Proton R3 Rally Team fail to convert pace into win at the Rally of Queensland – fastest 15 out of 18 stages!

The Proton R3 Malaysia Rally Team did well at the recent International Rally of Queensland by winning almost every stage in the rally.

Unfortunately due to technical difficulties, drivers Chris Atkinson and Alister McRae did not finish the event held in the forests of the Sunshine Coast. The Rally of Queensland is part of the 2010 FIA-Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC).

The rate at which the two were going, they would have surely been on the podium at the very least. The R3 team won 15 out of 18 stages of the entire rally, with Atkinson winning 11 of those. The joy was cut short when Atkinson’s car stalled in a creek crossing whereas McRae retired due to damage sustained to his Neo after going over a large rock on the second stage of the final day.

“Between Alister and me, we were the fastest and won a lot of stages and this shows how good the Proton Satria Neo is. Unfortunately, the water splash stopped us yesterday but we will be back for the next rally ready to win,” said Atkinson. The next APRC round for Proton R3 is the Indonesian Rally on 25-26 September in Makassar.

India’s Guarav Gill in his Mitsubishi won the Rally of Queensland, crossing the line in one minute and 16 seconds, ahead of Australian brothers Glen and Matt Raymond. The second Mitsubishi driver Katsuhiko Taguchi from Japan, came in third.

The Proton R3 Team is second in the APRC’s Manufacturers Championship with 60 points, trailing behind Mitsubishi with 152 points. Subaru is third with 34 points. Taguchi is top of the drivers’ standings with 100 points, followed by Guarav Gill and Alister McRae with 97 and 41 points respectively.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• awg1031 on Aug 04, 2010 at 4:43 pm

ouchh..a bit more and they could’ve win..anyway, good effort team proton!!! good luck on the next rally!

• PutraMalaya on Aug 04, 2010 at 4:45 pm

go go go malaysia!

• akupunya on Aug 04, 2010 at 6:08 pm

malaysia kat mana? body kereta ka?

• Arghhh!!..so close..

• nape lak ko tak paham ke rule rally bai.. tanye malaysia kat mana tgk peta lol body kete ape even kete lain kene guna yang sama…

• mulut celupar on Aug 04, 2010 at 7:05 pm

jangan lupa diri kawan.. nanti keturunan anda tidak akan kenal anda …

• mr.eng on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:11 am

Malaysia kat mane? malaysia is in our heart..hehehe..surly feel good to ask such question ey akupunyer?…The Body and Chassis is from proton/lotus…it dosent matter coz surrley there is malaysian invlove in neo development. Body and chassis can be consider essential element in defining car aerodynamics, stability and motion control. A powerfull engine is useless without precession control of handling. Aerodynamic playing major roll as the coefficient of drag influence engine efficiency. It is fraction of energy needed from the engine to drive the car forward. In the other words, the lower coefficient of drag the more output can be squeeze out from the engine. “Org kampong cakap potong angin”. heheh

But its not appropriate to blame the basher maybe there’s few of them who don’t really understand Automotive engineering and Manufacturing in general. Jgn hanya membenci, mengutuk mengata yg bukan kepada product keluaran Anak Bangsa sendiri. Cukup la penderitaan nenek moyang kite yg dahulunya dijajah…a great comment is one will generate more idea and inspire others….

• Chris on Aug 05, 2010 at 4:14 pm

FYI, Proton Satria Neo S2000 was built by the British company call Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM). Nothing to do with product keluaran anak bangsa.

• teamsleepnine on Aug 05, 2010 at 8:54 pm

lamborghini gt1/gt2/gt3 race car is build by reiter engineering(german)

mitsubishi wrc team car is build by mml motorsport(uk)
            http://www.mml-sports.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=35&Itemid=43

subaru is build by prodrive(uk,in case you lived in a cave)

its normal for factory team that compete in international class to use other team/firm to built/engineer.

even porsche is built by kremer brother,bmw motorsport team schnitzer.

• pomen_GTR on Aug 05, 2010 at 11:07 pm

nope…..they use proton satria neo chasis…

that was coming from malaysian factory…assembly by malaysian workers…company owned by malaysian….

still nothing to do???

in racing registration..does the list says who built the car????why did they use car brand and models instead of the tuner company name???

even subaru wrc built by prodrive uk…

peugeot wrc built by uk company….

so?

