Cheaper RON95 fuel to be introduced mid-2009

Fuel Wallet GaugeIt’s right in the middle of the month now, and some of you might be wondering what happened to any fuel price revisions that typically happens at the starting of a month, and whether there will be any revisions in the middle of this month.

Well, don’t keep your hopes up high as Datuk Shahrir Samad says average crude prices have remained at a similiar level this month compared to the previous, so no fuel price revision is expected. However he does have some new updates for us regarding fuel prices.

By middle of this year, RON95 will be introduced to provide cheaper fuel so that people who have cars that aren’t so demanding on the octane levels can use it. But RON97’s price will be increased via a fuel tax, which will be used to subsidise the new RON95 fuel. RON95 will replace RON92 and is expected to be priced at the same level as RON92 is currently. He expects RON92 fuel to be an average of 10 to 11 sen cheaper than RON97.

His ministry will also reveal a chart on how retail fuel prices in Malaysia are calculated next week, which should put an end to endless questions by consumers on how the prices are calculated and how much the government is making from us via fuel taxes, if they are earning any at all of course. All of this will be answered next week, if things go as planned. Fuel prices in Malaysia are dependent on Singapore’s Mean of Platts Singapore (MOPS), a regional fuel price monitor. Australia also uses MOPS to calculate their fuel prices.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cam.shaft (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 6:47 am

another stup!d bullsh!t from G….jus ways to make certain group of people’s pocket bigger…why is there a need to subsidies??and of course they always never fail to use “our fuel is still the cheapest among ther region”…….yeah and so is our ringgit =_=

cam.shaft

• howiehph (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 7:52 am

just wondering, would the new GT-R able to run on RON95?

• dreamwork (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 7:56 am

Any body know why no adjustment fuel price on eraly January? ….coz KT got election ma….

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 7:57 am

The question is, is ROM95 usable.

Most of Proton’s older cars have a RON 95 requirement…and given the age of these cars, even the minimum requirement is not sufficient. I have come across pinging and knocking wiras even using RON 97. These cars do not have knock sensors to tell the engine management that the engine is pinging to retard timing automatically.

I’m wondering if the government has actually thought of these before putting this through.

Seems to me they are taxing people that can ill afford to be taxed more, while those that can afford newer cars, will benefit from the RON95 fuel. This is especially insensitive of the government given the economic climate (oh wait…since when has the government been sensitive…)

• williaml (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 8:14 am

When we can have RON98 instead of RON97?

• rexis (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 8:23 am

so next time we would consider using RON95 and RON97 alternately, as you will have some fuel left each time you fill up, you will get some RON95+

Colgate – Sememangny halal…

• food_fan (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 8:50 am

all perodua car owner will expect a big hole on their piston soon enough since hav no other option for other lower RON.. Since perodua car required RON90 only.. I wonder how it will effect toyota unser engine since it only required RON88?

Luckily RON95 just suit camry…Rm1.70 per liter for camry.. Great G!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 9:07 am

Food fan?

I think you got it the other way around.

It is ok to use RON number higher than the requirement. ;p

• michly (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 9:48 am

yep.. thats what i understand too. im driving latest Lancer which min req is RON92 , and u get extra hp if using higher octane fuel :) .

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 10:04 am

Campro can run on RON95?

• Dr. K (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 10:28 am

hi everyone.. i’m not very familliar with the octane level of fuel.. but just wondering if toyota innova, vios, and waja can run on RON95?

• moveJJE (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 10:34 am

i hope expertise out there can explain better about octane level..
    i think, most car can run with RON95, but performance?

i’ll will use RON95 if win craze cars!!

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 10:44 am

4G63T DSM said,

January 9, 2009 @ 7:57 am

The question is, is ROM95 usable.

Most of Proton’s older cars have a RON 95 requirement…and given the age of these cars, even the minimum requirement is not sufficient. I have come across pinging and knocking wiras even using RON 97. These cars do not have knock sensors to tell the engine management that the engine is pinging to retard timing automatically.

I’m wondering if the government has actually thought of these before putting this through.

Seems to me they are taxing people that can ill afford to be taxed more, while those that can afford newer cars, will benefit from the RON95 fuel. This is especially insensitive of the government given the economic climate (oh wait…since when has the government been sensitive…)

——
    No they don’t..but at least they use their butts to think of it.

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 10:54 am

3 scenario,
    1. Those who used to Ron92, have to change to Ron95, which at the same price. But have they though of the petrol consumptions? Higher consumption = higher frequent parking in petrol kiosk? rang a bell?

2. Those who used to Ron97, yay they can use Ron95 at a cheaper rate. But, who knows what will happen to my engine of 12years old if it changed its consumption. Even a puppy ignore its new food after changed.

3. Who’s going to use Ron97? Since it’s way higher than required demand, only sports car require it? Whoot…extra tax. money involve again.

