VIDEO: Datuk Syed Zainal presents the Proton Persona Elegance facelift at the COE

Proton invited a few Persona Elegance pre-launch booking customers from East Malaysia to the launch of the new Persona Elegance at their COE headquarters by the KESAS highway yesterday. They were also here to visit Proton’s plant, Proton’s test track and of course the launch itself. It’s all part of the My Proton Journey program.

But anyway just in case there are other Persona Elegance customers who would have liked to have watched the presentation by Datuk Syed Zainal, here’s a video recording of the launch for you to have been there ‘virtually’.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eisyam on Mar 19, 2010 at 7:46 pm

waiting for ur test drive review for the new persona…hope u can make comparison especially the performance and its build quality compare to the old one…..

thnx

• sayapdewa on Mar 19, 2010 at 7:50 pm

best2…good job DSZ!!

• alldisc on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:32 pm

the persona is relatively good, this facelifted elegance model is a good re-fresher. however, visit proton edar website www.proton-dear.com.my and the old persona is still displayed in its virtual showroom – that shows how lazy proton employees are. and the fact that the EMAS model is not entirely developed by Proton in-house is a shame.

proton dont have designers, is it? cari lah… there are so many and many malaysians who have high inspirations on designing a car, not just people who have degrees in art & design or whatever.

btw, i will buy this car. if its price at 30K. he he..

• g-spot on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:39 pm

proton dear?

• proton dun have in-house designers

the bosses make decision like that low top roof of gen.2 (rear), savvy (hahahha) and neo (discrimination against tall ppl)

engine upgrade ah beng style

• g-spot on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:58 pm

alldisc said,

March 19, 2010 @ 12:32 pm

"…..and the fact that the EMAS model is not entirely developed by Proton in-house is a shame…."

the suzuki SX-4 are also designed by giugiaro. don't see any shame there….

• anyong on Mar 19, 2010 at 9:41 pm

I will skip this Elegance. Waiting Proton to release Avantgarde version soon.

• yes i might buy the car… maybe…

• i might buy the car….. maybe…..

• Eric G on Mar 19, 2010 at 10:04 pm

hey paul, i think i saw u in 3.10?

• aduh.. mata i sakit slepas tgk video sz ni… owww…

tp bagus la ada nampak improvement from proton ;-)

• patriot on Mar 19, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Proton increase its lotus stakes to 100% in 2002. They totally own the Lotus cars. SO dont raise questions about in-house designer bullshit.

• WinterAngeLs on Mar 19, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Quote "We were very concern about the accidents and the safety of the people in the car."

But why safety features are not standard across the range? Does it mean that they don't concern or value the life's of lower income groups who buy base line persona. DSZ is purely promoting the new features on the H-line and doesn't even comment on the other variants. Anyway, the Elegance has a good overall facelift and most importantly affordable and value for money.

• peyno's mom on Mar 19, 2010 at 10:34 pm

patriot said,

March 19, 2010 @ 2:08 pm

Proton increase its lotus stakes to 100% in 2002. They totally own the Lotus cars. SO dont raise questions about in-house designer bullshit.

——————————————–

yes they are all born in UK and paying UK tax, cos all local M are too stupid and not creative, what can they designed? like Waja CPS rear light? new saga BLM with sunglasses? bergaya konon?

why dont malaysia buy toyota/mitsu and then tell them the same story like lotus?

you see lotus are still taxed like other merc and BMW. and after buying toyota, we wont be shameful to rebatch any of this car, right?

we have the money, khazanah, epf,petronas, if the money are still there la.

• aku tahu knp korg kutuk proton..hahahaha…sebab ko org tak boleh kuasai pasaran ni…hahahaha…kutuk je tahu..bodoh punya people

• this car nampak cantik…visit proton showroom now…can booking also..hp lebih bagus dari itu toyol..proton 110hp and toyol just 108hp.test drive now!!!

• alldisc on Mar 19, 2010 at 10:47 pm

g-spot said,

March 19, 2010 @ 12:58 pm

the suzuki SX-4 are also designed by giugiaro. don’t see any shame there….

—————————————————————-

proton was capable of designing waja, gen/persona, savvy/saga, sneo and exora but not capable of coming out with some design for the future. what, designers lack experience or passion??

its a let down to me.. shame on proton.

• alldisc on Mar 19, 2010 at 10:54 pm

g-spot said,

March 19, 2010 @ 12:39 pm

proton dear?

—————————

typo error..:D

www.proton-edar.com.my

• samdol on Mar 19, 2010 at 11:26 pm

good car & good design.. so sleek.. not so toyol tembam face .. & not so transformers city..

just nice car to see and to ride..

well done proton..

warning.. this is not a MPV wannabe kodok face, this is a CAR..

• vwaja on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:09 am

da shy gall look more elegance then new persona.. hahaha

• Nak Tunggu Dulu.. on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:31 am

Rugi la beli Persona elegance ni sekarang… Patut P1 tukar terus design mcm ni awal2 launch 2007 dulu… baru la ader beza ngan gen2.. Persona lagi 2 tahun dah tak kuar, kuar renew model… Harga confirm jatuh then nak trade in utk amek yang renew model pon takleh… Kete elegance baru bayar 2 tahun, ader lagi 7 tahun.. So baik takyah beli… Tunggu yang 2nd gen persona kuar.. beli yg tu lagi untung.. amek loan 9 tahun, biler nak abes bayar baru 3rd gen persona pula kuar.. So, amek feel g test drive jer la…

• proton is good.

• Taukeh on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:39 am

Proton not loyar car you know.Its good car.up to date design.Same level BMW

• patriot on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:45 am

To peyno's mom – Lotus cars, a subsidiary of proton holding, building cars for Proton, is that a problem? Does it have to be designed by the locals? Open up your eyes mom.