• mr.eng on Aug 06, 2010 at 8:55 am

then who build neo it self? dont u think with massive amount of information on the internet all of us already know about Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM)? there is Involvement, direct or indirectly with malaysian..…you can see there is technology transfer by collaboration with other car manufacture which can be really helpfull in improve our own automotive product/industry, and yes it have to do with our anak bangsa (Malaysian)…but maybe it have nothing to do with u assuming ur not a Malaysian chris. This posting itself can propel positive energy to drive proton forward for better product in the future. positive thinking can go longgg way…

• carsut on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:41 am

bai, baik pindah indon la.. baru boleh cakap itu macam!!

• akupunya on Aug 05, 2010 at 3:32 pm

hahaha..S2000 tu adalah satria neo kena awet..
        enjin, interior equiment, handling ke apa semau dah ditukar..
        kalau boleh diangkat semua, hanya badan warna kuning tu ja yang ada..itu pun tinggal bapa percent jer yg malaysia punya kat badan kuning tu..

macam kereta rally karamjit dulu la yg pakai lancer, tapi tukar logo letak logo proton..huhu..

tapi sekarang boleh la proove proton sebab kulit keras kura2 asal dari proton..kui kui kui..

• teamsleepnine on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:16 pm

mml motorsport (runnin and building mitsubishi rally programme since 1962,still offer group-n rallyart evo,until recently)

prodrive(subaru,run/build subaru wrc car from 90’s,recently will build/run mini 2011/12 wrc programme,used to run bar honda f1 team for one season)

m-sport (build and run ford wrc team)

reiter engineering lamborghini(building lambos gt1,gt2,gt3 race car)

team schnitzer bmw(running/building bmw motorsport programme since the 70s,including the batman 3series,m3 gtr,m3 gt3,3 series s2000-touring,lmp among other)

ferrari michelotto(ferrari gt/prototype programme)

mercedes Hans Werner Aufrecht (hwa-ag)(mercedesdtm,mercedes clk gt1)

dome honda(nsx super gt)

and the list goes on…

it’s normal for manufacturer to partner with racing engineering specialist
          to build and run their car.tak tahu pasal racing jangan cakap pasal racing.

• mr.eng on Aug 06, 2010 at 9:12 am

akupunye…then how many percent we should have so u could event say congrats? 95%? 50%? 100%?….”satria kene awet”? whats that mean?…hehe…adohai…Proton PERT (Petronas-EON Racing Team) its whole diffent stroy my friend..its mitsu. lancer is Mitsu R&D. Tho i have an inside saying that evo 3 (lancer rebatch wira) is a Collaboration between proton and mitsu. Few proton engineer stay at Japan for 5-6 years for that project. not sure how Legitimate that fact. But at list we have a malaysian driving the PERT..(your sure we only chance the logo only?) heheh NEO is proton R&D. Tidak perlu memperlekehkan usaha org lain oleh kerana kita kurang memahami sesuatu perkara. Tidak salah amik positive dan bersangka baik akan sesuatu yg boleh mendatang kebaikan kepada org sekeliling kita. :)

• mamat on Aug 07, 2010 at 6:53 am

siput btul la akupunya….. semua ni bisness, bisness antarabangsa

• aryll8257 on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:29 am

see..

the damage you can do with your STUPID comment..

At least, please think before you write and please do get your fact right..

Pity this guy.. so stupid

• good job well done… hope next rally they can make it to the podium…

• Firdaus Abdullah on Aug 04, 2010 at 5:10 pm

15 out of 18! …that’s just awesome. Looking at this they will be up on the podium in no time…

• meane on Aug 04, 2010 at 5:28 pm

oh, how unfortunately…

• MoFaz on Aug 04, 2010 at 5:40 pm

ahead of Subaru? well done! but Mitsu is still ahead with more than double your points, try to catch-up ya :). go! go! go! R3.

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Aug 04, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Not bad.emm..now I feel fall in love with this yellow machine..

