Chevrolet Cruze finally launched as the Daewoo Lacetti Premiere in South Korea!

Daewoo Lacetti Premiere

GM has surprised us all amidst rumours that its hopeful Chevrolet Cruze compact car has been postponed – quite far from it in fact. The car has actually already been launched in South Korea as the Daewoo Lacetti Premiere. It will compete with the Hyundai Elantra, the Kia Forte, and the Honda Civic in the increasingly competitive C-segment sedan market in South Korea. So perhaps only its US debut will be delayed.

The Daewoo Lacetti Premiere measures 4,600mm long, 1,790mm wide and 1,475mm tall with a 2,685mm wheelbase. It rides on 17 inch wheels wrapped with 215/50R17 tyres. Under the hood is a 1.6 litre ECOTEC engine that produces 114 horsepower at 6,400rpm and 152Nm of torque at 4,200rpm. No sight of the 1.4 litre ECOTEC Turbo yet.

On the interior, it seems that the dashboard can be colour coded to match your two-tone seats. Thus you are able to have your dashboard have either blue or red trim if you get black-blue or black-red combination seats. Apparently the various sensors in the car communicate with the ECU via something called GMLAN. It seems to be a trend to give your in-car databus a funky name these days, such as FlexRay.

The car actually kinda reminds me of a smaller Toyota Crown. Prices range from 11,550,000 won (RM32.300) for the cheapest SE manual version up to 17,700,000 won (RM49,500) for the 6-speed automatic CDX version. 6 colours are available – white, silver, silverish blue, grey, blue and black.

Look at more shots of the Chevrolet Cruze/Daewoo Lacetti Premiere after the jump.

Daewoo Lacetti Premiere

[cpg_album:135]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 8:37 pm

RM32.300??? Damn cheap man….

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 8:53 pm

And here comes the big question…
    …will it reach our shores? =D

• Paul Tan on Nov 03, 2008 at 8:59 pm

It’s supposed to replace the Optra Magnum sold here.

• carfan888 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:03 pm

R U sure just RM 32,300???? Damn Dr. M & BN goverment!!!!

• normaluser (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:08 pm

The car looks nice in & out.. Looks solid and hopefully well built.

• gey2718 (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:25 pm

Daewoo is not the biggest car manufacturer in korea.
    yet…. it’s much advance compared with our 20++yrs national car manufacturer!
    if first seen this car with the cover-up badge, u’ll say it’s a lexus? a toyota? and even bmw!

• pepper (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:36 pm

nicely built ! but the prices of spare parts are questionable ..

• clutch_plate (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:39 pm

“Prices range from 11,550,000 won (RM32.300) for the cheapest SE manual version up to 17,700,000 won (RM49,500) for the 6-speed automatic CDX version. 6 colours are available – white, silver, silverish blue, grey, blue and black.”

———————————————————

WTF!! Damn cheap man! But try bring it to Malaysia… Can we get that RM32,300 and RM49,500 selling price? Sure NOT!! Pity Malaysian.. and me also.. only can see but can’t afford.. huhuhu… :(

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:41 pm

If it is similary priced as the current Optra… I dont see any reason that this car will be unpopular… The size is even bigger than Civic and close to Sylphy.
    So,thia Chevy got a very pretty and attractvie styling, so all they need to do is to show us that it is not thirsty as before.

• zamildrift (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 9:42 pm

Damn! I really like the whole car styling. The interior has some Audi and Volvo feel to it, and I dig those gauges. Though the rear lamp looks like a Civic FD2 rear lamp with a Korean touch.

Overall, I like it. Would love to have this in my garage though, but damn..it will double the price if it reach here. Ah..

• libralcl (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 10:30 pm

Wow, I like the design got current accord looks infront.

Good pricing, hopefully it will reach our shores with cheaper price.

:)

• infinity (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:06 pm

i find the grill not sharp enough..but the rest of the design is great!!
    i love the centre dash..but the buttons behind the gear-knob seems to be a bit hard to reach..

• keretakura (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:17 pm

CHEAP ?? no way man ….. BN won’t allow it. Maybe CKD will do a bit. BN must also think about PROTON like fuel price issue, BN only care about petrolstation owner. he he ….

• ignas (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:41 pm

with 10 cars sold is enough for each of them to vacation like a king. instead that money can actually help to boost economy better.

• kahing (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:54 pm

Anything cheap outside will reach our shores EXPENSIVE !!!

• csv (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 12:05 am

woah, SO DAMN CHEAP!!! DAMN THE TAX!