Paul, question:
    Can you list down the minimum Ron requirement for vehicles available in KL? Thinking u hav a list in hand, probably like Ron92>all prerodua. Ron95>bla bla bla. Ron97 bla~…I’ve no idea up to wat range will Camry take, or a S40, or any.can help?^^

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 11:16 am

Sorry guys, out of topic a bit but when will govt introduce EURO2 spec diesel…..diesel is the way to go if u want to save on FC

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 11:17 am

Just as an example of a few cars in our hosehold.

The Tiara will run RON92 just fine. Upping to RON95 will be of little benefit.
    The Satria will run only RON97 since its a tuned engine (which is fine)
    The Wira A/B is already hopeless on RON97 (given its age and the ori requirement of RON95), I might need to detune the engine (retard timing) to get it to run RON95, making an already underpowered car worst.

The kicker…
    Our Accord 2.0 will run just about anything you put in. It is running RON92 now, but you can feel a slight power loss on hot days as the engine management retards timing automatically.

So which car benefits from all this..yep the Accord.

So the conclusion, if your car has a knock sensor, you will benefit from this if your car’s requirement is at or over RON95. If your octane requirement is lower, you wont get much benefit from this….if any. If you car already needs RON97, be ready to pay more or start detuning the engine.

• govinda (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 11:25 am

I am looking forward for next week. I am wondering how our government calculate the fuel price in Malaysia. Hopefully, they won’t play hide and seek with us.

• jk (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 12:19 pm

The Proton Wira 1.5GL Year 1996 RON requirement is RON 97. That’s why all this while RON 97 fuels existed. What abt V-Power? Izzit RON98 or RON99?.

TO: 4G63T DSM

What do you mean by “The Wira A/B is already hopeless on RON97 (given its age and the ori requirement of RON95), I might need to detune the engine (retard timing) to get it to run RON95, making an already underpowered car worst.”
    Care to explain? Thx

• dreamwork (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 12:44 pm

my year 2001 wira manage run on Caltex Ron 92…..save money ma

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 2:36 pm

92-95-97. not bloody much different except someone in govt is going to get extra income.

but hey guys, i think we can too. we go “tikam” the numbers lah. magnum, toto or kuda, it’s up to you.

who knows! maybe can strike 1st prize mah!!! lol!!!

• CFA28 (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 2:42 pm

Off topic -latest updates, Ssangyong Motor bites the dust and seeks court receivership.

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/1/9/business/20090109142757&sec=business

http://www.koreaherald.co.kr/NEWKHSITE/data/html_dir/2009/01/09/200901090087.asp

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 3:19 pm

jk,

My Wira A/B is knocking even with RON97 on load (ie. going uphill) with a/c on.. Granted it is 8 years old, (but only 110k km), which is why i’m using it as an example…given that most protons this vintage is still in service. It will run on 97 if I retard the timing about 1-2 degrees, unfortunately with the accompanying power loss. FYI, its a 1.5 Auto. Manual cars will have less issues with it due to better gearing.

It will probably run 95 but I will have to retard the timing so much the car would be almost “undrivable”.

If the Wira 1.5GL requires RON97, does it mean all these old car owners will have to shell out extra $ for RON97 petrol? Watch your old proton car prices to plummet.

• Paul Tan on Jan 09, 2009 at 3:44 pm

I’ve advised Datuk Shahrir on this old car issue not being able to handle low octane fuel anymore despite being rated to be able to when fresh out of factory sometime in September last year but seems the government has decided to go ahead with it anyway.

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 4:00 pm

So RON97’s price will be increased via a fuel tax, which will be used to subsidise the new RON95 fuel. I thought we are subsidying the gov now???
    This always flip flop??? When gas increase, TNB wants to increase price, when gas price drop, TNB said gas price not related to increse of electricity price…

End up, rakyat suffer the most…

Toll also same thing, the agreement between gov and toll companies…a lot of question mark???

• jk (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 4:29 pm

Ya old cars like the P. Wira 1996 i mentioned not being able to handle low octane fuel…..The reason why RON 97 is introduced is for the purpose of some (not all) of the old national Proton cars produced. So with the price increment of RON97, it forces rakyat to change new cars (can be a plus point as to reduce the no. of old cars issues). I hope the RON97 will be discounted to the old car owners (like an exception)….juz like the seatbelt issue…1995 cars are exempted…..G. should look into all these matters b4 taking any drastic actions…

• red7 (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 4:42 pm

agree wit n8cky!

Paul, question:
    Can you list down the minimum Ron requirement for vehicles available in KL? Thinking u hav a list in hand, probably like Ron92>all prerodua. Ron95>bla bla bla. Ron97 bla~…I’ve no idea up to wat range will Camry take, or a S40, or any.can help?^^

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 6:07 pm

wat bout diesel?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 8:36 am

I suppose our Wira 1.5Auto will be looking for an engine transplant, probably the same SOHC 1.8L that currently resides in the Satria. Given a stock 1.8Sohc can handle RON95 with no issues (stock compression is only 9.5:1) and has good power/FC.

Hell, our Satria manual gets about 125kms more pertank than the 1.5auto wira A/B. And thats with pussy footing the Wira and heavy footing the Satria.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 8:47 am

JK,

While this may “encourage” people to get newer cars.. (in this age, its a good thing to spend to keep the economy from tanking)…the fact is, most drive old cars because they can ill afford new ones. Think low-mid income earners, retirees, single parents, large families, kampung folk….etc.