• ah kau on Aug 04, 2010 at 5:50 pm

aiyo paul you bikin panas laa
    memang tarak menang, tapi you tgk their performance for every stages laa
    really impressive!

• kodok on Aug 04, 2010 at 5:57 pm

they deserve more coverage…

• police on Aug 04, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Agree – Proton should give the rally top priority
    rather than F1 which is where the big boys/rich and famous rule.
    Hope more sponsors and coverage given to this event.
    it’s just like Nicole Davis, Azlan or Lee Chong Wei
    – World champions but no live telecast !!!

• Firdaus Abdullah on Aug 04, 2010 at 6:49 pm

hey Astro, what say you? if cannot live, delayed telecast also can la… you might get your name on the car… can get more customers in Indonesia…

• Barkcrack on Aug 04, 2010 at 8:36 pm

iye ke? i thought Astro has out of bussines in Indonesia. They cant compete with local paid TV like Indovision

• u dont knw the story ah?..that local paid TV upah samseng kidnap Astro bos maaa..just b4 signing ceremony bla bla2

• no. astro go out not becoz cannot compete, is another reason, btw figure out urself this is not the place

• Kancil_Redbull on Aug 04, 2010 at 6:12 pm

So proton is second, even when only two Protons racing. Mitsu is first but I wonder how many mitsus were racing.

• baruang on Aug 04, 2010 at 6:13 pm

agreed, show them how good is your chassis neo. good marketing tool for upcoming neo turbo then. congrat. but for me neo price is too much for me.

• armandd on Aug 04, 2010 at 6:16 pm

aiyoo.. very sayang lah!

• jolly_idiot on Aug 04, 2010 at 6:24 pm

proton thing not reliable? face technical failure and can’t continue? i guess it won’t face such problem if the car is not proton?

• Firdaus Abdullah on Aug 04, 2010 at 6:54 pm

haiya..idiot, you think only proton broke down aa…many known brand also didn’t finish due to similar problem. This is rally my friend…not a jolly ride around putrajaya…

• ah kau on Aug 04, 2010 at 8:07 pm

idiot always talk kock like that :)

• idiot_jolly on Aug 05, 2010 at 10:42 am

so many idiot here just want to bash P1 maa, they actually know nothing about rally…

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 04, 2010 at 7:26 pm

With such comment, your nickname is spot on…

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 04, 2010 at 7:42 pm

stupid idiot,proton’s rally car also want to bash,after this what proton’s t-shirt also wanna bash,proton’s cap also wanna bash.

• I have a three Proton’s Shirts..mmg sedap pakai! dah setahun lebih basuh berpuluh kali pon warna tak pudar..

• Rofl idiot jolly.
      As long as man-made things and machine, failure is inevitable. See around, F1,airplanes,submarines, satellites etc.The main thing is to learn and improvise.

• makan makan on Aug 04, 2010 at 8:38 pm

your name fit you nicely..nuff said.

• jolly idiot realllyyyy idiot on Aug 05, 2010 at 8:55 am

dude, in WRC also, even big names like Subaru (previously, now no more then), Citroen & Ford also didn’t escape such problems at times.. come on la.

• carsut on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:44 am

your name reflex you..

• adoi nasib tak der lak huhu batu cube lah ko tepi sikit wakakak adeh .. proton tahniah..

• Maybe by next year Proton should
    use the new Waja-Lancer body on one car and
    compare it with the Neo.
    Frankly Neo is very outdated since 90’s.

• mfahd on Aug 04, 2010 at 6:57 pm

at least they are more better than subaru
    it a good things what
    a rookie team beat the ‘senior tem’

• gudjob proton! gudluck on the next rally! malaysia boleh! :)

• trav_da_man on Aug 04, 2010 at 7:54 pm

The thing bout regular malaysia joes that if proton or petronas did badly in motorsports, they will bash saying proton sucks, our team no good, dont waste rakyat money and better use this money to aid the poor and build more public toilets.

When proton or petronas did well in motorsports, malaysians will indeed bash saying dont waste rakyat money and better use this money to aid the poor and build more public toilets.

Pathetic malaysians 3rd world mentality…….

• I wish Malaysian good luck purging their 3rd world mentality. Even the government can’t change that.

