FIA appoints Chinese brand DMACK as WRC tyre supplier!

Following Pirelli’s departure from the World Rally Championship after being the control tyre supplier for the past three years, FIA made a decision to open the 2011 championship to more than one tyre manufacturer, and the two companies that submitted their names for the supplier role have been appointed.

One is Michelin, which will be making a return to the WRC for the first time since 2005. Michelin is a hugely successful brand in top tier rallying and has claimed 38 world championships titles. The other tyremaker is DMACK, but who on earth is DMACK?

DMACK tyres are manufactured by Shandong Yongtai Chemical Group in Dongying, China where more than 22,000 tyres are produced every day for global distribution. The Chinese brand aims to supply privateer teams and support category competitors by offering strong, durable tyres at affordable prices. Drivers on a limited budget also have the option of on-event expertise and technical support, according to the company.

“We studied the FIA’s new regulations for 2011 and decided to make a proposal. Technically, the new regulations are very achievable for a new manufacturer and we based our proposal on bringing a strong and durable product to the championship – we also wanted to help encourage more entries into the events by offering a two-tier pricing structure,” said Dick Cormack, DMACK Motorsport Director.

Ongoing evaluation of DMACK’s WRC range is being conducted in China and the brand’s gravel tyres will be available for competitors and teams to test from the end of October.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• made-in-china. go go go!

• 3008_bought on Sep 18, 2010 at 11:42 am

nasib baik malaysia tak der tayar buatan sendiri, kalau tidak, kita bayar untuk jadi sponsor. 1malaysia

• notorius on Sep 17, 2010 at 5:07 pm

chna brand slowly conquering the world

• Jimmy on Sep 17, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Do you know what black-hearted business is (typical of China man business)? I also can send top quality product for evaluation, but the goods that I am going to sell is only 50% of the one evaluated. ‘At affordable prices’? You pay peanut for monkey. The morale of the story is: do not buy China product if there is other choice.

• nobody gets far by cheating others…you will see in near future.

• Erm, I beg to differ, in Malaysia, there are numerous companies operating for many years cheating people. There’s that one company operating 25 years…

• kitman on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:03 pm

what utter rubbish you are talking about? the product are monitored by wrc and i don’t think there is compromise made as far as the standards of tires provided to racers. unless you are implying wrc got no standards.

the morale of the story is you judge each product by it’s own merit……..

• squawk on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:47 pm

The tires will be scrutinized by FIA and since this is a ‘western’ sport, any incident will equal bad publicity which equals bad sales. You think the black hearted businessmen will allow their brand to go down the drain?

Only the lazy businessmen will do that lah and they won’t bother being an official supplier to reveal their weakness quickly – short term gain mah.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:51 pm

I’ve heard of stories having morals but not of stories having a morale.

• S.Roma on Sep 20, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Dear Sir,

U thk that they will cheat WRC? Its a high risk once u get in, and then got kicked.

There shud be some kind of monitoring tools, they are not stupid u noe…

• Maserati on Sep 17, 2010 at 5:55 pm

So it is true ,that China is going to be a world superpower

• rally_fan on Sep 20, 2010 at 11:02 am

i thought china IS already a world superpower? they’ve sent men into space, they have nuclear weapons, they have one of the largest standing armies in the world, they have a massive local economy and export market… and the list goes on, what more do they need to do?

• seriusSAM on Sep 17, 2010 at 6:06 pm

yesssssssss

more fun for WRC…

can wait to see more car crash into trees and drain

go WRC go

• campro on Sep 17, 2010 at 6:07 pm

world is on the way to be chinese china world soon in future…..in all aspect of economic….world no.2 richest country is now compete in world stage in tyre war….mayb in future we can see chinese tyre maker bcm F1 tyre supplier…Chinese will never never ever can LOSE to Japanese…

• campro on Sep 17, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Pirelli’s departure from the World Rally Championship (WRC) to Formula 1….wait until Pirelli departure from F1 after certain few year….it make a way for Chinese maker to replace Pirelli place as sole F1 tyre supplier….hope Chinese maker do well can build good reputation in WRC then higher chances to be F1 sole tyre supplier in future after Pirelli turn….

• if i not mistaken second richest country is Luxembourg(2009IMF)…china rated below than malaysia….second biggest economy is china but not second richest

• Anti Proton on Sep 17, 2010 at 6:09 pm

what the…………..

• DMACK!!..haaha~are these tire durable/reliable enough?..we’ll see next season how its perform..too soon to say now..wait and see..hopefully it wont make Sebastien Loeb going crazy because of those tire~hahahhahah~

• Tiadaid on Sep 17, 2010 at 7:34 pm

Sime Tyres missed an opportunity there!

• even me now driving with kenda tyres made in china, ..quite soft. not bad.
    ill a report after its half life through.

• autojohndoe on Sep 17, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Hey, dont be to negative will ya?

just wait for the outcome… never assume too much…

• RadzLee on Sep 17, 2010 at 8:32 pm

its not really that surprising. Made-in-china goods have long conquered the world… the difference is that now they decided not to be low profile anymore. just imagine the world will be in a total chaos is china stops producing goods or cease exporting…. hmmm

• james on Sep 18, 2010 at 3:54 am

me saw 3 Cherry cars on the road today… i got to say the built quality is terrible, i bet in 10 years time they will grab a small percentage of the world’s market as their built quality improves… slowly but surely.