Also i dont get your point.

• alldisc said,

March 19, 2010 @ 2:47 pm

g-spot said,

March 19, 2010 @ 12:58 pm

the suzuki SX-4 are also designed by giugiaro. don’t see any shame there….

—————————————————————-

proton was capable of designing waja, gen/persona, savvy/saga, sneo and exora but not capable of coming out with some design for the future. what, designers lack experience or passion??

its a let down to me.. shame on proton.

————————————

"what??? alldisc hired you to drive him to kl although he know how to drive?

stupid, lack of passion, shamefull act, power window failure, corrupted, bn, proton suck, tax, not fair, subsidy, public transport, saga blm, ugly, roti canai naik harga and ridiculous.

owh..i see because you know the roads better so can save time and cost."

got it, alldisc?

• DSZ, if u read this…. proton's biggest challenge is to change the Malaysian perception as we always associate proton with sub par quality. seriously, your quality sucks (based on personal experience). we are not asking for a maybach interior though. in the end, we as a consumer wants a value for money product. one more thing, the interest rate charged by banks will slowly kills proton & perodua.

DSZ, good luck.

• sunichi on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:26 am

@alldisc

hav u seen the EMAS concept?hav u read Tun blog n what he said about the Emas & Proton?

very shame on u la,adoi ai..

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:43 am

Do not be fooled by looks! This is a Tin-Milo quality cars!

Anybody who wants to buy Proton please pay attention to the items below;

1) Powerless power window

2) Squeaking steering

3) Squeaking pedal

4) Knocking suspension system

5) Car battery died off in 3-months after purchase

6) IAFM (engine parts) module replaced after making weird tak-tak-tak noise

7) Aircond buttons/radio button/signal lights/and others are very fragile.

8) Peel of rubber sealant along exterior door panels and windows edge.

9) Door Central lock that doesn't lock centrally & frequently jam.

10) Gear sometimes jams the RPM at 2000/3000 during traffic jam.

11) Fuel Guzzler! Campro not efficient compared to other cars of same class.

12) Service center poor service. Waited for spare parts for months, repair quality also not good, resend again for repair over and over again. But I don't blame the service center or the mechanics, the car itself is a mess!

13) And many others I have no time to write, but those above are the famous ones so far.

I have to endeavor 13 times of warranty claims last year. I haven't include the losses in work productivity. Sweat and money which has been spent to keep the car running. Althought the warranty claim is free, but visiting service center on monthly basis can be very tiring indeed.

I'm owning a 2009 Persona and 2009 Gen2. CPS. Both has similar problems, but the most problematic ones is Persona (in my case). I can't sell off both yet, as I'm still tied up with the terrible loan tenure. Many thanks to Protectionism and NAP.

My advice to forumers, if you have extra money go for OTHER brands! It's worth it! We are customers! We have the power to fend off this terrible abomination to be parked in our garage!

• staff on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:09 am

these bashers keep condemning proton…

What did you all get?

Your car become powerful?

Money in your bank is increasing?

Your house become bigger?

Honda, Toyota or ferrari offers you to become their PR staff?

You are offered Japanese citizenship?

You salary increase?

Hahaha… i bet, nothing happen… all same, you all still chicken that bash in internet only… Talk only…

• staff on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:15 am

SY0H said,

March 19, 2010 @ 5:43 pm

haha… Previously, you have Waja…

Then, you have Waja and Persona….

And now, you have Persona and Gen-2 CPS…

In 2009, buying Persona and gen-2?

To pay both monthly, it is better to get other than Proton…

haha… I dont what to tell you… either you stupid or you just keep fooling yourself….

To forumers here, it is up to you to believe this guy or what… but following his comment for sometimes… he is inconsistence with his writing…

• carneo (Member) on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:33 am

Yeah it has long time we bashing the Proton continue like that it will not change Proton at the shortest time but Proton also know their weekness, just don't compare Malaysian car with others brand Proton sure not the contender. We can also change our goverment mind to lower down the duty for forient car, event they are AFTA signed by lot of the country, we only can take care or own pocket and spend for the cheapest one. Many of us still cannot accept this. It is not only the car can't contend to international many thing exp. sport also can't contend at the international standard, what we can do is stop wasting time to comment each other and spend time to execute our own responsibility to the best level make your self first to international level, if everone reach the international level sure our nation and the Malaysian make product can be contend and chellange other brand. exp. Japan and Korea. Japan was hit by two masive atomic bom during WWII but there people can bring their nation up to the top technology contry in jus 60 years, all people are highly motivated and disiplin to chanllenge and keep inprove their own self. Korea are having economic strike and full scal of demonstrtion down to all the nation during 80's, but they also success to make the miracle in just 20 years to become fully develop contry and make quality international standrad product.

• Support Malaysia on Mar 20, 2010 at 5:00 am

I was only looking at the chick. I fall in love edi before the Pesona was revealed. *blush*.

• biggie on Mar 20, 2010 at 5:02 am

syoh

it used to be wira, then waja now 2009 gen2 and persona. i think i miss the post where you also own 2008 savvy, neo, neo cps and satria

seriously, you are either ah beng jap wannabe or desperate P2 salesman.

• chap_de_x on Mar 20, 2010 at 5:17 am

reader just ignore stupid syoh….he does not have a life…afraid to the reality that p1 are improving….stupid basher…

• mirror mirror on Mar 20, 2010 at 5:25 am

Proton is fast becoming the Asian version of Alfa Romeo.

• blaster on Mar 20, 2010 at 5:35 am

I think SYOH is just talking nonesense. 1st you had 1 proton, and you said had problem, but then still u buy proton, still said had problem. Why still buy proton if you know the problem? Just don't know what u are thinking.