• autojohndoe on Aug 04, 2010 at 9:01 pm

Mahathir once said…

He was succeed in changing Malaysia…

but he failed to change Malaysian mentality…

• Seriously on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:49 am

Well, define 3rd world mentality? What is it about Malaysian attitude that needs to be purged out? And really, the government is helpless and innocent?

• trav_da_man on Aug 05, 2010 at 2:57 pm

Our 3rd world mentality meaning they always think negative and dont think of positive or how to improve/solve a problem. What they will do is bash bash complain complain then they die…….

• Seriously on Aug 06, 2010 at 10:17 am

So people who bash on bashers improve/solves problems? Or is it all talk as well like you claimed on them? It’s more known that people of change are the ones who are pissed with this country’s conducts and want to actually invoke change/improvement. Rather than the ones who are happy with the current situation aka “tidak apa” attitude.

Anyway, from what you explained, you still clearly do not understand the term. Knowledge is a good prevention of 3rd world mentality, and I suggest you get some.

• teamsleepnine on Aug 04, 2010 at 8:34 pm

thumbs up for you..

• Seriously on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:43 am

How does giving criticism relate to having a “3rd world mentality”? You clearly don’t even know the terms you’re arguing on. So giving criticism to the country/proton = 3rd world mentality?
      Plus, no one is going against motorsports in particular but corruption. Out of RM10 earned: RM8 goes to cronies, RM1.50 goes to infrastructures & RM0.50 goes back to the public. A figure of speech.

So go read up more. Maybe if people would read more we wouldn’t have a “3rd world mentality” don’t you think? Oh, the irony in this.

• Gomen on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:30 pm

The criticism that people are talking about is the fact that they criticize for no reason other than it is “related to” the government. Anything that is related to the government is criticized and anything positive such as managing to beat Subaru will only be welcomed with critical eyes saying that “it’s a waste of taxpayer money to do this bla bla bla”.

You can criticize us when we do something wrong. Please, feel free to. It is how we change. But when you criticize just for the sake of it…that is detrimental and that is 3rd world mentality. Be more involved and come talk to us properly.

I admit, the government has done things that are wrong but we’ve done things that are right too. We are a young country when compared to others but we are far more stable than many other countries out there and that’s because of the government. Yes, we are not perfect and no country on this planet is and it takes work. We do need work. We need to make some changes but be constructive and be reasonable is all I’m asking.

• LemonT on Aug 04, 2010 at 8:10 pm

“Unfortunately due to technical difficulties”…QC problem???

• teamsleepnine on Aug 04, 2010 at 8:40 pm

lu bodoh kah???……chris atkinson engine stall after crossing the creek that happen to be deeper..the ss were cancel after that as the creek is deep due to the rain.(atkinson the first to drive that ss as he is leading the board 17.3 seconds ahead of his closest APRC competitor in 2nd, Gaurav Gill of the MRF Tyres Team,)

alistair car oil pressure drop after hitting large rock.

• autojohndoe on Aug 04, 2010 at 8:46 pm

haish…

how about the 15/18 winning?

• human being tend to look at -ve side even theres huge +ve that can cover -ve side.

• Fridz Max on Aug 04, 2010 at 8:54 pm

Aiyoh Paul,

Proton finished 2nd in previous round at Rally NZ. Why don’t you put it on coverage?

• fasgen on Aug 04, 2010 at 10:21 pm

huihhh…. terkilan sesangat-sangatnya… sikit lagi nak menang… tapi Neo ni memang ada potensi utk menang…. tapi bila dapat leading 15/18… agak menakjubkan.. cuma nasib tak ada… pas tgk si neo kuning ni… terliur dibuatnya… neo memang idaman… ada duit lebih boleh beli… ha ha..

• Congrats proton, keep it up.

Anyways, i feel sorry for Proton – despite every single positive thing they achieve, theres always these ‘superior malaysians that is too good for Malaysian made cars’ bashing around without giving any fair comment or consideration.

• loollool on Aug 05, 2010 at 2:48 am

hey Neo, duck u~

ppl dun like proton…its bcos out of 100% .. 90% are bad 10% good…

how ppl like it?

