagermeister,

i like your last paragraph. what you said is so true about those buying japanese and those who are buying european – its about prestige and class.

[Not everybody is a cheapo and likes Jap cars. Most often, Jap cars are for the masses. One thing Jap cars will never have is prestige and class. That explains why those who compare or comment about Jap to European here car will always talk about 2nd hand value etc.]

i also totally agree with what s60 said about fuel consumption. most people commenting dont even have experience with the 407 to make a comment (its usually the remark made by the friend’s uncle’s neighbour’s twice removed cousin’s relative who lives in probably another state). furthermore, as it is a new car, all said is nothing more than pure speculation. guys, go and drive the car then submit your comment. it will be interesting to hear your remarks after the drive.

• shaif (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 11:48 am

Great star with CKD 407, now waiting for CKD 308…Bravo Nasim to bring exciting to our mundane japs-centric market.

• DRC (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 11:38 pm

Hope the noise control inside cabin is as good as Camry (heard Camry’s competitior have suboptimal noise control, true?)

• intermilan (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 4:20 pm

heard that if book now can get by end of August. First batch already sold-out! so fast.. i only wish they offered it in red too… sure fire one..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 6:40 pm

Better book now so if someone cancels you can step up. This 407 is definitely limited and it’s a STEAL at this price. They should have priced it slightly more than the Accord 2.0 or just equal.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 7:46 pm

Price it higher? hmmm, the ‘value’ proposition won’t be as strong as it is now. At the current intro price, it is quite a bargain… especially with all those goodies thrown in. Just look at the Lancer, intro price of 115k then now bumped up by about 10k and that earlier price spot is occupied by the lower spec 2.0gls. Wonder if nasim will also bump up the premium’s and standard spec car’s prices after the initial batch.

Advice, if you want a good bargain now without a long waiting list, book now.

• intermilan (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 2:11 pm

hehehe,

lowpro, u r making people rushing to the showroom lah!

hopefully, Nasim wouldn’t raised the price later, as i also heard this might be a possibility. Rumours.. rumours everywhere. btw, the Lancer scenario is different than 407.

Beside, by now, the existing players in 2.0 liter segment should already stand up and took notice, which i am sure they already did even before the launching of 407. which is a good news get we need more competition in the boring market.

first the lancer rock the market, now i believe the 407 has the same effect, however much subtly as it is a far more mature and sensible car.

let see whether Malaysia-based auto magazines will do a follow through in their August publication.

• intermilan (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 3:14 pm

just for info..

a browse through paul tan website shown that to date, this is the thread with the most comments posted (so far with 70 comments) since June 9, 2008.

the hottest topic then is “RM625 fuel subsidy a one-time payment only!” with 73 comments. further back, the thread “New Petrol and Diesel Prices Effective 5th June 2008” posted on June 4, 2008 might hold the all-time record with 323 comments.

look like the new Peugeot 407 is the hottest news in town since the new fuel price mega shock.

number of comments posted on the thread of new car launchs, as comparison:

the new Nissan Sylphy get 50 comments;
    the Facelifted Volvo XC90 get 12 comments;
    Perodua Nautica get 137 comments;
    the new R55 MINI Clubman get 24 comments;
    the new 2008 Honda Accord get 98 comments (guess its not a surprise, so comments not so much).
    the new Jaguar XF got 51 comments;
    the BMW 320i Sports got 33 comments;
    Chevrolet Optra Magnum sedan and estate, Chevrolet Aveo notchback got 59 comments;
    the GT-R, Impreza WRX and Dualis got 55 comments;
    Nissan Latio tuned by Impul get 23 comments;
    Volkswagen Polo GTI get 33 comments;
    2008 Toyota Corolla Altis get 194 comments;
    2008 Proton GEN2 Facelift with CPS get 223 comments.

• pdtsh2 (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:46 am

Hi,
    I’m new to the site. I’m kind of interested with the 407 and it’s my first time to try the conti product, thanks to Nasim for bringing in the CKD 407 and make it affordble. I’m am having a Mazda Lantis and intend to get another and the 407 price suits my budget. To the present 407 owners, I’m a little worried on it’s electronic’s function which come with the car. I’m not undermining it’s quality but knowing our cliamate which always hot, will it withstand the heat to last unlike in the Europe which is much colder.
    Anybody can help me on this? I’m just curious about it’s reliability in our climate and knowing that it had been on our road for the last 4 years, somebody might have some experience with all the gadgets problem if there’s any. I’m kind of relieved knowing that the transmission problems (which appeared a lot in forums) had been rectified or improved as mentioned in the press.
    Hope to get the feedbacks or advice before deciding. TQ

• DISPLAYtoCUSTOMER (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:40 pm

is it possible to give display car to a customer?
    prior to buying, will guarantee tht will get a new car instead of display car…
    but, when we see the car, it is not the car tht u all mentioned earlier.