I enjoy my saga, practical simple car, peace of mind to pay, 3yrs loan only :)

• Ahmad on Mar 20, 2010 at 6:28 am

Nak Tunggu Dulu.. said,

March 19, 2010 @ 4:31 pm

Rugi la beli Persona elegance ni sekarang… Patut P1 tukar terus design mcm ni awal2 launch 2007 dulu… baru la ader beza ngan gen2.. Persona lagi 2 tahun dah tak kuar, kuar renew model… Harga confirm jatuh then nak trade in utk amek yang renew model pon takleh… Kete elegance baru bayar 2 tahun, ader lagi 7 tahun.. ..

———————————–

I'm tempted to buy this Persona E, but u make a good point here, and new waja just a few months ahead, better hold on or else I just wait for new Turbo Exora. I'm quite desperately new 2nd car (family type) right now.

• RIZAL on Mar 20, 2010 at 7:03 am

SOME SAY BUYING CAR IS LIKE HAVING WIFE…

IF YOU DID NOT FALL IN LOVE

OR ONLY LOVE BUT NOT CARING ENOUGH

IT WILL BREAKDOWN

I HAVE READ MANY PROTON AND PRODUA FORUM…NOW DAYS PRODUA CAR HAD MORE PROBLEM. WHATEVER LIST BY "SY0H" IT HAPPEN TO ALZA CAR. MYVI HAD IT OWN FAMOUS PROBLEM.

PLEASE STOP QUOTE OLD WIRA AND WAJA PROBLEM. ITS HISTORY ALREADY.

• saki77 on Mar 20, 2010 at 7:30 am

Agreed with staff and RIZAL

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 20, 2010 at 7:44 am

…………CRITICISM AND CONDEMN

Many Proton apologists respond to criticism on Proton by condemning the critics not the issue. They spew unhelpful insults and try to shame the critics using race, religion, nationalism and patriotism. They hound you out of the country, demean your identity. They ignore the economic, commercial issues.

This type of response is typical of communist countries propaganda. These people would make perfect citizens of North Korea, China (Mao Zedong era), East Germany (pre unification). Kim Jong Il (Hermit Kingdom) will be pleased to exchange 100 of his dissidents for one of you! Perhaps this is the most stark achievement of Proton?

Remember whether you are proud or arrogant about Proton!

…………GULUNG TIKAR

Nobody is advocating Proton to close shop per se. We are asking for more free market. Proton must learn to compete just like all other M’sian companies. It is already 25yrs! Iran and N. Korea has nuclear weapon technology in less than 25 yrs, we are struggling to make a car?

It is true Proton is sold in foreign countries cheaper than in M’sia via marginal costing concept. M’sian profit is subsidizing foreign pricing. M’sians will tolerate this to penetrate a new market, but not as a permanent long term strategy cos Proton has no idea how else to sell! Again it is already 25yrs.

On 10,000 jobs lost if Proton fails, it is a shallow uninformed argument. The vacuum left by Proton will be picked up by other players, who may create more jobs and better opportunities. Right now they are being held back.

………….HOW TO DO

If we applied the model of electronics industry for our automotive sector, who knows what wonders we could achieve. In electronics, we are the world leader in a few electronic and electrical equipment. This excludes the support industries.

In electronics we have no national electronics company to monopolise the industry. Govt assists the entire industry and the capable will shine. Assistance thru incentives is different from tariff and import restrictions.

………….CASE HISTORY

For cars and steel where we fiddled with protectionism (of only one company not industry) we are badly burnt.

Perwaja flopped with massive losses and corruption scandal. Proton amazingly posted losses in its own tightly protected market! Both these companies were protected with tariff barriers and import controls on others. This type of protectionism ties down our own people to benefit the chosen one.

Look at the building and construction industry without such baggage. We have exporters like IJM, WCT, Gamuda, SP Setia, UEM.

Buka mata dan guna fikiran bukan menuduh ikut hati.

• Proton infamous problem is history already, own proton dsz era model, running great and more fun than toyota

• shawal on Mar 20, 2010 at 8:25 am

Performance-wise, they'll be no different…

But i am interested in the interior quality and proton stated that they've made a slight difference to the rear bench ( Saga is much more spacious at the back due to taller roofline in comparison , i wuz helping my friend to buy a car in the showroom last summer) , so hopefully its more comfortable now…

its a decent (not a very good) effort from proton ( better if they'd drop the 'elegance' name) but we'll know for sure how far proton have come if this car runs without problems in 5 years…

for now , it serves as another value option to new car buyers

But proton, please take note , sometimes…we can't educate people by giving them choice, rather… limit theirs , i hope future proton cars regardless of what trim , WILL come with all safety necessities, and price difference only regards to interior trim (leather, fabric), electronics, paint, and maybe rims

• handsome on Mar 20, 2010 at 11:11 am

P1 maybe good but 2nd hand value is crap.

P! trying to make as much money before the Lancer rebadge is launched.

After LAncer rebadge is launches i bet the 2nd hand value for Persona will

fall further !! Hold your purchases …and wait b4 deciding which is the

better choice.

• rickyll on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:50 pm

I enjoy reading SYOH's comments and those attacking him. Joining a farum like this is just for fun, please don't get too personal. I think all of us do not have a hidden agenda but want Proton to improve. I bought three Protons and still keeping two(Waja & Iswara). Recently I bought one non-national marque. My general comments about Proton cars are affordable (though we have been short changed), drivable, equiped with substandard fittings and after some times you'll get 'bonus' noise here and there. I do hope that all these were history but so far Proton has nothing to shout about, not even the EMAS project.