• MoFaz on Aug 05, 2010 at 8:41 am

see, people dun like u. out of 100%, you’re 100% bad.

• Eyesore on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:49 am

well at least there are 10% of good things….. but you… out of 100% … 200% are idiot and 100% are dumb… -.-

• JACK HAMMER on Aug 05, 2010 at 10:20 am

where did u get the fact?
        prfthhh..

but 1 thing for sure, u’ve been rated 90%-100% thumb down..
        and that’s BAD..

• What did i just said guys?

This loollool is doing exactly as what i mentioned – a very bad comment with none consideration at all. Told ya! :)

• How about selling road version of satria Neos with this yellow rally colours just like the blue coloured Subarus.

• Machi on Aug 04, 2010 at 11:39 pm

Imagine if Proton launch this R3 to compete with EvoX??? …that’s the P1 we are looking for!!! rite mate?

• mohdjiman on Aug 05, 2010 at 12:08 am

woh!!15/18 winnings? Awesome cars + awesome drivers + awesome team…just the luck not come along with them. Can try another round. Good Job, Well Done!!!

• Ford_GT on Aug 05, 2010 at 12:11 am

Well…I was assumed that likely aging Satria Neo will replace by new Satria CPS version for next Rally championship season. Satria Neo took part in various rally including IRC event for consecutive 3 years….time for change.

• syam cook on Aug 05, 2010 at 3:46 am

The diferent between old satria neo and new satria neo CPS version is powertrain and minor tweak in front and rear track to aid the handling. i think this car is not use Campro power train anymore. this satria use Renault base engine. like waja 1.8 power plant. .

• Std Blk Neo 1.6 on Aug 05, 2010 at 1:38 am

Build more public toilet.. ROFL!!!!

by the way since i left m’sia my dad sold of his waja and has been driving my neo. He goes around driving…heyy the car handles quite well..but sumthing is missing..then he took out his shades.. X-)

Proton should make into production a Neo 1.8 NA that redlines at 8000rpm.. last real hatchback before the turbocharge n other nullifying tech. the car has a solid chassis. One last legendary car Proton?

• george on Aug 05, 2010 at 2:17 am

EPIC FAIL! lolololol

• loollool on Aug 05, 2010 at 2:45 am

Since Malaysia has invest so much into this R3 rally~~

how come we go get to see it on TV??

15 win out of 18 is damn good !! ~ I’d love to watch it race~~

oh come on… if the R3 results sucks~~ (like our alex yoong last time in F1, always the last or Did Not Finish) then no broadcast it its ok~~~ but since so good result~~

We should share the join !~~ its very important.. if we see it..it surely build our confidence towards proton~~ thats malaysia boleh wat~~

• baruang on Aug 05, 2010 at 8:01 am

100 agreed with you. this kind of news should be share among Malaysian. other than lotus top finisher on newbies.

• Eyesore on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:57 am

Malaysia invest soo much??? where u get that? This team run by British Company name MEM…. Proton allows the to use NEO and Brand…

• JACK HAMMER on Aug 05, 2010 at 12:30 pm

bro..
        this is PROTON R3 MALAYSIA RALLY TEAM lorrr…
        not the MEM Team that compete in IRC last year..

yes they shared same platform, technical etc..
        and yes MEM developed the car..

but this is MALAYSIAN RALLY TEAM not the MELLOR ELLIOT MOTORSPORT TEAM like u said.. sorry..

• mr.eng on Aug 05, 2010 at 8:24 am

Owh my..very impressive indeed. It is a proof that we can go further and our product wasn’t that bad at all. Proton reputation surely will be up sky high and so their sales as well hehe~ Thanks proton for making us proud to be Malaysian…keep it up~

• nighttrain on Aug 05, 2010 at 8:52 am

Satria Neo APRC full livery with street legal race specs. Should Proton sell this car? For how much? and how many?

• Civic EK on Aug 05, 2010 at 10:00 am

gudjob R3 team! :D

• superman on Aug 05, 2010 at 10:01 am

It’s good that the car can win 15 out of 18 stages. But in racing “To finish 1st, first U have to Finish”

It’s akin to running a 100m sprint, leading off the blocks but tripping 5 metres from the end. Too many times this season the car runs well at the start only to DNF due to niggly issues.

