Lexus Malaysia reaches 1,000-unit sales milestone

UMW Toyota Motor’s Lexus Malaysia division recently reached the milestone of 1,000 units sold since the premium brand was officially launched here at the end of 2006. The 1,000th unit was a Lexus RX 350.

“This is a big achievement for the Lexus brand as it has only been around in the country for just 3 years and operating from only one showroom up till early of this year. It also shows that Lexus vehicles have been well accepted by our Malaysian customers and more importantly they have accepted a true Lexus Experience,” said Kuah Kock Heng, President of Lexus Malaysia.

“With the opening of Lexus 3S Centre in Penang earlier this year and at a later stage in Johor, we can achieve our sales target, hence grow our market share in the premium market segment. In the next few months, Lexus Malaysia will continue to enhance further our product line up,” Kuah added. The company plans to sell 400 cars this year, with 70% of the target already met as of now.

Sounds like a new model is coming soon. IS-F anyone? :)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• keluangman on Sep 09, 2010 at 1:20 pm

3 yrs and 1,000 unit only? That breaks down to 333 units per year and 26 cars per month…

If I was the CEO I would have definitely fired my marketing and sales people, in comparison to what BMW and Merc sales figures are here in Malaysia!

But have to admit also, Lexus is not very proactive(small budget) in advertising and expanding their 3S(or 4S) network. So I think to them with only 1 branch 1,000 unit is good enough….

• Dude, how many ppl could actually afford a brand new Lexus?

• 4G63tDSM on Sep 09, 2010 at 2:28 pm

As many as any of the current 5/7 -er and Mercedes E and S, not to mention Audi etc etc?

Not sure where your question is leading to. ;P

• Many can, but they would not choose Lexus

• Toyott on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:30 pm

just cut the tax and duties to 5%,, we will see a thousand new lexus on the road!..

• Korean on Sep 10, 2010 at 1:41 pm

Let face it, if government were to cut the tax and duties to 5%, people will still buy Merc and BMW and not Lexus.

• Lexus owners on Sep 09, 2010 at 1:58 pm

referring to the above commenter

at 1st you decide to fired the marketing and sales people and the of your comments you said good enough..make up your mind buddy

• Kington on Sep 09, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Yeah, the figures are not very impressive and let’s not forget at least 20% of the figures or company purchases.

The Is still feels short of the 3 and C, but the GS is actually pretty good. Handling is also very “gung-ho” from the current GS. The local mags reported that the recent facelift also included an uprated suspension.

• nabill on Sep 09, 2010 at 2:17 pm

and thats NOT including all those lexus brought in by AP holders…

• Korean on Sep 09, 2010 at 2:48 pm

3 yrs and 1,000 unit only, better jump into Klang River.

• Jimmy on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Sorry I really don’t know how many Proton Juaras were sold per year and how many Roll Royce per year in Malaysia. Hey I am not a Toyota salesman nor Lexus salesman ya. I still think that the most prestigous brand in ORDINARY people’s eyes is Merc, not RR nor Bentley and definitely not Lexus(most people view it as luxurious Toyota).

• is it better to use a vacuum extractor to suck up all the old engine oil than using conventional bottom dripping method?

• bluelite on Sep 09, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Hey come one, most of the Benz E or S, BMW 5er or 7er are recon units, I can say on the road there are 8or9 out of 10 are recon….and who actually really afford to buy Benz from C&C and BMW from AB…I think C or 3er only can sell well…..

• you are terribly wrong. just look up at motortrader and u can see mostly merc E/S and bmw 5/7 are bought new and only about 30% recon. the rare models like CLS / 6 er are 90% recon. go figure yourself.

only cars like estima and alphard are 100% recon.

• beancounter on Sep 09, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Minimum profit RM100,000 per vehicle x 1000 units= RM100 million profit over 3 years is worth celebrating.

• sdkguy on Sep 09, 2010 at 3:24 pm

hey paul, RX270 is possible to the new model line-up, cheaper right? wht abt the spec n details…..

• mitlanevo on Sep 09, 2010 at 4:13 pm

ISF and LFA, bring it on!!!

• lexus LFA plssss!!!

• handsome*dude on Sep 09, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Lexus IS is ugly and expensive~~ Audi A4 is much better~

• Only 1000 unit??? So expensive, no wonder…

• Rave Gill on Sep 09, 2010 at 6:51 pm

Lexus ! you just sell 1,000 unit of lexus Rx 350 in just three years >.OMG , even a honda Cr-v able to sell more than 1,000 unit a year . Shame toyota and Lexus and just keeping recalls car , you suck TOYOTA !!!!

• sham_azlan on Sep 11, 2010 at 9:15 pm

u really stupid…how can compared CRV with RX350….can u compare proton WITH honda? you stupid sucker.

• autojohndoe on Sep 12, 2010 at 9:00 pm

bro… why u defend lexus so much?