• mokkf82 (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 12:45 am

Damn the tax? Damn the vampire sucking goverment la. Don’t hope much d, double the price and that’s the minimum u need to pay without insurance on the road.

• ... (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 1:00 am

Wow,

A very2 nice car. I would be tempted to choose this anytime over a civic/lancer. The car overall looks like a shrinked down lexus and a lexus badge won’t look out of place on this car.

If only a waja replacement would be this good and be available in the near future…

• transformer (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 1:35 am

very nice but if it priced similarly to a Civic/Altis which would you pick ?

most would go for Toyota as 2nd hand value are higher as perceived(reliability)….. sigh…

• libralcl (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 2:45 am

I will pick this one. Korean has proven its automotive build quality. The only problem here for Korean cars are the spare parts availability. *If only the price is way lower than Civic & Altis.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 7:36 am

This is one of the better proportioned intemediates out there. I like how it looks like.

This car would also be GM’s spearhead into the C segment in europe, so it does make sence to make it look european and it has to be good, having to go head to head against the established french and Japananese marques.

The Koreans have come a long way, 15 years ago in uni, I had a Hyundai Excel that I paid CAD2k for it…. it was a piece of garbage but cheap transportation, now, I wont bat an eye to think that a Korean car would be in my driveway.

• fandango (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 9:08 am

wow…really very attractive…i like…too bad the price will at least double when it reaches our show rooms…

• maxtek (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 9:22 am

Yeah, sad the price may double once it lands on Bolehland… But come to think of it, this is waaaay better than the current Chevrolet Optima we see in Bolehland… XD

• alpha0201 (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 9:24 am

at least triple the price to milk out our hard earn money by paying more than we deserve…

• normaluser (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 9:41 am

maxtek said,
    November 4, 2008 @ 9:22 am

Yeah, sad the price may double once it lands on Bolehland… But come to think of it, this is waaaay better than the current Chevrolet Optima we see in Bolehland… XD

===

This car will be replace the Chevrolet Optra (not Optima) sometime soon.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 10:04 am

toyota kinda look… everybody is copying everybody…

• mspfaz (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 10:04 am

RM49,500? What a bargain…. but not in Malaysia I suppose. It will be taxed like crazy. Good looking car, interior and exterior. Like the seats, the interior tone and the centre console. Looks so ergonomic.

• zanggief (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 11:28 am

wao…. with local mini car price but can get such advance 1.6l model….
    when our local manufacturer can do so?????

• lowprofile (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 12:36 pm

aisay, you guys just talk only lah. even if the car is that affordable in malaysia (which i doubt, thanks to our tax structure), you still wouldn’t buy it preferring the used japanese makes to this new korean made american branded car.

if chevy ckd’d this model, the price would possibly come down but would you buy this over a japanese? i doubt so cos at that time, you’d be mentioning things like re-sale valuelah, spare parts lah, aftersales lah etc. etc. etc. right? i’d love to be proven wrong though. malaysians have of late been rather unkind towards non-japanese brands.

• haroldz (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 12:42 pm

even if the price is double, oso competitive bh

• chuamike (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 2:02 pm

Reminds me of a Toyota Crown too. Good-looking front.

• endy (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 2:03 pm

Well crafted and nicely design! The interior seems luxuriously styled. However it seems to be quite big. 1.8cc would be a better engine option I think!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 3:02 pm

the interior is from the opel insignia, but the opel’s insignia exterior is much better

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 3:14 pm

Luv the curves!
    menacing.

And bright it to m’sia babeh!

• xavier_lert (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 4:55 pm

urgh…..thats 1/4 of my car price…..but still u can see malaysian drive very very nice car…so does it mean malaysian is rich??…….the G see this…….

• keretakura (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 5:42 pm

“wao…. with local mini car price but can get such advance 1.6l model….
    when our local manufacturer can do so?????”

Dream la sampai mati pun tak dapat …… he he

• droll (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 6:01 pm

cheap leh? take a look at the landing price of your CBU cars and see how much tax you pay to the govt (pure cold cash just given away like that!), then prepare to vomit blood.

• onzetool (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 6:20 pm

Amacam Proton!
    A E90 3-series sized car but with the price range similar to BLM-SAGA!?#!

Some more with current method of developing new car models….
    I really2 belief that Proton won’t ever be able to compete even with the Koreans.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 6:38 pm

clutch_plate said,
    November 3, 2008 @ 9:39 pm

“Prices range from 11,550,000 won (RM32.300) for the cheapest SE manual version up to 17,700,000 won (RM49,500) for the 6-speed automatic CDX version. 6 colours are available – white, silver, silverish blue, grey, blue and black.”