• heh heh on Sep 17, 2010 at 8:43 pm

can’t wait for their ad later on with a tagline

“Terbukti Di Litar Lumba”

• mitlanevo on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:24 pm

buy dmack tyres, free mcd vouchers, lol~

• Chris on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:48 pm

I have no doubt they’ll supply good tires to WRC teams… it’s their advertisement afterall.. thing is, after they get popular and we’ll get the crappy stuff..

• seriusSAM on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:51 pm

maybe this why kimi raikkonen wanna get out from WRC
    he wanna live longer

hahaha

LOL

• campro on Sep 18, 2010 at 12:48 am

non-sense talk…..all human r same only see salary $_$ and Position….since F1 hv only 1 good vacancy spot left in strong team at Renault with impressive result by Robert Kubica even score more points than previous year 2009….build confident for Kimi greater chances to reclaim back his world title again….that y loh he is try to make a comeback…furthermore, F1 salary higher a lot than those in WRC as a rookie in junior team….there no much good future for him anyway continue staying there….

• Jimmy on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:13 pm

Just wait, don’t assume? Becareful of advertisement/reports, you pay the same amount but you may not get what you see (China man business). Personally, I think the more trustworthy (in this unethical world of business) products are from Europe or more generally Western countries.
    Be careful, the plumber that helps you to rectify your blocked toilet piping may actually just partially remove the blockage. He can actually take the chance to partially do something on your healthy piping structure so that you will have problem in next few months. Sometimes he tells you the problem is very complicated while it is quite simple. Familiar? RM160 for 15 minutes job in a place where there is not much traffic jam, do you call this cheating money ? (taking into account travelling time, daily pay = rm 160 x 8 = rm1280, monthly salary = rm38 000!!!) I think such thing probably occurs less frequently in Wester countries.

• kitman on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:18 pm

so you are implying westerners are superior and more trustworthy than asian/china man?

• S.Roma on Sep 20, 2010 at 3:27 pm

Dear Kitman,

I disagree, what i can understand from Jimmy is that, westerners have better working attitude.

• i think person u indicate is stupid person coz he/she not check properly the plumber work..simple right..gud plumber always take care their customer n built reputation..

• DonkeyKong on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:56 pm

I can tell you that I’ve encountered lots of unethical Indians and Malays in Malaysia too. As for Westerners, it depends on what area they are from. Some Brazilians are also conmen, just like Nigerians. Although there are lots of “Black Hearted” businesses that originate from China, don’t forget that India is also a country that is known for slipshod workmanship/quality and corner-cutting, and that hasn’t stopped Mahindra, Tata and other conglomerates from becoming major economic entities that are also known for their quality and good management practices. Same goes for China. There are also excellent global players in China who can’t wait to market their own brand. Chances are right now they’re stamping all those famous Western brands on their products due to OEM agreements.

• Don’t be so prejudice la, if it is that bad, don’t worry, Finland will never ran out of rally drivers. or from other part of europe… hahahaha

• Chinese are making mass product for Europeans for long and they have to comply with standard. through the years, so they have the know how . they are booming they are used to technology a lot. they have to fulfill the need for the betterment and improved knowledgeable modern society ,they have to make good things. and they already did.

• ddddddddddddddddddddd….mack!!! sound of a fly hitting the wall…lolz

• rageaccel2 on Sep 18, 2010 at 9:54 am

only time will tell…

• mata katak on Sep 18, 2010 at 12:16 pm

there are good china made products….that majority go to overseas market..

The china made product found in Malaysia (not cars) are real cheapo, and some are rejects from China. MAlaysian are soooo concern about cheap prices, thus they get lousy stuff…..

Pay so little, waht so much?? is there such thing, dear malaysian?? Just like paying gaji kecik, responsibility is a long list…..

• Korean on Sep 18, 2010 at 1:07 pm

Another step of China domination in world economy.

• sepajo on Sep 18, 2010 at 5:07 pm

The WRC people are not stupid. They know what they doing. Tyre suppliers have to comply to a very high standard whether they are Chinese or Italian or British …. even Malaysian company can do it if they want to.

• spike on Sep 19, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Apparently it’s for PWRC and SWRC only, and Michelin will stay as the manufacturers tyre, at least that is the current plan of DMACK.

Also it’s designed by Dick Cormack, formerly of Pirelli, and has been used by Kankkunen, the four-time world champion in Rally of Portugal Revival (won) and Finland (finished 8th) this year.

• mufasa on Sep 20, 2010 at 1:36 am

do people know petronas before? no body know until we involve in F1… so same goes to DMACK… sport advertisement is a good business… but since dmack not using my tax money…maybe i should not worry…hohoho go dmack…u can do it

• leonardo on Sep 20, 2010 at 10:05 am

It’s a brave move, but very risky. I think it would be wiser to sponsor a smaller Rally event like APRC or IRC first and see what are the feedback from the manufacturers and drivers.
    Of course you get bigger exposure, whether good or back, from events like WRC. You either make it big, or fall flat on your face.

But for now i will use tyres from known manufacturers for my cars. After all there are many choices and still affordable.

• jumbsuckuras$ on Sep 20, 2010 at 11:45 pm

nankang tires betta!!

• I hope this tyres got no melanin contamination… kekeke.