Hyundai release images and initial details of ix20 mini MPV

Pictures of the new Hyundai ix20 compact MPV have been released by Hyundai ahead of its Paris debut. It is pretty much a Matrix replacement. Previously, the only images we had of this car were sketches released by the Korean brand.

Intial details state that the car will use a 1.4 litre petrol engine that produces 89 hp and a larger 125 hp 1.6-litre variant. A diesel option will also be available for specific markets.

Hyundai release images and initial details of ix20 mini MPV

The mini MPV has a bag of goodies such as start/stop system, side and curtain airbags as well as ESP as standard. Outside, the design of Hyundai’s latest was based on the Kia Venga, developed in its European R&D centre in Germany. No doubt a great selling point.

Some speculate that the car will feature Hyundai’s intelligent asymmetric eco grille, which improves overall fuel economy and emissions. This has yet to be confirmed but all will be revealed in Paris at the end of the month. Look after the jump for high res pictures.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1495]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• cslee on Sep 14, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Wah….Not bad….It will be Hyundai Matrix replacement. Good looking,at least it far better than Honda Freed. Well done Hyundai. Bye bye to Honda.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Honda Freed isn’t THAT ugly, but it is impractically expensive for that type of car. This new Matrix has the potential to do quite well indeed! It can be a good alternative to the Alza if the pricing is decent, e.g in the Forte 1.6’s RM70k+ range

• Hyundai are improving very very well !! Its time to show those Japanese automaker that they are behind of time schedule

• eisyam on Sep 14, 2010 at 1:47 pm

a Matrix replacement???…..damn nice….looking forward for it

• Anti Proton on Sep 14, 2010 at 1:51 pm

just like the matrix. it is not desirable.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Everything is not desireable to idiots

• chico on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:02 am

Just becoz u cant afford to drive it…dont say it isnt desirable. It’s such a pleasant drive esp. the CBU unit.

• mamat on Sep 14, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Getting better the more we look at this new Hyundai design language!!

• Mata2 on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Tucson design cue…

• nice! look a lil like jazz from the side view

• LoveIt on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:27 pm

matrix replacement? wonder what getz replacement will look like..

• Paul Tan on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:31 pm

This is the Getz replacement.

http://paultan.org/2008/12/30/new-hyundai-i20-getz-to-be-built-in-india/

• Hyundaifollower on Sep 14, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Hyundai I20 already on sale in Australia

• wolfsburg on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:41 pm

The dimension of this car is very identical to the Matrix so it can be said to be the replacement for Matrix… A new 7seater MPV from Hyundai is on the way and will be released next year probably at the Geneva Motor Show in March.

• Jimmy on Sep 14, 2010 at 5:45 pm

No use, people in Malaysia will still buy Innova. Why don’t they convert Starex into SEVEN proper seater, with improved NVH and the money saved from the extra row can be use to make the interior more luxurious than Alphard, (eg sofa-sized captain seats with wood-leather walls).

• Fardaus Rahmat on Sep 14, 2010 at 5:57 pm

I like this statement about a new 7 seater mpv from Hyundai.. been looking forward for this… :)

On the matrix replacement, I can consider it to replace my current matrix… yeyey

• Maaajeeedaaa on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:46 pm

Whatever it is, the koreans are starting to give big punches to T & H brand! Congrats!!

• wahh…so nice…just imagine how the next trajet replacement will look like…ix30?

• trav_da_man on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:58 pm

I started to fall in love with Hyundai fluid design language. This could be the replacement for the Hyundai Matrix.

• skatax on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:02 pm

looks great inside-out.. i can see there’s no reason to be a shy-shy Hyundai owner these days. just look at the dashboard, arguably it looks more upmarket than Freed and Jazz, the so-called ‘Grand’ Livina, Naza-Kia Citra Rondo and Chery Eastar.

the last to compete in the segment should be the.. yawn^.. huaarghh.. zZzz”.. Avanza….

• Jimmy on Sep 14, 2010 at 5:49 pm

So, Toyota, please improve you Avanza ya, at least it must be of the standard of the current Innova; and Innova ought to be of the standard of Wish or better still Estima. Your Avanza is too thin(width) and not stable!!