I hope MEM (that’s the British motorsports team running the rally programme) solve the issues and deliver the results to justify the investment Proton put in. Trailing by 92 points is not good.

• boss coffee on Aug 05, 2010 at 10:54 am

There is no issue except you didn’t read that they ran into a creek that was deeper than expected by race organisers.

• superman on Aug 05, 2010 at 3:35 pm

I read though the whole write-up

In Rallying they have spotters and recce before actual running. It’s no excuse to run into that creek too hard that other participants went through too and survived.

I’ve been following the progress of the team since they started the programme, thanks to a R3 rally team member, so I know of the other niggly issues :-)

My info it’s not just from reading at PaulTan.org :-)

• Sodacurrant Kirry on Aug 05, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Perhaps Tengku Djan should have driven the car!

• superman on Aug 05, 2010 at 5:33 pm

I think Yang Mulia Tengku Djan’s talents not fully appreciated by his bosses
            :-)
            He hasn’t been racing for R3 since 2007 MME. Sad.

• Sodacurrant Kirry on Aug 05, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Was he hired to head the R3 department and built up the motorsports department or race for it?

• alldisc on Aug 05, 2010 at 10:18 am

proton is doing very well. i believe even better during the days of PERT with rebadged lancer evo III and evo VII in the 90s.

lets just wish proton can concquer WRC as well !!

• Ford_GT on Aug 05, 2010 at 1:16 pm

As I said before, PERT Proton should have gone back into the world of glory in rallying again……never leave their bloodline and must continue with the legacy to conquer tarmac and gravel road again.

• trav_da_man on Aug 05, 2010 at 11:47 am

Syed Zainal, are you reading this? U have the support from most Malaysians! Pls make this R3 rally team a success! Perhaps a Satria Neo S2000 homoligation specs is much welcomed!

and who cares about channeling more public funds to build more public toilets For sure in our current gov state, some of the monies will go to crony contractors…….

Forza Proton Satria Neo S2000!!!!!

• Proton pls la.. on Aug 05, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Impressive!! hope the next satria neo will have a nice body curve and improve on their quality. hope they able to produce their very own 2.0 campro or 2.0 turbo.

• anti =aunty proton!! on Aug 05, 2010 at 12:54 pm

Ya!! proton joined WRC. Proud of it!!
    the body of the car is proton. but the enjin is proton??
    how they use their neo to complete to evo&sti and without proton’s enjin??
    shame of it!!

• it uses a heavily modified Waja 1.8 engine lah.

• anti =aunty proton!! on Aug 06, 2010 at 1:18 am

yes mim. i know that is waja 1.8 enjine. but its not proton. its a Renault F4P I4 enjine.

• Tiadaid on Aug 06, 2010 at 9:04 am

Because that’s the only production engine they have that can be bored to 2.0L. The engine has to be from one of their production cars.

• dude, this is not F1. Rally is all about handling. So in Rally, the maker of the chasis got the name.

• teamsleepnine on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:45 am

oh yeah!!shame on ford team back then for using cosworth engine.

and do you knownthat mercedes f1 engines is actualy llmor engine made in uk??..yes mercedes f1 engine is llmor!!not mercedes made in german of course their are mercedes they bought the stake in 1993 and later in 2005 become the sole owner and rename it mercedes performance engine.

• anti =aunty proton!! on Aug 06, 2010 at 1:39 am

teamsleepnine

ya. but at least they able to built their very own engine for their cars.
        but proton’s campro technology is not 100% built by our own country.
        and most of the proton vehicle is use 1.6 campro.
        ya! soon they got (1.6) turbo ady..hahaha……..
        proton start their business for 25years only have 1.6 campro engine??
        i think proton still need to work hard for a long journey to complete with korea&china’s car.

• teamsleepnine on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:19 am

yes 25 years….but how long they make/design their own car?….how long mitsu is the major stake holder?

• think smart on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:04 am

10years back. waja is the 1st own design. yes. i know. but performance is not.
            the bad things is proton is lack of capital and lack of local engineer.
            thats why the R&D are still……….haiz………
            this is the main cause…..
            its still have a long journey to go….