———————————————————

WTF!! Damn cheap man! But try bring it to Malaysia… Can we get that RM32,300 and RM49,500 selling price? Sure NOT!! Pity Malaysian.. and me also.. only can see but can’t afford.. huhuhu…

————————————————————-

haha….. yeap…. thats how our G still baby-sit and pamper our national car makers until they are scared to be independent !!!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 6:39 pm

Well, quite an excellent car for its price tag !!!! definitely !!!!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 7:03 pm

BEst looking ever

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 8:27 pm

looks a lot like current accord and camry. Maybe design cues now that kind…

• skizzo75 (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 8:55 pm

Lagi2 komen pasal G cekik darah memang dasar tak sekolah punyer pendapat..TAHAP BUDAK TADIKA HINGUS HIJAU MASIH MENGALIR LEPAS TUE LAP TELAN ….KESIAN SIMPATI KAT PENDAPAT2 BUDAK TAK INTELEK KALAU AKU MEMBER KORANG MESTI AKU JADI BODOH…

KORANG NIE BAYAR TAX BERAPA BANYAK AKU RASA rm50 je DAH BISING NAK MAMPUS PTUIIIII SUBSIDI MINYAK NAK LEPAS TUE KUTUK MEMANG PERANGAI MACAM BABBON BONTOT MERAH

SERIOIUS AKU LABELKAN KORANG BODOH NAK MAMPUS TAK RETI PASAL EKONOMI NAK BUAT KOMEN TAHAP TAHI ANJING KENA SIPLIS APRAAA BODOHHHHHHH

• 9211 (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 9:57 pm

No doubt, this model is beautiful and suit to my taste, and I’m sure the same goes to most of the car’s enthusiast here. This will be a hit if it reach to our shore. I hope if the price is right and good feedback from the buyers in term of performance and reliability, the Korean will hit bloodsucker arrogant UMWToyota hard for overpricing Toyota. Please Toyota Japan, listen to your fan! Your agent here, UMW is cheating your fan by overpricing, selling 3rd class model (e.g.Rush, Innova, Avanza, Vios etc.) and it’s damaging your reputation. Take back their dealership right and do what Honda did.

• afroiq (Member) on Nov 04, 2008 at 10:38 pm

skizzo75 chill dude..no need to comment like that..

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 2:06 am

Wow and to think that not so long ago Daewoo was one of those brands that Proton fans used to laugh at and look down upon, though I doubt they are now. Daewoo definitely did make some questionable cars in the past but its really impressive how far they’ve come. And I agree about trying to sell it here: even if the price were only doubled, it’d still sell like mad here, unfortunately it would be more like tripled++.

• ricaza (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 7:12 am

skizzo75…
    i think u r the the ‘dasar tak sekolah punyer pendapat..TAHAP BUDAK TADIKA HINGUS HIJAU MASIH MENGALIR LEPAS TUE LAP TELAN’ becoz your comment is not matured..like some of bunch of moron you know.. if u want to give a comment here..please write is wisely..not juz by calling another people stupids..it makes u look stupid..if you really think that G is not sucking our blood..gives us FACTS!!! not just like that.. this is an open forum and comment..so please behave..don’t just write a comment like this forum is yours.. if u really think that u r good at economy..then tell us how did u say that G did not sucking our moneys?? tax for imported car is 100% and aboves…proton until now cannot produced a good car like this one..can u tell us G use all money that they have for what?? i hope u can gives us facts and not just talking craps like the G…

• ricaza (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 7:42 am

sori paul..out of topic up there..

but seriously..the car is good..interior is better than our rm50k Persona and rm70k Waja…engine is quite powerful…exterior also look much more better than all of Proton’s model…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 8:13 am

how some of u know this car is good… it is only the picture… surely none of us ever drive it yet… so, it is not really acceptable to say it is better than our malaysian brand car.. it just a picture…

what will u say, if u happen to buy it, then the performance like nothing, paint quality not good, cheap plastic…

picture can tell thousand words… truth and lies…

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 4:25 pm

proton should feel ashamed of themselves, u can also toyota to the list

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 10:53 pm

@skizzo75: I think we can all see who’s the real “BUDAK HINGUSAN” here… =)

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:19 pm

that light looks like citroen c4

• carfan888 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 1:20 pm

Malaysia Proton or maybe goverment should learn from Korean on how they could bring down the cost of poduction without compromise the quality of product…………….Shame to proton…..

