Driven the ‘Ring in GT5? Now a chance to experience it live in a 414 horsepower BMW M3!

Join the Castrol EDGE Experience Nurburgring contest for a chance at winning a trip to the Nurburgring to drive a high performance BMW M3 on its legendary tarmac. No purchase necessary. Find out more by clicking here.

Gran Turismo 5 is remarkably realistic – check out the comparison video below of an actual drive on the Nurburgring versus a simulated drive on a virtual ‘Ring in the game. Amazing eh? But seriously, I don’t think a computer game could ever beat going around the Nordschleife in the driver’s seat of a real 414 horsepower car – technology isn’t advanced enough to simulate 400 Newton meters of torque!

If you haven’t joined the Castrol EDGE Experience Nurburgring Challenge yet, this week is the last week of the preliminary rounds so it’s your last chance to participate! The challenge is currently in Round 2 now, but you can still join now from the beginning and complete both Round 1 and Round 2 at the same time to proceed.

The final rounds will involve more exciting challenges including a chance to try out Castrol EDGE lubricants on your car as well as a showdown of the finalists at the Sepang International Circuit where we’ll determine who will be the lucky winner of an all-expenses paid trip to the Nurburgring, thanks to Castrol EDGE.

Even if you don’t win the big prize, there’s lots of other prizes in store including Apple iPads, iPod Touches, and iPod Nanos.

What are you waiting for, join now! :)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mitlanevooo on Jan 12, 2011 at 9:11 pm

the ring in nfs shift is better….

• NFS Shift not realistic lah. some parts of the track environment totally wrong, physics also a bit wrong.

but i like teh NFS cockpit animation…

• Anwar on Jan 12, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Wow, GT5 animation is so close to reality. I purchased the game since the worldwide launch last month, not for me, but for my kids. With a 46″ Bravia X200 LCD, a pair of front ‘potong kereta’ Wira seats mounted to custom-made based with Driving Force GT racing wheels and a Yamaha 663 HD receiver with budget speakers, the experience should be close enough to reality. Looks like I have to try ‘driving’ in the ring myself…

• Apernie on Jan 13, 2011 at 1:09 am

Hmm nice dream set up there… but not for your kids tho he2…
      Wonder if the infamous lady ‘taxi’ driver gonna chauffeur instead of the
      winner him/herself driving :-P

• Carl Wong on Jan 13, 2011 at 1:22 pm

I have GT5 too and I love the game :]. I played every game in the series and finished all except for GT4.

• for all the track the Nur is just the best… also good to try all kinds of cars there.

• George Garf on Mar 03, 2011 at 8:19 am

Point of simulation racing is that you have the most genuine racing experience, whether or not the driving is difficult or nearly impossible.

• NFS shift 2 unleashed is more real..gt5 feel like driving in slow motion..compare it at youtube..