• 388900wow on Aug 07, 2010 at 7:03 pm

PROTON.. cannot means cannot lahhhhhhhh

dun waste money and try to maintain ur cheap ego!!~~

sometimes the head cannot fit means cannot fit the big helmet lahhh

see our neighbour? just being regional hub for car factory..also earn a lot for country wat~~

wan to do own car..but never know or never wan to do it well~~ only make all the people suffer.. pay more to get a (decent) car…

since public transport not convenient then all die die buy a cheap car la…
          then no airbag..no ABS,ESP,TC..etc… easily get kill while accident…

that;s y every year 6000++ ppl die in accident every year !!!!

the PROTON is a killer !!!

• AFAIK, Proton cars do have ABS, and airbags too. Do you know that Exora got 4 stars NCAP rating?

But hey, if you have cars with 5stars NCAP rating, TC, airbags, ABS, ESP or whatever safety features is, if you drunk, or feel sleepy, those features won’t save you. My dad used to drive an old toyota that doesn’t even have power steering, manage to save out family from getting accident with an A-hole drunk driver. That A-hole driver however, saved because he’s wise enough to wear seatbelt. And AFAIK, ALL Proton cars do have seatbelt, right?

• Try to use Campro engine for that rally, that engine will explode after few rounds. Keh keh keh.

• why don’t the country spend some of the gajillion tax payer money to form a 1Malaysia rally team consisting of malays, chinese, indians, iban, kadazan, orang asli, etc?

us watching non-malaysians run the show is almost like football fanatics here who swear their allegiance to Man Utd, Chelsea, Liverpool, etc for no apparent reason. because the players are white maybe?

• PakAbu on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:06 am

Actually aaa…. don’t net gajillion or even brazillian ringgit….

We have so many oil palm plantation, rubber plantation, abandoned tin mines etc… We should have local rally with teams from local workshops. Just ensure that the cars a locally made … rebagded cannot lah

• blackjkc on Aug 05, 2010 at 3:03 pm

Err..Proton stop produce car then change to produce badminton racket look much better eh.Sorry la to proton and their supporter.

• Chris on Aug 05, 2010 at 3:41 pm

the FACT is that Proton didn’t finish or win the race. No accuses…full stop.

I don’t understand why so many people support this team when there are non Malaysian involve in development of the Neo S2000>>>hmm…funny :-(

• oh yaaa…. MU is 100% malaysian… no wonder lotssss of malaysian support them.

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 05, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Is there an Italian driving a Ferrari in F1? Do Italians support Ferrari? I’m sure they do…

• superman on Aug 05, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Not many Malaysian realise the Proton R3 Team is actually MEM staff wearing Proton R3 clothes :-) .

But 2 of the members are true Proton R3 staff.

• rally_fan on Aug 05, 2010 at 6:13 pm

i’ve lost count of the number of “National” teams in the world cup who have foreigners as their coach. So i suppose those countries shouldn’t support their teams as it was developed by a non-local…

• teamsleepnine on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:33 am

well i’m sure a lot of people here don’t realise…that back then mitsubishi wrc team is actualy mml staff that wear mmc/rallyart cloth…same as subaru,it’s actually prodrive staff…same goes to bmw motorsport engineer that supporting customer team is actually team schnitzer staff!!!

• Yeah, that 2 “true” Proton R3 staff tukang bancuh air jer. Keh keh keh.

• MoFaz on Aug 05, 2010 at 11:40 pm

The word should be “no excuses”, not “no accuses”
      I’m not trying to be english teacher here, but the fact is, even you are not as perfect as you think. You expect everything and everyone else to be faultless but allowing yourself slacking? remember, no excuses anymore.

• teamsleepnine on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:27 am

look at subaru/mitsubishi wrc team see if theres a japanese in that team…

• rally_fan on Aug 05, 2010 at 6:32 pm

another interesting fact is and in case you guys forgotten, it was reported on the 27th of july in this very blog, that bmw has announced that mini will be entering the WRC next year, with a team run by prodrive. Prodrive has apparently been busy working on and building the cars for the last 18 months. they are also responsible for driver choice and said that they will get the best drivers possible.

how shocking, big time german manufacturer like BMW has to ask a bunch of englishmen (but very talented) from Banbury to build and run their rally cars for them… how come no germans can do it????!?