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:23 pm

carfan888 said,

November 9, 2008 @ 1:20 pm

Malaysia Proton or maybe goverment should learn from Korean on how they could bring down the cost of poduction without compromise the quality of product…………….Shame to proton…..
    ———————————
    if kia ap wasnt owned by fucker naza, we get the nice kia’s now

• red7 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 6:49 pm

had to admit that is one hell nice korean car.

• mandy on Mar 29, 2009 at 7:45 pm

SO, when is our car tax going to be 0 to imported cars?

Our Malaysian always spend the highest car price, and i believe it is now time for our malaysians to speak to our Gmt, dont treat us like an idiot. If u still want to protect your Proton and your own benefits, nobody will support you and you will never improve. Proton, U want to b protected forever right, then go ahead, we will not suppot u forever.

• mandy on Mar 29, 2009 at 7:47 pm

And our Malaysia public transport is too lousy and useless, expensive and troublesome. NEver improve. KTM always delayed. Fuck Malaysia Gmt. All bunch of stupid idiot building planners and corruptions.

Go to hell!~

• mandy on Mar 29, 2009 at 7:49 pm

TO ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG :

Is not becos of Naza la, is becoz of our Government, high car tax la.

• [quote comment="225230"]And our Malaysia public transport is too lousy and useless, expensive and troublesome. NEver improve. KTM always delayed. Fuck Malaysia Gmt. All bunch of stupid idiot building planners and corruptions.

Go to hell!~[/quote]

OMG mandy, At least we as a malaysian rakyat can live in peacelah. Not like other country with a lot of problem, civil war, etc.. .

• [quote comment="186253"]Lagi2 komen pasal G cekik darah memang dasar tak sekolah punyer pendapat..TAHAP BUDAK TADIKA HINGUS HIJAU MASIH MENGALIR LEPAS TUE LAP TELAN ….KESIAN SIMPATI KAT PENDAPAT2 BUDAK TAK INTELEK KALAU AKU MEMBER KORANG MESTI AKU JADI BODOH…

KORANG NIE BAYAR TAX BERAPA BANYAK AKU RASA rm50 je DAH BISING NAK MAMPUS PTUIIIII SUBSIDI MINYAK NAK LEPAS TUE KUTUK MEMANG PERANGAI MACAM BABBON BONTOT MERAH

SERIOIUS AKU LABELKAN KORANG BODOH NAK MAMPUS TAK RETI PASAL EKONOMI NAK BUAT KOMEN TAHAP TAHI ANJING KENA SIPLIS APRAAA BODOHHHHHHH[/quote]

…………….

u r rite…we paid the very minumum tax….maybe derang tak skolah tinggi,…so dun act liked them k…hehehe…cube derang keje kat UK cam aku…every weeks………..gaji goes to tax…think about it.

• noname on Dec 19, 2009 at 1:31 am

g not cekik darah? just give me a simply reason why dun wan let proton standup on its own?u think malaysian really like buy malaysian car?it is just because they can’t afford to have H or T or M or B which we actually can afford it without tax…i read through some article… vios or city(without tax) is much more cheaper than waja(with tax)….
    means now monthly u pay so many money to the bank for instalment… actually u are driving a much more comfort and safer car… not a milo tin proton…

imagine so many proton with no abs no air bag..low safety.. din’t even have 3 star award… g is putting our live away compare to money… i buy one city.. i am paying another city to g…

where all money g??
    built castle in klang?
    dono what fucking port in klang??
    dumb millions of rm while election time just to show off awhile and tarik balik all promises after election?very good example for my place ijok… election time we have atleast 5km road rebuilt and extra 30-40 pole of light install.. new hall for recreation… new school approve…it never happen before for the past 10 years while they still pegang that area…WTF??????
    buy submarine scare of singapore attack and conquer us in 1 week?
    buy space ship for nothing instead of using the money to built low cost house for the poor?
    send astronaut to fly around the space(think not set foot on the moon)and eat nasi lemak?
    what else? name it… sure not enough space….
    oh yeah…. when i was 5… i always ask my dad…”abah… g cakap kita mesti cinta malaysia… guna barang malaysia…”kenapa banyak kerajaan ppl bawa kereta cantik cantik??some more got traffic open road for them with the siren and shouting at us to give way??
    now my children ask me back the same question….
    i remember i state sultan son is driving a blue ferrari… i dun think he bought it… coz i dun think he have the ability to earn that money….WTF>