Hyundai’s new i40 (VF) wagon to debut in Geneva

hyundai i40 a

Hyundai’s new VF wagon, which will make its world premiere Geneva next March, is to be called the i40 in Europe. The Elantra-based estate will be followed by a sedan variant later in the year. The company says that the vehicle is aimed at further shifting consumers perception of Hyundai to a more aspirational position.

Designed at Hyundai’s European R&D facilities in Rüsselsheim, Germany, the new i40 is the company’s first D-segment model to be specifically developed for the European market, progressing the ‘fluidic sculpture’ design language by connecting the front, side and rear profiles of the rakish lines to present a bold, dynamic shape.

hyundai i40 b

The estate will also become Hyundai’s most innovative model on sale on the continent, and will include the latest environmental technologies developed under the company’s Blue Drive eco-programme, as well as a powertrain line-up which boasts best-in-class performance and fuel economy and very low CO2 emissions. No other details have been announced, but that should all change as it gets closer to the vehicle’s debut in Geneva.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1813]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• CamPor on Dec 21, 2010 at 12:05 pm

hope it will be available in malaysia soon…

• Vince Chong on Dec 21, 2010 at 12:23 pm

What would be awesome would be an i30 update with Golf-like performance!

• regadas on Dec 21, 2010 at 12:25 pm

Wagon mania.. Luv it!

• regadas on Dec 21, 2010 at 12:25 pm

Wagon mania.. Luv it!!

• Jared on Dec 21, 2010 at 12:26 pm

Thumbs up for Hyundai!

They are getting better each day … Looks very nice and sporty!

There are not many estate offered in Malaysia… So this will be a good one.

• Jared on Dec 21, 2010 at 12:28 pm

Thumbs up for Hyundai!

Looks very nice and sporty! Hopefully the price is nice as well!

There are not many companies offering estate so this will be a good deal here in Malaysia!

• cool..fantastic design..
    has the class look

• Makinen on Dec 21, 2010 at 12:59 pm

A good looking one..better than caldina

• Unforgiven on Dec 21, 2010 at 1:28 pm

Caldina is a junk from Japan, after they used the car for years, and unable to sell it in their junk yard, they sell it to you…

You know why?

• ataan on Dec 21, 2010 at 2:40 pm

coz we love toyota…. even if toyota bring 2nd hand jamban with their brand print on it , we still crazy to buy

• drMpower on Dec 21, 2010 at 1:09 pm

we sort of got this seen-it-before or is-it-look-like-that-car syndrome but forgive me if i may

is it too similar to that subaru legacy wagon? that face? it must be that horizontal grill across the front vent..

but wagon is not a hit here. and why is that? preference over large type of vehicle?

wagon is cool man. caldina is a wagon for petes sake

• Black Dog on Dec 21, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Why…because when you put stuff at the back, the cops can spot you miles away and will stop you and ask for kopi money!

That’s how all those station wagons years ago suddenly can’t sell.

• J@CK LIM on Dec 21, 2010 at 1:17 pm

How was the performance? i wonder…
    For ix35, the fuel consumption no in desire range… hopefully Hyundai put more effort to the engine performance and efficiency instead of exterior >.<
    anyway, for the ‘fluidic sculpture’ design, impressive attraction to the audience.

• handsome*dude on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:33 pm

perfomance? it will only be getting better and better~~

i believe the KOREAN has many plans down the road~ and it will keep on surprise us~ until the day comes~~ “what? you have not drive a Korean car yet??? “

• rossi46 on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:44 pm

what to do. . . .we only got the petrol ix35/tucson. . .the powerful & very frugal r-series diesel variant are not available here

• pg qayyum on Dec 21, 2010 at 1:19 pm

wow.. it’s awesome!!

• jules on Dec 21, 2010 at 1:26 pm

I40 sedan = Sonata?

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 21, 2010 at 1:40 pm

oO…. I’m so going to get this……if it ever shows up in M’sia

• Notakosong.com on Dec 21, 2010 at 1:49 pm

i40, so it will be a big brother to i30, only that its based on elantra is it?

