Volkswagen Polo Sedan renamed VW Vento for India

Volkswagen has announced that the sturdy Polo Sedan design unveiled in Russia last week will be used for the Indian market and will be called the Volkswagen Vento.

Essentially the same as a Polo sedan, the wheelbase has been extended by 50mm over a regular Polo hatch to accommodate better legroom. The car will be produced in VW’s plant in Chakan, Pune. The sedan will get the same 1.6-litre engine seen in the Russian version which produces 105 PS. This will be mated to a 5-speed manual or an automatic transmission depending on the budget. Prices are expected to be anything from 7 to 9 lakhs.

Look after the jump for a more comprehensive picture gallery that has just been released compared to the one shown at the Russian unveiled. This gallery now has interior photos, which show a largely unchanged interior compared to the Polo Sedan.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1172]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• firdaus on Jun 06, 2010 at 6:20 pm

next saga after the this year(or next year?) should take notes from VW polo sedan good design features. i think VW makes good economic car with this design.

i like the steering, the interior fabric n design, well proportioned body, premium design intent and all the small electronic feature which is actually is cheap and proton can put it in all its base line cars.

• I think the Vento should be something like the Persona for the indian market, not more, not less.

Simple engine & gearbox, enough space for four to five passengers, all for about RM39600.

I don’t see any premium design…

• firdaus on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:36 am

i said premium design ‘intents’, looks premium without the real premium material get it? its still all plastic and just thin fabric. plus the premium looks are shown from the front n rear light details and so the solid shoulder lines that are quite good n as seen on premium cars. speaking from a design language understanding of cars, i find this car is very (from the looks) good enough and premium ‘intent’ design.

• It looks not that handsome but still I find it more handsome than new saga. Guess they have better designer. :-P

• i like this car.. design superb… price convert to RM —- maybe RM40-50k without duty n tax… sure >rm90K…

• OMG! rear look reminds me of saga
    but really nice

• firdaus on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:38 am

saga design is like a car running on small shoes..lol. the polo sedan proportioned design is much better than saga blm.

i hope proton would design much better car :D

• agreed!! much more better & better looking than saga or even all current proton models, i don’t understand y got ppl still thinking & compare with saga…..kinda nuts…!

• Auto_crat on Jun 06, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Better than vios

• DonkeyKong on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:57 am

Anything’s better than a dugong Vios with its old 1.5 litre DVVT and 4-speed auto gearbox.. what a rip-off at that price..

• mitlanevo on Jun 06, 2010 at 10:37 pm

i want one!!!

• hangmedan on Jun 06, 2010 at 11:51 pm

If it is only cost RM39600, I prefer choose this one rather than Persona…

• i hope VW will import these cars into malaysia.. price around 80-90k is competitive. Better than some rubbish we are having over here that are overly-priced. Continental cars are better

• BeeSting88 on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:00 am

Being thinking will it reach our shore… If it can endure harsh Russian condition,i think it would be perfect for Malaysian driver who loves to trash their car.. Heheheh..

• Proton Sucks on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:42 am

sighs…i wish we had this

• alldisc on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:55 pm

isnt Vento another name for Bora @ Golf Sedan?

anyway 40K for a non-local car… in our dreams lah. even though CKD.

• Old Polos never impressed me a bit, current Polo very much a smaller Golf and the sedan still variant still will make vios and city makers got headache once they priced it around RM80k+.

Much better interior than Fiesta and decent car though with archaic but reliable 1.6 engine. Give new 1.4 engine and price it RM80k the Vios will face same fate like Altis.

• Bland looking car.

• ccb88 on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:51 am

i would prefer a persona CPS ( from proton supporter)

If anyone of the proton defender see the actual fit and finish of the VW polo/golf, you’ll be impress and amaze.

its a german car. Persona is wat kind of ppl’s car, you know i know.

lol

1 malay sia!

• ccb88 on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:52 am

even india getting better car than malaysial. pity la we all

• Mujahiddin on Jun 16, 2010 at 3:45 pm

This should be a good buy, you got solid German engineering, nice interior unlike most rivals in the same segment. Quite elegant exterior too, although the rear lamp could have been better. This car should go head to head with Honda City.

• nishant on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:55 am

Lets hope this has more space in the back seat. The polo has really cramped back seat

• vw beetle on Jan 23, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Too normal trunk, pooh! But I’ll wait for the Polo GTI sedan.