Source: Syed Zainal likely to be reappointed

Proton LogoAn unnamed source informed national news agency Bernama that the proposal to renew the contract of current managing director of Proton Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir has been presented to the Prime Minister and they were only waiting for his decision on the matter now.

It seems that the matter of top executives in Proton have to go through several stages of approval including Investment Committee of Khazanah Nasional Bhd, the Second Finance Minister, and the Prime Minister.

The source added that Syed Zainal would most likely get his contract renewed. I’m not sure what Pak Lah is waiting for.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• neurra (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 1:18 am

waiting for yoga spirit walk

• droll (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 7:04 am

sigh, still have to go through govt…..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 7:38 am

Maybe need to get all the lords (Cronies) approval first?

This is what i hate G which are link to business… Never think of business but only politics and money… Which person can give them more money will get the contract..

• blackcipan (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 8:12 am

He’s the man who changed Proton by bringing back the product the customer want at the right price with the right priority.

So IMO he should be re-appointed without even thinking or approval from big meeting.

However,it would be really ashamed if he is replaced by someone who work for the sake of working and know nothing about car and its engineering.

cheers

• bestofamat (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 8:57 am

I hope his contract will continue for another 3 years (at least la..) & our “PM in waiting” will not terminate/discontinue DSZ contract……………..etc

• rosdi (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 9:24 am

Didnt Pak Lah said he doesnt interfere in all corporate matter? Why even need to consult him? Idris Jala was appointed as MAS MD solely because of his merit and not political hands whatsoever (ditto with Syed).

So why need to wait for his green light?

• adunadun (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 10:28 am

think positive, maybe paklala waiting najib comeback ,and najib him self annouce that matter, to train next PM.

ermm,,how i can turn this into money? i believe in corporate , meeting people is oppurtunity to expend ur contact list..meet face to face is really impact our relationship with correspond party…if you just call using phone,it not that effective….so that what they doing is .meet people here,,meet people there, talk about nothing… anyway,,this is asia…yes i am talking about me and our community…come on people,,accept it laaahh…. it fact

who are people that got most chances to get promoted?
    a)people meet boss most of the time
    b)people who less meet the boss?

• chee89 (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 10:36 am

maybe need discuss how much his salary needs to be shared with pak lah.

• kingv6 (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 11:29 am

PM waiting for TM to decline, then he approve to DSZ

• Myvito (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 12:21 pm

haha… a lot of conspiration and bashing here and there…. just wait for the result aa..

• knight_templar (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 12:37 pm

Actually doesnt matter who is appointed. DSZ hasnt really achieved anything great, period. If he can take any one of the big three and make them profitable then he’s the man. Actually, if we’re talking about a business, then any Msian who has sound ideas should be appointed. Think about it, we have ppl who can turn a bankrupt airline into one that challenges MAS, im sure there are many potential candidates out there.
    If we’re talking abt patriotism, then the new managing director must be chosen from across a large slice of society (read w/o prejudice and based on skill alone). I am absolutely positive that the right man/woman can be found.
    And speaking of which why not let a woman be md? Just for a fresh outlook and im sure no PKNS issues here ;)
    But, if Proton continues to drain resources and expect protectionism, to hell with them, better close shop.

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 2:03 pm

knight_templar said,

November 27, 2008 @ 12:37 pm

Actually, if we’re talking about a business, then any Msian who has sound ideas should be appointed…..

then u can propose to khazanah to hired pakcik-pakcik at kedai kopi who talking to improve proton.. that pakcik can be our man!!..
    at least DSZ give us hope..Support him!

• car_craze (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 3:00 pm

Unlike MAS, which is about SERVICE, not making airplanes, we need people who knows about car manufacturing processes and business acumen. People with sound ideas only don’t cut it. You also need passion and people skills as well. TSZA fits the bill, at the moment.

As for the big 3, not even Toyota can save them. That’s why they are asking for a US 27 bil bail out from their G.

• pakadome (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 3:19 pm

G pls dun sleep……. at least DSZ give us hope

• ignas (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 4:22 pm

malaysia future is bleak…

DSZ is the man, he has good direction. but because proton is doing great now, maybe ppl of the G also wants to reappoint their commissions too.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 5:07 pm

i have sound ideas to improve proton… hey, i can be the man… haha… proton should follow the toyota way 100%… sounds ok rite?