• biggie on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:09 pm

if you do not refresh the model then it will be stale. if you take a 9yr loan do not expect that the car don't change in 9 yrs. by 9 yr there should be a new model already.

You buy your car as needed not waiting for the better model to come out, because the next model is always better then the previous one due to technological advancement.

syoh

all steel mills are protected by a levy on imported steel, as also cement. for electronic goods we import 80% of the raw material and only prvide cheap labour for assembly. We may be world leader bu the value add given is minimal.

• Automotive_Critics on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:45 pm

It is same story for this Persona. I went to proton edar yesterday and found the steering wheel material is same as gen2 (hard and lousy) which will eroded in 2 years and make the interior shameful. No improvement full stop.

• firdaus on Mar 20, 2010 at 5:44 pm

lol these kind of bashing n crits-like-im-some-pro either negative or positive is being all around since we had the internet n such topic on proton have been.. lol…

if u got the money, just buy any car u would love too, a car is not like buying a land/building property, it will decreased and broke….

• waklanproton on Mar 20, 2010 at 5:49 pm

allo…SY0H..

jgn gabra sangat…

relex la bro.

• staff on Mar 20, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Again,

What do you get from all these bashing?

Honda offer you a job?

• staff on Mar 20, 2010 at 6:24 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

what is the material name? mind to share?

what is the composition?

• staff on Mar 20, 2010 at 6:26 pm

rickyll said,

What year you bought Waja and Iswara?

and How recent is your non-national car?

Did time play a role here?

• MoFaz on Mar 20, 2010 at 7:24 pm

SY0H said,

March 19, 2010 @ 5:43 pm

"I have to endeavor 13 times of warranty claims last year. I haven’t include the losses in work productivity. Sweat and money which has been spent to keep the car running. Althought the warranty claim is free, but visiting service center on monthly basis can be very tiring indeed."

——————————–

I only send my car twice for servicing every year. You can mention those small little problems like squeaking pedals and steering at service counter. I will send my car immediately if there's major problems.

Don't tell me you send the car just for squeaking pedals and you've lost productivity because of that. You lost productivity and sweat because of your own stupidity in planning your life. You fail to differentiate between urgent and important. A lot of people have stressful life because of that. Judge yourself before blaming others.

• MoFaz on Mar 20, 2010 at 7:38 pm

I don't think Waja replacement (Lancer) would jeopardize Persona / Gen2. the price could be in a range of RM70k-RM90K like Forte. Anyway, based on several review, Lancer engine is tuned better than Forte.

I think, due to "new" price of Waja, the older Waja 2nd hand price wouldn't drop too much.

• A good car, looking better.

• just one more thing to improve in persona elegance, steering..could the designer design the more interesting streering.the rest, two tumb up…congrats proton..i believed in this forum, there are many proton staff…take the negative comments as a lesson to build a better car for the future…kita sbg manusia lahir, bukan terus berlari..kita belajar bergerak bermula dr pergerakan asas..sama macam proton….yg komen melampau tu sbenarnya bukannya betul but dengki..maybe persona pun dia tak mampu nak pakai…atau pun dia tu salesman competitor….yer le proton slalu kuar model awal beberapa bulan dr yg satu lagik..dlm 3-4 bulan lagi kuarla passo tiruan kat malaysia market..hahahahaha..tu yg sakit hati tak tentu pasal tu….

• fernando lee on Mar 20, 2010 at 10:17 pm

how much will be the price for that?

I heard the persona SE has stopped producing,

isn'it ?

Proton Elegance,compared to Persona,

which one will be better?

Colour?

how can we get the specification for the new proton?

• waiting for New Waja will be more worth. =D look fwd 4 it.

hopefully the lancer rebadge will retain lancer's interior quality n its steering itself rather than hard type & dull looking stereng from gen2/persona

• DUCKthegovt~DUCKtheg on Mar 20, 2010 at 11:33 pm

Just look at Top Gear review aobut Proton car !

They hate us bcos we bought LOTUS, but can not deny that our Proton is a joker too!!!

so let's DUCK the govt~!!

• alldisc on Mar 20, 2010 at 11:58 pm

sunichi said,

March 19, 2010 @ 5:26 pm

@alldisc

hav u seen the EMAS concept?hav u read Tun blog n what he said about the Emas & Proton?

very shame on u la,adoi ai..

——————————————————

EMAS was not a true concept engineered by Proton as they still nee

1. exterior and interior design from a 3rd party company ie giugiaro

2. on the engineering side EMAS was developed by Lotus and not Proton's own engineering dept.

like rickyll said – there's nothing for proton to shout about the concept.

oh yes, i have owned an old saga megavalve, a wira 1.6 and now persona 1.6. my family also have a gen2 and a waja and we are actually truly supporting proton as a national carmaker.

criticisms are good, its a way to improvise things provided ppl put aside their agos and willing to listen.

• staff on Mar 21, 2010 at 12:06 am

fernando lee said,

March 20, 2010 @ 2:17 pm

how much will be the price for that? – Please refer to Previous post on Persona Elegance by PaulTan.

I heard the persona SE has stopped producing,

isn’it ? – Yes, it is.

Proton Elegance,compared to Persona,

which one will be better? – cant compare, coz this elegance is enhance version of the Persona, so it named Persona Elegance.

Colour? – Up to you.

how can we get the specification for the new proton? – Go to Edar or any Proton dealer.

• Lingges on Mar 21, 2010 at 1:58 am

I have seen the new Proton Persona Elegance in the showroom just today. My comment would be that Syabas! to Proton in continous effort in releasing new models. But then I think Proton could have done much better to the new Perosna Elegance, not just the part of enhancing the exterior cosmetic changes but also could have changed them especially the interior as well like;

1. Changing the dashboard entirely new and more dynamic.

2. Changing the automatic tranmission as the new Waja, gated shift.

The pricing for the new Persona Elegance is somewhat reasonable and they have priced it accordingly that would be reasonable for the buyers.