• Ze Ber on Dec 21, 2010 at 2:14 pm

Absolutely stunning…like a BMW.

i30

i40

i45

the whole family is here!

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Dec 21, 2010 at 2:19 pm

bring it to india

i am tired of seeing the ugly mahindra xylo and the boring and bland toyota innova and chevrolet tavera flooding the airport parking

• Gavin on Dec 21, 2010 at 2:40 pm

Europeans are gonna love this car especially with loads of kit and great diesel engines

• regadas on Dec 21, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Malaysian should appreciate Wagon, more practical. Look sleepers but engine power..

• when will proton coming out with this type of design? very nice..

• Makinen on Dec 21, 2010 at 5:18 pm

yup. wagon is practical enough to be like a MPV, just without the third seat.

• VIGOSS on Feb 07, 2011 at 1:49 pm

mitsubishi lancaer also got wagon version, now mitusibshi malaysia selling as 2.4 cc..
      sure got inspira wagon.

• subhero on Dec 21, 2010 at 5:04 pm

look very nice..

sometimes ive to admit.. hyundai 10 years better from proton.

if 10 years back. proton vs hyundai . mostly same. right on the technology & design.

but now.. its aweesomee…

• n2nios on Dec 21, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Watever being said….this is one good looking wagon. Thumbs up….Hyundai!

• Superb design….but sayang in malaysia we call it “kete pakai sampai mati” because of the selling back price.The fate will same as hyundai latest Sonata….only a few on the road…

• subhero on Dec 22, 2010 at 9:04 am

ye lah. its bcz of the “kuasa pembeli”.

tp ada bagusnya for 2nd owner.

buy at the cheap price with class A quality (new sonata)

• shiftSpank on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:07 pm

If it comes out exactly like the pictures, I want one in black. Let’s hope the drive is good.

• m4xspeed on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:08 pm

This is one HOT wagon.. eye catching and elegance all in one. Loves it

• handsome*dude on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:35 pm

i will place the booking once it is here.!

• rossi46 on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:52 pm

based on the comments..in 5 years time…hyundai will be at par wt the japs here..damn, the secret is out and there goes the chance to get a cheap/stock clearance hyundai in the future

• jolly_idiot on Dec 21, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Nah… still toyota & honda the best in Malaysia. Forget bout korean. We die die Japanese.

• rossi46 on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:49 am

That what conti cars lover says in the 70s & early 80s about the Japs surpassing their cars here in Msia….see, yr comment prove it already and now its happening to the Korean….and after these the chinese cars

• Dak's Quacks on Dec 21, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Wonder will this ever come to M’sia, since the target market is in Europe… (>_<)

• Calvin on Dec 21, 2010 at 9:20 pm

Anybody has a feeling that this Hyundai in particular looks quite like the Subaru Impreza hatchback?

For reference:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:2010_Subaru_Impreza_(MY11)_R_hatchback_01.jpg

• Goproton on Dec 22, 2010 at 1:12 am

bro don’t simply point it out eh those ‘pro-Korean-car-is-the-best anti japanese car’ dude will thumb you down for pointing it out…

• Whynot on Dec 22, 2010 at 1:16 am

Much more body profiles and sportier than Subaru impreza and weight distributions is different. And I suppose that the price is cheaper than Subaru impreza too.

• nolan on Dec 22, 2010 at 9:23 pm

Very Niceeeee !!!!…………hope the height setting will remain the same….new cars in Malaysia always setting tinggi2 loh….

• Twisted keta mayat. nice…

• Harry on Dec 23, 2010 at 4:17 am

this is absolutely a gorgeous looking wagon !

• estetman on Dec 23, 2010 at 12:36 pm

realy hope Hyundai Sime darby wil bring 2 Msia! B d 1st 1 2 get it!!!!

• Kumar san on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Very nice looking car,honestly.The Koreans are really upping the ante.