“People with sound ideas only don’t cut it.” – car_craze

i agree with that… everybody can talk about proton should do things like this and that… but can they really do it?

we know that some ppl in malaysia always “cakap x serupa bikin”…

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 5:09 pm

knight templar,

So DSZ is no Tony Fernandes to you?

Dunno what, but I think the famous mahathir chant shud change from “Melayu mudah lupa” to “Malaysian mudah lupa” (cuz i hv no idea what race u are, but I think I know ur nationality). Getting ppl to buy a car isn’t like trying to sell kl-langkawi flight tix rm100 cheaper than competition. Look at chery, got ppl buy or not? They can say they hv mitsu engine, lotus engineering, pininfarina design blabla, bt hw many u see on d road?

In 2005, proton is as hopeless as america’s economy at the moment. Bt DSZ came n did an Obama-ish plan to turn it ard in 1 yr which he announced during his 1st 100 days of work. Many laughed, many thought he’s mad, many said proton will just bungkus by the time his plan’s deadline s up. I kept quiet n wanted to see whether he really can do a perodua in proton. 2007 came n it wasn’t rly according to his plan (Persona hvn’t launch by the time his plan finished), but that was only the beginning.

Today see for urself la. If u can’t, then wake up. Proton hv been movin ard the world (brunei, sg, indon, thai, china, saudi arabia etc). No goreng pisang panas-ish sales yet, but what’ve perodua been doin?

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 5:13 pm

Anyway I’m not playing down on tony. While I support Mas more than airasia, I still hv great respect for the man. His ability to make to turn a bankrupt airline to where it is today is just as commendable as DSZ n Idris Jala. One thing in common, these three great men hv been through the worst n can oni be motivated to move forward ;)

All hail DSZ!!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 5:23 pm

its good to hear the news… well, he has the chance to continue his plan on MPV…

i hope it will be great…

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 5:49 pm

Probably that old man is thinking to replace DSZ with his son-in-law…

• shooter (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 5:53 pm

i say promote da guy as da CEO of P1 and let him build on what sucesses he achieved so far- dat fella sure means business, its just dat da gomen dont understand car business…

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 7:34 pm

PM has lots hopefully)more to worry about. Yoga, rafidah and sharizat, etc. He will sign it soon (hopefully)

• csv (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 8:18 pm

he should stay what, doing good job.

though i still stay away from Proton. hahahaha.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 8:20 pm

confirmed now. SZ reappointed as proton CEO for… a year.

tokmoh said,
    November 27, 2008 @ 5:09 pm
    but what’ve perodua been doin?

p2 drain our money slowly to japan.

BTW, for the big 3.. actually..
    TOYOTA does effected too…
    their stocks to ship to europe got stucks now.
    as they are a big player, they also suffer loss now too..
    (i wish Paul can write a good articles about this. :D )

i read articles somewhere about this.. but i cant remember where..

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 8:21 pm

correction… I mean, instead of big 3 continental car maker..
    Toyota does effected too.. they have big market in there.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 11:35 pm

corolla_KE70,

I dunno whether I shud be laughing or crying….. or be scared…. be very, veeeery scared.

Nway, I’m happy for Idris Jala :) Hope he can propel MAS to a greater height to challenge the might of SIA.

bmpower,

I read from somewhere that in UK, car sales is lowest since the 60s 0_o Scary situation there…… gotta lol ep3 top gear S12 when our fav automotive clowns “agree” that Aston’s new car is very “relevant” during these times :D

• Infinitt (Member) on Nov 27, 2008 at 11:40 pm

If true, congratulation to him. He should lead proton now. Just saw at TV3 today that their profit better than last year this quater. Thats great. Malaysian boleh !!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 9:44 am

no difference, proton will still be shit , thanks Barisan Najis

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 10:50 am

good job proton, things have definitely improved, and the results and facts prove it.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 12:57 pm

results that were rigged

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 3:10 pm

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 28, 2008 @ 12:57 pm

results that were rigged
    ————————

oh! oh!, bullshxt talking….

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 10:42 pm

knight_templar said,

Actually doesnt matter who is appointed. DSZ hasnt really achieved anything great, period.

-DSZ will only done something great if he can change you and your type…

November 28, 2008 @ 9:44 am

-The Germans sure like you a lot..

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:19 pm

Wisdom said,

November 28, 2008 @ 10:42 pm

knight_templar said,

Actually doesnt matter who is appointed. DSZ hasnt really achieved anything great, period.

-DSZ will only done something great if he can change you and your type…

November 28, 2008 @ 9:44 am

-The Germans sure like you a lot..
    ————————————
    sure they do