• DISPLAYtoCUSTOMER (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:41 pm

but, when we see the car, it is not the car tht u all mentioned earlier.

• DISPLAYtoCUSTOMER (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 6:40 pm

but, when we see the car, it is not the car tht u all mentioned earlier..

• Wong Suwat on Apr 22, 2009 at 1:56 am

Accord & Camry is very bad . If you seat , it likes a hard board (not soft)

For Thailand Accord & Camry price is very cheap (around Usd 38,888)

But Peugeot 407 price is Usd 55,600 which is more expensive and more soft for your seat.

Wong Suwat

(Thailand)

• Stephan on Apr 25, 2009 at 1:57 am

All,

I just bought myself a Peugeot 407. And i don't regret.

The only problem i have until now is that it has an Apple iPOD connection but the necessary cable for it is not available at Naza, not in entire Malaysia, probably in Korea and i found it on a website in the USA. Naza Service cannot provide me with any details how to obtain this cable and they like to hide behind the phone. So if you plan to buy this car and the salesman is telling you what is possible with the stereo, let him demonstrate first before you decide to buy. Because after you bought the car, Naza service is lousy. The group of companies is not transparent. Naza A Sdn. Bhd. picks up the phone. Says they do not provide the service. So give you a phone number of Naza B Sdn. Bhd. They will send you to Naza C Sdn. Bhd. etc. This goes on until you end up with somebody at Naza X Sdn. Bhd. who gives you the phone number of Naza A Sdn. Bhd. So you end up going in circles. I gave up on this.

My conclusion: Peugeot 407 has no possibility for connecting an Apple iPod.

So if this is important to you, do NOT buy this car.

OK now how good will this car hold in the Malaysia climate?

Let me tell you this. This car is made for the French market primarily. There are millions of Peugeots driving in France. In France you see this car on every street corner. (like you will also see Renault and Citroen on every street corner in France).

I do not know if you have ever been in the south of France, but as a European i have been there many times and i can tell you that it is 35 degrees and sometimes even more hot than 40 degrees Celcius during the summer. So don't make me laugh when people are telling you that this car will give problems due to the hot weather in Malaysia. Hillarious!!!! hahahahaha!

I bought the Peugeot for 3 reasons:

1. value for money. look at accesories like built in navigation system. fantastic!

I asked the mazda dealer why mazda 6 did not have this. His answer: the malaysian people do not like build in navigation. hahahaha. What he means: we from mazda import dull cars and since the malaysian people do not have a choice and are scared to take a risk, they will buy it anyway, even if we deliver cars in pink colour.

2. japanese carbrands change their models every 2 years. So you buy a new car, and after 2 years your neighboor is driving the new model.This sucks. Japanese cars are not timeless. Peugeot 407 model didnt change in 6 years time, and today it still looks better than Accord and Camry or mazda6.

3. service interval.

the current serviceinterval in malaysia is set to 10.000. Of course this is set to rip us (primarilly expats) off. In France the service interval is 30.000. So i will keep my service interval on 20.000, that will do fine.

The prices of spare parts of peugeot are a disaster.

But if you don't like this, just buy yourselves a persona.

Every proton persona service (and i know, because this is my second car) costs about 250 RM in the kampung. And you can buy a made in China bumper for a persona for 100 RM, etc. etc. Just a tip for complainers.

The funny thing is, that i drove peugeot and renault before and nothing ever broke down in 4 years time. So why complain about spare part prices if you don't need them?

Yes, in case you get an accident, you are sour. This will cost you a fortune in malaysia if not well insured.

Last but not least.

I read that Peugeot 207 was tested as worst car in UK.

How interesting.

In the Netherlands the 205, his predecessor, has been tested as one of the best cars ever made. It scored better than all Toyota models on maintenance costs.

And now: go for a test drive!

I drove in 4.5 hours from KL to Kangar, Perlis a few weeks ago.

Marvelous!!!

Cheers

Stephan

• isuzuki on Apr 10, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Well, Stephan (if you are notified), how’s the 407 after 2 years?

Tying to advise father-in-law who’s thinking of getting one 407 :)

• jacky ng on Jul 13, 2011 at 3:54 pm

I intend to buy Nissan Slyphy VS Honda Civic 1.8 VS Peugeot 407 since their pricing are similiar, please give some suggestion! in term of after sales services, package of the car, petrol consumption, interest rate package, etc

2nd hand value is not my consideration.