• rave gill on Sep 18, 2010 at 6:19 pm

use lah your brain dude !! lexus is a teriffing brand O.K. .Lexus sells 1,000 unit only one year !!!1 even a BMW X5 can sell more than that ugly car !!!11

• bikinpanas on Sep 09, 2010 at 7:33 pm

still look bored….just litter bit change the look……and still 5 seater…so disappointed …

• Tiadaid on Sep 09, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Brand factor. Just like how Toyota manage to capture the Malaysian middle class market, Lexus have yet to capture the upper class market due to brand perception. BMW & Mercedes are well known to be THE car to symbolize high status, and until Malaysians buy cars based on rational thoughts rather than just the badge factor, Lexus won’t be as numerous as BMW & Mercedes.

• mata katak on Sep 09, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Wah, sooo thick skin, Lexus.

Lexus claim itself sold 1000 cars in 3 years.
    Then Lexus praised itself that the sales was very good.

Is this syoik sendiri?

Lexus, I’m interested with the feedbacks and comments from your customers. Dare to publish it?

• sham_azlan on Sep 11, 2010 at 9:16 pm

you got money to buy LEXUS…i think you only got money to buy lexus biscuits….

• can you design a car like Lexus, put it into production n sell 100 units within 3 years?

wait…

can you design a car like Lexus, and put it into production?

wait…

can you built a car?

no? ok…

=)

• Mike~ on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:29 am

Go goole J.D Power’s research dude~

Lexus has been on the top for 10 consecutive years in Customer Satisfactory Index.

• Lexus’ next step should be setting up a 3S centre in Sabah..

There are lots of Lexus in Sabah but 90% are brought in directly from Japan by AP holders..The LX570 as well as the previous LX470 are so popular that every rich man must own one, to tell how rich they are!

• chuakz on Sep 09, 2010 at 8:58 pm

they only have one showroom up till this year…so the sales are quite good actually….merc and bmw have showrooms all over the country….

• Yoong Tofu on Sep 09, 2010 at 9:32 pm

LFA body got too many holes :(

• ringtourer on Sep 09, 2010 at 10:04 pm

is-f please…

• my favourite lexus car model = is250.

• handsome*dude on Sep 10, 2010 at 12:38 am

boring & overprice lexus

• It is amusing to see people giving their opinions thinking that Lexus is just another glorified Toyota. These are the people who does not what is a Lexus.

• Lexuses are indeed. Glorified Toyotas. They are Toyotas.

• autojohndoe on Sep 12, 2010 at 8:58 pm

have you read how and why Lexus introduced by one of Toyota Sales Executives?

you better read… it is actually a refined Toyota…

• BMW M-Problem on Sep 10, 2010 at 9:38 am

Lexus is not cheap…
    If you want quality you have to pay.
    If you want reliability you have to pay.
    If you want durability you have to pay.
    If you want fully CBU unit built in high tech plant and not in a jungle clearing.. you have to pay…

If you dont want any of this then go for BM or Merc……Pretty simple rite.

Pls take note Germans sell more for 4 reason
    1) More established branding in Malaysia
    2) More showroom and service centre across malaysia.
    3) The pre register to record sale and sell of to public as pre owned…
    4) BMW and Merc are cheaper with small engine. 1.8 Compressor. …2.0 engine on 5 series.

• ringtourer on Sep 11, 2010 at 2:45 am

Youre on the money there…and this is also all from 1 showroom only in penang till recently…

• If you want a overpriced toyota you have to pay.
      If you want an overrated luxury jap sedan you have to pay.
      If you want a toyota that cost more than luxury german equivalents you have to pay.
      If you want a toyota that is less stylish than the germans you have to pay.
      If you want to pay much more just to be different you have to pay.

If you don’t want any of the above crap then just buy audi, merc or bmw

• LFA-fan on Sep 10, 2010 at 1:28 pm

Oh God!!
    LFA tolong masuk Bolehland!!
    PLSSSSS~~~~~

• Anti Proton on Sep 17, 2010 at 7:33 pm

yawn. i prefer saab,

• fahmi on Sep 26, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Germans make better car. period. their mechanical engineering know-how is much better than japanese. even japanese acknowledge this. I know this because I work in a japanese company and graduated from german university.

• ktas09 on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:15 am

Never buy Lexus in Malaysia since it OVERPRICE. RX350 is truly nonsense with minimum accesories compared to Europe version and priced over USD125K. But in UK, RX350 is just below 40K.

• Bryan on Nov 12, 2010 at 12:08 am

I personally own a Lexus IS250, one of the reason I decided to go with Lexus is because of their customer service is much better than of Audi and BMW. Just because you are young doesn’t mean you can afford one or at least that’s how the sales people at BMW and Audi talk “at” you.

Furthermore, we had Beemers and Mercedes before, no doubt that their performance are better but quality wise, I think Lexus does a better job as their electronics doesn’t suffer any problems as much/often…Just my 2 cents