• CareTAKER on Mar 21, 2010 at 4:58 am

To Syoh…

4 your In4..the PERWAJA That you talk about…It's Not Flop…and Already Back to Bursa Saham KL….please do research..dont make stupid facts…the PERWAJA Steel Until today still running……..

• sunichi on Mar 21, 2010 at 7:16 am

alldisc said,

EMAS was not a true concept engineered by Proton as they still nee

1. exterior and interior design from a 3rd party company ie giugiaro

2. on the engineering side EMAS was developed by Lotus and not Proton’s own engineering dept.

like rickyll said – there’s nothing for proton to shout about the concept.

oh yes, i have owned an old saga megavalve, a wira 1.6 and now persona 1.6. my family also have a gen2 and a waja and we are actually truly supporting proton as a national carmaker.

criticisms are good, its a way to improvise things provided ppl put aside their agos and willing to listen.

u think all the car maker get the idea is from themself?VW,Toyota,Suzuki asked Italdeisgn Giugiaro to design their cars,why is that?Tun said about 20 P1 designers were involved in EMAS project, are you sure all the interior &exterior and engineering from that italian&Lotus??who spent the money for this project,the italian ah?go find the fact la,adoi ai..

• akupunya on Mar 21, 2010 at 5:54 pm

biar la orang nak bash proton…

hak diorang kerana diorang customer proton yg rasa sendiri masalah kereta proton…

apa korang nk bising…

orang marah sebab kena beli kereta proton mahal dari sepatutnya..

dan orang juga marah kerana proton saja kereta murah di malaysia..

itu masalahnya…

kat negara luar kereta local diorang very good..

sbb tu diorang tk kisah kereta diroagn murah n kereta luar mahal..

apa daa proton…ingat persona dah kuat..tapi ada jugak maslah…

aku dulu pakai proton..

yg paling penat ialah kena pergi SC banyak kali..

dan banyak kali staff SC buat kerja bodoh..

dah la bodoh..sombong siap marah2 customer..

bengap..

• personaowner on Jun 09, 2010 at 11:36 pm

aku pakai proton persona..takde masalah pun..ok jer..dulu aku pakai proton iswara pun ok jer..kesian kat ko salah pergi sc kot ..

• learner on Mar 21, 2010 at 6:17 pm

even kia design is lead by foreigner and very successful! nothing wrong if we can make more money with foreigner brain!

even if asking third party to do the exterior and interior design and outsourcing the engine and gearbox, if it is as easy as that, why in earth another 'company' in malaysia still copycat others? because T&D own it? mmmmmm

• alldisc on Mar 21, 2010 at 6:53 pm

sunichi said,

March 20, 2010 @ 11:16 pm

u think all the car maker get the idea is from themself?VW,Toyota,Suzuki asked Italdeisgn Giugiaro to design their cars,why is that?Tun said about 20 P1 designers were involved in EMAS project, are you sure all the interior &exterior and engineering from that italian&Lotus??who spent the money for this project,the italian ah?go find the fact la,adoi ai..

———————————————————–

aha! now u see my point…. u dont realise you agree with me but still want argue. adoi laa…

the fact is proton is not confident with its own in-house designers., even though there were 20 of them all and still proton want to award the designing to a giugiaro. shame on the 20 designers. canot afford to come with own ideas.

ha ha ha.. adoi laa… tq for adding the facts dude. ha ha adoi laa… i dont know there were 20 designers in total.

to paul, my apology for this. i was just giving my opinion but then someone came and bashed me. sori ye…

• Smallfish (Member) on Mar 21, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Bravo! Bravo!

This is the best car in the market. Price is reasonable. Quality is very good.

Design (interior and exterior) is marvelous. Power is awesome. Stability / Riding is very excellent. Speed – oh so great, in a few seconds it can reach 200kmh with ease.

Forget about H or T brand, they cannot compete with this one.

Try it for yourselves.

• Proton come out new model,same model new facelift but no enhanced power,wat the heck?Wat's the point?Ppl buy also must tink'after i buy your car for 2 years,the value drop liked hell,better I saved more & buy a better one'

Stop taxing imported cars,sure proton will close down.Proton is showing us they have a 25years of thick face tat they still din achieve anything since last Saga & Wira series.

By the way,proton not many problem,problem is the owner due to lack of care 7 handling.Why got so many complains?Because many Malaysian bought Proton,tat's y problems become obvious.

Wait for the new Proton-Mitsu model,dun throw money to this old facelift model//

• satria2000 on Mar 22, 2010 at 12:22 am

Hang pa org kaya bleh la hentam proton kaw kaw…kita org berpendapatn sederhana nie mampu pakai proton atau perodua ajer…yang hantam tu ada sedara mara tak kerja ngan proton…apa jadi kalu proton lingkup…10000 jobs will be loss….lu pikir la sendiri anak bini depa nak makan apa kalu tempat kerja dah lingkup…anyway..good job la tu proton…oh yer nak keta power pakai ferarri ker…lamborghini ker…

• Tiadaid on Mar 22, 2010 at 2:02 am

alldisc said,

March 21, 2010 @ 10:53 am

sunichi said,

March 20, 2010 @ 11:16 pm

———————————————————–

aha! now u see my point…. u dont realise you agree with me but still want argue. adoi laa…

the fact is proton is not confident with its own in-house designers., even though there were 20 of them all and still proton want to award the designing to a giugiaro. shame on the 20 designers. canot afford to come with own ideas.

