Lexus opens 3S facility in Penang, JB is next in line

Lexus Malaysia has opened a new 3S facility in Penang, the brand’s second outlet after Mutiara Damansara. The RM1.5 million facility is situated at Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, and the showroom part occupies a total built-up area of 10,000 square feet, including a “luxury lounge” and a café. Another 15,000 square feet is allocated for a service centre and customer parking area, to open in June this year. It is operated by Telagamas Motors, which has 28 years of auto industry experience in the northern region.

“Having completed the ‘Brand Awareness Phase’ over the past three years, we are now moving to expand the network presence. With expansion plans in place, we aim to grow our market share. The opening of Lexus Penang marks the start of extending our reach to be even closer to our customers,” said Kuah Kock Heng, President of Lexus Malaysia.

Last year, Lexus Malaysia put more than 300 new Lexus vehicles on the road, and the RX350 SUV was its biggest seller by some margin. With this new Penang outlet, the UMW Toyota division is targetting 400 vehicles in 2010. Next up for the brand is an outlet in Johor Bahru by the end of the year and possibly a presence in the East Coast and East Malaysia in 2011.

Images of the newly opened centre is after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=977]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kecy82afr on Mar 19, 2010 at 9:55 am

this place used to be Toyota 3S i think

• Gajen on Mar 19, 2010 at 10:12 am

lovely man…

• I've been there before it actually opens..it's huge and grand!!

• The Loner on Mar 19, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Please bring LX570 by the time East Malaysia has 3S centres

• lambov12 on Mar 19, 2010 at 4:17 pm

will they bring in the M3 killer, IS-F ?

• ihatekiasu on Mar 19, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Lexus what? BMW ftw!

• Amosai on Mar 19, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Great..i can buy one there…XD

• BMW the worst Automo on Mar 19, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Lexus rock!!! I hate BMW since my dad have the e60 sport last time. It brings lots pf problem. Worst than PROTON!!!!

• wmfoong (Member) on Mar 19, 2010 at 5:26 pm

More and more lexus in malaysia .. yeah

• wmfoong (Member) on Mar 19, 2010 at 5:27 pm

More and more Lexus in malaysia .. yeahhhh

• lexus IS-F is no joke !!!!

can give some performance Conti a challenge…..

however, underneath Lexus is a Toyota…..tis is d "issue"

• GT27 (Member) on Mar 19, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Still the malaysia Lexus is way too expensive compare to other luxury brands and also compare to other countries…

• BMW the worst Automobile said,

March 19, 2010 @ 9:11 am

Lexus rock!!! I hate BMW since my dad have the e60 sport last time. It brings lots pf problem. Worst than PROTON!!!!

———————————-

Your dad bought a recon one or what ??

• leslie boon on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:10 pm

pls come to jb faster. My boss just brought the rx350 .How about IS-F ? Super cool car !

• Thomas Heng on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:19 pm

BMW the worst Automobile said,

March 19, 2010 @ 9:11 am

———————————-

BMV said,

March 19, 2010 @ 11:34 am

Your dad bought a recon one or what ??

He is right, my dad E46 quality is piece of shit. Engine oil leak, gearbox problem, power windows, electronic devices etc~~ they all cost more than 15K++ to repiar and it is not include the gearbox because the replacement is costing 40K and we don't want to spend that so we just use the simple way to fix it temporary and it cost 1K++.

The problems might cost us even more because the problems start occurred in the second year but we were "lucky" it is under warranty, somehow the labour cost is expensive as well. So please take note this lemon car is a all new car.

• Good news for Lexus owners….

Lexus needs more coverage….

Yes I agree Lexus is expensive but quality doesn't come cheap.

Fully CBU from Japan doesnt come cheap.

Others makes lacks quality and all are assembled locally so they should be

cheaper than Lexus…..

• Thomas Heng on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:23 pm

A experienced "Sifu" told me the premium car built quality is

Lexus>Mers Benz>Audi>BMW

VW is better than BMW is your consider VW a premium car also.

