New Honda Fit/Jazz Hybrid coming to Paris Motor Show

Honda have released images of the Jazz/Fit Hybrid. The company has now confirmed that the hybrid will be available for the European market and will be officially previewed at the upcoming Paris Motor Show.

The new hybrid will employ the same 1.3-litre i-VTEC SOHC aluminum alloy combustion engine and electric motor used in the Insight hybrid. Details are scarce, but the powertrain on its own develops 98 horses.

Outside the car will feature new headlights and revised taillights, while the front grille and bumper is treated to slight modification in design. The Honda Jazz/Fit hybrid will be in Japanese showrooms sometime in October, costing around 1.6 million yen.

This will be the cheapest hybrid Honda offers in Japan as the Insight weighs in at around 1.8 million yen, while the Toyota Prius starts at about 2.05 million yen.

Could the cheaper price tag warrant a jump to Malaysia? The Jazz here is in the odd position of being extremely expensive and an even more expensive hybrid Jazz might not be much cheaper than a Civic Hybrid.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• flizzardo_sohigh on Aug 28, 2010 at 11:55 pm

dont know why looks like viva to me

• nabill on Aug 29, 2010 at 12:13 am

no matter wat thy do to it its still a supermini sort of , but the price more like an excutive saloon , sting like the Freed , too expensive , i stil havent seen on the road , seems the bigger honda u buy the more value u get aparently n vice versa !

• Alpha on Aug 29, 2010 at 12:18 am

u knw wat…..i kinda looks awkwardly sporty and nice~imagine the fuel economy somemore!!

• torque on Aug 29, 2010 at 12:28 am

Knowing our current G policy and our auto market…hell no it would be cheap!! Even Prius is selling like RM175k. Since our G don’t even take seriously about Euro or Co2 emission (exp. public buses and big old crappy trucks with their black smoke), hybrid and they even raise diesel car tax…so, if I could spend RM175k on a car…I rather spend it on DC5, Scooby Version 9, RX8 and enjoy driving experience.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 29, 2010 at 5:47 am

I agree with you, torque… our G likes to talk shit about the NAP and the so-called “green technology” crap, but in reality hybrid cars like the Civic Hybrid is so damn expensive. There’s no tax cuts for diesel car tax whatsoever. And what’s so pathetic is that our G still uses the already outdated “tok kadok” Euro 2 emission standard even though Euro 5 standard will be enforced in Europe next year.

• i dont like honda m’sia. they try to positioned themselves as a luxury brand. look at how they price their products. as if owning a honda makes u feel like orang kaya & dato’. lol

• squall_shinoda on Aug 29, 2010 at 12:50 pm

kiah, if you want to accuse that towards Honda M’sia, you should accuse that to ALL other non-national brands as well, as they also recieve the same fate. Just look at the Vios dugong, the price tag is about the same as the Honda City, but nothing special about the specs except the EPS. Old 1.5L 109 PS engine, dated 4-speed auto, nothing special… Honda City, on the other hand, has 5-speed auto and a new 120 PS 1.5L engine, the most powerful in its class. So can you see now who is actually trying to position itself as a “luxury” brand even though the specs are crappy…?

If you want to blame, then blame the stupid G’s automotive policy… that’s the actual root of all the evils in our automotive industry.

• wowowww on Aug 29, 2010 at 11:34 am

the headlight is very cool….
    with that price we can only get a viva….=(

• squall_shinoda on Aug 29, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Out G only wants our rakyat to drive a Viva “kosong” 660 and ride a kapcai… that’s why they tekan the rakyat habis2an…

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 29, 2010 at 12:50 pm

ugly as usual

• squawk on Aug 29, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Heard from insider that Prius price will go up next year.

I’ve tried the current Jazz. The interior quality and feel is…. like previous generation Korean to me.

• Mata2 on Aug 29, 2010 at 3:02 pm

Every new headline you guys complaining G and its policy. Everybody in this forum is car anthusiast and would like to read your comment on car tech. There is other forum on politics, go and hang around with your frustrated complaints and pretend your smart thinking as a leader of the country.

• torque on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Wow…such patriotism! U should get a medal for that! If I would correct u my dear friend, ur “enthusiast” spelling is not even correct n here u dare to teach us a thing or two about things called complaints?!! Firstly, I drive a performance car. Secondly, I even done servicing to my own performance car. Third, I work in auto industry. Fourth, I live in the era of late 70’s, 80’s, 90’s and this so called millenium to be able to see my late father to enjoy of owning cars like Volvo, Opel, Peugeot, BMW, Mercedes, Alfa, Honda, Mitsu, MG even Mini Moke b4 ur stinking G and it’s policy such NAP ruin it.

So answer this, do u think u could own such many cars in ur lifetime unless u stinking rich and not commit to our tyrant banking loan tenure like 7 to 9 years? My late dad ain’t filthy rich, but he worked hard. Sorry to say this but my patriotism lies to my God, my beloved Prophet, my family and towards my country…not to some corrupted politician and their idiotic policies!!!

All of we here are car enthusiast which u’re correct but u MUST remember that whatever our G decision or policy effect our lives, our affection, our passion and our love towards the car industry. Don’t u remember that when the G hiked the petrol price to RM2.70 it nearly cost them the election? Tell me if that moves doesn’t effect the car industry or anything related to it.

Words of advise my friend, there’s not a single God words wanting us to put our faith in any goverment!

• squall_shinoda on Aug 30, 2010 at 12:18 pm

I agree, torque… there’s not even a single word in Quran that urges you to support any political party. Faith to God is always first. We should remember that the government consists of humans, not gods. That’s why the government should not brag by saying they are “perfect” or they are “the only one who counts”. That’s why God gives us brains, don’t you think so…?

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:02 am

It is overpriced and over rated.

and did i forget to mention It reminds me of the pre gen honda city

• berapa harga ni dalam malaysia?

• 1 600 000 Japanese yen = 59 118.6762 Malaysian ringgits

wonder how much it will be? lol

• anakmelayu on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:34 am

even it’s hurt but I have to agree with torque…I’m not into politics much…but some of their actions lately taken by our G only benefits their cronies but NOT rakyat…..sigh…what are they doing??? sorry to say…I’m a simple man…I don’t know much about economics too…so i just need simple answers…is it too much to ask????