ha ha ha.. adoi laa… tq for adding the facts dude. ha ha adoi laa… i dont know there were 20 designers in total.

to paul, my apology for this. i was just giving my opinion but then someone came and bashed me. sori ye…

————————————-

Ala, take a look at Kia. Who's the head designer? Orang putih. Malaysians designed Savvy kena bash, designed Gen-2 kena bash too. Now they use orang putih, they thought they won't get bashed, but in the end bashed as well! Haih…

• Ericboy on Mar 22, 2010 at 2:14 am

Steering sux… Other than that… It's brilliant… If there wasn't a new model come up end of this year,maybe I will get one of those Persona Elegance…

• interesting quality of malaysian people…..PERCEPTION. anoyone can imagine what will happen to Malaysia in year 2020 or 2050?? :)

• sunichi on Mar 22, 2010 at 8:12 am

even kia design is lead by foreigner and very successful! nothing wrong if we can make more money with foreigner brain!

even if asking third party to do the exterior and interior design and outsourcing the engine and gearbox, if it is as easy as that, why in earth another ‘company’ in malaysia still copycat others? because T&D own it? mmmmmm

agree with u learner,not like alldisc still like 'katak bwh tempurung'.he want to work alone in this industry (bodoh sombong) xpsl2 mane la nk maju.adoi ai..

• once an ayam brand,always cap ayam la.period

• misya on Mar 22, 2010 at 5:34 pm

hurmmm aku tak paham le kenapa le org suke benorr bli proton, perodua ni. mmg le kalu nak di compare dgn kreta toyota, honda, kreta nasional nampak mcm murah jer. tapi ingat le sket bahwa interest rate utk kreta nasional tinggi giler. tapi utk kreta non nasional, interest rate rendah.

hurmmm in the end, bayar bulan bulan lebey kurang sama jer. baik korang bli kreta non nasional. at least, reliability & kualiti tu lebeh sket dari kreta nasional.

org berduyun2 bli dugong sbb enjin dia mmg jimat minyak. mmg le dugong tu nampak mcm tin kosong je. tapi sebab enjin dia tu la, ramai org bli dugong. wat ape bli kreta kononnye penuh dgn features, handling bagus, tapi kuat makan minyak.

resale value toyota honda pun mmg lebey tinggi dari proton perodua naza. ini adalah hakikat.

• BRAZBUZ on Mar 22, 2010 at 6:12 pm

all the people that critics anything about proton is a person that really admire T&H but can only afford P1….

HAHAHAHA…..

• fard said,

March 22, 2010 @ 8:15 am

once an ayam brand,always cap ayam la.period

—————————————-

did you said about your mentality or your attitude?

not long ago kia and hyundai also known as a cap ayam brand, remember?

of course you dont coz at that time you were in primary school.

• rickyll on Mar 22, 2010 at 8:18 pm

staff said,

March 20, 2010 @ 10:26 am

==================

Out of town for two days. For your information, I bought a Saga Megavalve in 1991, a Waja in 2002 and Iswara Aeroback in 2007.(The so called full spec RM26K version). When I bought the Iswara, my friends even quipped that I was the most patriotic person in town. Ironically, it was the Saga which gave me 10 years of low maintenance, trouble free driving experience. I was forced to sell the car because of the numerous unsightly corroded spots on the exterior. The infamous Waja gave me the biggest headace, the handles and the power windows were the main culprits. Luckily, after two years, everything seemed to be okay. The Iswara gave me minor electrical fitting problems right from the start. I had it fixed by my foreman. He told me Proton had done away with the circuit board in order to cut cost on this model. No wonder the switches on power window got burned off so fast. Recently (December 2009), I bought a Kia Forte 1.6 SX, not that I like Korean car, but simply because it's the cheapest non-national marque I could afford. Morever, I have been following Paul's writing about Forte for quite sometime and in Paul I trust. Actually, I had been thinking about getting a Proton Persona but the tail lamp(at that time) and streering wheel turned me off. It's nice to see Proton moving in the right direction, this Persona E facelift is good, may be next time I will give Proton another try. Have a nice day to all you people out there especially to staff, SYOH, MoFaz and alldisc, last but not least to Paul and Danny.

• o-zon on Mar 22, 2010 at 8:23 pm

i think most of malaysian like rebadge version.

myvi, alza, wira, waja-mitsu

then, convert logo as a original manufacturer..what a shame..

seriously aku meluat bila tgk myvi convert ke passo, wira/waja convert to lancer..crisis identity..terima la hakikat yg korang x mampu pakai brand yg original..x payah la nak berlagak n pastu kurang ajar dijalan raya…pastu eksiden..huh!

• gattaca on Mar 22, 2010 at 10:00 pm

fard said,

March 22, 2010 @ 8:15 am

once an ayam brand,always cap ayam la.period

even ayam brand sardines is among the expensive sardines…

• paul i read news about the new turbo engine of proton….this what i read..

"Proton is certainly moving up ahead with its new engine development.

According to industry sources, the new engine will be using turbo technology but is developed more for low end torque and fuel consumption.

The main target for the engine is for the Exora, which we was told will only happen next year.

We were told that the Low Pressure Turbo (LPT) system uses a turbine from BorgWarner and pressure starts to kick in at around 1,800rpm. Power should hover around 140hp.

Apart from the LPT system, the new engine will also be using a Continuous Variable Valve Timing (CVVT) system on the intake valves.

Transmission wise, the 6-speed Getrag gearbox is said to be chosen for the engine while a CVT gearbox by ZF will replace the normal torque converter automatic transmission system. Proton realises that it needs more control on the transmission and using Mitsubishi's will not allow them so.