• Samuel on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Good news for Lexus owners….

Yes I agree Lexus is expensive but quality doesn’t come cheap.

Netz, Lexus is not made in Japan… It's CBU from America.

• BMW the worst Automo on Mar 19, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Brand new 525i e60 m sport. It;s suck after 1 month. here problem, there problem. don buy bmw. buy lexus or mercedes benz. i have this 2 brand of car at my house now. no problem. also, i have a waja. no problem at all after 5 years. the car still with me. don go bmw!! it's stupid car which cost $$. go for lexuz, mercedes, audi or vw. also honda and proton too!!! if ppl said proton sux, ask them not to stay in malaysia. we must proud of what we have in malaysia!!!

• ninjaGAIDEN on Mar 19, 2010 at 11:40 pm

BMW the worst Automotive, we have rights. We have rights to dislike, just like how you dislike BMWs. If we were living in Germany can I ask you to gtfo Germany just because you hated BMWs? No, I can't. So the same applies here.

As for quality issues, sometimes it's all down to luck when buying a car. Some people will come in n tell that they have no problems with their aging E30s. Others might tell you they purposely bought one and restored it n it's running smoothly..

No problems with your Waja? Had one in the past. Power window failed me. Passenger door lever failed me. On occasions my speedo went down to zero when I was driving back from work. Maybe you didn't hear your dad complain bout it and assumed there's no problems with it.. Coz it's comparatively cheaper to repair the Proton than the Beemer.

A sad but very true fact is, good things never come cheap and cheap things never come good. This is a fact my boy. Mark my words. When you're all grown up, you'll discover that this is true.

Lexus is Toyota's premium range, just like how Nissan has Infiniti. So expect quality to be much higher than your average Camry n Altis. IS-F whopping the M3 on track? LOL! It never happened but who knows what will happen in the future? The current IS-F's are too soft compared to the M3. Personally, the IS-F would be a better everyday car but once you bring it to the track, expect yourself to get whopped by the M3. It's even more hardcore than the FD2R and the FD2R is no sissy either.

Why bring in the IS-F? Bring in THE LF-A!

• Samuel said,

March 19, 2010 @ 12:28 pm

Netz, Lexus is not made in Japan… It’s CBU from America.

Samuel, are u sure?…US version is left hand drive whereas Japan's is right hand drive..

furthermore, it's not economic to bring in lexus models all the way from US.

• shirley on Mar 19, 2010 at 11:50 pm

I dun like the lexus showroom floor tiles, it gonna reflect my underwear color n pattern cause i like wear miniskirt due to warm weather in the country.

• Samuel said,

March 19, 2010 @ 12:28 pm

Good news for Lexus owners….

Yes I agree Lexus is expensive but quality doesn’t come cheap.

Netz, Lexus is not made in Japan… It’s CBU from America.

========================================

Bro Lexus is made in Japan exported to US and rest of the world.

I believe there is a plant in Canada but small scale compared to Japan

• Thomas Heng said,

March 19, 2010 @ 12:23 pm

A experienced “Sifu” told me the premium car built quality is

Lexus>Mers Benz>Audi>BMW

VW is better than BMW is your consider VW a premium car also.

=======================================

That sounds about rite

• BMW M-Problem on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:25 am

BMW is known to be problematic. There is no denying.

You have 2 choice.

1) Shut Up and pay the bill $$$$$$ for so called image

2) Sell and buy something else which is relatively reliable .

I know one of my friends changed his steering rack for his E60 525.

Brand new cost 10K. Now is this failure necessary ?. The car is only 4 yrs old.

He could have gone on a good overseas holiday for 10K but he stuck

with a fat bill just to put the so called UDM on the road…..

Think about it ….BMW is a liability after the warranty period is over.

• Maserati on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:34 am

Some ppl say Lexus expensive and all,I guess they havent sat in a Lexus before.

