Geneva 2009: Alfa reveals updated Alfa Romeo 159 with new engines!

The new Alfa Romeo 159 was released at the Geneva Motor Show with the additions of two new Euro 5-compliant engines including; a 200HP 1.75 litre TBi with 320Nm of torque which accelerates the 159 sedan to 100 km/h in 7.7 seconds, to a top speed of 235 km/h, and a 170HP 2.0 litre JTDM power plant. This can propel the 159 Sportwagon to the 100 km/h in 9 to a top speed of 216 km/h.

At the show, two variants are being displayed including the 159 sedan in TI trim and the 159 Sportwagon. The sedan in TI trim is finished with lowered geometry, bigger tires, 19 inch alloy rims, miniskirts and large aluminum brakes with red calipers on the outside while the interior features sports seats in perforated leather with the Alfa Romeo logo stitched in red, plus the steering wheel with sports grip and the gear knob covered in leather with red stitching. The TI also comes equipped with triple-zone climate control, VDC system with Electronic Q2, GPS, Bose Hi-Fi system and Cruise Control.

On the outside, the 159 Sportwagon is treated to 18 inch wheels while the inside features sports steering wheel with radio commands, a gear knob covered in leather with black stitching and new sports seats covered in leather while its head lining, the parcel shelf and the pillar fairings are finished black. Making up the equipment list include; triple-zone climate control, Cruise Control, VDC system (with Electronic Q2), Bose Hi-Fi system, GPS system (with telephone and voice commands), and Visibility Pack (rain, mist and twilight sensors. Continue reading to view an image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=144]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• the stik (Member) on Mar 04, 2009 at 7:44 pm

sweeeeeeetttttt…

• look like proton perdana

• pocketrocket on Mar 04, 2009 at 10:55 pm

[quote comment="217211"]look like proton perdana[/quote]

your comment is just as silly as your name….

Pls dun degrade the alfa brand with such a lowly copy cat brand.

• Rx-ate on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:02 pm

What? How can you associate such an exotic brand with such a "tidak boleh" car company??

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 1:39 am

look like perdana…… ur ass….

• tikus on Mar 05, 2009 at 1:42 am

Hate to see their diesel technology is so advance and MALAYSIA is still using 70s diesel fuel.

• Wow it really looks gorgeous and sexy. Dream to drive that car.

Will it be sold in Malaysia?I think only singapore got this model.We still get 156 only.

• i like the way it looks but somehow, i just cant get past the grill. other than that, its pretty sleek.

• SDAI had brought in the 159 and the Brera for homologation. They are likely to be launched here soon…

• Thats a good news from SDAI.Btw, i heard that many people say Alfa's recent gearbox which is Selespeed always creates problems and most owners have to change the gearbox. But from the picts here, it seems that for the new 159 the Selespeed gear may not be offered.I guess..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:15 pm

[quote comment="217489"]Thats a good news from SDAI.Btw, i heard that many people say Alfa's recent gearbox which is Selespeed always creates problems and most owners have to change the gearbox. But from the picts here, it seems that for the new 159 the Selespeed gear may not be offered.I guess..[/quote]

paca..that story is longlong time ago..now dont hv any problem..u jz heard the 8 yrs back story dude…

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:37 am

Alfa magic …

Alfa are wizzards ..

• Derick on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:43 am

This is what the upcoming Perdana should look like…

Put it simple Beautiful!