The engine is loosely based from the CAMPRO block but many changes have been done to it (improved water jackets, etc) and that it should deserve a new name."

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 23, 2010 at 3:55 am

"CareTAKER said, March 20, 2010 @ 8:58 pm"

Dear CareTAKER,

Perwaja Steel eventually failed and had to be rescued by a corporate white knight. Its chairman, Eric Chia, faced charges of corruption in 2004. But found not guilty, he pass away short while after that.

Currently the AP for steel is monopolize by Megasteel (another company). So all local steel fabricator, contractor and supplier will need to buy from them. To buy import steel (say from Japan & Korea), will require written permission.

Perwaja Steel is still around after the big bailout. I did not say it 'gulung tikar'. My argument was on losses (kerugian). You need to learn how to read basic English before doing research., if not, you'll keep leading people blindly. As whether the company is profitable or not, that you will have to ask them yourself.

"satria2000 said, March 21, 2010 @ 4:22 pm"

Dear satria2000,

I can not see your argument, you're telling us that, only rich people can complain. Which means poor people who bought Proton/Perodua can't complain. You okay brother? I think your statement conflict with your own agenda (gosh, I myself confused already).

I think this is actually you wanted to say, "Malaysians are generally from low and middle income people. Most of them can afford to buy Proton or Perodua only. But rich people can buy any car they want and complained about Proton".

So, basically you're telling us the forumers, that low income people and middle income people which buy Proton/Perodua can NOT complain. Gosh, you're worst than dictactor brother!

"MoFaz said, March 20, 2010 @ 11:24 am"

Dear Mr. Perfect,

Based on your statement, please "educate" us customer on how to manage 13 service center visit, in which the service center only allow repair or warranty claims to be made on weekdays, during office hours only (Monday to Friday). NO weekend repairs is allowed by most major service center.

Your statement is basically the most arrogant (takbur) feedback in the thread. Usually this kind of feedback you will only get from some cheap car salesman (no wonder, he's selling "cheap car" also). Is Proton the only brand in this world in which the customer are NOT allowed to complained? I don't think you ever heard of this term before; "Customer is Always Right"?

Thank you for reading!

• SY0H said,

If we applied the model of electronics industry for our automotive sector, who knows what wonders we could achieve. In electronics, we are the world leader in a few electronic and electrical equipment. This excludes the support industries.

In electronics we have no national electronics company to monopolise the industry. Govt assists the entire industry and the capable will shine. Assistance thru incentives is different from tariff and import restrictions.

—————————————————————–

As a result, after 40 years of helping a lot of world famous semicond and electrical equipment companies to earn money and create jobs we get nothing. Remember, all of this companies are taxed free. how many billions value of goods they export have have nothing contribute to our economy. Goverment can only tax their employees.

If malaysia want to improve, we should have our malaysian brand, malaysian company and malaysian product. Use other country resources to make money for malaysia. that is how US, Japan and Korea are doings.

By the way, I hate corrupted culture and do not believe NAP can help the nation. NAP not only protect P1 but also P2 and NZ. If any of them are "dirty" then all of them are the same.

Lastly, good job done by proton!

• Proton Persona kena maintain enjin campro IAFM sebab ia memfokuskan pasaran untuk segmen keluarga (C-Segmen). Berkemampuan dari segi penjimatan minyak sambil tidak membantutkan keupayaan memecut. Campro CPS diakui mempunyai 125Hp, yang mampu mengeringkan poket dan tangki minyak anda. Lotus masih tercari-cari bagaimana hendak mencipta enjin yang mantap tanpa menidakkan penjimatan minyak. Honda sahaja buat masa ini yang mampu melaksanakannya. Cuma pelik, selepas ini tiada lagi Proton Persona SE sebab medium dan high line pun dah ada full bodykit. Bagi model auto, kenapa proton tidak membezakan indicator untuk drive (warna hijau), park (merah) dan sebagainya. Amat merbahaya bagi pemandu. Kenapa proton ataupun mana-mana pengeluar kereta bilamana mengeluarkan base line model/type J bg toyota vios menidakkan pembeli kelas bawahan.pertengahan tentang keselamatan seperti tiada airbag untuk penumpang mahupun pemandu. Apakah nyawa pembeli2 ini tidak ternilai?Hanya pencipta/pengeluar/pengilang sahaja yang tahu.

• Lousy proton salesmans(no product knowledge,just know tikam only) & lousy services,irresponsible product & sucks for M'sian.Interest high for their crap.Last for the 1st few mths then become crap car.

Same as for Toyota(Lousy brake) & Peroduo cars(To light to speed at 120kmh) safety sucks too.Honda sucks too,who say no(a lot of noise when speeding at 120kmh too).

No cars is perfect here,it's either problem cars or overcharge imported car,just ride bicycle.

By the way,someone say US Govt. protect GM but any idea how much tax they charge for imported cars from Japan,It's almost 1 to 1 price selling in Japan.

Stop curruption!

• barney on Mar 23, 2010 at 6:12 pm

ya dunno y we have to pay so much tax for the car we liked.Example a nissan silvia S15 cost us RM 60000 in Japan b4 tax,when arrive M'sia,it's RM 120k .Shit where this taxes money go to.I din c any improvement on our road maintenace,only road with lots of roads and some expressway with no lights at all(u guys shall know where is it la)

• alldisc on Mar 23, 2010 at 6:21 pm

sunichi said,

March 22, 2010 @ 12:12 am

even if asking third party to do the exterior and interior design and outsourcing the engine and gearbox, if it is as easy as that, why in earth another ‘company’ in malaysia still copycat others? because T&D own it? mmmmmm

agree with u learner,not like alldisc still like ‘katak bwh tempurung’.he want to work alone in this industry (bodoh sombong) xpsl2 mane la nk maju.adoi ai..