Perhaps a select few of us drive old cars as a choice, but the majority will stick to old wheels due to financial ability. This is where it will hurt them the most.

but that’s not all, when fuel prices increase (which it will eventually) the quantum of increase will most likely be higher for the higher octane fuel.

Paul, you know the expected quantum of RON95/97?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 3:25 pm

4G63T DSM said,

January 10, 2009 @ 8:36 am

I suppose our Wira 1.5Auto will be looking for an engine transplant, probably the same SOHC 1.8L that currently resides in the Satria. Given a stock 1.8Sohc can handle RON95 with no issues (stock compression is only 9.5:1) and has good power/FC.

Hell, our Satria manual gets about 125kms more pertank than the 1.5auto wira A/B. And thats with pussy footing the Wira and heavy footing the Satria.
    ———————-
    ur car’s a manual…

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 6:16 pm

4G63T DSM said,

January 10, 2009 @ 8:36 am

Is there a Satria 1.8L SOHC?? As far as I know it is DOHC! But then there’s a Wira 1.8L SOHC AT. Got your facts right? I know mine are.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 10:48 pm

food_fan said,
    January 9, 2009 @ 8:50 am

all perodua car owner will expect a big hole on their piston soon enough since hav no other option for other lower RON.. Since perodua car required RON90 only.. I wonder how it will effect toyota unser engine since it only required RON88?

Luckily RON95 just suit camry…Rm1.70 per liter for camry.. Great G!

——————————-
    LoL… U one funny guy….. haha….. actually the higher the RON number, the more better….. For camry, dude, better use Ron 97…. dun go for minimal requirement…. Diff in few cents is nothing,….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 10:52 pm

red7 said,
    January 9, 2009 @ 4:42 pm

agree wit n8cky!

Paul, question:

—————————————————————-

For camry…. better go for Ron 97…. same goes for Volvo S40…..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 8:45 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 10, 2009 @ 10:52 pm

red7 said,

agree wit n8cky!

Paul, question:

—————————————————————-

————————-
    for ferrari you use what? shell v-power racing?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 9:23 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 11, 2009 @ 8:45 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

red7 said,

agree wit n8cky!

Paul, question:

—————————————————————-

————————-

—————————————————–

Caltex Premium – $ 1.796
    Shell V-Power Racing – $ 1.799
    usually i fill-up at Shell kiosk……

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 1:50 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

January 12, 2009 @ 9:23 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 11, 2009 @ 8:45 pm

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

red7 said,

agree wit n8cky!

Paul, question:

—————————————————————-

————————-

—————————————————–

Caltex Premium – $ 1.796
    Shell V-Power Racing – $ 1.799
    usually i fill-up at Shell kiosk……
    ——————————
    our caltex no premium

• pippen (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 5:33 pm

This is the brilliant idea to come out of cheating more rakyat’s money down the road, by reducing the quality and selling high. I mean, you think the RON92 wont raise price? It is the similar strategy of selling a Proton low quality car with high price, and implement the same strategy with petrol now.
    This week’s reports from The Edge shows 70 out of 89 AP’s holder are fraught!! Can someone looking into the motormagazine’s seller and go do a raid?
    The funny part from today’s news is….our Mr MuyuD Minister says we will LECTURE those people abuse the APs. I mean now we can lecture people violate the law…it tells clearly where the Crony Market lies for the past 20+ years.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 5:40 pm

pippen said,
    January 12, 2009 @ 5:33 pm

This is the brilliant idea to come out of cheating more rakyat’s money down the road, by reducing the quality and selling high. I mean, you think the RON92 wont raise price? It is the similar strategy of selling a Proton low quality car with high price, and implement the same strategy with petrol now.
    This week’s reports from The Edge shows 70 out of 89 AP’s holder are fraught!! Can someone looking into the motormagazine’s seller and go do a raid?
    The funny part from today’s news is….our Mr MuyuD Minister says we will LECTURE those people abuse the APs. I mean now we can lecture people violate the law…it tells clearly where the Crony Market lies for the past 20+ years.

——————————————
    all bleedy fools…..

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 10:40 am

“It is the similar strategy of selling a Proton low quality car with high price, and implement the same strategy with petrol now.”

—————————-

Ah yes….. as usual blame proton… proton low quality car sell with high price??? how about perodua super low quality car with high price??? just because designed by toyota u overlooked that rite??

• ultranius (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 2:36 pm

If not mistaken, ron95 will replace ron92 and ron97 will be replace by ron99. Any car available in the market now is comply with ron95 but of coz there will be less output due of octane level.

Conclusion, one price for one quality.

• azrai on Feb 19, 2009 at 5:07 pm

Tak adil. Even new and luxury cars can take 92RON gasoline. By the way, we still have to remember fuel is depleted. I was thinking to find some electric motor and good lithium ion battery to replace my car's engine in this 2 years time.