… im trying to make a point here of course…

• Srotong Stoopid on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:42 pm

they would not get the point anyway coz they’re basher and basher always blind as in blind basher..

• Rally_fan

Rather than BMW focused on rally (so little return) might as well they focus in selling their car to make bigger chunk of money.

• rally_fan on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:13 am

the point is, its a chicken and egg story. rallying is beyond just racing or motorsports.. its brand projection, rallying does not make money, but through rallying, it can boost sales of your cars. If a massive company (thats already making big money) like bmw can see the benefit of rallying, so why is it wrong for proton to do so? besides that, what about mercedes, or audi, or ford, peugeot, skoda…etc. etc.. these are all companies spending big on motorsports..

• Ford_GT on Aug 06, 2010 at 9:23 am

Not to forget to mention Volkswagen is considering to re-entry into WRC again ( Not Audi this time ) somewhere in year 2011 or 2012. Rumour has it that confirmed Volkswagen Scirocco is their first choice to compete in the tracks.

Keep ya fingers kross.

• JACK HAMMER on Aug 06, 2010 at 9:45 am

bashers are idiot
      blind bashers are worse..

they dont need facts or points to understand..
      all they need is a hard kick in the ass…

• help help on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:38 am

guys!!

i wan the video klip of Perdana V6 was tested by Britain’s Top Gear magazine in April 1999.

pls send me the website.

thanks….

• help help on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:39 am

guyss!!

i wan the video klip of Perdana V6 was tested by Britain’s Top Gear magazine in April 1999.

pls send me the website.

thanks….

• Whole Proton company dont hav 1 capable engineer or mechanic can do the modify job and nid to send to UK let others do for them….what so proud of it?…some more the Waja engine not build by proton oso…nothing to impress though..Proton only supply chasis to advertise his name..not much effort they put other than come out this kind of ridiculous R3…waste money…

• rally_fan on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:16 am

yups.. same with bmw(mini), not one capable german engineer or mechanic. they have to pay british company to build and race their rally cars.

• teamsleepnine on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:37 pm

yeah mitsubishi waste money with rallyart too!!! since it’s rally programme is run and build by uk based mml motorsport.

same goes for subaru sti…let uk based prodrive run and design it’s racing programme.

• Anak Malaysia on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:36 am

I think its better if Karamjit drove the car….They always give luck as a reason….. like at Malaysia rally recently… hahahhahaha

• rally_fan on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:56 pm

they did let karamjit drive, didnt you know? he drove the car into a ditch.
      http://paultan.org/2009/08/15/karamjits-neo-s2000-ditched-in-ss2-leg-one/

• I pity those rally driver in that Satria. I hope his power windows works. Especially after racing like hell in long hours and only manage to get 15 out of 18 fastest stages. Lol, nothing to be proud off. Furthermore, it’s a British-based racing company. Nothing to do with Malaysia. That chasis you guys are proud off? Nahh, Tin Milo body is easily replaceable.

• autojohndoe on Aug 06, 2010 at 5:32 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

SY0H and his power window story…. AGAIN????!!!!!

• 388900wow on Aug 07, 2010 at 7:08 pm

To love Malaysia doesn’t mean has to love PROTON..

PROTON is a business entity… 25 years with this results means bad…

dun need to feel sympathy for it… somemore PROTON is using our money for the business~~

We deserve to better from it!

share on u Proton!! share on u Proton!!share on u Proton!!share on u Proton!!share on u Proton!!share on u Proton!!share on u Proton!!share on u Proton!!

• MoFaz on Aug 08, 2010 at 3:20 pm

share? or shame?? couldn’t be a typo. R and M are wayy apart on the keyboard.
      well, i have some words for you….
      shame on you 388900wow or whoever you’re! and repeat this as many as you like.

• share or shame?

• car lover on Aug 31, 2010 at 4:49 pm

why there are no malaysian driver? always been foreign driver… i think we malaysian have all the talent to compete in motorsport (excluding alex yoong… he’s a shameless no gooder and fairuz fauzi who his father is rich enough to give him a chance to race)