Just wanna tell u that its 10x better than sitting in a BMW.Once u sit in a Lexus,u will feel u dont want a BMW anymore…

And just have a look at the quality.Everything is put together immacutely.Unlike BMW where u can see that alot of the parts are of cheapo quality.

• yipman on Mar 20, 2010 at 8:06 am

lexus = tops JD power Initial Quality Survey 5 years in a row. Even above Porsche, BMW, Mercedes, etc etc. Enough said. AND I AM PROUD TO OWN ONE!

• celica zzt231 on Mar 20, 2010 at 8:43 am

Paul, you might want to correct the location of this Lexus showroom.

It located along Farquahar Street, not Leith Street.

Leith street is where you find all the ah kua and ah kaw.

Farquahar street is where Lexus and Lowe Motors (Mercedes) is located.

• lordjijul on Mar 20, 2010 at 9:37 am

i've once seated in lexus LS400 owned by my fren's dad back when im still form 5.

best wooo…speeding 180kmj kat federal road xrase ape2 pun

kwn ckp steering lexus lbeh ringan dr merc clk230 kompressor dier

org kuching byk pkai LS400, dan sikit sgt yg beli bmw

• yipman said,

March 20, 2010 @ 12:06 am

lexus = tops JD power Initial Quality Survey 5 years in a row. Even above Porsche, BMW, Mercedes, etc etc. Enough said. AND I AM PROUD TO OWN ONE!

————————————–

Bull shit!! Porsche is no 1 now. Lexus has dropped considerably.

• nonengko on Mar 21, 2010 at 4:43 pm

I have had the opportunity to owning more than ten cars over 26 years of driving so far. 15 to be exact. I still have 4 of them, a camry, estima, wira and…an E90. The camry is only 1.5 years old and no issues so far, the estima was bought in 2005 but manufactured in 2000 and absolutely no problems at all. Just regular servicing and replacement of worn parts. Wira in the year 2001 but never had any serious problems, only oil leak and air cond.

Here comes the interesting part….the BMWs I have experienced. Two were bought new, namely the E90 in year 2005 and E60 year 2007 respectively. The other was a reconditioned E39 from the year 1997 bought in 2002. The E90 had problems right after the 2 years warranty, But during warranty period some plastic part have discoloured and air cond leaked, causing rust waters spoilling the front carpets. Then came act two, intermittent fuel discharging problems, oil leakages, heavy engine oil consumption, faulty sensors, premature brake pads wearing, bearing snaps and power steering problem. Over the 5 years, the car has stalled twice on the roads and towed to bavaria. You can guess how much money has been spent.

The E39, goodness me….the auto transmission gave way. The E60 which was also bought new did not gave much problems during the first 1.5 years but then it started to consume too much engine oil and the transmission is showing problems.

But one thing I have to admit, in terms of handling and sheer driving pleasure, the beemer is outstanding.

Beemer lovers out there dont get me wrong. I still love it. Just budget more for your love………

• Thomas Heng on Mar 21, 2010 at 8:56 pm

nonengko said,

March 21, 2010 @ 8:43 am

I have had the opportunity to owning more than ten cars over 26 years of driving so far. 15 to be exact. I still have 4 of them, a camry, estima, wira and…an E90. The camry is only 1.5 years old and no issues so far, the estima was bought in 2005 but manufactured in 2000 and absolutely no problems at all. Just regular servicing and replacement of worn parts. Wira in the year 2001 but never had any serious problems, only oil leak and air cond…

My dad E46 was towed to Bavaria twice as well and we stalled at Plus highway even. There were unable to fix the problems at the first. They just said replace this replace that and the fees is 4k++ but soon later the car stalled at Plus highway again and cost my dad 2-3k++……so BMWs in Malaysia is sucks!

• Luxsuck on Mar 21, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Good try Lexus, but I think in Malaysia, it will take long long time before you can compete with Merc. Maybe you can compete with Audi at this moment.

• Farrukh Shahzad on Aug 02, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Lexus will meet all the standards with mercedes. Good luck Lexus