——————————-

if you were trying to act like a retarded person, i must say u must have been successful!!

congratulations.!!

my comments…

first…

between you and me, i am so proud of national car and i have so high confidence with local talents that i want them to come out with their own design instead of awarding contract to an outsider.

you clearly have a different agenda with refusing the fact that we have good designers locally and by that saying that independent coachbuilders can do better. is it so? how do you feel if your company does not trust you with your work and award external parties to do your job? dont you have pride? or integrity, perhaps?

secondly, i feel sad because you had bashed an individual person like me which really shows who you really are – an unethical person who is arrogant and disrespectful. i can bash too, but i am not like you. so you can continue to bark around with your low level of attitude and mindset and to start bashing a person when you are out of ideas.

have a nice day to all!!

• Tp knapa proton jual kt arab saudi jauh lbh murah compare dgn kt m'sia?? hmmm.. any ideas?

• sunuchi on Mar 23, 2010 at 7:57 pm

@alldisc

i believe n always support Proton & all their workers like designers (which one of them have been awarded in international design competition n refuse to go other company because he still want to work with Proton), engineers (built campro, campro aifm,cps & aifm+, turbo next) & all that involved for making Proton nowadays.building a car it's not only about the design, it's include many aspects to make the car perfect.Proton has it's own reason to give Italdesign the contract for EMAS & Persona R 2012 like other cmpany as well.find yourself the answer,n you did not answer my question before.hav a nice day to!!

• alldisc on Mar 27, 2010 at 1:44 am

@ sunichi, if you do support proton local designers and their work, then you would have agree with me that it is a shame when the EMAS prototype design was given to giugiaro, same goes to next gen persona.

i think you are one clever boy as you have managed to find out the answer yourself (the confusion that you created) and therefore i do not feel theres a need to answer yours…

if this is the case, then you have shown that you finally agree with me. you lost bro! you're caught twisted within your own words.

adoi laa… LOL

my real intention – have faith in our own designers. malaysia boleh!

• sunuchi on Mar 23, 2010 at 8:11 pm

@ming

Proton adalh pembuat kete(peniaga) & bhdpn dgn untung n rugi.utk kete eksport, harga yg sdkt mrh adalh utk tarik pelanggan kalo x sape nk beli(cm KIA jual kt cni,wlupn mrh msti ade untung jgkkn) tp tdklh smpi tiada untung.k'jaan Saudi xksh psl cukai kete import psl dierg pn xde kete sndri & hsl mnyk dieorg lbh tggi dr kite dsbbkn krk adlah pengeluar mnyk nmbr 1 dunia.ni scra mdhnye.

• CareTAKER on Mar 23, 2010 at 8:58 pm

to SY0H

Yes i'm working the company that you mention it….as for MegaSteel that you mention also taken sources from PERWAJA….do not blindly giving a fact…..

• staff on Mar 25, 2010 at 2:10 am

the man you mentioned wrote like he knows everything… in fact he know some only…

good clarification…

• Thanks for the heads up!

Thank you for confirming that all raw steel, processed steel products have to go through one company. Many thanks for the AP and protectionism info!

• how long is this campro engine going to bundle with all the new/facelift model,all cps please la,we'll be happy to donate money to buy your car,PROTON!

• Quattro (Member) on Mar 24, 2010 at 12:07 am

well done > just drop in to the proton showroom > nice facelift car > way better than old gen tu.

dengar2 waja dah tidak di manufacture lagi > boleh sapa2 update waja baru dengan engine 1.8 evotech dari mitsubishi……

• mama says:

23/3/2010 at 2:04 pm

how long is this campro engine going to bundle with all the new/facelift model,all cps please la,we’ll be happy to donate money to buy your car,PROTON!

——————————————————————————————————–

test driven the car, it perform better in the bottom end compare to cps, only on the top end cps has the advantage,mean that this campro iafm 32 bits is better for city driving compare to cps, but cps more rewarding to enthusiast driver who like to boil the engine, rev it to the max. test drive first, then u know, no need cps because persona is comfort biased. so the cps is better to suit gen2 that is sportier compare to persona. just my 2 cents

• waimak on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:22 am

I dont know whether it's true or not but the salesman mentioned about the facelift of Gen2 as well, kinda last facelift, coming soon, anybody knows abt this??

• yup, it is gen2 mc3(minor change 3), only minor change, new color,just a little different on grill n door handle. has black roff top too. interior change only on the fabric. look little bit sporty especially for the new color. i dunno whether they change the ecu or not, but may be.

• alldisc on Mar 27, 2010 at 1:45 am

and so i rest my case!

thank you paul and danny!

• syafiq on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:27 pm

if there is no proton, we have to import million of cars every year.. then our money will be drain out.. evendo our country is corrupted, i still love my Malaysia.. and do what ever i can to contribute to the country.. when u all keep comparing msian products and japan products.. compare your mentality first, is there any sense of patriotism.. if u really hate msia, then juz leave this country.. we don need the likes of u..

• Hairil on May 10, 2011 at 12:16 pm

Kepada SYOH, aku pon pakai persona early 2008. Tapi masalah yg timbul x la banyak gile cam yg ko list kan tu…..x ada knocking, jamming, squeking kat steering, tik tok kat IAFM, padal pon smooth je. Bateri aku tahan 3 tahun maaa…..power window ok. Fuel guzzler??? aku punya ok je.A full tank’s worth of RON95 will take me from bukit kayu hitam in kedah all the way to KL with suku tank to spare.

SYOH, ko mungkin satu contoh pengguna proton yg malang. Dapat keta yg termiss QC inspection kot.