• alpha999 on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:32 am

funny…..innova big body is wobbly on the road…………

• psychoblade on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:23 am

bcoz avanza is a family car, not a racing type if car

• Rhys Millen on Sep 15, 2010 at 11:48 pm

No it’s because it’s based on the hailux platform of the ladder frame just like the fortuner

• gangully on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:25 pm

apa lah you all… comparing a honda jazz type segment car with a avanza type segment car…

but true… Hyundai is improving leaps and bounds and the H and T brands are just producing safe mediocre looking and performing cars…

behold the new H – Hyundai…

• campro on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:29 pm

haha….hyundai ix20 too share same family face…..anyway nice looking….looking forward to see Matrix replacement in showroom…

• look at the gear..6speed manual..

• shawal on Sep 14, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Its as big as myvi, if not bigger…,yepp, a hyundai matrix replacement, it looks years ahead of pininfarina styled matrix

• JonLing on Sep 14, 2010 at 4:47 pm

it looks good and very contemporary. But judging by the way it looks, and the way new Elantra / Avante and i10 look, I am a bit concerned that Hyundai would become a bit Audi-ish, that is basically photocopying the look of the current models and paste them in every single model that they produce. Finger cross that won’t happen to Hyundai.

• bystander on Sep 14, 2010 at 11:50 pm

i think they r doing very well in implementing their design language in different bodies, at least for now i can still tell every model from one another without confuse, u no wat i mean…but i seriously hate the i10 facelift.

• JonLing on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:11 am

yes, i can’t agree with you more on the design language. And there’s nothing wrong with their design language now. But im just concerning about the “getting similar” design approach of them lately, coz Elantra / Avante, ix20 and i10 all look a bit similar, especially when you compare them with Tucson and new Sonata. I had no problem of naming all models from Audi by their looks as well, but now they are all getting wwaaayy too similar in their looks to the extent that only some detail parts are different. So personally, I don’t think that works for me.

Having said that, I think Hyundai is still doing well in designing good looking car. Can’t wait to see how they are gonna come up with the new Coupe, which was one of the sexiest cars coming out of South Korea before new Kia’s start to surface….

• Vincent on Sep 14, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Hyundai has done a good job on it exterior design…all new product can make people say wor….

• Jimmy on Sep 14, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Mercedes B-class. Price not going to be below RM90K in Sime Darby’s hands. And units sold not going to be > 900 per year.

• toyoguy on Sep 14, 2010 at 6:59 pm

why so many ppl mentioned ‘korean’, the elites behind all these are European, european design is the Best !! If we afford to hire these elites, our design can improve as much also…it’s about time to think global now, put aside words like ‘japanese’ , ‘korean’ or ‘chinese’ watever…

• this color doesn’t bring out the car at all, I hope for more rugged cross-over look… like dual tone and higher stance

• think on Sep 14, 2010 at 8:18 pm

very stunning design…the tail lights remembers the kia forte obviously…whatever new model bring into malaysia as soon as possible………………….think><<<

• veelzedub on Sep 14, 2010 at 9:11 pm

design reminds me of the Lotus/Proton e-mas (cant remember the exact spelling) esp the rear lights

• ihmatrix on Sep 14, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Cant wait for this model,park it next to my current Matrix. My old Matrix serves me well. I believe this will do much better.

• Rhys Millen on Sep 14, 2010 at 10:54 pm

Look carefully at the last photo .. you can see the Panoramic sunroof on the ix20……………..

• chico on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:14 am

Walla…no 2nd thought of trading in my current matrix 1.8 (8 years old already but still running good) if the price is right. It looks so good inside out, it makes me wanna cry. Please Sime Darby….bring it in quickly.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 15, 2010 at 2:59 am

could this be the new i20

hell it looks so good

it can sell as a separate model along with the already handsome i20

i am a hyundai hat now

• seater on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:41 am

Does it come with 7 Seats as standard? Or do they have to be ordered separately?

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 16, 2010 at 12:42 am

its a mini MPV not a full sized one

so it is supposed to have spacious passenger room and a reasonable sized boot

• y.c.low on Sep 15, 2010 at 9:11 am

Hunydai upgrades their cars so very fast – every upgrade is great improvement of the old -how is our local Proton going to keep up with this race – we kept producing cars ages back.

• dream on Sep 20, 2010 at 9:43 am

Can’t really say it to be a proper Hyundai Matrix replacement.
    Hyundai is turning the Matrix replacement into a 6/7 seater.

Hyundai is swapping segments with its sister company Kia.
    That explains Kia’s Soul, basically a Hyundai Matrix updated n reintepreted, which in turn based on the Forte/i30 platform.

This is more like a rival for Honda Jazz, as it has the same platform as the i20.

• When will b the car in malaysia???
    waiting to own this…